DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 16 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim limitation “main component analysis” is indefinite. “Main component analysis” is not defined in the Applicant’s original disclosure and does not appear to be a standard term in the art. Is “main component analysis” supposed to be “principle component analysis”?
The examiner will interpret “main component analysis” broadly to mean any type of analysis that includes any type of component, of which one component can be defined based on any criteria as the “main” component. As best understood by the examiner, the claims will be treated on the merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kemper et al. (German Patent Application Publication # DE 10 2019 211 776).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Kemper discloses a method for operating a motorized flap arrangement of a motor vehicle (electromotive adjustment device 18 of a motor vehicle 6, claims 1, 8, Figs. 1-2, paragraph [0047]),
wherein a control arrangement (10) for activating a motorized drive arrangement (16) assigned to the flap arrangement (18, 20) and a distance sensor (26, 30) coupled to the control arrangement are provided (paragraphs [0047]-[0049], [0051]), wherein sensor values relating to actions of people (36) outside the motor vehicle are detected by the distance sensor (paragraphs [0051]-[0054], [0005], [0026]),
wherein the detected sensor values are checked by the control arrangement for the fulfillment of predetermined operator action criteria (paragraphs [0051]-[0055], [0005]), wherein actions detected via the sensor values are rejected or qualified as a valid operator action, depending on the result of the check (paragraphs [0058], [0051]-[0055], [0005]), and
wherein, upon detection of a valid operator action, the drive arrangement is activated by the control arrangement for the motorized adjustment of the flap arrangement (paragraphs [0058], [0051]-[0055], [0005]), wherein,
as one of the operator action criteria, an approach criterion is predetermined, which relates to the observance of a predetermined approach movement of the detected person into a predetermined detection region (distance 38) (third step 42, paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0005], [0037]-[0038]),
wherein, as one of the operator action criteria, a gesture criterion is predetermined, which relates to the observance of a predetermined relative movement of a body part (46) of the detected person relative to the rest of the person in a predetermined triggering region (38) (paragraphs [0053]-[0067]), and
wherein the fulfillment of the approach criterion and gesture criterion is defined as a necessary prerequisite for at least one of the valid operator actions (paragraphs [0051]-[0058]).
Kemper does not explicitly disclose that the vehicle door is a flap, and a vehicle door would not normally be understood as a “flap” under common definitions for “flap”.
However, in the Applicant’s original disclosure the vehicle door is also a flap.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Kemper to use the vehicle door as a flap, in accordance with the Applicant’s definition for “flap”.
Regarding claim 2, Kemper further discloses that in the checking of the gesture criterion from the sensor values, a person reference position of the detected person and a deflection of the body part of the detected person relative to the person reference position are determined (paragraph [0024], [0053]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 3, Kemper fails to disclose that a plurality of targets detected in the sensor values are assigned to the person and are combined according to a cluster model to form a cluster target for the determination of the person reference position.
However, it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for combining targets according to a cluster model to form a cluster target. The Examiner hereby takes Official Notice of this fact.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Kemper to do so, as well known in the art, in order to classify targets in accordance to the person they belong to and/or distinguish between targets belonging to different people or objects, with predictable results.
Regarding claim 4, Kemper further discloses that in the checking of the gesture criterion, targets approaching in the triggering region are classified as body part targets in the sensor values on the basis of the extent and/or the approach movement (figure 3, paragraphs [0024], [0053]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 5, Kemper further discloses that at least one flap reference position of the flap arrangement is predetermined, wherein, according to the gesture criterion, the predetermined relative movement of the body part substantially runs in the direction of the flap reference position, ends in the region of the flap reference position or brushes over the flap reference position (figures 2-3 and 8, paragraphs [0024], [0053]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 6, Kemper further discloses that as an operator action criterion, a person recognition criterion is predetermined, which relates to a classification of an object detected via the sensor data as a person, and wherein the fulfillment of the person recognition criterion is defined as a further necessary prerequisite for the at least one of the valid operator actions ([0033], [0051]).
Regarding claim 7, Kemper further discloses that in the checking of the person recognition criterion, the detected object is classified as a person with reference to the extent and/or the approach movement of the object ([0033], [0051]).
Regarding claim 8, Kemper further discloses that a time-dependent association of detected sensor values to the person is carried out by means of the control arrangement in an operator tracking routine, wherein a person trajectory is determined from the time dependency of the sensor values associated with the person, and wherein the approach criterion relates to the observance of a trajectory specification by the person trajectory (figures 2-3, [0012]).
Regarding claim 9, Kemper further discloses that the approach criterion relates to a minimum residence time of the object in the detection region, and/or wherein the gesture criterion relates to a minimum residence time of the body part in the triggering region ([0057], [0063]).
Regarding claim 10, Kemper further discloses that the motorized adjustment is carried out upon detection of the valid operator action in such a way that, with continued relative movement of the body part of the operator in the direction of the flap reference position, when the body part reaches the flap reference position, the motorized adjustment has already been triggered, has already progressed or has already been completed (figure 8, [0038], [0059], [0065]).
Regarding claim 12, Kemper further discloses a flap arrangement for a motor vehicle, designed for carrying out the method as claimed in claim 1 (18, 20).
Regarding claim 13, Kemper further discloses that the gesture criterion relates to the observance of a predetermined movement pattern by the deflection (paragraph [0024], [0053]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 14, Kemper further discloses that the gesture criterion relates to the observance of a predetermined movement path, a predetermined movement velocity, a predetermined movement velocity course, a predetermined movement acceleration and/or a predetermined movement acceleration course (paragraph [0024], [0053]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 15, Kemper further discloses that the deflection of the body part relative to Preliminary Amendment Page 8 the person reference position is determined on the basis of a body part reference position of at least one body part target which is assigned to the person and is approaching in the triggering region (paragraph [0024], [0051]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 16, Kemper further discloses that the targets approaching in the triggering region are classified as body part targets on the basis of a main component analysis (figures 5-7?).
Please note that “main component analysis” is not defined in the Applicant’s original disclosure and does not appear to be a standard term in the art.
Regarding claim 17, Kemper further discloses that the flap reference position is provided on a door handle, a B-pillar or an engagement door edge of the flap arrangement (figures 2-3 and 8, paragraphs [0024], [0053]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 18, Kemper further discloses that the detected object is classified as a person on the basis of a main component analysis (figures 5-7?).
Please note that “main component analysis” is not defined in the Applicant’s original disclosure and does not appear to be a standard term in the art.
Conclusion
/Shelley Chen/
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3665
December 13, 2025