DETAILED ACTION
for
IPX9-COMPATIBLE AUTOMATION FIELD DEVICE
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/29/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath/Declaration submitted on 02/29/2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: The “integrated recess” is not identified in the drawings.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The “integrated recess” does not have a reference number in the specification and is not described in regards to the embodiment descriptions.
Appropriate correction is required.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because: It uses the phrases “Disclosed”. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Field Device for Automation Technology Having Operating and Display Element That Is Arranged in Interior of Field Device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claims recite “includes an integrated recess for accommodating a front film…. and a front film applied to the field device housing”. However, it is unclear to the Examiner if the front film is the same front film of a different front film and how it is configured to accommodate an integrated or applied to the field device housing. The disclosure point out exactly one front film 60. Further clarification explaining what the Applicants means by “a front film”, it will be presumed that there is one front film.
Regarding claim 7, the claims recite “wherein the front film is introduced into the recess integrated into the field device housing”. However, it is unclear to the Examiner which front film Applicant is referring to being that two front films are mentioned in claim 1. It will be presumed that Applicant is referring to the same front film.
With respect to claim 8, the phrase "such a way" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
With respect to claim 10, the phrase "such a way" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, claim 10 recites the broad recitation a 0.2 mm, and the claim also recites a 0.15 mm which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 9 and 11-12 are indefinite by virtue of their dependencies on claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitations is [by means of an embossing] in claim 11.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strittmatter (WO 2021008809) in view of Doblinger et al. [herein after Doblinger] (US 9,862,587).
Regarding claim 7, Strittmater discloses an IPx9-compatible automation field device comprising (see abstract): a field device housing (2) that encloses an interior (see adjacent Fig. 2) and includes an integrated recess (Fig. 1b, 5c spacing creates recess) and a front film (5f); a display element (11) arranged in the area of the recess in the interior of the field device housing (2); a front film (5f) applied to the field device housing (2), wherein the front film (5f) being introduced into the recess integrated (Fig. 1b) into the field device housing (2).
Strittmater fails to explicitly disclose a metallic field device housing that encloses an interior.
Doblinger discloses a metallic field device housing that encloses an interior [“the housing and the connecting device are formed from a metallic material”; Col. 2, lines 11-12].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicants invention was filed in the field of testing device for carrying load test on flexible objects, to modify Strittmater, to include metallic field device housing that encloses an interior, as taught by Doblinger, for the benefit of providing a device for filling a container with a fill product, in order to ensure that no fluids can penetrate into the switching cabinet from outside and damage the electronics modules.
Regarding claim 8, Strittmater further discloses a depth of the recess corresponds to at least one material thickness of the front film (5f).
Regarding claim 9, Strittmater further discloses a circumferential gap (5c) being formed around the front film introduced into the recess (Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 10, Strittmater further discloses the circumferential gap (5c).
Strittmater fails to explicitly disclose has a maximum width of 0.2 mm, in particular 0.15 mm.
The particular range/ size, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “optimum” range/size of the circumferential gap used by Prior Art for forming around the front film that a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been able to determine using routine experimentation based, among other things, on the type of measurements and or/ intended use, etc. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 11, Strittmater further discloses the recess (Fig. 1b).
Strittmater fails to explicitly disclose being produced by means of an embossing die during the manufacture of the field device housing.
Although Applicant makes reference embossing die during the manufacture of the field device housing, it is noted that claim 1, is directed an apparatus.
In apparatus claims the method of forming the apparatus holds no patentable weight if it does not distinguish the final claimed structure form the prior art.
In this case, there is no difference between the final structure of claim 1 and Strittmater discloses the recess (Strittmater, Fig. 1b and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Strittmater further discloses the front film (5f) being printed on the rear side (Fig. 2).
Conclusion
/BRANDI N HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855