Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 29, 2024, and October 8, 2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9, 14, 17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20190166030 A1) in view of Karri (US 20200244331 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a method for Wi-Fi sensing carried out by a sensing receiver (Fig. 1, [0368] receiver 120) including a transmitting antenna ([0472] An antenna 2050…electrically coupled to the transceiver 2010), a receiving antenna ([0472] An antenna 2050…electrically coupled to the transceiver 2010), and at least one processor ([0472] processor 2002) configured to execute instructions, the method comprising:
receiving, via the receiving antenna, sensing transmissions from a transmitter (Fig. 1, [0369] The transmitter 110 is configured for transmitting a wireless signal through the wireless channel 130. The wireless channel 130 in this example is a wireless multipath channel that is impacted by a pseudo-periodic motion of an object in the venue. According to various embodiments, the object may be a human (e.g. a baby 142, or a patient 146) or a pet (e.g. a puppy 144). The receiver 120 in this example receives the wireless signal through the wireless multipath channel 130);
generating, by the at least one processor, one or more sensing measurements representing a channel state information (CSI) based on the sensing transmissions ([0369] The receiver 120…obtains at least one time series of channel information (CI) of the wireless multipath channel based on the wireless signal. Because the motion of the object impacts the wireless multipath channel through which the wireless signal is transmitted, the channel information 125 extracted from the wireless signal includes information related to the object motion. [0428] The receiver can extract a time series of CSI from a wireless signal and collect CSI for a slide window (about 10-15 sec).).
Chen does not teach identifying, by the at least one processor, component frequency bands of a wideband channel, wherein the component frequency bands are associated with the sensing transmissions from the sensing transmitter;
generating, by the at least one processor, a reduced channel representation information (CRI) including the component frequency bands associated with the selected sensing transmissions from the sensing transmitter; and
sending the reduced CRI to a sensing algorithm manager.
Karri, in the same field of endeavor of channel estimation in wireless communications teaches identifying, by the at least one processor, component frequency bands of a wideband channel, wherein the component frequency bands are associated with the sensing transmissions from the sensing transmitter ([0197] The base station may transmit, to the UE, control information for reporting channel state information, wherein the control information specifies: at least one technique for reducing overhead associated with reporting channel state information; a plurality of layers including 3 or more layers; a plurality of L beams; and a plurality of N subbands [0193] In some embodiments, the at least one technique for reducing overhead associated with reporting channel state information may include randomized subband compression, wherein the processing element is further configured to cause the UE to: randomly select a subset of the plurality of N subbands to include in the channel state information report.);
generating, by the at least one processor, a reduced channel representation information (CRI) including the component frequency bands associated with the selected sensing transmissions from the sensing transmitter ([0155] FIG. 23 illustrates a type II CSI precoder using randomized SB compression to achieve overhead reduction, according to some embodiments. [0159] In order to encode type II CSI with random SB compression, a wireless device (e.g., a UE) may determine or obtain the CIR/CER at the wireless device. Based on the CIR/CER, the UE may determine the length of support (e.g., number of non-zero time domain coefficients |T|). The UE may then use the sparsity/length of support to (e.g., randomly) select a subset of SBs for reporting CSI. As noted above, the subset may provide approximately 8× support, among various possibilities. [0193] In some embodiments, the at least one technique for reducing overhead associated with reporting channel state information may include randomized subband compression, wherein the processing element is further configured to cause the UE to: randomly select a subset of the plurality of N subbands to include in the channel state information report. [0194] In some embodiments, the processing element may be further configured to cause the UE to: exclude, from the channel state information report, all subbands that are not part of the subset.); and
sending the reduced CRI to a sensing algorithm manager ([0118] The wireless device (e.g., UE 106) may transmit the CSI to the BS 102 (sensing algorithm manager). [0108] Similarly, although some elements of the method are described in a manner relating to the measurement and reporting of a downlink channel (e.g., by a UE reporting to a base station), the method may also be applied in the reverse (e.g., a base station measuring an uplink channel). Further, the method may be applied in other contexts (e.g., between multiple UEs, e.g., in device-to-device communications).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the CSI encoding methods of Karri with the systems for detecting and monitoring vital signs and other periodic motions of an object of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce overhead when reporting CSI (Karri; [0136]).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach wherein generating the reduced CRI includes:
generating, by the at least one processor, a full time-domain channel representation information (TD-CRI) of the CSI;
generating, by the at least one processor, a reduced TD-CRI including time domain representations of the component frequency bands of the wideband channel; and
generating, by the at least one processor, a frequency domain bit map indicating the locations of the time domain representations in the full TD-CRI.
Karri teaches wherein generating the reduced CRI includes:
generating, by the at least one processor, a full time-domain channel representation information (TD-CRI) of the CSI ([0111] The wireless device (e.g., UE 106) may perform one or more measurements to measure the state of the channel, e.g., according to received control information and/or configuration of the UE (804), according to some embodiments. The measurements may include any radio link measurements, e.g., to support reports such as CSI and/or channel quality indicator (CQI). For example, the measurements may include one or more of…channel impulse response (CIR). The measurements may be performed using any number of receive beams (e.g., of the UE 106) and/or transmit beams (e.g., of the BS 102). The measurements may be performed for any number of frequencies (e.g., SB and/or WB measurements). A channel impulse response for all frequencies would be a full time-domain channel representation information (TD-CRI).);
generating, by the at least one processor, a reduced TD-CRI including time domain representations of the component frequency bands of the wideband channel ([0156] Sparsity in the time domain (e.g., as indicated by channel impulse response (CIR), channel energy response (CER), etc.) may be exploited to compress information in the frequency domain. [0159] Based on the CIR/CER, the UE may determine the length of support (e.g., number of non-zero time domain coefficients |T|). The UE may then use the sparsity/length of support to (e.g., randomly) select a subset of SBs for reporting CSI. This subset of SBs corresponds to the component frequency bands of the wideband channel.); and
generating, by the at least one processor, a frequency domain bit map indicating the locations of the time domain representations in the full TD-CRI ([0124] The second matrix may include coefficients (c.sub.m.sup.r) for each layer (r), SB, and beam (indexed by m, illustrated in the vertical dimension so that m=0-3 or a first polarization and m=4-7 for the second polarization).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the CSI encoding methods of Karri with the systems for detecting and monitoring vital signs and other periodic motions of an object of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce overhead when reporting CSI (Karri; [0136]).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining, by the sensing algorithm manager, channel information ([0429] In one embodiment, the system comprises a transmitter (e.g. the transmitter 110), a receiver (e.g. the receiver 120) and the repeating motion monitor 1400 (sensing algorithm manager) that is coupled to at least one of: the transmitter 110, the receiver 120, an additional transmitter, an additional receiver. [0450] First, channel state information (CSI) or channel information (CI, e.g. CSI) may be obtained at operatoin 1502 by channel estimation after a radio receiver (e.g. wireless, RF, WiFi, LTE, UWB, etc) receives a wireless signal (e.g. a channel probing radio signal, a reply signal, an acknowledgement signal, a data signal, or a control signal) from a radio transmitter.)
executing, by the sensing algorithm manager, a sensing algorithm according to the CSI to obtain a sensing result ([0450] The CSI/CI is preprocessed at operatoin 1504, e.g., to remove noise and/or to calculate some feature function (e.g. autocorrelation function (ACF)) from the breathing signal. Since breathing signal may be very weak, the received signal may be enhanced at operatoin 1506 to boost the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) through some operation, e.g., maximal ratio combining (MRC). The ACF may exhibit a periodic behavior since breathing is a periodic process, and features about breathing can be extracted at operation 1508 from the ACF, e.g., detecting a (first) local maximum from the ACF. [0455] Based on the calculated ACF and its inherent characteristics, the system first detects the presence and absence of breathing and, if presented, then estimates the breathing rate, accurately and instantaneously.).
Chen does not teach the channel information obtained by the sensing algorithm manager is reduced CRI;
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed CSI based on the reduced CRI;
Karri teaches the channel information obtained by the sensing algorithm manager is reduced CRI ([0107] Some embodiments may reduce this payload and resource need. While a UE may send a full CSI report (e.g., a full precoder) to the gnB (or BS 102), it may also send a partial CSI report containing the data required for precoder construction at the gnB. The gnB may do some additional processing to reconstruct the precoder. Thus, the following approaches and embodiments may present a tradeoff between additional processing and overhead reduction. Briefly, embodiments may include any or all of: beam splitting across time domain, layer wise puncturing with reconstruction at the gnB, and/or randomized SB compression with simple convex optimization the gnB. In some embodiments, overhead reduction schemes may be traded off with increase in complexity at the gnB.);
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed CSI based on the reduced CRI ([0107] The gnB may do some additional processing to reconstruct the precoder. [0119] The BS 102 may receive and decode the CSI report(s). The BS may interpret the CSI reports in view of the applied technique(s) for reducing overhead. In other words, the BS may reconstruct any omitted coefficients according to the mathematical techniques described herein. [0149] For each SB, one or more coefficients in a linear combination of beams used to specify an Eigen vector (per layer) may be punctured within a CSI report. The orthogonality principle may be utilized at the gnB to reconstruct these punctured coefficients. The puncturing may be replicated or randomized across different SBs. A gnB may compute the punctured coefficients using the inner products of the reported coefficients. This may increase the computations on the gnB slightly but may be a simple method to reconstruct the beam directions when number of layers is more than 1 or spatial multiplexing may be use).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the CSI encoding methods of Karri with the systems for detecting and monitoring vital signs and other periodic motions of an object of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce overhead when reporting CSI (Karri; [0136]).
Regarding 14, A system for Wi-Fi sensing comprising a sensing receiver (Fig. 1, [0368] receiver 120) including: a transmitting antenna ([0472] An antenna 2050…electrically coupled to the transceiver 2010), a receiving antenna ([0472] An antenna 2050…electrically coupled to the transceiver 2010), and at least one processor ([0472] processor 2002) configured to execute instructions for:
receiving, via the receiving antenna, sensing transmissions from a sensing transmitter (Fig. 1, [0369] The transmitter 110 is configured for transmitting a wireless signal through the wireless channel 130. The wireless channel 130 in this example is a wireless multipath channel that is impacted by a pseudo-periodic motion of an object in the venue. According to various embodiments, the object may be a human (e.g. a baby 142, or a patient 146) or a pet (e.g. a puppy 144). The receiver 120 in this example receives the wireless signal through the wireless multipath channel 130);
generating one or more sensing measurements representing a channel state information (CSI) based on the sensing transmissions ([0369] The receiver 120…obtains at least one time series of channel information (CI) of the wireless multipath channel based on the wireless signal. Because the motion of the object impacts the wireless multipath channel through which the wireless signal is transmitted, the channel information 125 extracted from the wireless signal includes information related to the object motion. [0428] The receiver can extract a time series of CSI from a wireless signal and collect CSI for a slide window (about 10-15 sec).).
Chen does not teach identifying component frequency bands of a wideband channel, wherein the component frequency bands are associated with the sensing transmissions from the sensing transmitter;
generating a reduced channel representation information (CRI) including the component frequency bands associated with the sensing transmissions from the sensing transmitter; and
sending the reduced CRI to a sensing algorithm manager.
Karri, in the same field of endeavor of channel estimation in wireless communications teaches identifying component frequency bands of a wideband channel, wherein the component frequency bands are associated with the sensing transmissions from the sensing transmitter ([0197] The base station may transmit, to the UE, control information for reporting channel state information, wherein the control information specifies: at least one technique for reducing overhead associated with reporting channel state information; a plurality of layers including 3 or more layers; a plurality of L beams; and a plurality of N subbands [0193] In some embodiments, the at least one technique for reducing overhead associated with reporting channel state information may include randomized subband compression, wherein the processing element is further configured to cause the UE to: randomly select a subset of the plurality of N subbands to include in the channel state information report.);
generating a reduced channel representation information (CRI) including the component frequency bands associated with the sensing transmissions from the sensing transmitter ([0155] FIG. 23 illustrates a type II CSI precoder using randomized SB compression to achieve overhead reduction, according to some embodiments. [0159] In order to encode type II CSI with random SB compression, a wireless device (e.g., a UE) may determine or obtain the CIR/CER at the wireless device. Based on the CIR/CER, the UE may determine the length of support (e.g., number of non-zero time domain coefficients |T|). The UE may then use the sparsity/length of support to (e.g., randomly) select a subset of SBs for reporting CSI. As noted above, the subset may provide approximately 8× support, among various possibilities. [0193] In some embodiments, the at least one technique for reducing overhead associated with reporting channel state information may include randomized subband compression, wherein the processing element is further configured to cause the UE to: randomly select a subset of the plurality of N subbands to include in the channel state information report. [0194] In some embodiments, the processing element may be further configured to cause the UE to: exclude, from the channel state information report, all subbands that are not part of the subset.); and
sending the reduced CRI to a sensing algorithm manager ([0118] The wireless device (e.g., UE 106) may transmit the CSI to the BS 102 (sensing algorithm manager). [0108] Similarly, although some elements of the method are described in a manner relating to the measurement and reporting of a downlink channel (e.g., by a UE reporting to a base station), the method may also be applied in the reverse (e.g., a base station measuring an uplink channel). Further, the method may be applied in other contexts (e.g., between multiple UEs, e.g., in device-to-device communications).).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches the system of claim 14, but does not teach wherein generating the reduced CRI includes:
generating a full time-domain channel representation information (TD-CRI) of the CSI;
generating a reduced TD-CRI including time domain representations of the component frequency bands of the wideband channel; and
generating a frequency domain bit map indicating the locations of the time domain representations in the full TD-CRI.
Karri teaches wherein generating the reduced CRI includes:
generating a full time-domain channel representation information (TD-CRI) of the CSI ([0111] The wireless device (e.g., UE 106) may perform one or more measurements to measure the state of the channel, e.g., according to received control information and/or configuration of the UE (804), according to some embodiments. The measurements may include any radio link measurements, e.g., to support reports such as CSI and/or channel quality indicator (CQI). For example, the measurements may include one or more of…channel impulse response (CIR). The measurements may be performed using any number of receive beams (e.g., of the UE 106) and/or transmit beams (e.g., of the BS 102). The measurements may be performed for any number of frequencies (e.g., SB and/or WB measurements). A channel impulse response for all frequencies would be a full time-domain channel representation information (TD-CRI).);
generating a reduced TD-CRI including time domain representations of the component frequency bands of the wideband channel ([0156] Sparsity in the time domain (e.g., as indicated by channel impulse response (CIR), channel energy response (CER), etc.) may be exploited to compress information in the frequency domain. [0159] Based on the CIR/CER, the UE may determine the length of support (e.g., number of non-zero time domain coefficients |T|). The UE may then use the sparsity/length of support to (e.g., randomly) select a subset of SBs for reporting CSI. This subset of SBs corresponds to the component frequency bands of the wideband channel.); and
generating a frequency domain bit map indicating the locations of the time domain representations in the full TD-CRI ([0124] The second matrix may include coefficients (c.sub.m.sup.r) for each layer (r), SB, and beam (indexed by m, illustrated in the vertical dimension so that m=0-3 or a first polarization and m=4-7 for the second polarization).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the CSI encoding methods of Karri with the systems for detecting and monitoring vital signs and other periodic motions of an object of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce overhead when reporting CSI (Karri; [0136]).
Regarding claim 22, Chen teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor is further configured with instructions for:
obtaining, by the sensing algorithm manager, channel information ([0429] In one embodiment, the system comprises a transmitter (e.g. the transmitter 110), a receiver (e.g. the receiver 120) and the repeating motion monitor 1400 (sensing algorithm manager) that is coupled to at least one of: the transmitter 110, the receiver 120, an additional transmitter, an additional receiver. [0450] First, channel state information (CSI) or channel information (CI, e.g. CSI) may be obtained at operatoin 1502 by channel estimation after a radio receiver (e.g. wireless, RF, WiFi, LTE, UWB, etc) receives a wireless signal (e.g. a channel probing radio signal, a reply signal, an acknowledgement signal, a data signal, or a control signal) from a radio transmitter.)
executing, by the sensing algorithm manager, a sensing algorithm according to the CSI to obtain a sensing result ([0450] The CSI/CI is preprocessed at operatoin 1504, e.g., to remove noise and/or to calculate some feature function (e.g. autocorrelation function (ACF)) from the breathing signal. Since breathing signal may be very weak, the received signal may be enhanced at operatoin 1506 to boost the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) through some operation, e.g., maximal ratio combining (MRC). The ACF may exhibit a periodic behavior since breathing is a periodic process, and features about breathing can be extracted at operation 1508 from the ACF, e.g., detecting a (first) local maximum from the ACF. [0455] Based on the calculated ACF and its inherent characteristics, the system first detects the presence and absence of breathing and, if presented, then estimates the breathing rate, accurately and instantaneously.).
Chen does not teach the channel information obtained by the sensing algorithm manager is reduced CRI;
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed CSI based on the reduced CRI;
Karri teaches the channel information obtained by the sensing algorithm manager is reduced CRI ([0107] Some embodiments may reduce this payload and resource need. While a UE may send a full CSI report (e.g., a full precoder) to the gnB (or BS 102), it may also send a partial CSI report containing the data required for precoder construction at the gnB. The gnB may do some additional processing to reconstruct the precoder. Thus, the following approaches and embodiments may present a tradeoff between additional processing and overhead reduction. Briefly, embodiments may include any or all of: beam splitting across time domain, layer wise puncturing with reconstruction at the gnB, and/or randomized SB compression with simple convex optimization the gnB. In some embodiments, overhead reduction schemes may be traded off with increase in complexity at the gnB.);
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed CSI based on the reduced CRI ([0107] The gnB may do some additional processing to reconstruct the precoder. [0119] The BS 102 may receive and decode the CSI report(s). The BS may interpret the CSI reports in view of the applied technique(s) for reducing overhead. In other words, the BS may reconstruct any omitted coefficients according to the mathematical techniques described herein. [0149] For each SB, one or more coefficients in a linear combination of beams used to specify an Eigen vector (per layer) may be punctured within a CSI report. The orthogonality principle may be utilized at the gnB to reconstruct these punctured coefficients. The puncturing may be replicated or randomized across different SBs. A gnB may compute the punctured coefficients using the inner products of the reported coefficients. This may increase the computations on the gnB slightly but may be a simple method to reconstruct the beam directions when number of layers is more than 1 or spatial multiplexing may be use).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the CSI encoding methods of Karri with the systems for detecting and monitoring vital signs and other periodic motions of an object of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce overhead when reporting CSI (Karri; [0136]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20190166030 A1) in view of Karri (US 20200244331 A1); further in view of Singh (US 20230275636 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Chen and Karri teach the method of claim 1, but do not explicitly teach wherein the component frequency bands of the wideband channel are contiguous bands within a transmission channel.
Singh in the same field of endeavor of subband configuration for reduced CSI teaches wherein the component frequency bands of the wideband channel are contiguous bands within a transmission channel (Paragraphs [0032] – [0036] disclose CSI report configuration for wideband or subband reporting of CSI. [0033] The subband report is configured by the two fields csi-ReportingBand and subbandSize. [0034] csi-ReportingBand indicates a contiguous or non-contiguous subset of subbands in the bandwidth part which CSI shall be reported for. Thus the component frequency bands can be contiguous as indicated by csi-ReportingBand.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subband configuration for reduced CSI of Singh with the systems for detecting and monitoring vital signs and other periodic motions of an object of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for a UE performing CSI reporting for (fewer or selective or smaller set of) subband(s) with or without the need for CSI reporting for wideband or large set of subbands. This can curtail CSI computation delay or CSI reporting message size or both. (Singh; [0048]).
Regarding claim 3, Chen and Karri teach the method of claim 1, but do not explicitly teach wherein the component frequency bands of the wideband channel include non- contiguous bands within a transmission channel (Paragraphs [0032] – [0036] disclose CSI report configuration for wideband or subband reporting of CSI. [0033] The subband report is configured by the two fields csi-ReportingBand and subbandSize. [0034] csi-ReportingBand indicates a contiguous or non-contiguous subset of subbands in the bandwidth part which CSI shall be reported for. Thus the component frequency bands can be contiguous as indicated by csi-ReportingBand.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subband configuration for reduced CSI of Singh with the systems for detecting and monitoring vital signs and other periodic motions of an object of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for a UE performing CSI reporting for (fewer or selective or smaller set of) subband(s) with or without the need for CSI reporting for wideband or large set of subbands. This can curtail CSI computation delay or CSI reporting message size or both. (Singh; [0048]).
Regarding claim 15, Chen and Karri teach the system of claim 14, but do not explicitly teach wherein the component frequency bands of the wideband channel are contiguous bands within a transmission channel (Paragraphs [0032] – [0036] disclose CSI report configuration for wideband or subband reporting of CSI. [0033] The subband report is configured by the two fields csi-ReportingBand and subbandSize. [0034] csi-ReportingBand indicates a contiguous or non-contiguous subset of subbands in the bandwidth part which CSI shall be reported for. Thus, the component frequency bands can be contiguous as indicated by csi-ReportingBand.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subband configuration for reduced CSI of Singh with the systems for detecting and monitoring vital signs and other periodic motions of an object of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for a UE performing CSI reporting for (fewer or selective or smaller set of) subband(s) with or without the need for CSI reporting for wideband or large set of subbands. This can curtail CSI computation delay or CSI reporting message size or both. (Singh; [0048]).
Regarding claim 16, Chen and Karri teach the system of claim 14, but do not explicitly teach wherein the component frequency bands of the wideband channel include non- contiguous bands within a transmission channel (Paragraphs [0032] – [0036] disclose CSI report configuration for wideband or subband reporting of CSI. [0033] The subband report is configured by the two fields csi-ReportingBand and subbandSize. [0034] csi-ReportingBand indicates a contiguous or non-contiguous subset of subbands in the bandwidth part which CSI shall be reported for. Thus, the component frequency bands can be contiguous as indicated by csi-ReportingBand.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subband configuration for reduced CSI of Singh with the systems for detecting and monitoring vital signs and other periodic motions of an object of Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to provide for a UE performing CSI reporting for (fewer or selective or smaller set of) subband(s) with or without the need for CSI reporting for wideband or large set of subbands. This can curtail CSI computation delay or CSI reporting message size or both. (Singh; [0048]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8, 10, 18-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20190166030 A1) in view of Karri (US 20200244331 A1); further in view of Wu (US 20250015863 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Chen and Karri teach the method of claim 4, but do not explicitly teach further comprising:
generating a reduced filtered TD-CRI including principal impulses of the reduced TD-CRI, the principal impulses representing a subset of time domain pulses of the full TD-CRI; and
generating location information indicating locations of the principal impulses in the reduced TD-CRI.
Wu, in the same field of endeavor of CSI compression teaches generating a reduced filtered TD-CRI including principal impulses of the reduced TD-CRI, the principal impulses representing a subset of time domain pulses of the full TD-CRI ([0085] In certain aspects, the UE may subsequently perform a time domain compression of the time-domain representation of the spatially compressed PMI. In certain aspects, the time domain compression involves performing a channel-tap selection of the time-domain representation of the spatially compressed PMI (referred to as a channel-tap compression). Channel-tap selection (also called frequency domain compression), in certain aspects, involves selecting active (e.g., dominant) taps (principal impulses) from a number of taps (time domain pulses) in the time-domain representation of the spatially compressed PMI. Fig. 13, [0093] The UE may then select tap indexes of the most active or dominant taps among Beams A-D.); and
generating location information indicating locations of the principal impulses in the reduced TD-CRI ([0098] In the example of FIG. 14, the dominant tap is selected within the first stage tap selection, and the dominant tap indicator is used to indicate (location information) the selected dominant tap of the active taps. [0106] In certain aspects, the first stage tap is selected based on a relative location over the dominant tap. In such aspects, the indication of taps represents location offset from the dominant tap (e.g., (−1, +1, +2, +3)) and can be mapped to 2-bit indicators. In certain aspects, the first stage tap selection is selected using a mapping table of tap indices to select taps, which acts similar to a codebook).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the CSI compression methods of Wu with the motion detection systems of Chen and the CSI encoding methods of Karri. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce the overhead associated with the CSI feedback reporting. (Wu; [0077]).
Regarding claim 6, Wu teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the principal impulses are selected to permit reconstruction of the reduced TD-CRI ([0091] In certain aspects, the UE transmits the channel-tap compressed PMI along with the spatial compression matrix (e.g., B.sub.Nt,Nb with an orthogonal DFT beam basis), used to spatially compress the PMI, to the BS. Once the BS receives the spatial compression matrix and the channel-tap compression PMI, the BS performs spatial and time domain decompression in order to recreate the original PMI. For example, the BS utilizes a matrix (e.g., DFT matrix F.sup.H.sub.Nsb,Nsb having a size of “Nsb×Nsb”) to transform the channel-tap compressed PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(3)) and derive a frequency domain representation of the PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(2)). [0081] At 1006, operations 1000 continue by determining one or more parameters used by the first wireless communications device for performing the frequency domain compression of a base PMI to select a subset of a plurality of taps corresponding to a plurality of beams based on a time domain representation of the PMI. At 1008, operations 1000 continue by decompressing the frequency domain compressed PMI, based on the information and the determined parameters, to derive a decompressed PMI).
Regarding claim 7, Wu teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the location information includes a bit map ([0095] In certain aspects, the indication of the taps may comprise or use a bit-map like indication corresponding to taps selected in the first stage and the second stage for each beam. In such aspects, the bit-map uses a sequence of ‘1s’ and ‘0s’ for the indication. Also, at most K.sub.3=N.sub.sb=16 bits may be used for the bit-map, where at most N.sub.a,max ‘1’s exist in 16-bit sequence.).
Regarding claim 8, Wu teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the location information is included in the reduced filtered TD-CRI ([0086] In certain aspects, N.sub.a is reported to the BS by the UE reported. In certain aspects, N.sub.a is associated with the number of subbands (N.sub.sb). [0088] In certain aspects, the N.sub.a,max is reported by the UE to the BS. [0091] In certain aspects, the UE transmits the channel-tap compressed PMI along with the spatial compression matrix (e.g., B.sub.Nt,Nb with an orthogonal DFT beam basis), used to spatially compress the PMI, to the BS. [0095] In certain aspects, the indication of the taps (e.g., information reported by the UE to the BS about the taps) may comprise or use an index of hypothesis corresponding to taps selected in the first stage and the second stage for each beam. [0099] Accordingly, in the example of FIG. 14, using a dominant tap indicator reduces the overhead associated with indicating the active taps for Beams A-D (because the dominant tap is included in each selection of stage 2, it only needs to be indicated once, conserving bits). Thus, by using the dominant tap indicator above, the UE uses 16 bits to indicate tap indexes 3, 4, and 9 2 bits to indicate the dominant tap, and only a few additional bits to indicate the non-dominant taps selected in the second stage.).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches the method of claim 5, further comprising:
obtaining, by the sensing algorithm manager, channel information ([0429] In one embodiment, the system comprises a transmitter (e.g. the transmitter 110), a receiver (e.g. the receiver 120) and the repeating motion monitor 1400 (sensing algorithm manager) that is coupled to at least one of: the transmitter 110, the receiver 120, an additional transmitter, an additional receiver. [0450] First, channel state information (CSI) or channel information (CI, e.g. CSI) may be obtained at operatoin 1502 by channel estimation after a radio receiver (e.g. wireless, RF, WiFi, LTE, UWB, etc) receives a wireless signal (e.g. a channel probing radio signal, a reply signal, an acknowledgement signal, a data signal, or a control signal) from a radio transmitter.)
executing, by the sensing algorithm manager, a sensing algorithm according to the CSI to obtain a sensing result ([0450] The CSI/CI is preprocessed at operatoin 1504, e.g., to remove noise and/or to calculate some feature function (e.g. autocorrelation function (ACF)) from the breathing signal. Since breathing signal may be very weak, the received signal may be enhanced at operatoin 1506 to boost the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) through some operation, e.g., maximal ratio combining (MRC). The ACF may exhibit a periodic behavior since breathing is a periodic process, and features about breathing can be extracted at operation 1508 from the ACF, e.g., detecting a (first) local maximum from the ACF. [0455] Based on the calculated ACF and its inherent characteristics, the system first detects the presence and absence of breathing and, if presented, then estimates the breathing rate, accurately and instantaneously.).
Chen does not teach the channel information obtained by the sensing algorithm manager is reduced filtered TD-CRI, the location information, and the frequency domain bit map;
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed TD-CRI based on the location information, the frequency domain bit map, and the principal impulses of the filtered TD- CRI;
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed CSI according to the reconstructed TD-CRI.
Wu, in the same field of endeavor of CSI compression teaches obtaining, by the sensing algorithm manager, the reduced filtered TD-CRI, the location information, and the frequency domain bit map (([0091] In certain aspects, the UE transmits the channel-tap compressed PMI (reduced filtered TD-CRI) along with the spatial compression matrix (e.g., B.sub.Nt,Nb with an orthogonal DFT beam basis), used to spatially compress the PMI, to the BS. the BS utilizes a matrix (e.g., DFT matrix F.sup.H.sub.Nsb,Nsb having a size of “Nsb×Nsb”) (frequency domain bit map) to transform the channel-tap compressed PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(3)) and derive a frequency domain representation of the PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(2)). In certain aspects, the BS is preconfigured with such a matrix.). [0095] In certain aspects, the indication of the taps (location information) (e.g., information reported by the UE to the BS about the taps) may comprise or use an index of hypothesis corresponding to taps selected in the first stage and the second stage for each beam.);
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed TD-CRI based on the location information, the frequency domain bit map, and the principal impulses of the filtered TD- CRI [0091] Once the BS receives the spatial compression matrix and the channel-tap compression PMI, the BS performs spatial and time domain decompression in order to recreate the original PMI. For example, the BS utilizes a matrix (e.g., DFT matrix F.sup.H.sub.Nsb,Nsb having a size of “Nsb×Nsb”) to transform the channel-tap compressed PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(3)) and derive a frequency domain representation of the PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(2)).);
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed CSI according to the reconstructed TD-CRI ([0091] The BS then uses the spatial compression matrix B.sub.Nt,Nb received from the UE to perform a spatial decompression of the frequency domain representation of the PMI in order to derive the original PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(1))).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the CSI compression methods of Wu with the motion detection systems of Chen and the CSI encoding methods of Karri. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce the overhead associated with the CSI feedback reporting. (Wu; [0077]).
Regarding claim 18, Chen and Karri teach the system of claim 14, but do not teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured with instructions for: generating a reduced filtered TD-CRI including principal impulses of the reduced TD-CRI, the principal impulses representing a subset of time domain pulses of the full TD-CRI; and generating location information indicating locations of the principal impulses in the reduced TD-CRI.
Wu, in the same field of endeavor of CSI compression teaches generating a reduced filtered TD-CRI including principal impulses of the reduced TD-CRI, the principal impulses representing a subset of time domain pulses of the full TD-CRI ([0085] In certain aspects, the UE may subsequently perform a time domain compression of the time-domain representation of the spatially compressed PMI. In certain aspects, the time domain compression involves performing a channel-tap selection of the time-domain representation of the spatially compressed PMI (referred to as a channel-tap compression). Channel-tap selection (also called frequency domain compression), in certain aspects, involves selecting active (e.g., dominant) taps (principal impulses) from a number of taps (time domain pulses) in the time-domain representation of the spatially compressed PMI. Fig. 13, [0093] The UE may then select tap indexes of the most active or dominant taps among Beams A-D.); and
generating location information indicating locations of the principal impulses in the reduced TD-CRI ([0098] In the example of FIG. 14, the dominant tap is selected within the first stage tap selection, and the dominant tap indicator is used to indicate (location information) the selected dominant tap of the active taps. [0106] In certain aspects, the first stage tap is selected based on a relative location over the dominant tap. In such aspects, the indication of taps represents location offset from the dominant tap (e.g., (−1, +1, +2, +3)) and can be mapped to 2-bit indicators. In certain aspects, the first stage tap selection is selected using a mapping table of tap indices to select taps, which acts similar to a codebook).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the CSI compression methods of Wu with the motion detection systems of Chen and the CSI encoding methods of Karri. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce the overhead associated with the CSI feedback reporting. (Wu; [0077]).
Regarding claim 19, Wu teaches the system of claim 18, wherein the principal impulses are selected to permit reconstruction of the reduced TD-CRI ([0091] In certain aspects, the UE transmits the channel-tap compressed PMI along with the spatial compression matrix (e.g., B.sub.Nt,Nb with an orthogonal DFT beam basis), used to spatially compress the PMI, to the BS. Once the BS receives the spatial compression matrix and the channel-tap compression PMI, the BS performs spatial and time domain decompression in order to recreate the original PMI. For example, the BS utilizes a matrix (e.g., DFT matrix F.sup.H.sub.Nsb,Nsb having a size of “Nsb×Nsb”) to transform the channel-tap compressed PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(3)) and derive a frequency domain representation of the PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(2)). [0081] At 1006, operations 1000 continue by determining one or more parameters used by the first wireless communications device for performing the frequency domain compression of a base PMI to select a subset of a plurality of taps corresponding to a plurality of beams based on a time domain representation of the PMI. At 1008, operations 1000 continue by decompressing the frequency domain compressed PMI, based on the information and the determined parameters, to derive a decompressed PMI).
Regarding claim 20, Wu teaches the system of claim 18, wherein the location information includes a bit map ([0095] In certain aspects, the indication of the taps may comprise or use a bit-map like indication corresponding to taps selected in the first stage and the second stage for each beam. In such aspects, the bit-map uses a sequence of ‘1s’ and ‘0s’ for the indication. Also, at most K.sub.3=N.sub.sb=16 bits may be used for the bit-map, where at most N.sub.a,max ‘1’s exist in 16-bit sequence.).
Regarding claim 21, Wu teaches the system of claim 18, wherein the location information is included in the reduced filtered TD-CRI ([0086] In certain aspects, N.sub.a is reported to the BS by the UE reported. In certain aspects, N.sub.a is associated with the number of subbands (N.sub.sb). [0088] In certain aspects, the N.sub.a,max is reported by the UE to the BS. [0091] In certain aspects, the UE transmits the channel-tap compressed PMI along with the spatial compression matrix (e.g., B.sub.Nt,Nb with an orthogonal DFT beam basis), used to spatially compress the PMI, to the BS. [0095] In certain aspects, the indication of the taps (e.g., information reported by the UE to the BS about the taps) may comprise or use an index of hypothesis corresponding to taps selected in the first stage and the second stage for each beam. [0099] Accordingly, in the example of FIG. 14, using a dominant tap indicator reduces the overhead associated with indicating the active taps for Beams A-D (because the dominant tap is included in each selection of stage 2, it only needs to be indicated once, conserving bits). Thus, by using the dominant tap indicator above, the UE uses 16 bits to indicate tap indexes 3, 4, and 9 2 bits to indicate the dominant tap, and only a few additional bits to indicate the non-dominant taps selected in the second stage.).
Regarding claim 23, Chen teaches the system of claim 18, further comprising:
obtaining, by the sensing algorithm manager, channel information ([0429] In one embodiment, the system comprises a transmitter (e.g. the transmitter 110), a receiver (e.g. the receiver 120) and the repeating motion monitor 1400 (sensing algorithm manager) that is coupled to at least one of: the transmitter 110, the receiver 120, an additional transmitter, an additional receiver. [0450] First, channel state information (CSI) or channel information (CI, e.g. CSI) may be obtained at operatoin 1502 by channel estimation after a radio receiver (e.g. wireless, RF, WiFi, LTE, UWB, etc) receives a wireless signal (e.g. a channel probing radio signal, a reply signal, an acknowledgement signal, a data signal, or a control signal) from a radio transmitter.)
executing, by the sensing algorithm manager, a sensing algorithm according to the CSI to obtain a sensing result ([0450] The CSI/CI is preprocessed at operatoin 1504, e.g., to remove noise and/or to calculate some feature function (e.g. autocorrelation function (ACF)) from the breathing signal. Since breathing signal may be very weak, the received signal may be enhanced at operatoin 1506 to boost the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) through some operation, e.g., maximal ratio combining (MRC). The ACF may exhibit a periodic behavior since breathing is a periodic process, and features about breathing can be extracted at operation 1508 from the ACF, e.g., detecting a (first) local maximum from the ACF. [0455] Based on the calculated ACF and its inherent characteristics, the system first detects the presence and absence of breathing and, if presented, then estimates the breathing rate, accurately and instantaneously.).
Chen does not teach the channel information obtained by the sensing algorithm manager is reduced filtered TD-CRI, the location information, and the frequency domain bit map;
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed TD-CRI based on the location information, the frequency domain bit map, and the principal impulses of the filtered TD- CRI;
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed CSI according to the reconstructed TD-CRI.
Wu, in the same field of endeavor of CSI compression teaches obtaining, by the sensing algorithm manager, the reduced filtered TD-CRI, the location information, and the frequency domain bit map (([0091] In certain aspects, the UE transmits the channel-tap compressed PMI (reduced filtered TD-CRI) along with the spatial compression matrix (e.g., B.sub.Nt,Nb with an orthogonal DFT beam basis), used to spatially compress the PMI, to the BS. the BS utilizes a matrix (e.g., DFT matrix F.sup.H.sub.Nsb,Nsb having a size of “Nsb×Nsb”) (frequency domain bit map) to transform the channel-tap compressed PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(3)) and derive a frequency domain representation of the PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(2)). In certain aspects, the BS is preconfigured with such a matrix.). [0095] In certain aspects, the indication of the taps (location information) (e.g., information reported by the UE to the BS about the taps) may comprise or use an index of hypothesis corresponding to taps selected in the first stage and the second stage for each beam.);
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed TD-CRI based on the location information, the frequency domain bit map, and the principal impulses of the filtered TD- CRI [0091] Once the BS receives the spatial compression matrix and the channel-tap compression PMI, the BS performs spatial and time domain decompression in order to recreate the original PMI. For example, the BS utilizes a matrix (e.g., DFT matrix F.sup.H.sub.Nsb,Nsb having a size of “Nsb×Nsb”) to transform the channel-tap compressed PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(3)) and derive a frequency domain representation of the PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(2)).);
generating, by the sensing algorithm manager, a reconstructed CSI according to the reconstructed TD-CRI ([0091] The BS then uses the spatial compression matrix B.sub.Nt,Nb received from the UE to perform a spatial decompression of the frequency domain representation of the PMI in order to derive the original PMI (V.sub.N.sub.sb.sub.,N.sub.b.sup.(1))).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the CSI compression methods of Wu with the motion detection systems of Chen and the CSI encoding methods of Karri. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce the overhead associated with the CSI feedback reporting. (Wu; [0077]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rahman (US 20220385338 A1) discloses a method of providing CSI feedback including a subset of coefficients associated with the channel.
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465