DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 12-13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN 110498936 A, attached with machine translation).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 6-7, and 12-13, Zhang teaches a hydrogel and method of making it using sodium hyaluronate and sodium alginate (claims 1-2). The hyaluronic acid is dissolved in DI water to 0.3-2 wt%, then adipic acid dihydrazide is added in amounts of 8-25 times the weight of hyaluronic acid, the pH is adjusted to 5.0-7.4 using NaOH and/or HCl, then 1-ethyl-(3-dimethylaminopropyl) carbodiimide is added in an amount 1-4 times the weight of hyaluronic acid, and after reacting, the solution is dialyzed to provide a modified hyaluronic acid, HA-ADH (claim 2). Separately, sodium alginate is dissolved in DI water to 0.3-2 wt%, sodium periodate is added in amounts 0.5-1 times the weight of sodium alginate, and the product is purified by dialysis, producing a modified alginate, Alg-CHO (claim 2). The hydrogel is then prepared by dissolving the modified hyaluronic acid in buffer solution, and dissolving the modified Alg-CHO in buffer solution, and combining the mixed solutions to form a hydrogel (claim 2). HA-ADH and Alg-CHO may be combined in a 1:1 ratio, which is equivalent to a ratio of 5:5 (p. 6, Ex. 1). The buffer solution may be PBS (p. 6).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang remains as applied to claims 1 and 12 above. Zhang is silent as to the viscosity of the hydrogel. Nevertheless, Zhang teaches a hydrogel that is made of identical ingredients, in identical amounts, prepared in an identical manner to the claimed hydrogel. Therefore, Zhang’s hydrogel will necessarily possess the same viscosity characteristics as the claimed hydrogel. Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. See MPEP 2112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weisbrod (US 20230110994 A1) and Im (US 20190388558 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang remains as applied to claim 1 above. Zhang is silent as to use of ethylene diamine and 1-hydroxybenzotriazole (HOBt) in the modification of hyaluronic acid. In the same field of endeavor, Im teaches crosslinking hyaluronic acid with ethylene diamine (p. 3, [0029]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select the ethylene diamine of Im to modify the hyaluronic acid of Zhang, to arrive at the claimed invention, and to significantly reduce the breakdown of hyaluronic acid, as taught by Im (p. 3, [0030]). In the same field of endeavor, Weisbrod teaches that hyaluronic acid may be modified using HOBt and EDC for hydrogel applications (p. 56, [0877]; p. 36, [0564]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the hyaluronic acid of Zhang and the modification of Weisbrod to arrive at the claimed invention, and because of the art-recognized suitability for the intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claims 9-11 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stone (US 20260151542 A1) and Sanchez Ordonez (US 20230338619 A1).
Regarding claims 9-11 and 14-16, Zhang remains as applied to claim 1 above. Zhang is silent as to addition of further components to the composition. In the same field of endeavor, Stone teaches mixing cells and growth factor with hyaluronic acid-based hydrogel (Abstract; p. 3, [0027]). In the same field of endeavor, Sanchez Ordonez teaches a biocompatible hydrogel suitable for use in a printing system that may include alginate and hyaluronic acid in addition to ECM proteins (p. 5, [0062], [0066]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the cells and growth factor of Stone, and the proteins (macromolecules) of Sanchez Ordonez with the hydrogel of Zhang to arrive at the claimed invention, and because of the art-recognized suitability for the intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art is Zhang in view of Im, Weisbrod, Stone, and Sanchez Ordonez. The combined prior art teaches a similar composition and method, but fails to disclose dialyzing each of the modified hyaluronic acid and the modified alginate separately in an 11,000-15,000 Da dialysis bag, and fails to disclose the claimed concentration of HA-NH2. No further prior art has been located that reads on these claim limitations. As such, the instant claims contain limitations not found in the prior art, and would be allowable if rewritten.
Conclusion
ELIZABETH K. AMATO
Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762