DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 and 14-23 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 4, 14, 17 are amended.
Claims 11-13 and 24-26 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed May 22, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Reasons set forth below.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 1, applicant argues Karri fails to disclose or suggest the limitations of claim 1, specifically "identifying, by the at least one processor, component frequency bands of a wideband channel, wherein the component frequency bands are associated with the sensing transmissions from the sensing transmitter" (Remarks, page 10). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Broadest reasonable interpretation of “identifying” does not preclude random selection.
Proceeding with this interpretation, Karri discloses identifying, by the at least one processor, component frequency bands of a wideband channel (When randomized subband compression is used to reduce the channel state information, [0193] …the processing element is further configured to cause the UE to: randomly select a subset of the plurality of N subbands to include in the channel state information report. The plurality of N subbands are provided by the base station as part of [0197] control information for reporting channel state information. The subset of the plurality of N subbands is selected based on channel input response (CIR) or channel energy response (CER) obtained/determined by the UE. (So, the UE is selecting/identifying a subset of a previously identified number of subbands.) [0159] In order to encode type II CSI with random SB compression, a wireless device (e.g., a UE) may determine or obtain the CIR/CER at the wireless device. Based on the CIR/CER, the UE may determine the length of support (e.g., number of non-zero time domain coefficients |T|). The UE may then use the sparsity/length of support to (e.g., randomly) select (identifying) a subset of SBs for reporting CSI. As noted above, the subset may provide approximately 8× support, among various possibilities. Karri teaches [0111] The measurements may be performed for any number of frequencies (e.g., SB and/or WB measurements).)
Karri also discloses “the component frequency bands are associated with the sensing transmissions from the sensing transmitter”. Since the identified subbands are based on a set of N subbands provided by the base station for CSI reporting, and since they are also based on a channel input response obtained by the UE on the channel between the UE and the base station, the identified subbands are associated with the sensing transmission from the sensing transmitter (in this case, the base station). (Chen, the primary reference, teaches the transmissions are sensing transmissions.)
Therefore, since Karri teaches identified subbands of a wideband channel based on a sensing transmission between the UE and the base station, Karrie teaches "identifying, by the at least one processor, component frequency bands of a wideband channel, wherein the component frequency bands are associated with the sensing transmissions from the sensing transmitter" as claimed in claim 1.
Regarding the rejection of claim 14, claim 14 recites the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claim 14, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-10 and 15-23, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims, other than their dependency to claim 1 or 14. Therefor for at least the reasons presented above for claim 1, the dependent claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 4, 9, 14 -17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20190166030 A1) in view of Karri (US 20200244331 A1); further in view of Singh (US 20230275636 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a method for Wi-Fi sensing carried out by a sensing receiver (Fig. 1, [0368] receiver 120) including a transmitting antenna ([0472] An antenna 2050…electrically coupled to the transceiver 2010), a receiving antenna ([0472] An antenna 2050…electrically coupled to the transceiver 2010), and at least one processor ([0472] processor 2002) configured to execute instructions, the method comprising:
receiving, via the receiving antenna, sensing transmissions from a transmitter (Fig. 1, [0369] The transmitter 110 is configured for transmitting a wireless signal through the wireless channel 130. The wireless channel 130 in this example is a wireless multipath channel that is impacted by a pseudo-periodic motion of an object in the venue. According to various embodiments, the object may be a human (e.g. a baby 142, or a patient 146) or a pet (e.g. a puppy 144). The receiver 120 in this example receives the wireless signal through the wireless multipath channel 130);
generating, by the at least one processor, one or more sensing measurements representing a channel state information (CSI) based on the sensing transmissions ([0369] The receiver 120…obtains at least one time series of channel information (CI) of the wireless multipath channel based on the wireless signal. Because the motion of the object impacts the wireless multipath channel through which the wireless signal is transmitted, the channel information 125 extracted from the wireless signal includes information related to the object motion. [0428] The receiver can extract a time series of CSI from a wireless signal and collect CSI for a slide window (about 10-15 sec).).
Chen does not teach identifying, by the at least one processor, component frequency bands of a wideband channel, wherein the component frequency bands are associated with the sensing transmissions from the sensing transmitter;
generating, by the at least one processor, a reduced channel representation information (CRI) including the component frequency bands associated with the selected sensing transmissions from the sensing transmitter;
generating, by the at least one processor, a frequency domain bit map indicating a location of each of the component frequency bands associated with the sensing transmissions; and
sending, by the at least one processor, the reduced CRI and the frequency domain bit map to a sensing algorithm manager.
Karri, in the same field of endeavor of channel estimation in wireless communications teaches identifying, by the at least one processor, component frequency bands of a wideband channel, wherein the component frequency bands are associated with the sensing transmissions from the sensing transmitter ([0197] The base station may transmit, to the UE, control information for reporting channel state information, wherein the control information specifies: at least one technique for reducing overhead associated with reporting channel state information; a plurality of layers including 3 or more layers; a plurality of L beams; and a plurality of N subbands [0193] In some embodiments, the at least one technique for reducing overhead associated with reporting channel state information may include randomized subband compression, wherein the processing element is further configured to cause the UE to: randomly select a subset of the plurality of N subbands to include in the channel state information report.);
generating, by the at least one processor, a reduced channel representation information (CRI) including the component frequency bands associated with the selected sensing transmissions from the sensing transmitter ([0155] FIG. 23 illustrates a type II CSI precoder using randomized SB compression to achieve overhead reduction, according to some embodiments. [0159] In order to encode type II CSI with random SB compression, a wireless device (e.g., a UE) may determine or obtain the CIR/CER at the wireless device. Based on the CIR/CER, the UE may determine the length of support (e.g., number of non-zero time domain coefficients |T|). The UE may then use the sparsity/length of support to (e.g., randomly) select a subset of SBs for reporting CSI. As noted above, the subset may provide approximately 8× support, among various possibilities. [0193] In some embodiments, the at least one technique for reducing overhead associated with reporting channel state information may include randomized subband compression, wherein the processing element is further configured to cause the UE to: randomly select a subset of the plurality of N subbands to include in the channel state information report. [0194] In some embodiments, the processing element may be further configured to cause the UE to: exclude, from the channel state information report, all subbands that are not part of the subset.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the CSI encoding methods of Karri with the systems for detecting and monitoring vital signs and other periodic motions of an object of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce overhead when reporting CSI (Karri; [0136]).
Karri does not teach generating, by the at least one processor, a frequency domain bit map indicating a location of each of the component frequency bands associated with the sensing transmissions; and sending, by the at least one processor, the reduced CRI and the frequency domain bit map to a sensing algorithm manager.
Singh in the same field of endeavor of channel estimation in wireless communications teaches generating, by the at least one processor, a frequency domain bit map indicating a location of each of the component frequency bands associated with the sensing transmissions ([0097] a. UE reports CQI for the best subband that may be selected by the UE [0098] i. The remaining subband CQIs (N−1 or M−1 quantities in above options) and wideband CQI (if indicated) can be reported in the form of differential encoding (e.g., their CQI values could be derived as the difference from the reported value for the best subband) to reduce overhead. In some embodiments, the index of the best subband may also be reported by the UE as part of the CSI feedback. UE indicates this in the UL by a bit map which has the same length as the field csi-ReportingBand in the CSI report configuration. Each bit in the UL bitmap indicates the same subband as the field csi-ReportingBand. In this bit map, one means that this subband is included in the report and zero means that this subband is not included in the report.); and
sending, by the at least one processor, the reduced CRI and the frequency domain bit map to a sensing algorithm manager ([0093] a. UE reports wideband CQI and/or PMI (across N subbands), subband CQIs and/or PMI for M subbands. The additional bitmap report can be part of the CSI feedback and can be added either in the beginning or in the end of the CSI feedback. [0091] …various options can be devised on CSI estimation for the plurality of subbands and their reporting to the gNB (sensing algorithm manager).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CSI encoding methods of Karri to include the CSI reporting methods of Singh to be able to send reduced CRI to a sensing algorithm manager. The motivation to do so would have been to provide methods for a UE performing CSI reporting for (fewer or selective or smaller set of) subband(s) with or without the need for CSI reporting for wideband or large set of subbands. This can curtail CSI computation delay or CSI reporting message size or both, e.g., [0049] If UE does not estimate CSI related information over wideband or a large set of subbands, then CSI computation delay is reduced, or [0050] If UE does not report wideband or large set of subbands related information in the CSI reporting, then message size is reduced. This is useful for low latency scenarios where transmissions can or are limited to some subbands and there is no need for CSI estimation over wideband. (Singh; [0048]-[0051])
Regarding claim 2, Chen, Karri and Singh teach the method of claim 1, and Singh teaches wherein the component frequency bands of the wideband channel are contiguous bands within a transmission channel.
Singh in the same field of endeavor of subband configuration for reduced CSI teaches wherein the component frequency bands of the wideband channel are contiguous bands within a transmission channel (Paragraphs [0032] – [0036] disclose CSI report configuration for wideband or subband reporting of CSI. [0033] The subband report is configured by the two fields csi-ReportingBand and subbandSize. [0034] csi-ReportingBand indicates a contiguous or non-contiguous subset of subbands in the bandwidth part which CSI shall be reported for. Thus the component frequency bands can be contiguous as indicated by csi-ReportingBand.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subband configuration for reduced CSI of Singh with the systems for detecting and monitoring vital signs and other periodic motions of an object of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for a UE performing CSI reporting for (fewer or selective or smaller set of) subband(s) with or without the need for CSI reporting for wideband or large set of subbands. This can curtail CSI computation delay or CSI reporting message size or both. (Singh; [0048]).
Regarding claim 3, Chen, Karri and Singh teach the method of claim 1, and Singh teaches wherein the component frequency bands of the wideband channel include non- contiguous bands within a transmission channel (Paragraphs [0032] – [0036] disclose CSI report configuration for wideband or subband reporting of CSI. [0033] The subband report is configured by the two fields csi-ReportingBand and subbandSize. [0034] csi-ReportingBand indicates a contiguous or non-contiguous subset of subbands in the bandwidth part which CSI shall be reported for. Thus the component frequency bands can be contiguous as indicated by csi-ReportingBand.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subband configuration for reduced CSI of Singh with the systems for detecting and monitoring vital signs and other periodic motions of an object of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for a UE performing CSI reporting for (fewer or selective or smaller set of) subband(s) with or without the need for CSI reporting for wideband or large set of subbands. This can curtail CSI computation delay or CSI reporting message size or both. (Singh; [0048]).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach wherein generating the reduced CRI comprises:
generating, by the at least one processor, a reduced TD-CRI including time domain representations of the component frequency bands of the wideband channel.
Karri in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein generating the reduced CRI includes:
generating, by the at least one processor, a reduced TD-CRI including time domain representations of the component frequency bands of the wideband channel ([0156] Sparsity in the time domain (e.g., as indicated by channel impulse response (CIR), channel energy response (CER), etc.) may be exploited to compress information in the frequency domain. [0159] Based on the CIR/CER, the UE may determine the length of support (e.g., number of non-zero time domain coefficients |T|). The UE may then use the sparsity/length of support to (e.g., randomly) select a subset of SBs for reporting CSI. This subset of SBs corresponds to the component frequency bands of the wideband channel.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the CSI encoding methods of Karri with the systems for detecting and monitoring vital signs and other periodic motions of an object of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce overhead when reporting CSI (Karri; [0136]).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining, by the sensing algorithm manager, channel information ([0429] In one embodiment, the system comprises a transmitter (e.g. the transmitter 110), a receiver (e.g. the receiver 120) and the repeating motion monitor 1400 (sensing algorithm manager) that is coupled to at least one of: the transmitter 110, the receiver 120, an additional transmitter, an additional receiver. [0450] First, channel state information (CSI) or channel information (CI, e.g. CSI) may be obtained at operatoin 1502 by channel estimation after a radio receiver (e.g. wireless, RF, WiFi, LTE, UWB, etc) receives a wireless signal (e.g. a channel probing radio signal, a reply signal, an acknowledgement signal, a data signal, or a control signal) from a radio transmitter.)
executing, by the sensing algorithm manager, a sensing algorithm according to the CSI to obtain a sensing result ([0450] The CSI/CI is preprocessed at operatoin 1504, e.g., to remove noise and/or to calculate some feature function (e.g. autocorrelation function (ACF)) from the breathing signal. Since breathing signal may be very weak, the received signal may be enhanced at operatoin 1506 to boost the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) through some operation, e.g., maximal ratio combining (MRC). The ACF may exhibit a periodic behavior since breathing is a periodic process, and features about breathing can be extracted at operation 1508 from the ACF, e.g., detecting a (first) local maximum from the ACF. [0455] Based on the calculated ACF and its inherent characteristics, the system first detects the presence and absence of breathing and, if presented, then estimates the breathing rate, accurately and instantaneously.).
Chen does not teach the channel information obtained by the sensing algorithm manager is reduced CRI;
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed CSI based on the reduced CRI;
Karri in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches the channel information obtained by the sensing algorithm manager is reduced CRI ([0107] Some embodiments may reduce this payload and resource need. While a UE may send a full CSI report (e.g., a full precoder) to the gnB (or BS 102), it may also send a partial CSI report containing the data required for precoder construction at the gnB. The gnB may do some additional processing to reconstruct the precoder. Thus, the following approaches and embodiments may present a tradeoff between additional processing and overhead reduction. Briefly, embodiments may include any or all of: beam splitting across time domain, layer wise puncturing with reconstruction at the gnB, and/or randomized SB compression with simple convex optimization the gnB. In some embodiments, overhead reduction schemes may be traded off with increase in complexity at the gnB.);
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed CSI based on the reduced CRI ([0107] The gnB may do some additional processing to reconstruct the precoder. [0119] The BS 102 may receive and decode the CSI report(s). The BS may interpret the CSI reports in view of the applied technique(s) for reducing overhead. In other words, the BS may reconstruct any omitted coefficients according to the mathematical techniques described herein. [0149] For each SB, one or more coefficients in a linear combination of beams used to specify an Eigen vector (per layer) may be punctured within a CSI report. The orthogonality principle may be utilized at the gnB to reconstruct these punctured coefficients. The puncturing may be replicated or randomized across different SBs. A gnB may compute the punctured coefficients using the inner products of the reported coefficients. This may increase the computations on the gnB slightly but may be a simple method to reconstruct the beam directions when number of layers is more than 1 or spatial multiplexing may be use).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the CSI encoding methods of Karri with the systems for detecting and monitoring vital signs and other periodic motions of an object of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce overhead when reporting CSI (Karri; [0136]).
Regarding claim 14, A system for Wi-Fi sensing comprising a sensing receiver (Fig. 1, [0368] receiver 120) including: a transmitting antenna ([0472] An antenna 2050…electrically coupled to the transceiver 2010), a receiving antenna ([0472] An antenna 2050…electrically coupled to the transceiver 2010), and at least one processor ([0472] processor 2002) configured to execute instructions for:
receiving, via the receiving antenna, sensing transmissions from a sensing transmitter (Fig. 1, [0369] The transmitter 110 is configured for transmitting a wireless signal through the wireless channel 130. The wireless channel 130 in this example is a wireless multipath channel that is impacted by a pseudo-periodic motion of an object in the venue. According to various embodiments, the object may be a human (e.g. a baby 142, or a patient 146) or a pet (e.g. a puppy 144). The receiver 120 in this example receives the wireless signal through the wireless multipath channel 130);
generating one or more sensing measurements representing a channel state information (CSI) based on the sensing transmissions ([0369] The receiver 120…obtains at least one time series of channel information (CI) of the wireless multipath channel based on the wireless signal. Because the motion of the object impacts the wireless multipath channel through which the wireless signal is transmitted, the channel information 125 extracted from the wireless signal includes information related to the object motion. [0428] The receiver can extract a time series of CSI from a wireless signal and collect CSI for a slide window (about 10-15 sec).).
Chen does not teach identifying component frequency bands of a wideband channel, wherein the component frequency bands are associated with the sensing transmissions from the sensing transmitter;
generating a reduced channel representation information (CRI) including the component frequency bands associated with the sensing transmissions from the sensing transmitter;
generating a frequency domain bit map indicating a location of each of the component frequency bands associated with the sensing transmissions; and
sending the reduced CRI and the frequency domain bit map to a sensing algorithm manager.
Karri, in the same field of endeavor of channel estimation in wireless communications teaches identifying component frequency bands of a wideband channel, wherein the component frequency bands are associated with the sensing transmissions from the sensing transmitter ([0197] The base station may transmit, to the UE, control information for reporting channel state information, wherein the control information specifies: at least one technique for reducing overhead associated with reporting channel state information; a plurality of layers including 3 or more layers; a plurality of L beams; and a plurality of N subbands [0193] In some embodiments, the at least one technique for reducing overhead associated with reporting channel state information may include randomized subband compression, wherein the processing element is further configured to cause the UE to: randomly select a subset of the plurality of N subbands to include in the channel state information report.);
generating a reduced channel representation information (CRI) including the component frequency bands associated with the sensing transmissions from the sensing transmitter ([0155] FIG. 23 illustrates a type II CSI precoder using randomized SB compression to achieve overhead reduction, according to some embodiments. [0159] In order to encode type II CSI with random SB compression, a wireless device (e.g., a UE) may determine or obtain the CIR/CER at the wireless device. Based on the CIR/CER, the UE may determine the length of support (e.g., number of non-zero time domain coefficients |T|). The UE may then use the sparsity/length of support to (e.g., randomly) select a subset of SBs for reporting CSI. As noted above, the subset may provide approximately 8× support, among various possibilities. [0193] In some embodiments, the at least one technique for reducing overhead associated with reporting channel state information may include randomized subband compression, wherein the processing element is further configured to cause the UE to: randomly select a subset of the plurality of N subbands to include in the channel state information report. [0194] In some embodiments, the processing element may be further configured to cause the UE to: exclude, from the channel state information report, all subbands that are not part of the subset.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the CSI encoding methods of Karri with the systems for detecting and monitoring vital signs and other periodic motions of an object of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce overhead when reporting CSI (Karri; [0136]).
Karri does not teach generating a frequency domain bit map indicating a location of each of the component frequency bands associated with the sensing transmissions; and sending the reduced CRI and the frequency domain bit map to a sensing algorithm manager.
Singh in the same field of endeavor of channel estimation in wireless communications teaches generating, a frequency domain bit map indicating a location of each of the component frequency bands associated with the sensing transmissions ([0097] a. UE reports CQI for the best subband that may be selected by the UE [0098] i. The remaining subband CQIs (N−1 or M−1 quantities in above options) and wideband CQI (if indicated) can be reported in the form of differential encoding (e.g., their CQI values could be derived as the difference from the reported value for the best subband) to reduce overhead. In some embodiments, the index of the best subband may also be reported by the UE as part of the CSI feedback. UE indicates this in the UL by a bit map which has the same length as the field csi-ReportingBand in the CSI report configuration. Each bit in the UL bitmap indicates the same subband as the field csi-ReportingBand. In this bit map, one means that this subband is included in the report and zero means that this subband is not included in the report.); and
sending, by the at least one processor, the reduced CRI and the frequency domain bit map to a sensing algorithm manager ([0093] a. UE reports wideband CQI and/or PMI (across N subbands), subband CQIs and/or PMI for M subbands. The additional bitmap report can be part of the CSI feedback and can be added either in the beginning or in the end of the CSI feedback. [0091] …various options can be devised on CSI estimation for the plurality of subbands and their reporting to the gNB (sensing algorithm manager).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CSI encoding methods of Karri to include the CSI reporting methods of Singh to be able to send reduced CRI to a sensing algorithm manager. The motivation to do so would have been to provide methods for a UE performing CSI reporting for (fewer or selective or smaller set of) subband(s) with or without the need for CSI reporting for wideband or large set of subbands. This can curtail CSI computation delay or CSI reporting message size or both, e.g., [0049] If UE does not estimate CSI related information over wideband or a large set of subbands, then CSI computation delay is reduced, or [0050] If UE does not report wideband or large set of subbands related information in the CSI reporting, then message size is reduced. This is useful for low latency scenarios where transmissions can or are limited to some subbands and there is no need for CSI estimation over wideband. (Singh; [0048]-[0051])
Regarding claim 15, Chen, Karri and Singh teach the system of claim 14, and Singh teaches wherein the component frequency bands of the wideband channel are contiguous bands within a transmission channel (Paragraphs [0032] – [0036] disclose CSI report configuration for wideband or subband reporting of CSI. [0033] The subband report is configured by the two fields csi-ReportingBand and subbandSize. [0034] csi-ReportingBand indicates a contiguous or non-contiguous subset of subbands in the bandwidth part which CSI shall be reported for. Thus, the component frequency bands can be contiguous as indicated by csi-ReportingBand.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subband configuration for reduced CSI of Singh with the systems for detecting and monitoring vital signs and other periodic motions of an object of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for a UE performing CSI reporting for (fewer or selective or smaller set of) subband(s) with or without the need for CSI reporting for wideband or large set of subbands. This can curtail CSI computation delay or CSI reporting message size or both. (Singh; [0048]).
Regarding claim 16, Chen, Karri and Singh teach the system of claim 14, and Singh teaches wherein the component frequency bands of the wideband channel include non- contiguous bands within a transmission channel (Paragraphs [0032] – [0036] disclose CSI report configuration for wideband or subband reporting of CSI. [0033] The subband report is configured by the two fields csi-ReportingBand and subbandSize. [0034] csi-ReportingBand indicates a contiguous or non-contiguous subset of subbands in the bandwidth part which CSI shall be reported for. Thus, the component frequency bands can be contiguous as indicated by csi-ReportingBand.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subband configuration for reduced CSI of Singh with the systems for detecting and monitoring vital signs and other periodic motions of an object of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for a UE performing CSI reporting for (fewer or selective or smaller set of) subband(s) with or without the need for CSI reporting for wideband or large set of subbands. This can curtail CSI computation delay or CSI reporting message size or both. (Singh; [0048]).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches the system of claim 14, but does not teach wherein generating the reduced CRI comprises:
generating, by the at least one processor, a reduced TD-CRI including time domain representations of the component frequency bands of the wideband channel.
Karri in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein generating the reduced CRI comprises:
generating, by the at least one processor, a reduced TD-CRI including time domain representations of the component frequency bands of the wideband channel ([0156] Sparsity in the time domain (e.g., as indicated by channel impulse response (CIR), channel energy response (CER), etc.) may be exploited to compress information in the frequency domain. [0159] Based on the CIR/CER, the UE may determine the length of support (e.g., number of non-zero time domain coefficients |T|). The UE may then use the sparsity/length of support to (e.g., randomly) select a subset of SBs for reporting CSI. This subset of SBs corresponds to the component frequency bands of the wideband channel.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the CSI encoding methods of Karri with the systems for detecting and monitoring vital signs and other periodic motions of an object of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce overhead when reporting CSI (Karri; [0136]).
Regarding claim 22, Chen teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor is further configured with instructions for:
obtaining, by the sensing algorithm manager, channel information ([0429] In one embodiment, the system comprises a transmitter (e.g. the transmitter 110), a receiver (e.g. the receiver 120) and the repeating motion monitor 1400 (sensing algorithm manager) that is coupled to at least one of: the transmitter 110, the receiver 120, an additional transmitter, an additional receiver. [0450] First, channel state information (CSI) or channel information (CI, e.g. CSI) may be obtained at operatoin 1502 by channel estimation after a radio receiver (e.g. wireless, RF, WiFi, LTE, UWB, etc) receives a wireless signal (e.g. a channel probing radio signal, a reply signal, an acknowledgement signal, a data signal, or a control signal) from a radio transmitter.)
executing, by the sensing algorithm manager, a sensing algorithm according to the CSI to obtain a sensing result ([0450] The CSI/CI is preprocessed at operation 1504, e.g., to remove noise and/or to calculate some feature function (e.g. autocorrelation function (ACF)) from the breathing signal. Since breathing signal may be very weak, the received signal may be enhanced at operation 1506 to boost the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) through some operation, e.g., maximal ratio combining (MRC). The ACF may exhibit a periodic behavior since breathing is a periodic process, and features about breathing can be extracted at operation 1508 from the ACF, e.g., detecting a (first) local maximum from the ACF. [0455] Based on the calculated ACF and its inherent characteristics, the system first detects the presence and absence of breathing and, if presented, then estimates the breathing rate, accurately and instantaneously.).
Chen does not teach the channel information obtained by the sensing algorithm manager is reduced CRI;
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed CSI based on the reduced CRI;
Karri in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches the channel information obtained by the sensing algorithm manager is reduced CRI ([0107] Some embodiments may reduce this payload and resource need. While a UE may send a full CSI report (e.g., a full precoder) to the gnB (or BS 102), it may also send a partial CSI report containing the data required for precoder construction at the gnB. The gnB may do some additional processing to reconstruct the precoder. Thus, the following approaches and embodiments may present a tradeoff between additional processing and overhead reduction. Briefly, embodiments may include any or all of: beam splitting across time domain, layer wise puncturing with reconstruction at the gnB, and/or randomized SB compression with simple convex optimization the gnB. In some embodiments, overhead reduction schemes may be traded off with increase in complexity at the gnB.);
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed CSI based on the reduced CRI ([0107] The gnB may do some additional processing to reconstruct the precoder. [0119] The BS 102 may receive and decode the CSI report(s). The BS may interpret the CSI reports in view of the applied technique(s) for reducing overhead. In other words, the BS may reconstruct any omitted coefficients according to the mathematical techniques described herein. [0149] For each SB, one or more coefficients in a linear combination of beams used to specify an Eigen vector (per layer) may be punctured within a CSI report. The orthogonality principle may be utilized at the gnB to reconstruct these punctured coefficients. The puncturing may be replicated or randomized across different SBs. A gnB may compute the punctured coefficients using the inner products of the reported coefficients. This may increase the computations on the gnB slightly but may be a simple method to reconstruct the beam directions when number of layers is more than 1 or spatial multiplexing may be use).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the CSI encoding methods of Karri with the systems for detecting and monitoring vital signs and other periodic motions of an object of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce overhead when reporting CSI (Karri; [0136]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8, 10, 18-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20190166030 A1) in view of Karri (US 20200244331 A1) and Singh (US 20230275636 A1); further in view of Wu (US 20250015863 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Chen, Karri and Sigh teach the method of claim 4, but do not explicitly teach further comprising:
generating a reduced filtered TD-CRI including principal impulses of the reduced TD-CRI, the principal impulses representing a subset of time domain pulses of the full TD-CRI; and
generating location information indicating locations of the principal impulses in the reduced TD-CRI.
Wu, in the same field of endeavor of CSI compression teaches generating a reduced filtered TD-CRI including principal impulses of the reduced TD-CRI, the principal impulses representing a subset of time domain pulses of the full TD-CRI ([0085] In certain aspects, the UE may subsequently perform a time domain compression of the time-domain representation of the spatially compressed PMI. In certain aspects, the time domain compression involves performing a channel-tap selection of the time-domain representation of the spatially compressed PMI (referred to as a channel-tap compression). Channel-tap selection (also called frequency domain compression), in certain aspects, involves selecting active (e.g., dominant) taps (principal impulses) from a number of taps (time domain pulses) in the time-domain representation of the spatially compressed PMI. Fig. 13, [0093] The UE may then select tap indexes of the most active or dominant taps among Beams A-D.); and
generating location information indicating locations of the principal impulses in the reduced TD-CRI ([0098] In the example of FIG. 14, the dominant tap is selected within the first stage tap selection, and the dominant tap indicator is used to indicate (location information) the selected dominant tap of the active taps. [0106] In certain aspects, the first stage tap is selected based on a relative location over the dominant tap. In such aspects, the indication of taps represents location offset from the dominant tap (e.g., (−1, +1, +2, +3)) and can be mapped to 2-bit indicators. In certain aspects, the first stage tap selection is selected using a mapping table of tap indices to select taps, which acts similar to a codebook).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the CSI compression methods of Wu with the motion detection systems of Chen and the CSI encoding methods of Karri and Sigh. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce the overhead associated with the CSI feedback reporting. (Wu; [0077]).
Regarding claim 6, Wu teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the principal impulses are selected to permit reconstruction of the reduced TD-CRI ([0091] In certain aspects, the UE transmits the channel-tap compressed PMI along with the spatial compression matrix (e.g., B.sub.Nt,Nb with an orthogonal DFT beam basis), used to spatially compress the PMI, to the BS. Once the BS receives the spatial compression matrix and the channel-tap compression PMI, the BS performs spatial and time domain decompression in order to recreate the original PMI. For example, the BS utilizes a matrix (e.g., DFT matrix F.sup.H.sub.Nsb,Nsb having a size of “Nsb×Nsb”) to transform the channel-tap compressed PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(3)) and derive a frequency domain representation of the PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(2)). [0081] At 1006, operations 1000 continue by determining one or more parameters used by the first wireless communications device for performing the frequency domain compression of a base PMI to select a subset of a plurality of taps corresponding to a plurality of beams based on a time domain representation of the PMI. At 1008, operations 1000 continue by decompressing the frequency domain compressed PMI, based on the information and the determined parameters, to derive a decompressed PMI).
Regarding claim 7, Wu teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the location information includes a bit map ([0095] In certain aspects, the indication of the taps may comprise or use a bit-map like indication corresponding to taps selected in the first stage and the second stage for each beam. In such aspects, the bit-map uses a sequence of ‘1s’ and ‘0s’ for the indication. Also, at most K.sub.3=N.sub.sb=16 bits may be used for the bit-map, where at most N.sub.a,max ‘1’s exist in 16-bit sequence.).
Regarding claim 8, Wu teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the location information is included in the reduced filtered TD-CRI ([0086] In certain aspects, N.sub.a is reported to the BS by the UE reported. In certain aspects, N.sub.a is associated with the number of subbands (N.sub.sb). [0088] In certain aspects, the N.sub.a,max is reported by the UE to the BS. [0091] In certain aspects, the UE transmits the channel-tap compressed PMI along with the spatial compression matrix (e.g., B.sub.Nt,Nb with an orthogonal DFT beam basis), used to spatially compress the PMI, to the BS. [0095] In certain aspects, the indication of the taps (e.g., information reported by the UE to the BS about the taps) may comprise or use an index of hypothesis corresponding to taps selected in the first stage and the second stage for each beam. [0099] Accordingly, in the example of FIG. 14, using a dominant tap indicator reduces the overhead associated with indicating the active taps for Beams A-D (because the dominant tap is included in each selection of stage 2, it only needs to be indicated once, conserving bits). Thus, by using the dominant tap indicator above, the UE uses 16 bits to indicate tap indexes 3, 4, and 9 2 bits to indicate the dominant tap, and only a few additional bits to indicate the non-dominant taps selected in the second stage.).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches the method of claim 5, further comprising:
obtaining, by the sensing algorithm manager, channel information ([0429] In one embodiment, the system comprises a transmitter (e.g. the transmitter 110), a receiver (e.g. the receiver 120) and the repeating motion monitor 1400 (sensing algorithm manager) that is coupled to at least one of: the transmitter 110, the receiver 120, an additional transmitter, an additional receiver. [0450] First, channel state information (CSI) or channel information (CI, e.g. CSI) may be obtained at operatoin 1502 by channel estimation after a radio receiver (e.g. wireless, RF, WiFi, LTE, UWB, etc) receives a wireless signal (e.g. a channel probing radio signal, a reply signal, an acknowledgement signal, a data signal, or a control signal) from a radio transmitter.)
executing, by the sensing algorithm manager, a sensing algorithm according to the CSI to obtain a sensing result ([0450] The CSI/CI is preprocessed at operatoin 1504, e.g., to remove noise and/or to calculate some feature function (e.g. autocorrelation function (ACF)) from the breathing signal. Since breathing signal may be very weak, the received signal may be enhanced at operatoin 1506 to boost the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) through some operation, e.g., maximal ratio combining (MRC). The ACF may exhibit a periodic behavior since breathing is a periodic process, and features about breathing can be extracted at operation 1508 from the ACF, e.g., detecting a (first) local maximum from the ACF. [0455] Based on the calculated ACF and its inherent characteristics, the system first detects the presence and absence of breathing and, if presented, then estimates the breathing rate, accurately and instantaneously.).
Chen does not teach the channel information obtained by the sensing algorithm manager is reduced filtered TD-CRI, the location information, and the frequency domain bit map;
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed TD-CRI based on the location information, the frequency domain bit map, and the principal impulses of the filtered TD- CRI;
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed CSI according to the reconstructed TD-CRI.
Wu, in the same field of endeavor of CSI compression teaches obtaining, by the sensing algorithm manager, the reduced filtered TD-CRI, the location information, and the frequency domain bit map (([0091] In certain aspects, the UE transmits the channel-tap compressed PMI (reduced filtered TD-CRI) along with the spatial compression matrix (e.g., B.sub.Nt,Nb with an orthogonal DFT beam basis), used to spatially compress the PMI, to the BS. the BS utilizes a matrix (e.g., DFT matrix F.sup.H.sub.Nsb,Nsb having a size of “Nsb×Nsb”) (frequency domain bit map) to transform the channel-tap compressed PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(3)) and derive a frequency domain representation of the PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(2)). In certain aspects, the BS is preconfigured with such a matrix.). [0095] In certain aspects, the indication of the taps (location information) (e.g., information reported by the UE to the BS about the taps) may comprise or use an index of hypothesis corresponding to taps selected in the first stage and the second stage for each beam.);
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed TD-CRI based on the location information, the frequency domain bit map, and the principal impulses of the filtered TD- CRI [0091] Once the BS receives the spatial compression matrix and the channel-tap compression PMI, the BS performs spatial and time domain decompression in order to recreate the original PMI. For example, the BS utilizes a matrix (e.g., DFT matrix F.sup.H.sub.Nsb,Nsb having a size of “Nsb×Nsb”) to transform the channel-tap compressed PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(3)) and derive a frequency domain representation of the PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(2)).);
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed CSI according to the reconstructed TD-CRI ([0091] The BS then uses the spatial compression matrix B.sub.Nt,Nb received from the UE to perform a spatial decompression of the frequency domain representation of the PMI in order to derive the original PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(1))).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the CSI compression methods of Wu with the motion detection systems of Chen and the CSI encoding methods of Karri and Sigh. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce the overhead associated with the CSI feedback reporting. (Wu; [0077]).
Regarding claim 18, Chen, Karri and Singh teach the system of claim 14, but do not teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured with instructions for: generating a reduced filtered TD-CRI including principal impulses of the reduced TD-CRI, the principal impulses representing a subset of time domain pulses of the full TD-CRI; and generating location information indicating locations of the principal impulses in the reduced TD-CRI.
Wu, in the same field of endeavor of CSI compression teaches generating a reduced filtered TD-CRI including principal impulses of the reduced TD-CRI, the principal impulses representing a subset of time domain pulses of the full TD-CRI ([0085] In certain aspects, the UE may subsequently perform a time domain compression of the time-domain representation of the spatially compressed PMI. In certain aspects, the time domain compression involves performing a channel-tap selection of the time-domain representation of the spatially compressed PMI (referred to as a channel-tap compression). Channel-tap selection (also called frequency domain compression), in certain aspects, involves selecting active (e.g., dominant) taps (principal impulses) from a number of taps (time domain pulses) in the time-domain representation of the spatially compressed PMI. Fig. 13, [0093] The UE may then select tap indexes of the most active or dominant taps among Beams A-D.); and
generating location information indicating locations of the principal impulses in the reduced TD-CRI ([0098] In the example of FIG. 14, the dominant tap is selected within the first stage tap selection, and the dominant tap indicator is used to indicate (location information) the selected dominant tap of the active taps. [0106] In certain aspects, the first stage tap is selected based on a relative location over the dominant tap. In such aspects, the indication of taps represents location offset from the dominant tap (e.g., (−1, +1, +2, +3)) and can be mapped to 2-bit indicators. In certain aspects, the first stage tap selection is selected using a mapping table of tap indices to select taps, which acts similar to a codebook).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the CSI compression methods of Wu with the motion detection systems of Chen and the CSI encoding methods of Karri and Singh. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce the overhead associated with the CSI feedback reporting. (Wu; [0077]).
Regarding claim 19, Wu teaches the system of claim 18, wherein the principal impulses are selected to permit reconstruction of the reduced TD-CRI ([0091] In certain aspects, the UE transmits the channel-tap compressed PMI along with the spatial compression matrix (e.g., B.sub.Nt,Nb with an orthogonal DFT beam basis), used to spatially compress the PMI, to the BS. Once the BS receives the spatial compression matrix and the channel-tap compression PMI, the BS performs spatial and time domain decompression in order to recreate the original PMI. For example, the BS utilizes a matrix (e.g., DFT matrix F.sup.H.sub.Nsb,Nsb having a size of “Nsb×Nsb”) to transform the channel-tap compressed PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(3)) and derive a frequency domain representation of the PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(2)). [0081] At 1006, operations 1000 continue by determining one or more parameters used by the first wireless communications device for performing the frequency domain compression of a base PMI to select a subset of a plurality of taps corresponding to a plurality of beams based on a time domain representation of the PMI. At 1008, operations 1000 continue by decompressing the frequency domain compressed PMI, based on the information and the determined parameters, to derive a decompressed PMI).
Regarding claim 20, Wu teaches the system of claim 18, wherein the location information includes a bit map ([0095] In certain aspects, the indication of the taps may comprise or use a bit-map like indication corresponding to taps selected in the first stage and the second stage for each beam. In such aspects, the bit-map uses a sequence of ‘1s’ and ‘0s’ for the indication. Also, at most K.sub.3=N.sub.sb=16 bits may be used for the bit-map, where at most N.sub.a,max ‘1’s exist in 16-bit sequence.).
Regarding claim 21, Wu teaches the system of claim 18, wherein the location information is included in the reduced filtered TD-CRI ([0086] In certain aspects, N.sub.a is reported to the BS by the UE reported. In certain aspects, N.sub.a is associated with the number of subbands (N.sub.sb). [0088] In certain aspects, the N.sub.a,max is reported by the UE to the BS. [0091] In certain aspects, the UE transmits the channel-tap compressed PMI along with the spatial compression matrix (e.g., B.sub.Nt,Nb with an orthogonal DFT beam basis), used to spatially compress the PMI, to the BS. [0095] In certain aspects, the indication of the taps (e.g., information reported by the UE to the BS about the taps) may comprise or use an index of hypothesis corresponding to taps selected in the first stage and the second stage for each beam. [0099] Accordingly, in the example of FIG. 14, using a dominant tap indicator reduces the overhead associated with indicating the active taps for Beams A-D (because the dominant tap is included in each selection of stage 2, it only needs to be indicated once, conserving bits). Thus, by using the dominant tap indicator above, the UE uses 16 bits to indicate tap indexes 3, 4, and 9 2 bits to indicate the dominant tap, and only a few additional bits to indicate the non-dominant taps selected in the second stage.).
Regarding claim 23, Chen teaches the system of claim 18, further comprising:
obtaining, by the sensing algorithm manager, channel information ([0429] In one embodiment, the system comprises a transmitter (e.g. the transmitter 110), a receiver (e.g. the receiver 120) and the repeating motion monitor 1400 (sensing algorithm manager) that is coupled to at least one of: the transmitter 110, the receiver 120, an additional transmitter, an additional receiver. [0450] First, channel state information (CSI) or channel information (CI, e.g. CSI) may be obtained at operatoin 1502 by channel estimation after a radio receiver (e.g. wireless, RF, WiFi, LTE, UWB, etc) receives a wireless signal (e.g. a channel probing radio signal, a reply signal, an acknowledgement signal, a data signal, or a control signal) from a radio transmitter.)
executing, by the sensing algorithm manager, a sensing algorithm according to the CSI to obtain a sensing result ([0450] The CSI/CI is preprocessed at operatoin 1504, e.g., to remove noise and/or to calculate some feature function (e.g. autocorrelation function (ACF)) from the breathing signal. Since breathing signal may be very weak, the received signal may be enhanced at operatoin 1506 to boost the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) through some operation, e.g., maximal ratio combining (MRC). The ACF may exhibit a periodic behavior since breathing is a periodic process, and features about breathing can be extracted at operation 1508 from the ACF, e.g., detecting a (first) local maximum from the ACF. [0455] Based on the calculated ACF and its inherent characteristics, the system first detects the presence and absence of breathing and, if presented, then estimates the breathing rate, accurately and instantaneously.).
Chen does not teach the channel information obtained by the sensing algorithm manager is reduced filtered TD-CRI, the location information, and the frequency domain bit map;
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed TD-CRI based on the location information, the frequency domain bit map, and the principal impulses of the filtered TD- CRI;
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed CSI according to the reconstructed TD-CRI.
Wu, in the same field of endeavor of CSI compression teaches obtaining, by the sensing algorithm manager, the reduced filtered TD-CRI, the location information, and the frequency domain bit map (([0091] In certain aspects, the UE transmits the channel-tap compressed PMI (reduced filtered TD-CRI) along with the spatial compression matrix (e.g., B.sub.Nt,Nb with an orthogonal DFT beam basis), used to spatially compress the PMI, to the BS. the BS utilizes a matrix (e.g., DFT matrix F.sup.H.sub.Nsb,Nsb having a size of “Nsb×Nsb”) (frequency domain bit map) to transform the channel-tap compressed PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(3)) and derive a frequency domain representation of the PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(2)). In certain aspects, the BS is preconfigured with such a matrix.). [0095] In certain aspects, the indication of the taps (location information) (e.g., information reported by the UE to the BS about the taps) may comprise or use an index of hypothesis corresponding to taps selected in the first stage and the second stage for each beam.);
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed TD-CRI based on the location information, the frequency domain bit map, and the principal impulses of the filtered TD- CRI [0091] Once the BS receives the spatial compression matrix and the channel-tap compression PMI, the BS performs spatial and time domain decompression in order to recreate the original PMI. For example, the BS utilizes a matrix (e.g., DFT matrix F.sup.H.sub.Nsb,Nsb having a size of “Nsb×Nsb”) to transform the channel-tap compressed PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(3)) and derive a frequency domain representation of the PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(2)).);
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed CSI according to the reconstructed TD-CRI ([0091] The BS then uses the spatial compression matrix B.sub.Nt,Nb received from the UE to perform a spatial decompression of the frequency domain representation of the PMI in order to derive the original PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(1))).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the CSI compression methods of Wu with the motion detection systems of Chen and the CSI encoding methods of Karri and Singh. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce the overhead associated with the CSI feedback reporting. (Wu; [0077]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465