DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3 does not end in a period (See Fressola v. Manbeck, 36 USPQ2d 1211 (D.D.C. 1995) [MPEP 608.01(m)]. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites "N4py-type"; “TACN-type”; “Trispicen-type”, wherein the addition of the word "type" to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite, see Ex parte Copenhaver, 109 USPQ 1 18 (Bd. App. 1955). See also MPEP 2173.05 (B) (e). Accordingly, dependent claims 2-8 are indefinite.
Claim 9 recites "N4py-type"; “TACN-type”; “Trispicen-type”, wherein the addition of the word "type" to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite, see Ex parte Copenhaver, 109 USPQ 1 18 (Bd. App. 1955). See also MPEP 2173.05 (B) (e). Accordingly, dependent claims 10-11 are indefinite.
Claims 1 and 9 recite R17 represents a group selected from: R17. It is unclear what R17 corresponds to in the Markush group, therefore claims 1 and 9 are indefinite.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation heteroatoms, and the claim also recites (e.g. N, O or S) which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation 1 to 10, and the claim also recites 3 to 6 which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation copolymers thereof, and the claim also recites copolymers of propylene oxide and polyethylene oxide which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation at least 15% thiol group content, and the claim also recites at least 25% thiol group content which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation heteroatoms, and the claim also recites (e.g. N, O or S) which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the crosslinker" in lines 6-7 of the paragraph starting with R30 or Z. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the use of" in line 11 and line 12 of the paragraph starting with R30 or Z. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claims 5 and 9, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Description of examples or preferences is properly set forth in the specification rather than the claims. If stated in the claims, examples and preferences may lead to confusion over the intended scope of a claim. In those instances where it is not clear whether the claimed narrower range is a limitation, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph should be made. The examiner should analyze whether the metes and bounds of the claim are clearly set forth [see MPEP 2173.05(d)].
Regarding claim 10, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 10 recites by use of acrylate functionality, carboxylic acid functionality or epoxy groups. It is unclear what constitutes the use of acrylate functionality, carboxylic acid functionality or epoxy groups, therefore claim 10 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Gorkum et al. (WO 2021/116006).
Regarding claims 1, 4-6 and 8: Van Gorkum et al. (WO ‘006) discloses a process of preparing two-component coating compositions [abstract], wherein an alkyd resin as autoxidizable resin [pg. 4, ln. 31] is mixed with a drying catalyst to form component A, and component A is mixed with component B containing a thiol to form the coating composition [abstract]. Van Gorkum et al. (WO ‘006) discloses coating composition 21 of Example 2 [Ex. 2; pg. 17, ln. 1 - pg. 18, ln. 4; Table 4, coating composition 21] contains A21 and B21. Van Gorkum et al. (WO ‘006) discloses A21 [A21; Table 4, A21] contains alkyd resin 2 [pg. 13, ln. -12], 0.1 wt% Mn Nuodex 10 (manganese carboxylate [pg. 13, ln. 15]), micronized polypropylene wax, and 0.7 wt% ligand solution (9.5 wt% 1,4,7-trimethyl-1,4,7-triazazcyclononane [pg. 13, ln. 16-17]) {corresponding to ~ 0.67/1 ratio of 1,4,7-trimethyl-1,4,7-triazazcyclononane to manganese carboxylate}. Van Gorkum et al. (WO ‘006) discloses B21 [B21; Table 4, B21] contains 2.4 wt% pentaerythritol tetrakis(3-mercaptopropionate) (26% thiol content; see instant specification, Table A).
Regarding claims 2-3: Van Gorkum et al. (WO ‘006) discloses the basic claimed process [as set forth above with respect to claim 1].
Claim 2 further defines species of the cross-bridged ligand recited in claim 1. However, as claimed, such species only further define the genus of the optional cross-bridged ligand (i.e. claims 1 and 2 do not require the process to comprise the cross-bridged ligand).
Claim 3 further defines species of the bispidon ligand recited in claim 1. However, as claimed, such species only further define the genus of the optional bispidon ligand (i.e. claims 1 and 3 do not require the process to comprise the bispidon ligand).
Regarding claim 7: Van Gorkum et al. (WO ‘006) discloses the coating composition 21 of Example 2 containing A21 and B21 was mixed to form the two-component coating composition [Ex. 2; pg. 17, ln. 1 - pg. 18, ln. 4; Table 4, coating composition 21].
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Gorkum et al. (WO 2021/116006).
Regarding claims 9-11: Van Gorkum et al. (WO ‘006) discloses two-component coating compositions [abstract], wherein an alkyd resin as autoxidizable resin [pg. 4, ln. 31] is mixed with a drying catalyst to form component A, and component A is mixed with component B containing a thiol to form the coating composition [abstract]. Van Gorkum et al. (WO ‘006) discloses coating composition 21 of Example 2 [Ex. 2; pg. 17, ln. 1 - pg. 18, ln. 4; Table 4, coating composition 21] contains A21 and B21. Van Gorkum et al. (WO ‘006) discloses A21 [A21; Table 4, A21] contains alkyd resin 2 [pg. 13, ln. -12], Mn Nuodex 10 (manganese carboxylate [pg. 13, ln. 15]), and ligand solution (1,4,7-trimethyl-1,4,7-triazazcyclononane [pg. 13, ln. 16-17]). Van Gorkum et al. (WO ‘006) discloses B21 [B21; Table 4, B21] contains 2.4 wt% pentaerythritol tetrakis(3-mercaptopropionate) (26% thiol content; see instant specification, Table A).
See attached form PTO-892.
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767