DETAILED ACTION
It is to be noted that the provisional application 63/241,891 does not support the amended claim 32, which requires R9 and R10 of instant Formula (I) to be an alkyl substituted with deuterium. Therefore, the effective filing date of present application is not September 8, 2021, but March 31, 2022.
In view of applicant’s amendment, previous 103 rejection over Londesbrough (WO’951), previous 103 rejection over Londesbrough in view of McGowan’379, previous 103 rejection over Londesbrough in view of Bisaga et al (Expert Opinion on Investigational Drugs (Feb.2005)), previous 103 rejection over Londesbrough in view of Nagele (J Clin Psychopharmacol. (Apr.2018)), previous 103 rejection over Londesbrough in view of Nagele and further in view of Gilligan (WO’489), previous 103 rejection over Londesbough in view of Geddes (a newspaper article from The Guardian published on Dec 9, 2020), previous 103 rejection over Londesbrough in view of Geddes and Rands (WO’133), previous 103 rejection over Londesbrough in view of Terwey (WO’851) and previous 103 rejection over Londesbrough in view of Terwey and Rands are hereby withdrawn. Thus, applicant’s arguments with respect to these rejections are now moot.
In view of applicant’s amendment, previous double patenting rejection over the claims of co-pending App. No. 18/027,810 is hereby withdrawn. Thus, applicant’s argument with respect to the double patenting rejection is now moot.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32, 33, 36-38, 41, 65-67 and 80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sippy et al (WO 2022/225884 A1) in view of Ma et al (CN 108066355 A and its English translation).
Sippy teaches (claim 4 and [0028]) a pharmaceutical composition comprising an effective amount of a compound of Formula (IV) shown below:
in which each X is independently protium (i.e., H atom) or deuterium; and at least one X is enriched for deuterium. Sippy teaches ([0061]) that in certain embodiments, at least ten instances of X of the compound of Formula (IV) are deuterium. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to deuterate the six H atoms in the -N(CH3)2 moiety, the two H atoms attached to the a-carbon and the two H atoms attached to the b-carbon to obtain the following compound (DMT-d10)
(where ten instances of X are deuteriums) and use it as Sippy’s compound of Formula (IV) with a reasonable expectation of success. Such compound teaches instant compound of Formula (I) of claim 32 (instant 5-HT2A receptor agonist) and instant 2-(1H-indol-3-yl)-N,N-bis(methyl-d3)ethan-1-amine-1,1,2,2-d4) (DMT-d10) of claim 80.
Sippy also teaches ([0014]) a method of treating a disease in a subject by administering its pharmaceutical composition to the subject in need thereof. Sippy teaches ([00100]) that the disease is a neurological disease including diseases that involve the central nervous system. Sippy further teaches ([003]) that is composition can be administered intravenously. Thus, Sippy teaches instant step (a) administering (intravenously) to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a 5-HT2A receptor agonist.
Sippy does not teach instant step (b) administering to the subject a N-methyl-D-aspartate (NMDA) receptor antagonist, which is nitrous oxide, wherein the administration of (a) and (b) are by different administration routes and are configured to provide concurrent or sequential delivery within a treatment session. Ma teaches ([0015] and [0004], [0019], Example 1, [0025] and [0026]) teaches administering nitrous oxide by inhalation 1-7 times per week for the treatment of neurosis (group of mental disorders including neurasthenia, obsessive-compulsive disorder, anxiety disorder, phobia, somatic symptom disorder, etc.). Ma teaches ([0027]) that on one hand, nitrous oxide promotes the release of dopamine by acting on the central nervous system, thus supplementing the dopamine release inhibiting caused by neurotic patients due to neurotransmitter disorders in the brain, and on the other hand, it relieves the pain caused by neurosis, such as general discomfort, low mood, self-denial, fear, anxiety and muscle weakness, and reduces the suicidal tendency of patients with severe neurosis. Ma teaches that this allows patients with neurosis to cooperate with the treatment in a pleasant, safe, optimistic and positive manner throughout the treatment process, ultimately helping them to get out of the shadows. Ma further teaches that nitrous oxide has a rapid onset of action, few side effects and significant therapeutic effects on neurasthenia, phobias, anxiety, obsessive-compulsive disorder and hypochondria and teaches that clinical trials have shown that it is safe and convenient to use. Since Sippy teaches ([00103]) that its method (of administering intravenously to the subject a pharmaceutical composition containing its compound of Formula (IV) (such as DMT-d10)) may further comprise administering to the subject an additional therapy (using an additional pharmaceutical agent), it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine Sippy’s therapy (that intravenously administers to the subject a pharmaceutical composition containing DMT-d10) and Ma’s therapy (that administers nitrous oxide by inhalation), which are to be delivered either concurrently or sequentially, with a reasonable expectation of achieving all the advantages (as discussed above) of using nitrous oxide in the neurosis treatment in addition to the advantages obtained from using Sippy’s therapy in treating neurological diseases (i.e., safe and effective pharmacotherapies – see [002]; Sippy also teaches ([002]) that it has been surprisingly discovered that deuteration is particularly advantageous for controlled substances, such as the psychedelic compounds, as the labeled nature of the substance will allow healthcare providers and law enforcement to distinguish (by analytical methods) use of a regulated drug product containing the substance from illegal uses). Alternatively, since both Sippy’s pharmaceutical composition and Ma’s nitrous oxide are individually taught to treat similar diseases (see Sippy (the 10th line in [00101] citing “pain associated with chronic fatigue syndrome”; the 6th line in [00102] citing “generalized anxiety disorder” and “obsessive-compulsive disorder”; the 7th line in [00102] citing “social phobia” (i.e., social anxiety disorder); and the 4th line in [00105] citing “psychological distress”) and Ma ([0004] and [0026] citing “neurasthenia” (chronic fatigue), “obsessive-compulsive disorder”, “anxiety disorder”, “phobia”, “somatic symptom disorder” (emotional and physical distress)), it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine Sippy’s therapy (that intravenously administers to the subject a pharmaceutical composition containing DMT-d10) and Ma’s therapy (that administers nitrous oxide by inhalation), which are to be either concurrently or sequentially delivered, with a reasonable expectation of success. As cited in MPEP 2144.06, “it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose . . . [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). Thus, Sippy in view of Ma renders obvious instant step (b) administering to the subject a N-methyl-D-aspartate (NMDA) receptor antagonist, which is nitrous oxide, wherein the administration of (a) and (b) are by different administration routes and are configured to provide concurrent or sequential delivery within a treatment session.
Thus, Sippy in view of Ma renders obvious instant claims 32, 33, 36-38, 65-67 and 80.
With respect to instant claim 41, Sippy teaches ([0073]) that the total daily usage of its pharmaceutical composition may be decided by an attending physician within the scope of sound medical judgement and will depend on safety and toxicity profile of the components of the pharmaceutical composition. Sippy further teaches that the specific therapeutically effective dose level for any particular patient will depend upon variety of factors including the disorder being treated and the severity of the disorder, the clinical studies results, the age, body weight, general health, sex and diet of the patient, the time of administration, the duration of the treatment, drugs used in combination, and the like factors well known in the medical arts. Furthermore, as discussed above, Ma teaches administering nitrous oxide by inhalation 1-7 times per week for the treatment of neurosis. Under such general guidelines given by Sippy and Ma, instant limitation (the 5-HT2A receptor agonist and the NMDA receptor antagonist being administered 1-8 times over a treatment course) would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Thus, Sippy in view of Ma renders obvious instant claim 41.
Claim(s) 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sippy et al (WO 2022/225884 A1) in view of Ma et al (CN 108066355 A and its English translation) as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Nagele (WO 2015/175531 A1).
With respect to instant claims 34 and 35, Sippy teaches ([00104]) that its pharmaceutical composition containing its compound of Formula (IV) (such as DMT-d10) can be used in treating a major depressive disorder or treatment-resistant depression. Furthermore, as evidenced by Nagele (see [073] and [003]), it is known in the art that nitrous oxide can be used to treat a treatment-resistant depression (which is a particularly severe form of major depressive disorder). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to deliver (either concurrently or sequentially) the combined therapies of Sippy and Ma with a reasonable expectation of success in treating a treatment-resistant depression or a major depressive disorder. Thus, Sippy in view of Ma, and further in view of Nagele renders obvious instant claims 34 and 35.
Claim(s) 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sippy et al (WO 2022/225884 A1) in view of Ma et al (CN 108066355 A and its English translation) as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Gillman et al (“Analgesic nitrous oxide for alcohol withdrawal: a critical appraisal after 10 years’ use”, Postgrad Med J (1990) vol.66, pg.543-546).
Sippy teaches ([00102]) that its pharmaceutical composition containing its compound of Formula IV can be used in treating substance-related disorders such as alcohol dependence. Furthermore, as evidenced by Gillman (see Summary), it is known in the art that nitrous oxide has been successfully used in treating the mild to moderate alcohol withdrawal state. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to deliver (either concurrently or sequentially) the combined therapies of Sippy and Ma with a reasonable expectation of success in treating alcohol dependence or alcohol withdrawal state. Thus, Sippy in view of Ma, and further in view of Gillman renders obvious instant claim 39.
Claim(s) 73 and 74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sippy et al (WO 2022/225884 A1) in view of Ma et al (CN 108066355 A and its English translation) as applied to claim 67 above, and further in view of Gilligan et al (WO 2022/195489 A2).
As already discussed above, Sippy teaches that its pharmaceutical composition containing the compound of Formula IV can be administered intravenously, but it does not teach instant limitations of claims 73 and 74. However, Gilligan teaches (see abstract, [0004] and [0005]) a method of treating a psychological disorder in a subject by administering to the subject a sufficient amount of psychedelic to induce a dissociative state in the subject less than 30 minutes after administration, and thereafter maintaining the mean plasma concentration of the psychedelic at a predetermined value in order to maintain the dissociate state during a therapeutic window. Gilligan further teaches ([0028]-[0029] and [0031]) that the dissociative state is induced by intravenous administration of a loading dose of the psychedelic, which comprises administration of an initial bolus of the psychedelic in the amount of about 0.02 mg/kg to about 0.2 mg/kg. Gilligan also teaches ([0036]-[0037] and [0043]) that the maintenance dose of the psychedelic is administered by intravenous infusion (instant perfusion of claims 73-74) at a rate of about 0.2 mg/min to about 1 mg/min over a period of about 30-120 minutes. As to instant range about 0.1 mg/kg to about 0.8 mg/kg (for the initial bolus), Gilligan’s range, about 0.02 mg/kg to about 0.2 mg/kg overlaps with instant range, thus rendering instant range prima facie obvious. In the case “where the [claimed] ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness would exist which may be overcome by a showing of unexpected results, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). As to instant range about 0.1 mg/kg to about 0.8 mg/kg (for the perfusion), Gilligan’s intravenous infusion rate of about 0.2 mg/min to about 1 mg/min for a time period of about 30-120 minutes gives a total amount of infused psychedelic that ranges from about 6 mg to about 120 mg. Assuming that the subject weighs from 60 kg to 100 kg, this gives a range of from 0.06 mg/kg to 2 mg/kg. Such range overlaps with instant range about 0.1 mg/kg to about 0.8 mg/kg, thus rendering instant range prima facie obvious. In re Wertheim, supra. Thus, Sippy in view of Ma, and further in view of Gilligan renders obvious instant claims 73 and 74.
Claim(s) 32, 33, 36-38, 41 and 65-67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sippy et al (WO 2022/225884 A1) in view of RANDS et al (WO 2021/116503 A2) and Ma et al (CN 108066355 A and its English translation).
Sippy teaches (claim 4 and [0028]) a pharmaceutical composition comprising an effective amount of a compound of Formula (IV) shown below:
in which each X is independently protium (i.e., H atom) or deuterium; and at least one X is enriched for deuterium. Although Sippy does not teach specific examples of its compound of Formula (IV), as evidenced by Rands (see claims 1, 2, 8 and 19-21), a composition containing the following compound (“Compound 1”) (which is a deuterated N,N-dimethyltryptamine compound)
is known in the art to treat a psychiatric or neurological disorder including an obsessive-compulsive disorder, a depressive disorder (a major depressive disorder or treatment-resistant depression), an anxiety disorder (generalized anxiety disorder or social anxiety disorder) and substance abuse. Since Sippy does not give specific examples of its compound of formula (IV), and since a composition containing Rands’s Compound 1 (which meets Sippy’s Formula (IV)) is known to treat similar disorders as that of Sippy, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use Rands’s Compound 1 shown above as Sippy’s compound of Formula (IV) with a reasonable expectation of success. Such compound teaches instant compound of Formula (I) of claim 32 (instant 5-HT2A receptor agonist).
Sippy also teaches ([0014]) a method of treating a disease in a subject by administering its pharmaceutical composition to the subject in need thereof. Sippy teaches ([00100]) that the disease is a neurological disease including diseases that involve the central nervous system. Sippy further teaches ([003]) that is composition can be administered intravenously. Thus, Sippy in view of Rands teaches instant step (a) administering (intravenously) to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a 5-HT2A receptor agonist.
Sippy does not teach instant step (b) administering to the subject a N-methyl-D-aspartate (NMDA) receptor antagonist, which is nitrous oxide, wherein the administration of (a) and (b) are by different administration routes and are configured to provide concurrent or sequential delivery within a treatment session. Ma teaches ([0015] and [0004], [0019], Example 1, [0025] and [0026]) teaches administering nitrous oxide by inhalation 1-7 times per week for the treatment of neurosis (group of mental disorders including neurasthenia, obsessive-compulsive disorder, anxiety disorder, phobia, somatic symptom disorder, etc.). Ma teaches ([0027]) that on one hand, nitrous oxide promotes the release of dopamine by acting on the central nervous system, thus supplementing the dopamine release inhibiting caused by neurotic patients due to neurotransmitter disorders in the brain, and on the other hand, it relieves the pain caused by neurosis, such as general discomfort, low mood, self-denial, fear, anxiety and muscle weakness, and reduces the suicidal tendency of patients with severe neurosis. Ma teaches that this allows patients with neurosis to cooperate with the treatment in a pleasant, safe, optimistic and positive manner throughout the treatment process, ultimately helping them to get out of the shadows. Ma further teaches that nitrous oxide has a rapid onset of action, few side effects and significant therapeutic effects on neurasthenia, phobias, anxiety, obsessive-compulsive disorder and hypochondria and teaches that clinical trials have shown that it is safe and convenient to use. Since Sippy teaches ([00103]) that its method (of administering intravenously to the subject a pharmaceutical composition containing its compound of Formula (IV) (such as Rands’s Compound 1) may further comprises administering to the subject an additional therapy (using an additional pharmaceutical agent), it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine Sippy’s therapy (that intravenously administers to the subject a pharmaceutical composition containing Rands’s Compound 1) and Ma’s therapy (that administers nitrous oxide by inhalation), which are to be either concurrently or sequentially delivered, with a reasonable expectation of achieving all the advantages (as discussed above) of using nitrous oxide in the neurosis treatment in addition to the advantages obtained from using Sippy’s therapy in treating neurological diseases (i.e., safe and effective pharmacotherapies – see [002]; Sippy also teaches ([002]) that it has been surprisingly discovered that deuteration is particularly advantageous for controlled substances, such as the psychedelic compounds, as the labeled nature of the substance will allow healthcare providers and law enforcement to distinguish (by analytical methods) use of a regulated drug product containing the substance from illegal uses). Alternatively, since both Sippy’s pharmaceutical composition and Ma’s nitrous oxide are individually taught to treat similar diseases (see Sippy (the 10th line in [00101] citing “pain associated with chronic fatigue syndrome”; the 6th line in [00102] citing “generalized anxiety disorder” and “obsessive-compulsive disorder”; the 7th line in [00102] citing “social phobia” (i.e., social anxiety disorder); and the 4th line in [00105] citing “psychological distress”) and Ma ([0004] and [0026] citing “neurasthenia” (chronic fatigue), “obsessive-compulsive disorder”, “anxiety disorder”, “phobia”, “somatic symptom disorder” (emotional and physical distress)), it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine Sippy’s therapy (that intravenously administers to the subject a pharmaceutical composition containing Rands’s Compound 1) and Ma’s therapy (that administers nitrous oxide by inhalation), which are to be either concurrently or sequentially delivered, with a reasonable expectation of success. As cited in MPEP 2144.06, “it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose . . . [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). Thus, Sippy in view of Rands and Ma renders obvious instant step (b) administering to the subject a N-methyl-D-aspartate (NMDA) receptor antagonist, which is nitrous oxide, wherein the administration of (a) and (b) are by different administration routes and are configured to provide concurrent or sequential delivery within a treatment session.
Thus, Sippy in view of Rands and Ma renders obvious instant claims 32, 33, 36-38 and 65-67.
With respect to instant claim 41, Sippy teaches ([0073]) that the total daily usage of its pharmaceutical composition may be decided by an attending physician within the scope of sound medical judgment and will depend on safety and toxicity profile of the components of the pharmaceutical composition. Sippy further teaches that the specific therapeutically effective dose level for any particular patient will depend upon variety of factors including the disorder being treated and the severity of the disorder, the clinical studies results, the age, body weight, general health, sex and diet of the patient, the time of administration, the duration of the treatment, drugs used in combination, and the like factors well known in the medical arts. Furthermore, as discussed above, Ma teaches administering nitrous oxide by inhalation 1-7 times per week for the treatment of neurosis. Under such guidelines given by Sippy and Ma, instant limitation (the 5-HT2A receptor agonist and the NMDA receptor antagonist being administered 1-8 times over a treatment course) would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Thus, Sippy in view of Rands and Ma renders obvious instant claim 41.
Claim(s) 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sippy et al (WO 2022/225884 A1) in view of RANDS et al (WO 2021/116503 A2) and Ma et al (CN 108066355 A and its English translation) as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Nagele (WO 2015/175531 A1).
With respect to instant claims 34 and 35, Sippy teaches ([00104]) that its pharmaceutical composition containing its compound of Formula (IV) (such as Rands’s Compound 1) can be used in treating a major depressive disorder or treatment-resistant depression. Furthermore, as evidenced by Nagele (see [073] and [003]), it is known in the art that nitrous oxide can be used to treat a treatment-resistant depression (which is a particularly severe form of major depressive disorder). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to deliver (either concurrently or sequentially) the combined therapies of Sippy and Ma with a reasonable expectation of success in treating a treatment-resistant depression or a major depressive disorder. Thus, Sippy in view of Rands and Ma, and further in view of Nagele renders obvious instant claims 34 and 35.
Claim(s) 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sippy et al (WO 2022/225884 A1) in view of RANDS et al (WO 2021/116503 A2) and Ma et al (CN 108066355 A and its English translation) as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Gillman et al (“Analgesic nitrous oxide for alcohol withdrawal: a critical appraisal after 10 years’ use”, Postgrad Med J (1990) vol.66, pg.543-546).
Sippy teaches ([00102]) that its pharmaceutical composition containing its compound of Formula IV (such as Rands’s Compound 1) can be used in treating substance-related disorders such as alcohol dependence. Furthermore, as evidenced by Gillman (see Summary), it is known in the art that nitrous oxide has been successfully used in treating the mild to moderate alcohol withdrawal state. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to deliver (either concurrently or sequentially) the combined therapies of Sippy and Ma with a reasonable expectation of success in treating alcohol dependence or alcohol withdrawal state. Thus, Sippy in view of Rands and Ma, and further in view of Gillman renders obvious instant claim 39.
Claim(s) 73 and 74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sippy et al (WO 2022/225884 A1) in view of RANDS et al (WO 2021/116503 A2) and Ma et al (CN 108066355 A and its English translation) as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Gilligan et al (WO 2022/195489 A2).
As already discussed above, Sippy teaches that its pharmaceutical composition containing the compound of Formula IV can be administered intravenously, but it does not teach instant limitations of claims 73 and 74. However, Gilligan teaches (see abstract, [0004] and [0005]) a method of treating a psychological disorder in a subject by administering to the subject a sufficient amount of psychedelic to induce a dissociative state in the subject less than 30 minutes after administration, and thereafter maintaining the mean plasma concentration of the psychedelic at a predetermined value in order to maintain the dissociate state during s therapeutic window. Gilligan further teaches ([0028]-[0029] and [0031]) that the dissociative state is induced by intravenous administration of a loading dose of the psychedelic, which comprises administration of an initial bolus of the psychedelic in the amount of about 0.02 mg/kg to about 0.2 mg/kg. Gilligan also teaches ([0036]-[0037] and [0043]) that the maintenance dose of the psychedelic is administered by intravenous infusion (instant perfusion of claims 73-74) at a rate of about 0.2 mg/min to about 1 mg/min over a period of about 30-120 minutes. As to instant range about 0.1 mg/kg to about 0.8 mg/kg (for the initial bolus), Gilligan’s range, about 0.02 mg/kg to about 0.2 mg/kg overlaps with instant range, thus rendering instant range prima facie obvious. In the case “where the [claimed] ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness would exist which may be overcome by a showing of unexpected results, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). As to instant range about 0.1 mg/kg to about 0.8 mg/kg (for the perfusion), Gilligan’s intravenous infusion rate of about 0.2 mg/min to about 1 mg/min for a time period of about 30-120 minutes gives a total amount of infused psychedelic that ranges from about 6 mg to about 120 mg. Assuming that the subject weighs from 60 kg to 100 kg, this gives a range of from 0.06 mg/kg to 2 mg/kg. Such range overlaps with instant range about 0.1 mg/kg to about 0.8 mg/kg, thus rendering instant range prima facie obvious. In re Wertheim, supra. Thus, Sippy in view of Rands and Ma, and further in view of Gilligan renders obvious instant claims 73 and 74.
Double Patenting
Claims 32-39, 65-67, 80 and 81 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12, 18, 22-25 and 36 of copending Application No. 18/852,115 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reason:
Claim 12 of copending App.’115 teaches a method of treating a subject with CNS disorder or a psychiatric disease, and the method comprises administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of NMDA receptor antagonist, which is nitrous oxide and a therapeutically effective amount of a 5-HT2A receptor agonist, which is a compound of Formula (I). Claim 18 of App.’115 further teaches that the compound of Formula (I) can be 2-(1H-indol-3-yl)-N,N-bis(methyl-d3)ethan-1-amine-1,1,2,2-d4 (instant DMT-d10 of claim 80) or 2-(5-methoxyl-1H-indol-3-yl)-N,N-bis(methyl-d3)ethan-1-amine-1,1,2,2-d4 (instant 5-MeO-DMT-d10 of claim 81). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to use DMT-d10 or 5-MeO-DMT-d10 as the compound of Formula (I) in claim 12 of App.’115 with a reasonable expectation of success. Claim 36 of App.’115 teaches that the 5-HT2A receptor agonist can be administered intravenously and that the NMDA receptor antagonist (nitrous oxide) is administered via inhalation. Claims 23-25 of App.’115 teach that the CNS disorder or a psychiatric disease in the method of claim 12 can be major depressive disorder (MDD), treatment-resistant depression (TRD) or generalized anxiety disorder (GAD). Furthermore, claim 22 of App.’115 teaches that the CNS disorder or a psychiatric disease in the method of claim 12 can be social anxiety disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder and alcohol use disorder. Thus, claims 12, 18, 22-25 and 36 of App.’115 render obvious instant claims 32-39, 65-67, 80 and 81.
Claim 41 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12, 18, 22-25 and 36 of copending Application No. 18/852,115 (reference application) in view of Sippy et al (WO 2022/225884 A1) and Ma et al (CN 108066355 A and its English translation).
As discussed above, claims of App.’115 already teach administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of nitrous oxide by inhalation and a therapeutically effective amount of a 5-HT2A receptor agonist, such as DMT-d10 or 5-MeO-DMT-d10, intravenously. Claims of App.’115 do not teach administering the 5-HT2A receptor agonist and the NMDA receptor antagonist 1-8 times over a treatment course. Sippy, which teaches a pharmaceutical composition containing compound of Formula (IV) (a 5-HT2A receptor agonist), teaches ([0073]) that the total daily usage of such pharmaceutical composition may be decided by an attending physician within the scope of sound medical judgement, and will depend on safety and toxicity profile of the components of the pharmaceutical composition. Sippy further teaches that the specific therapeutically effective dose level for any particular patient will depend upon variety of factors including the disorder being treated and the severity of the disorder, the clinical studies results, the age, body weight, general health, sex and diet of the patient, the time of administration, the duration of the treatment, drugs used in combination, and the like factors well known in the medical arts. Furthermore, as discussed above, Ma teaches administering nitrous oxide by inhalation 1-7 times per week for the treatment of neurosis. Under such general guidelines given by Sippy and Ma, instant limitation (the 5-HT2A receptor agonist and the NMDA receptor antagonist being administered 1-8 times over a treatment course) would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Thus, claims 12, 18, 22-25 and 36 of App.’115 in view of Sippy and Ma render obvious instant claim 41.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 73 and 74 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12, 18, 22-25 and 36 of copending Application No. 18/852,115 (reference application) in view of Gilligan et al (WO 2022/195489 A2).
As discussed above, claims of App.’115 already teach administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of nitrous oxide by inhalation and a therapeutically effective amount of a 5-HT2A receptor agonist, such as DMT-d10 or 5-MeO-DMT-d10, intravenously, but the claims do not teach instant limitations of claims 73 and 74. However, Gilligan teaches (see abstract, [0004] and [0005]) a method of treating a psychological disorder in a subject by administering to the subject a sufficient amount of psychedelic to induce a dissociative state in the subject less than 30 minutes after administration, and thereafter maintaining the mean plasma concentration of the psychedelic at a predetermined value in order to maintain the dissociate state during s therapeutic window. Gilligan further teaches ([0028]-[0029] and [0031]) that the dissociative state is induced by intravenous administration of a loading dose of the psychedelic, which comprises administration of an initial bolus of the psychedelic in the amount of about 0.02 mg/kg to about 0.2 mg/kg. Gilligan also teaches ([0036]-[0037] and [0043]) that the maintenance dose of the psychedelic is administered by intravenous infusion (instant perfusion of claims 73-74) at a rate of about 0.2 mg/min to about 1 mg/min over a period of about 30-120 minutes. As to instant range about 0.1 mg/kg to about 0.8 mg/kg (for the initial bolus), Gilligan’s range, about 0.02 mg/kg to about 0.2 mg/kg overlaps with instant range, thus rendering instant range prima facie obvious. In the case “where the [claimed] ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness would exist which may be overcome by a showing of unexpected results, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). As to instant range about 0.1 mg/kg to about 0.8 mg/kg (for the perfusion), Gilligan’s intravenous infusion rate of about 0.2 mg/min to about 1 mg/min for a time period of about 30-120 minutes gives a total amount of infused psychedelic that ranges from about 6 mg to about 120 mg. Assuming that the subject weighs from 60 kg to 100 kg, this gives a range of from 0.06 mg/kg to 2 mg/kg. Such range overlaps with instant range about 0.1 mg/kg to about 0.8 mg/kg, thus rendering instant range prima facie obvious. In re Wertheim, supra. Thus, claims 12, 18, 22-25 and 36 of App. ’115 in view of Gilligan renders obvious instant claims 73 and 74.
/SIN J LEE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613
September 14, 2026