Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 51 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. Claim 51 discloses “combine resources of a COT associated with the listen-before-transmit attempt of the second UE and resources of a COT associated with the listen-before-transmit attempt of the second UE for communication” but the scope of the limitation is not clear because it reads as if it combines “the same” UE’s COT resources with itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 31-33, 35, 36, 41, 45, 48, 51, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ji et al (2024/0196433).
Regarding claim 31, Ji et al teaches an apparatus configured for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions;
and one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to: (Paragraph [0067]: FIG. 8A, apparatus 10 may include a processor 12 for processing information and executing instructions or operations.; Paragraph [0069]: Apparatus 10 may further include or be coupled to a memory 14 (internal or external), which may be coupled to processor 12, for storing information and instructions that may be executed by processor 12. Memory 14 may be one or more memories and of any type suitable to the local application environment, and may be implemented using any suitable volatile or nonvolatile data storage technology such as a semiconductor-based memory device, a magnetic memory device and system, an optical memory device and system, fixed memory, and/or removable memory.)
transmit, to a second user equipment (UE), a first channel occupancy time (COT) sharing request; (Paragraph [0034]: if an initiating SL UE, such as UE1 in the example of FIG. 4, succeeds in its LBT type 1, the initiating SL UE may share its acquired COT with at least one another responding SL UE, such as UE2 and/or UE3, e.g., as shown in procedure 1 of FIG. 4. As one example, the initiating SL UE may explicitly inform (i.e., via control signalling) a particular responding UE (e.g., UE2 and/or UE3) about the COT sharing and/or the duration of the acquired COT.)
and transmit, to a third UE, a second COT sharing request. (Paragraph [0034]: if an initiating SL UE, such as UE1 in the example of FIG. 4, succeeds in its LBT type 1, the initiating SL UE may share its acquired COT with at least one another responding SL UE, such as UE2 and/or UE3, e.g., as shown in procedure 1 of FIG. 4Paragraph [0042]: the first indication may also contain the activation of the 2-stage COT sharing. In one embodiment, the first indication may also contain the information that a responding UE does not need to detect a transmission pause and sense the channel during the transmission pause. This information may be also implicitly indicated by having, in the first indication, the configuration information of the second indication and/or the activation of the 2-stage COT sharing.; Paragraph [0048]: UE1 may determine a new COT accordingly. In one embodiment, if different 2.sup.nd indication resources are used to carry different indication information, UE1 may determine a proper 2.sup.nd indication resource to reflect the corresponding information.; Paragraph [0055]: In an embodiment, different second indication resources may be configured to indicate different COT sharing information.)
Regarding claim 32, Ji et al teaches the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the second COT sharing request to the third UE, are configured to transmit the second COT sharing request after a time window has elapsed (Paragraph [0034]: As one example, the initiating SL UE may explicitly inform (i.e., via control signalling) a particular responding UE (e.g., UE2 and/or UE3) about the COT sharing and/or the duration of the acquired COT. Afterwards, the responding SL UE (e.g., UE2 or UE3) may apply LBT type 2 (e.g., type 2A, 2B, 2C) based on the shared COT, as shown in procedure 2 of FIG. 4.)
and based at least in part on the apparatus having received no response to the first COT sharing request within the time window or the apparatus having received a negative response to the first COT sharing request within the time window. (Paragraph [0037]: during UE1's transmission pause (e.g., corresponding to (part of) the time gap T illustrated in FIG. 5) inside the shared COT period, the channel needs to be sensed to detect whether the channel is continuously idle or not and then accordingly select LBT type 1 or LBT type 2 to be used for later transmission after the pause.)
Regarding claim 33, Ji et al teaches, the apparatus of claim 32, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive configuration information indicating the time window. (Paragraph [0030]: When a UE initiates the communication (i.e., the UE takes the role of initiating device), then this UE has to acquire the “right” to access the channel for a certain period of time—denoted in the regulations as the Channel Occupancy Time (COT)—by applying an “extended” LBT procedure where the channel must be deemed as free for the entire duration of a Contention Window (CW))
Regarding claim 35, Ji et al teaches the apparatus of claim 34, wherein the information indicating the maximum duration is transmitted in a radio resource control message. (Paragraph [0042]: It is noted that the first indication may contain detailed COT-sharing information (e.g., COT duration, identifier of the responding UE(s), etc.), for example, using sidelink control information (SCI) and/or payload, such as medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), PC5-radi o resource control (RRC), and/or upper layer (non-access stratum (NAS)/application layer) message.)
Regarding claim 36, Ji et al teaches the apparatus of claim 34, wherein the information indicating the maximum duration is transmitted in the first COT sharing request. (Paragraph [0032]: The UE that initiates the transmission (the initiating device), upon successfully completing the LBT type 1 and performing a transmission, may acquire the COT with duration associated with the corresponding CAPC.; Paragraph [0059]: the resources for transmitting the second indication may be associated with at least one information contained in the first indication, such as an ID contained in the SCI of the first indication, the resource used by the first indication, and/or the priority of the first indication.)
Regarding claim 41, Ji et al teaches wherein the negative response is via short control signaling. (Paragraph [0034]: the initiating SL UE may explicitly inform (i.e., via control signalling) a particular responding UE (e.g., UE2 and/or UE3) about the COT sharing and/or the duration of the acquired COT.)
Regarding claim 45, Ji et al teaches wherein the first time offset indicates a length of time between an end of the listen-before-transmit attempt of the second UE and a start of a COT associated with the listen-before-transmit attempt of the second UE. (Paragraph [0030]: When a UE initiates the communication (i.e., the UE takes the role of initiating device), then this UE has to acquire the “right” to access the channel for a certain period of time—denoted in the regulations as the Channel Occupancy Time (COT)—by applying an “extended” LBT procedure where the channel must be deemed as free for the entire duration of a Contention Window (CW). This “extended” LBT procedure, is commonly known as LBT type 1)
Regarding claim 48, Ji et al teaches wherein the first time offset indicates a length of time between receiving the first COT sharing request and a start of a COT associated with the first COT sharing request. (Paragraph [0041}: upon acquiring a COT, UE1 may send a first indication to at least one responding SL UE, e.g. UE2 and/or UE3 in the example of FIG. 4. The first indication may contain at least the duration of the acquired COT. Thus, the responding SL UE can, in principle, apply LBT type 2A/B, 2C for its SL TX, e.g., towards at least UE1, if the SL TX takes place inside the acquired COT duration.; Paragraph [0043]: UE1 may send one or more second indication(s) to UE2 and/or UE3, before the SL TX from UE2 and/or UE3 takes place. The second indication may include at least one of the following information: the LBT type that UE2 and/or UE3 should apply for its SL TX taking place inside the COT duration indicated in the first indication, and/or a new COT duration, e.g., if UE1 performs LBT type 1 during the time gap T and acquires a new COT.)
Regarding claim 51, Ji et al teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: concurrently receive a first positive response for the listen-before-transmit attempt of the second UE (Paragraph [0034]: UE sharing its obtained COT with one or more other UEs. As discussed above, if an initiating SL UE, such as UE1 in the example of FIG. 4, succeeds in its LBT type 1, the initiating SL UE may share its acquired COT with at least one another responding SL UE, such as UE2 and/or UE3, e.g., as shown in procedure 1 of FIG. 4. As one example, the initiating SL UE may explicitly inform (i.e., via control signalling) a particular responding UE (e.g., UE2 and/or UE3) about the COT sharing and/or the duration of the acquired COT.; Paragraph [0037]: inside the shared COT period, the channel needs to be sensed to detect whether the channel is continuously idle or not and then accordingly select LBT type 1 or LBT type 2 to be used for later transmission after the pause.; Paragraph [0043]: the LBT type may be determined by UE1 based on UE1's communication activities and channel sensing during the time gap T. For example, LBT type 1 may be indicated if non-idle channel is sensed during the detected transmission pause.)
and a second positive response for the listen-before-transmit attempt of the third UE; (Paragraph [0045]: As illustrated in FIG. 6, at 600, UE1 and/or UE2 may be configured with the configuration of resources for transmitting and receiving the 2.sup.nd indication. The configuration may contain at least the time, frequency, and/or code domain resource(s) used for the 2.sup.nd indication.)
and combine resources of a COT associated with the listen-before-transmit attempt of the second UE and resources of a COT associated with the listen-before-transmit attempt of the second UE for communication. (Paragraph [0034]: FIG. 4 illustrates an example of a UE sharing its obtained COT with one or more other UEs. As discussed above, if an initiating SL UE, such as UE1 in the example of FIG. 4, succeeds in its LBT type 1, the initiating SL UE may share its acquired COT with at least one another responding SL UE, such as UE2 and/or UE3)
Regarding claim 52, Ji et al teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE), comprising: transmitting, to a second UE, a first channel occupancy time (COT) sharing request; ; (Paragraph [0034]: if an initiating SL UE, such as UE1 in the example of FIG. 4, succeeds in its LBT type 1, the initiating SL UE may share its acquired COT with at least one another responding SL UE, such as UE2 and/or UE3, e.g., as shown in procedure 1 of FIG. 4. As one example, the initiating SL UE may explicitly inform (i.e., via control signalling) a particular responding UE (e.g., UE2 and/or UE3) about the COT sharing and/or the duration of the acquired COT.)
and transmitting, to a third UE a second COT sharing request, wherein: transmitting the second COT sharing request to the third UE occurs after a time window has elapsed (Paragraph [0034]: As one example, the initiating SL UE may explicitly inform (i.e., via control signalling) a particular responding UE (e.g., UE2 and/or UE3) about the COT sharing and/or the duration of the acquired COT. Afterwards, the responding SL UE (e.g., UE2 or UE3) may apply LBT type 2 (e.g., type 2A, 2B, 2C) based on the shared COT, as shown in procedure 2 of FIG. 4.)
and based at least in part on the first UE having received no response to the first COT sharing request within the time window or the first UE having received a negative response to the first COT sharing request within the time window;.(Paragraph [0037]: during UE1's transmission pause (e.g., corresponding to (part of) the time gap T illustrated in FIG. 5) inside the shared COT period, the channel needs to be sensed to detect whether the channel is continuously idle or not and then accordingly select LBT type 1 or LBT type 2 to be used for later transmission after the pause.)
or the second UE is among a group of UEs using groupcast signaling, (Paragraph [0052]: UE1 may groupcast/broadcast the 1.sup.st and/or the 2.sup.nd indication to multiple responding devices, e.g., UE2 and UE3 and/or other devices.)
the first COT sharing request indicates a first time offset associated with a listen-before- transmit attempt of the second UE, (Paragraph [0042]: It is noted that the first indication may contain detailed COT-sharing information (e.g., COT duration, identifier of the responding UE(s), etc.), for example, using sidelink control information (SCI) and/or payload, such as medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), PC5-radio resource control (RRC), and/or upper layer (non-access stratum (NAS)/application layer) message. In one embodiment, the first indication may further contain the configuration information of one or more second indications. In one embodiment, the first indication may also contain the activation of the 2-stage COT sharing. In one embodiment, the first indication may also contain the information that a responding UE does not need to detect a transmission pause and sense the channel during the transmission pause.)
the third UE is among the group of UEs using groupcast signaling, (Paragraph [0052]: UE1 may groupcast/broadcast the 1.sup.st and/or the 2.sup.nd indication to multiple responding devices, e.g., UE2 and UE3 and/or other devices.)
and the second COT sharing request indicates a second time offset associated with a listen-before-transmit attempt of the second UE. (Paragraph [0051]: the COT sharing from UE1 to UE2 may be iterated/extended based on the described procedure continuously. For example, after UE2 performs the first SL TX after receiving the second indication and before a second SL TX from UE2, there might be another time gap T′. In this case, UE1 may send a 3.sup.rd indication containing the same information as described at 630 and 640 before the second SL TX from UE2.; Paragraph [0055]: According to certain embodiments, the initiating UE may be configured with a configuration of one or more resources for transmitting the second indication, and the configuration may include at least one of a time, frequency, or code domain resources used for the second indication; Paragraph [0058]: As illustrated in the example of FIG. 7A, the method may include, at 720, transmitting the at least one second indication to the at least one responding UE prior to a SL TX from the at least one responding UE. The at least one second indication may include at least one of an indication of LBT type that the at least one responding UE should apply for the SL TX taking place within the COT duration and/or an indication of a new COT duration.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 34 & 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al (2024/0196433)in view of Yu et al (20240306198).
Regarding claim 34, Ji et al teaches the apparatus of claim 32, without explicitly teaching wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to transmit information indicating a maximum duration for a listen-before-transmit attempt associated with the first COT sharing request.
Yu from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to transmit information indicating a maximum duration for a listen-before-transmit attempt associated with the first COT sharing request. (Paragraph [0041]: The maximum duration before including any such gap shall be 6 ms. The contention window length in CCA slots associated with each CAPC has a minimum (CW.sub.min, p) and maximum (CW.sub.max, p). The duration of the COT is given by T.sub.ulm cot, p.; [0042]: The UE initiating the transmission (which can be referred to “an initiating device”) upon successfully completing the LBT Type 1, acquires the COT with duration associated with the corresponding CAPC and performs a transmission. The acquired COT is valid even in the case where the initiating device pauses its transmission, although if the initiating device wants to perform a new transmission (within the COT) it is still required to perform a “reduced” LBT procedure.; [0051]: For determining a Channel Occupancy Time, if a transmission gap is less than or equal to 25 μs, the gap duration is counted in the channel occupancy time. A channel occupancy time can be shared for transmission between an eNB/gNB/UE(s) and the corresponding eNB/gNB/UE(s).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to POSITA to implement Yu’s sharing mechanism in the system of Ji. The motivation being it becomes possible to manage the load balance between different SL bands in either licensed or unlicensed band ([0052]).
Regarding claim 46, Ji et al teaches the apparatus of claim 45, without explicitly teaching wherein the length of time is shorter than a symbol.
Yu from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the length of time is shorter than a symbol. (Paragraph [0038]: For a UE to pass an LBT check it must observe the channel as available for a number of consecutive Clear Channel Assessment (CCA) slots. In sub-7 GHZ the duration of each of these slots is 9 μs.)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to POSITA to implement Yu’s sharing mechanism in the system of Ji. The motivation being energy detection may be used in the CCA. The energy detect (ED) threshold is used to detect any other type of RF transmissions during the CCA. If energy detected on the channel is less than an energy detection threshold, the channel can be regarded as available for performing transmissions. If the energy detected on the channel is larger than an energy detection threshold, the channel can be regarded as busy ([0039]).
Claims 37, 38, 42-44, 47, 49, and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al (2024/0196433) in view of Zhang et al (2023/0189304).
Regarding claim 37, Ji et al teaches the apparatus of claim 32, without explicitly teaching the negative response is associated with a one-shot listen-before-transmit attempt.
Zhang from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the negative response is associated with a one-shot listen-before-transmit attempt. (Paragraph [0123]: For example, the wireless communications system 100 may support uplink and downlink COT sharing. A base station 105 may acquire a COT with an extended CCA and share the COT with multiple UEs 115 for the UEs 115 to transmit uplink signals. Within the COT acquired by the base station 105, a UE 115 may use a single shot CCA for the uplink transmission.)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to POSITA to implement Zhang’s COT sharing system in the COT sharing system of Ji. The motivation being that when a wireless device successfully performs a clear channel assessment (CCA), such as an LBT, the wireless device is given a COT to perform wireless communications. The wireless device may share the COT with another wireless device, which may improve medium access within the COT from one node to another node.
Regarding claim 38, Ji et al teaches the apparatus of claim 32, without explicitly teaching wherein the negative response is associated with a listen-before-transmit attempt with random back-off and a variable contention window.
Zhang from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the negative response is associated with a listen-before-transmit attempt with random back-off and a variable contention window. (Paragraph [0124]: A Category 4 LBT may include an LBT with an RBO with a contention window of a variable size, in which an extended CCA period is drawn by a random number within a contention window, whose size can vary based on channel dynamics).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to POSITA to implement Zhang’s COT sharing system in the COT sharing system of Ji. The motivation being that when a wireless device successfully performs a clear channel assessment (CCA), such as an LBT, the wireless device is given a COT to perform wireless communications. The wireless device may share the COT with another wireless device, which may improve medium access within the COT from one node to another node.
Regarding claim 42, Ji et al teaches wherein the second UE is among a group of UEs for groupcast signaling, (Paragraph [0052]: UE1 may groupcast/broadcast the 1.sup.st and/or the 2.sup.nd indication to multiple responding devices, e.g., UE2 and UE3 and/or other devices.) … wherein the third UE is among the group of UEs for groupcast signaling, (Paragraph [0052]: UE1 may groupcast/broadcast the 1.sup.st and/or the 2.sup.nd indication to multiple responding devices, e.g., UE2 and UE3 and/or other devices.)
and wherein the second COT sharing request indicates a second time offset associated with a listen-before-transmit attempt of the second UE. (Paragraph [0044]: Accordingly, UE2 and/or UE3 may perform its SL TX inside the COT based on the indicated LBT type. If UE2 and/or UE3 did not receive the second indication or the proposed 2-step COT sharing scheme is not activated, UE2 and/or UE3 may determine the LBT type 2 as configured for COT sharing)
with out explicitly teaching wherein the first COT sharing request indicates a first time offset associated with a listen-before-transmit attempt of the second UE.
Zhang from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the first COT sharing request indicates a first time offset associated with a listen-before-transmit attempt of the second UE, (Paragraph [0126]: the wireless communications system 100 may support group common uplink-to-downlink COT sharing. When an uplink-to-downlink sharing energy detection threshold is configured, the base station 105 also may configure a table for sharing parameters. Each row of the table may include a number of slots where downlink transmissions can be assumed within the UE-initiated COT, a downlink offset (such as, in a number of slots) from the end of the slot indicating a starting slot of the downlink transmission, and a channel access priority class of the traffic.)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to POSITA to implement Zhang’s COT sharing system in the COT sharing system of Ji. The motivation being the energy detection threshold may be configured via RRC signaling and the sharing energy detection threshold may not be configured for group common uplink control information that may include a one-bit COT sharing indication. The one-bit COT sharing indication may indicate if applicable for slot uplink-to-downlink sharing. The bit value for may be configured by the base station as part of RRC configuration or may be a number of symbols from the end of the slot where the group common uplink control information is transmitted.
Regarding claim 43, Ji et al teaches the apparatus of claim 42, without explicitly teaching wherein the first time offset is indicated, from multiple configured time offsets, by sidelink control information associated with the COT sharing request.
Zhang from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the first time offset is indicated, from multiple configured time offsets, by sidelink control information associated with the COT sharing request. (Paragraph [0115]: The adjustment of signals communicated via the antenna elements may include a transmitting device or a receiving device applying amplitude offsets, phase offsets, or both to signals carried via the antenna elements associated with the device. The adjustments associated with each of the antenna elements may be defined by a beamforming weight set associated with a particular orientation; Paragraph [0126]: the UE 115 may include an indication in uplink control information (UCI) for the COT sharing. If the uplink-to-downlink COT sharing energy detection threshold is not configured, group common uplink control information may include a one-bit COT sharing indication.)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to POSITA to implement Zhang’s COT sharing system in the COT sharing system of Ji. The motivation being to achieve beamforming thus allowing for beam sweeping techniques.
Regarding claim 44, Ji et al teaches the apparatus of claim 42, without explicitly teaching wherein the first time offset is explicitly indicated by sidelink control information associated with the COT sharing request.
Zhang from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the first time offset is explicitly indicated by sidelink control information associated with the COT sharing request. (Paragraph [0127]: the wireless communications system 100 may support V2X communications. In some V2X systems, there may be two resource allocation modes for sidelink communications (such as, over a PC5 interface). In a first mode, a base station 105 may allocate resources for sidelink communications between UEs 115.; Paragraph [0128]: sidelink communications may be scheduled by sidelink control information (SCI). SCI may be implemented to have one or more stages. The second stage SCI may include a 16-bit L1 destination ID, an 8-bit L1 source ID, a HARQ process ID, a new data indicator, redundancy version, etc.; Paragraph [0148]: UE 115-a may indicate one or more of the COT sharing parameters to UE 115-b via dynamic signaling in SCI via sidelink 205. For example, UE 115-a may indicate the ED threshold used by UE 115-a for initially acquiring the COT in the SCI (for example, dynamic signaling) via sidelink 205.)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to POSITA to implement Zhang’s COT sharing system in the COT sharing system of Ji. The motivation being the wireless device may share the COT with another wireless device, which may improve medium access within the COT from one node to another node (Paragraph [0128])
Regarding claim 47, Ji et al teaches wherein the first time offset is longer than the second time offset based at least in part on the second UE having a higher probability of successful channel access than the third UE. (Paragraph [0031]: The duration of both the COT and CW may depend on the Channel Access Priority Class (CAPC) associated with the UE's traffic, as shown in Table 1 below (e.g., Table 1 may correspond to Table 4.2.1-1 from TS 37.213). Control plane traffic, such as physical shared control channel (PSCCH), is transmitted with p=1, while user plane traffic has p>1. Table 1 depicts CAPC for UL, where the contention window length in CCA slots associated with each CAPC has a minimum (CW.sub.min,p) and maximum (CW.sub.max,p). The duration of the COT is given by T.sub.ulm cot, p.; Paragraph [0032]: The acquired COT is valid even in the case where the initiating device pauses its transmission, although if the initiating device wants to perform a new transmission (within the COT) it is still required to perform a “reduced” LBT procedure. This “reduced” LBT procedure, is commonly known as LBT type 2 (e.g., see TS 37.213), with variants of type 2A, type 2B, and type 2C. FIGS. 2a-2f illustrate the allowed gaps for which LBT type 2 variant to be applicable: FIGS. 2(a) and 2(d) depict LBT type 2C; FIGS. 2(b) and 2(e) depict LBT type 2B; and FIGS. 2(c) and 2(f) depict LBT type 2A. For example, FIGS. 2(a), 2(b), and 2(c) illustrate the case where the gap is between the two transmissions both from the initiating UE, while FIGS. 2(d), 2(e), and 2(f) illustrate the case that the gap is between the two different transmissions from the initiating UE and the responding UE correspondingly. ; Paragraph [0034]: if an initiating SL UE, such as UE1 in the example of FIG. 4, succeeds in its LBT type 1, the initiating SL UE may share its acquired COT with at least one another responding SL UE, such as UE2 and/or UE3, e.g., as shown in procedure 1 of FIG. 4)
Regarding claim 49, Ji et al teaches the apparatus of claim 48, without explicitly teaching wherein the length of time is in terms of a number of slots or mini-slots.
Zhang from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the length of time is in terms of a number of slots or mini-slots. (Paragraph [0095]: systems 100, a slot may further be divided into multiple mini-slots containing one or more symbols. Excluding the cyclic prefix, each symbol period may contain one or more (such as N.sub.f) sampling periods. The duration of a symbol period may depend on the subcarrier spacing or frequency band of operation.)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to POSITA to implement Zhang’s COT sharing system in the COT sharing system of Ji. The motivation being that each frame may include multiple consecutively numbered subframes or slots, and each subframe or slot may have the same duration while allowing frames to be divided into subframes, and each subframe may be further divided into a number of slots. Alternatively, each frame may include a variable number of slots, and the number of slots may depend on subcarrier spacing.
Claims 39 & 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Ji et al (2024/0196433) in view of Zhang et al (2023/0189304) in further view of Wang et al (2020/156180).
Regarding claim 39, Ji et al teaches the apparatus of claim 32, without explicitly teaching wherein the negative response is from a base station.
Zhang from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein from a base station. (Paragraph [0079]: the COT sharing configuration or sharing parameters may be configured via semi-static signaling (such as, from a base station) or via dynamic signaling (such as, from the transmitting device).; Paragraph [0126]: Each row of the table may include a number of slots where downlink transmissions can be assumed within the UE-initiated COT, a downlink offset (such as, in a number of slots) from the end of the slot indicating a starting slot of the downlink transmission, and a channel access priority class of the traffic. In some implementations, one row of the table may indicate no COT sharing information.)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to POSITA to implement Zhang’s COT sharing system in the COT sharing system of Ji. The motivation being that when a wireless device successfully performs a clear channel assessment (CCA), such as an LBT, the wireless device is given a COT to perform wireless communications. The wireless device may share the COT with another wireless device, which may improve medium access within the COT from one node to another node.
Zhang teaches the method without teaching a negative response.
Wang from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the negative response. (Paragraph [0033]: the first message may be a downlink control channel message and/or a higher-layer signaling configuration message, and the second message may be an acknowledgment (ACK) or non-acknowledgment (NACK) data for a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ).)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to POSITA to implement Wang’s communication method in the COT sharing system of Ji. The motivation being to address the uncertainties associated with transmission pause as well as the selection of which LBT type (type 1 or type 2A/B/C) that a responding UE should apply for its SL transmission (TX) inside the COT in a two-stage COT sharing method.
Regrading claim 40, Ji et al teaches the apparatus of claim 32, without explicitly teaching wherein the negative response is via a cell in licensed spectrum.
Zhang from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches via a cell in licensed spectrum. (Paragraph [0099]: A small cell may be associated with a lower-powered base station 105, as compared with a macro cell, and a small cell may operate in the same or different (such as licensed, unlicensed) frequency bands as macro cells.; Paragraph [0126]: Each row of the table may include a number of slots where downlink transmissions can be assumed within the UE-initiated COT, a downlink offset (such as, in a number of slots) from the end of the slot indicating a starting slot of the downlink transmission, and a channel access priority class of the traffic. In some implementations, one row of the table may indicate no COT sharing information.)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to POSITA to implement Zhang’s COT sharing system in the COT sharing system of Ji. The motivation being to provide unrestricted access to the UEs with service subscriptions with the network provider or may provide restricted access to the UEs having an association with the small cell. A base station may support one or multiple cells and also may support communications over the one or more cells using one or multiple component carriers.
Zhang teaches the method without teaching a negative response.
Wang from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the negative response. (Paragraph [0033]: the first message may be a downlink control channel message and/or a higher-layer signaling configuration message, and the second message may be an acknowledgment (ACK) or non-acknowledgment (NACK) data for a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ).)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to POSITA to implement Wang’s communication method in the COT sharing system of Ji. The motivation being to address the uncertainties associated with transmission pause as well as the selection of which LBT type (type 1 or type 2A/B/C) that a responding UE should apply for its SL transmission (TX) inside the COT in a two-stage COT sharing method.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 50 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ADEDAYO O FADEYI/
/JAE Y LEE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479