DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the PHY parameters" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11, 12, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LOMAYEV et al PG PUB 2021/0044407.
Re Claims 1, 12 and 16, LOMAYEV et al teaches in figure 1, a Wireless Communication Device 140 includes a receiver and a WLAN sensor (circuitry) [0106] for receiving, See figure , PPDU 1 (a first PPDU) and PPDU 2 (a second PPDU) associated with a time interval between consecutive PPDUs from a Wireless communication device 102 Tx 118 (a second communication apparatus with a transmitter) [0130] wherein based on the time interval the communication device 140 receives the first PPDU at a first time period and the second PPDU at a second time period which is after the first time period; the WLAN sensor, which in operation, determines whether to use the second PPDU for sensing based on a comparison between the first and second PPDU [0096 0222].
Re Claims 2, 18, LOMAYEV et al teaches the WLAN sensor determines whether the first and second PPDUs are the same PPDU or format [0194].
Re Claims 3, 6, 19, LOMAYEV et al teaches the WLAN sensor extracting LTF in the first PPDU (a benchmark PPDU) and any other fields (PHY parameters) of the PPDU [0096] to obtain the CSI of the second PPDU if the first and second PPDUs have the same LTF (PHY parameters) wherein the WLAN sensor is configured to store information [0111], in this case, the extracted LTF can be stored to enable the comparison between the PPDUs. te
Re Claim 4, LOMAYEV et al teaches the transmit parameters for the first and second PPDUs can include a number of VHT-LTF and a number of space-time streams [0230].
Re Claim 5, LOMAYEV et al teaches the WLAN sensor determining the first PPDU or benchmark PPDU.
Re Claim 11, LOMAYEV et al teaches WLAN sensor configured to perform channel measurement based on a periodic transmission of the PPDUs [0113].
Re Claim 15, LOMAYEV et al teaches the WLAN sensor configured to store a NDP format [0170 0178] associated with a detection threshold (a threshold calculation phase) [0148] wherein WLAN sensor in 102 transmits PPDUs with the same NDP format for sensing session to the 104 (the first communication apparatus).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LOMAYEV et al PG PUB 2021/0044407 in view DU et al PG PUB 2024/0022290.
Re Claim 7, LOMAYEV et al teaches the WLAN sensor can store PHY parameters for the first PPDU (the benchmark PPDU) which can include a number of RSSI [0189], VHT-LTF and a number of space-time streams [0230] and related bands [0054]. LOMAYEV et al fails to explicitly teach “CSI matrix”. However, DU et al teaches CSI matrix is included in the 802.11 standard [0119 0122] supporting WLAN sensing. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to be compliant with the known standard. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LOMAYEV et al PG PUB 2021/0044407 in view Sadeghi et al PG PUB 2020/0359248.
Re Claim 10, LOMAYEV et al fails teach explicitly teach “the channel estimation is based on a PPDU that is transmitted from the second communication apparatus to a third communication apparatus.”. However, Sadeghi et al teaches a WLAN sensing scenario in figure 11, a AP triggers sensing to STA2 whereby a STA1 (the second communication apparatus) transmits a PPDU to STA2 (a third communication apparatus) [0025]. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to be adaptive to different WLAN sensing scenarios. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re Claim 8, prior art fails to teach to calculate a rank of the stored CSI matrix from the benchmark PPDU and compares a rank of a CSI matrix of the second PPDU with the calculated rank of the stored CSI matrix as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7, 10, 12 and15-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475