DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the 1) combined resin + recess of claim 13, 2) combined resin + recess +bank of claim 17, 3) recess + bank of claim 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 13, claim 9 first defines the support/shield to be of resin which is shown in figures 1-6. Claim 13, depending from claim 9, then states the electrode pad is arranged in a recess (fig.7). The originally filed disclosure does not teach these two features to be usable together, nor does the priority document, nor the original claim set. This is further evidence by [0034] of the spec noting the support is of a different type in fig.7 as compared to fig.1-6. Therefore, it is not clear the Applicant was in possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
With respect to claim 17, claim 9 first defines the support/shield to be of resin which is shown in figures 1-6. Claim 13, depending from claim 9, then states the electrode pad is arranged in a recess (fig.7). Claim 17 then adds that the pad has a bank portion (fig.10). The originally filed disclosure does not teach these three features to be usable together, nor does the priority document, nor the original claim set. This is further evidence by [0034] of the spec noting the support is of a different type in fig.7 as compared to fig.1-6, and [0054-55] noting that the support is different than in fig.1-6, 7. Therefore, it is not clear the Applicant was in possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
With respect to claim 18, claim 11 first defines the support/shield to be of electrode material as shown in fig.7-12. Claim 14, depending from claim 11, then states the electrode pad is arranged in a recess (fig.7). Claim 18 then adds that the pad has a bank portion (fig.10). The originally filed disclosure does not teach these two features to be usable together, nor does the priority document, nor the original claim set. This is further evidence by [0034] of the spec noting the support is of a different type in fig.7 as compared to fig.1-6, and [0054-55] noting that the support is different than in fig.1-6, 7. Therefore, it is not clear the Applicant was in possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claim 9, 11, 13, 16-18 (and all claims dependent therefrom; 10-18) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 11 at line 5 refer to “both end faces” without first defining the presence of multiple end faces, making the scope of the claims unclear.
For purposes of examination, the claims are understood to be read as “two end faces”.
The term “close” in claims 9, 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For purposes of examination, “close” is understood to mean within 1/3 of the device length.
With respect to claims 13, 16-18, each of these claims could be read to be replacing the support/shield set forth in claim 9/10 or 11/12, or adding to the shield, and therefore the scope of the claims are not clear.
For purposes of examination when applying art, the limitations are read as being additions to the shields/supports.
Claims 13, 16-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
With respect to claim 13, claim 9/10 says the shield is of a resin. Claim 13 then states the shield is of semiconductor due to using a recessed pad. Claim 13 is therefore not properly inheriting the limitations of claim 9/10 and then adding further limitation thereto as it has been written in a manner that suggests the shield is being replaced, and not clearly add to.
With respect to claim 16, claim 11/12 says the shield is of a stacked electrode structure. Claim 16 then states the shield is of a bank surrounding the pad. Claim 16 is therefore not properly inheriting the limitations of claim 11/12 and then adding further limitation thereto as it has been written in a manner that suggests the shield is being replaced, and not clearly add to.
With respect to claim 17, claim 9/10 says the shield is of a resin. Claim 17 then states the shield is of semiconductor due to using a recessed pad. Claim 17 is therefore not properly inheriting the limitations of claim 9/10 and then adding further limitation thereto as it has been written in a manner that suggests the shield is being replaced, and not clearly add to.
With respect to claim 18, claim 11/12 says the shield is of a stacked electrode structure. Claim 18 then states the shield is of a bank surrounding the pad. Claim 18 is therefore not properly inheriting the limitations of claim 11/12 and then adding further limitation thereto as it has been written in a manner that suggests the shield is being replaced, and not clearly add to.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/2 as being anticipated by Furushima et al. (US 2008/0151960).
With respect to claim 11, Furushima discloses an optical semiconductor device (fig.1) comprising: a semiconductor layer in which a plurality of crystal layers (fig.2 #32, [0056], note semi growth forms crystalline structure) are stacked on a semiconductor substrate (fig.2 #31) and a resonator extending in a direction perpendicular to a stacking direction is formed (fig.2 in/out, fig.4 between coatings); a reflective film covering both end faces of the semiconductor layer in the extending direction of the resonator (fig.4 #55/56); an electrode pad (fig.1 #39, [0069]) that is locally formed by stacking metal layers ([0069]) on a mounting surface (fig.2 top of #32) opposite to a surface on which a rear surface electrode is disposed (fig.2 #37) among surfaces perpendicular to the stacking direction of the semiconductor layer so as to have a bonding surface to be connected to a bonding wire (fig.1 #52), and is for injecting a current into the semiconductor layer between the electrode pad and the rear surface electrode ([0068]); a support member (fig.1 #49s, can be considered to include portion of pad upon which they are mounted) that is arranged at each of positions on the mounting surface close to both the end faces (fig.1 #49 top and bottom), has a flat surface having a maximum height from the mounting surface in the stacking direction (as seen in fig.4), and supports a holder when the reflective film is coated (see fig.10 #30b); and a shielding mechanism (fig.4 #49s) in which a portion higher than the bonding surface in the stacking direction (fig.4 note dotted line higher than pads) extends between each of sides of the mounting surface that are adjacent to both the end faces and the bonding surface (#49s extend in two directions as seen in fig.1 and fig.4) so as to cover a region in which the bonding surface is formed in a direction perpendicular to the extending direction on the mounting surface (fig.1/4 covers region near bonding surface), wherein the support member is constituted with an electrode pattern formed in a stacked structure as with the electrode pad ([0078] made of metal and formed atop the pads such that portions of pads can be considered to constitute the support structures).
With respect to claim 12, Furushima discloses the support member functions as the shield ([0078]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furushima in view of Yoneda (US 2008/0017868) and Hongo et al. (US 2013/0028280).
With respect to claim 9, Furushima teaches an optical semiconductor device (fig.1) comprising: a semiconductor layer in which a plurality of crystal layers (fig.2 #32, [0056], note semi growth forms crystalline structure) are stacked on a semiconductor substrate (fig.2 #31) and a resonator extending in a direction perpendicular to a stacking direction is formed (fig.2 in/out, fig.4 between coatings); a reflective film covering both end faces of the semiconductor layer in the extending direction of the resonator (fig.4 #55/56); an electrode pad (fig.1 #39, [0069]) that is locally formed by stacking metal layers ([0069]) on a mounting surface (fig.2 top of #32) opposite to a surface on which a rear surface electrode is disposed (fig.2 #37) among surfaces perpendicular to the stacking direction of the semiconductor layer so as to have a bonding surface to be connected to a bonding wire (fig.1 #52), and is for injecting a current into the semiconductor layer between the electrode pad and the rear surface electrode ([0068]); a support member (fig.1 #49s, can be considered to include portion of pad upon which they are mounted) that is arranged at each of positions on the mounting surface close to both the end faces (fig.1 #49 top and bottom), has a flat surface having a maximum height from the mounting surface in the stacking direction (as seen in fig.4), and supports a holder when the reflective film is coated (see fig.10 #30b); and a shield (fig.4 #49s) in which a portion higher than the bonding surface in the stacking direction (fig.4 note dotted line higher than pads) extends between each of sides of the mounting surface that are adjacent to both the end faces and the bonding surface (#49s extend in two directions as seen in fig.1 and fig.4) so as to cover a region in which the bonding surface is formed in a direction perpendicular to the extending direction on the mounting surface (fig.1/4 covers region near bonding surface). Furushima further teaches the support/shields to be in a variety of locations (fig.11-15), and openings for the bonding surface (fig.1 space left for attaching wires), but does not teach the flat surface extends along each of sides of the mounting surface that are adjacent to both the end faces, and the flat surface is continuous from one end side to the other end side in the extending direction. Yoneda teaches a related device (fig.2a) which makes use of a support/shield (fig.2a A’s) which are used to block end face coatings from the pad ([0112]) and that fully surrounding structure shields the pad more effectively (fig.13b [0144]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the extent of the support/shields of Furushima such that the flat surface extends along each of sides of the mounting surface that are adjacent to both the end faces, and the flat surface is continuous from one end side to the other end side in the extending direction by completely surrounding the pad/bonding areas with a continual support/shield as demonstrated by Yoneda in order to more effectively block the coating from reaching the pads (Yoneda, [0144]).
Furushima further does not teach the support member is made of resin. Hongo teaches a related device (fig.2a/b) with a shield/support type structure (fig.2a/b #40s) which is capable of blocking coating (fig.2a/b #40s physically stop coating #50f/r) and that the shield/support is of resin ([0071]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the shield/support material of Furushima to make use of resin as demonstrated by Hongo in order to prevent electrical shorts (see also MPEP 2144.07).
With respect to claim 10, Furushima teaches the support member functions as the shield ([0078]).
With respect to claim 13, Furushima, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach the electrode pad is arranged inside a recess formed by recessing the semiconductor layer in the stacking direction, and a portion of the semiconductor layer surrounding the recess functions as the shield. Yoneda teaches a related device (fig.2a) which makes use of a support/shield (fig.2a A’s) which are used to block end face coatings from the pad ([0112]), the electrode pad is arranged inside a recess formed by recessing the semiconductor layer in the stacking direction (fig.13a), and a portion of the semiconductor layer surrounding the recess functions as the shield ([0144]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the support/shields of Furushima such that the electrode pad is arranged inside a recess formed by recessing the semiconductor layer in the stacking direction, and a portion of the semiconductor layer surrounding the recess functions as the shield as demonstrated by Yoneda in order to more effectively block the coating from reaching the pads (Yoneda, [0144]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furushima in view of Hongo.
With respect to claim 14, Furushima, teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach the electrode pad is arranged inside a recess formed by recessing the semiconductor layer in the stacking direction, and a portion of the semiconductor layer surrounding the recess functions as the shield. Yoneda teaches a related device (fig.2a) which makes use of a support/shield (fig.2a A’s) which are used to block end face coatings from the pad ([0112]), the electrode pad is arranged inside a recess formed by recessing the semiconductor layer in the stacking direction (fig.13a), and a portion of the semiconductor layer surrounding the recess functions as the shield ([0144]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the support/shields of Furushima such that the electrode pad is arranged inside a recess formed by recessing the semiconductor layer in the stacking direction, and a portion of the semiconductor layer surrounding the recess functions as the shield as demonstrated by Yoneda in order to more effectively block the coating from reaching the pads (Yoneda, [0144]).
Claim(s) 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furushima in view of Nakanishi et al. (US 2018/0287339).
With respect to claims 15, 16, Furushima teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach a bank that surrounds the bonding surface and functions as the shield is formed in the electrode pad. Nakanishi teaches a related device (fig.2a/b) which includes a bank (fig.2a/b #114a-d) that surrounds a bonding surface (fig.2a/b #113c) and functions as a shield ([0047-48]) is formed in the electrode pad. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Furushima such that a bank that surrounds the bonding surface and functions as the shield is formed in the electrode pad as demonstrated by Nakanishi in order to further protect the pad from unwanted coating (Nakanishi, [0047-48]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furushima, Yoneda, Hongo in view of Nakanishi.
With respect to claim 17, Furushima, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach a bank that surrounds the bonding surface and functions as the shield is formed in the electrode pad. Nakanishi teaches a related device (fig.2a/b) which includes a bank (fig.2a/b #114a-d) that surrounds a bonding surface (fig.2a/b #113c) and functions as a shield ([0047-48]) is formed in the electrode pad. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Furushima such that a bank that surrounds the bonding surface and functions as the shield is formed in the electrode pad as demonstrated by Nakanishi in order to further protect the pad from unwanted coating (Nakanishi, [0047-48]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furushima and Hongo in view of Nakanishi.
With respect to claim 18, Furushima, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach a bank that surrounds the bonding surface and functions as the shield is formed in the electrode pad. Nakanishi teaches a related device (fig.2a/b) which includes a bank (fig.2a/b #114a-d) that surrounds a bonding surface (fig.2a/b #113c) and functions as a shield ([0047-48]) is formed in the electrode pad. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Furushima such that a bank that surrounds the bonding surface and functions as the shield is formed in the electrode pad as demonstrated by Nakanishi in order to further protect the pad from unwanted coating (Nakanishi, [0047-48]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Please see the attached pto892 form for a list of related art.
Note the secondary art cited above is closely related to both claims 9 and 11.
/TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828