DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 4-12, 14-15, 18-20, 23 and 25-28 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 5, 6, 12, 14, 18, 19 and 23 are amended.
Claims 2-3, 13, 16-17, 21-22 and 24 are cancelled.
Claims 26-28 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 2, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Reasons set forth below.
Specifically, applicant argues that “Liu does not disclose that a threshold for carrier selection is derived from a candidate threshold value and a first offset value. In particular, Liu fails to teach or suggest: a "first offset value", any arithmetic or logical operation between a candidate threshold value and an offset value to determine a carrier selection threshold; and the feature that the first offset value is preset by a communication protocol.” (Remarks, pg. 12). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Liu teaches a threshold for carrier selection is derived from a candidate threshold value and a first offset value ([0142] In one implementation, the at least one access threshold comprises at least one of the following: a first threshold being applicable to a UE not supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition; a second threshold being applicable to a UE supporting Msg3 repetition and not supporting SUL; a third threshold being applicable to a UE supporting SUL and not supporting Msg3 repetition; or a fourth threshold being applicable to a UE supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition. In another implementation, each of the at least one access threshold is provided by one of an absolute value or a relative offset. For example, [0162] Threshold-1=−100 dBm: applicable to UEs that does not supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition. [0163] Threshold-2=−10 dB offset to Threshold-1: applicable to UEs that support Msg3 repetition without supporting SUL (or SUL is not configured for the cell). (In this example, each access threshold (Threshold-1, Threshold-2…) can be indicated either by an absolute value or by a candidate threshold and a relative offset. In this case -100 dBm is the candidate threshold and -10 dB is the offset.) This example also shows that Liu teaches a "first offset value" (-10 dB), any arithmetic or logical operation between a candidate threshold value and an offset value to determine a carrier selection threshold” (candidate threshold (-100 dBm) + offset value (-10 dB) = carrier selection threshold (Threshold-2). As for the feature that the first offset value is preset by a communication protocol, the claim language is not limited to the applicant’s interpretation. The claim language as recited, “determining a first offset value based on a communication protocol” is given its broadest reasonable interpretation. Broadest reasonable interpretation of a communication protocol is a set of rules or specifications that govern how information is communicated between two or more devices. Liu teaches [0161] A NR cell is configured with both NUL and SUL, and the cell has enabled Msg3 repetition on both NUL and SUL carriers. For cell selection, following thresholds are configured in SIB1, as shown in FIG. 11. The UE can determine the offset value (in this case -10 dB) based on the SIB1 configuration (In 5G NR, SIB1 is an RRC message defined by RRC specifications, thus it is part of the NR communication protocol). Therefore, Liu discloses “determining a first offset value based on a communication protocol”.
Applicant also argues that Liu does not disclose “determining the candidate threshold value as a first threshold value corresponding to the first terminal type, determining a first threshold value corresponding to the second terminal type based on the candidate threshold value and the first offset value.” (Remarks, pg. 12). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Liu teaches [0162] Threshold-1=−100 dBm: applicable to UEs that does not supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition. [0163] Threshold-2=−10 dB offset to Threshold-1: applicable to UEs that support Msg3 repetition without supporting SUL (or SUL is not configured for the cell). (Threshold-1 is the candidate threshold value (-100 dB) and the first threshold value (-100 dB) corresponding to UEs that do not support Msg3 repetition (second terminal type) and Threshold-2 is a first threshold value (-110 dB) corresponding to UEs that do support Msg3 repetition (first terminal type) based on the candidate threshold value (-100 dB) and the first offset value (-10 dB). Liu teaches that the thresholds can be provided by absolute value or a relative threshold in paragraphs [0142] and [0145]. Also, it would be obvious to switch how the thresholds are provided by providing the threshold value corresponding to the first terminal type as the candidate value and providing the threshold value corresponding to the second terminal type as the candidate value plus an offset. Therefore, Liu discloses “determining the candidate threshold value as a first threshold value corresponding to the first terminal type, determining a first threshold value corresponding to the second terminal type based on the candidate threshold value and the first offset value.”
Regarding the rejection of claims 12 and 23, claims 12 and 23 recite the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 12 and 23, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 4-11, 14-15, 18-20, and 25, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims, other than their dependency to claim 1, 12 or 23. Therefor for at least the reasons presented above for claim 1, the dependent claims are rejected.
Specification
Regarding the objections to the specification for minor informalities, amendment addresses the issue raised by the previous office action. Objection to the specification is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Regarding the objections to claim 18 for minor informalities, amendment addresses the issue raised by the previous office action. Objection to claim 18 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding the 112(b) rejection of claim 19, amendments address the issues cited in the previous office action and rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15, 18-20, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu (US 20240080881 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a carrier determining method, performed by a terminal, the method comprising:
determining terminal information of the terminal ([0103] UE-1 measures the DL SSB of cell (terminal information of the terminal), and finds the best SSB is SSB-1, whose RSRP is −105 dBm.),
determining a first threshold value corresponding to the terminal information ([0103] UE-1 measures the DL SSB of cell (terminal information of the terminal), and finds the best SSB is SSB-1, whose RSRP is −105 dBm (first threshold value)); and
determining a carrier for initiating data transmission based on the first threshold value ([0067] If the RSRP of downlink pathloss reference (first threshold value) is lower than the threshold, UE should select SUL (carrier) to perform RACH, otherwise, UE can select NUL (carrier) to perform RACH).
wherein determining the first threshold value corresponding to the terminal information comprises:
determining a candidate threshold value based on a received first indication signaling and determining a first offset value based on a communication protocol ([0046] step 510: sending, by the base station, a configuration to the UE, so that the UE determines a random access (RA) resource based on the configuration and a measured downlink signal strength. [0053] In another implementation, the RSRP threshold configuration comprises at least one of the following: an Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold, an SSB selection RSRP threshold, or a set of two carrier selection RSRP thresholds. [0124] In addition, network configures two carrier selection RSRP thresholds: [0125] 1. Threshold-1=−100 dBm, applicable to UEs not supporting Msg3 repetition (second terminal type). [0126] 2. Threshold-2=−110 dBm, applicable to UEs supporting Msg3 repetition (first terminal type). [0142] In another implementation, each of the at least one access threshold is provided by one of an absolute value or a relative offset. (In other words, each threshold can be indicated by a base threshold (candidate threshold) and an offset.) For example, [0162] Threshold-1=−100 dBm: applicable to UEs that does not supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition. [0163] Threshold-2=−10 dB offset to Threshold-1: applicable to UEs that support Msg3 repetition without supporting SUL (or SUL is not configured for the cell). [0161] A NR cell is configured with both NUL and SUL, and the cell has enabled Msg3 repetition on both NUL and SUL carriers. For cell selection, following thresholds are configured in SIB1, as shown in FIG. 11. The UE can determine the offset value (in this case -10 dB) based on the SIB1 configuration (In 5G NR, SIB1 is an RRC message defined by RRC specifications, thus it is part of the NR communication protocol).);
wherein different terminal information corresponds to different first threshold values ([0124] In addition, network configures two carrier selection RSRP thresholds (different first threshold values): [0125] 1. Threshold-1=−100 dBm, applicable to UEs not supporting Msg3 repetition (terminal information). [0126] 2. Threshold-2=−110 dBm, applicable to UEs supporting Msg3 repetition (terminal information)), the terminal information comprises a terminal type, and the terminal type comprises a first terminal type or a second terminal type (([0125] 1. Threshold-1=−100 dBm, applicable to UEs not supporting Msg3 repetition (second terminal type). [0126] 2. Threshold-2=−110 dBm, applicable to UEs supporting Msg3 repetition (first terminal type));
determining the candidate threshold value as a first threshold value corresponding to the first terminal type, determining a first threshold value corresponding to the second terminal type based on the candidate threshold value and the first offset value ([0162] Threshold-1=−100 dBm: applicable to UEs that does not supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition (second terminal type). [0163] Threshold-2=−10 dB offset to Threshold-1: applicable to UEs that support Msg3 repetition (first terminal type) without supporting SUL (or SUL is not configured for the cell). (Threshold-1 is the candidate threshold value (-100 dB) and the first threshold value (-100 dB) corresponding to UEs that do not support Msg3 repetition (first terminal type) and Threshold-2 is a first threshold value (-110 dB) corresponding to UEs that do support Msg3 repetition (second terminal type) based on the candidate threshold value (-100 dB) and the first offset value (-10 dB).). It would be obvious to switch how the signaling provides the thresholds such that the candidate threshold is the first threshold value corresponding to UEs that do support Msg3 repetition (first terminal type) and the offset is provided for the first threshold value corresponding to UEs that do NOT support Msg3 repetition (second terminal type).)
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches the carrier determining method of claim 1, wherein determining the first threshold value corresponding to the terminal information comprises: determining a second threshold value and a second offset value according to a received first indication signaling or communication protocol, wherein the second threshold value is used to determine whether to initiate a retransmission request ([0142] In one implementation, the at least one access threshold comprises at least one of the following: a first threshold being applicable to a UE not supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition (first threshold value); a second threshold being applicable to a UE supporting Msg3 repetition and not supporting SUL (second threshold value); a third threshold being applicable to a UE supporting SUL and not supporting Msg3 repetition (first threshold value); or a fourth threshold being applicable to a UE supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition (second threshold value). In another implementation, each of the at least one access threshold is provided by one of an absolute value or a relative offset. [0145] Or partial are provided by absolute value, partial are provide by relative offset. [0161] For cell selection, following thresholds are configured in SIB1, as shown in FIG. 11. [0162] Threshold-1=−100 dBm: applicable to UEs that does not supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition. [0163] Threshold-2=−10 dB offset to Threshold-1: applicable to UEs that support Msg3 repetition without supporting SUL (or SUL is not configured for the cell). [0164] Threshold-3=−120 dBm: applicable to UEs that support SUL without supporting Msg3 repetition. [0165] Threshold-4=−10 dB offset to Threshold-3: applicable to UEs that supporting both SUL and Msg3 repetition when SUL carrier is configured for the cell. This example shows the signaling provides two first threshold values and an offset to determine the second threshold values, but it would be obvious to conclude the signaling could also have been configured to provide the second threshold values and a second offset to determine the first threshold values.); and
determining the first threshold value corresponding to the terminal information based on the second threshold value and the second offset value, wherein different terminal information corresponds to different second offset values (Using the example above and Fig. 11, one of ordinary skill can conclude the signaling could provide the second threshold values of Threshold-2 (-110 dBm) and Threshold-4 (-130 dBm) along with the second offset of 10 dBm to determine the first threshold values of Threshold-1 (-100 dBm) and Threshold-3 (-120 dBm)). As shown in Fig. 11, offset value to determine Threshold-1 corresponds to terminals that don’t support SUL carrier and offset value to determine Threshold-3 corresponds to terminals that do support SUL carrier (terminal information).
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches the carrier determining method of any of claim 1, wherein the terminal information further comprises one or more of a terminal function or a terminal channel state ([0125] 1. Threshold-1=−100 dBm, applicable to UEs not supporting Msg3 repetition (terminal function). [0126] 2. Threshold-2=−110 dBm, applicable to UEs supporting Msg3 repetition (terminal function). [0128] UE-1 measures the RSRP of SSBs, and finds the best SSB is SSB-1, the RSRP result is −110 dBm (terminal channel state)).
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches the carrier determining method of claim 1, wherein the first terminal type is a terminal type with coverage enhancement capability, and the second terminal type is a terminal type without coverage enhancement capability ([0056] In another implementation, the set of two carrier selection RSRP thresholds comprises a first carrier selection RSRP threshold and a second carrier selection RSRP threshold, the first carrier selection RSRP threshold being applicable to a UE not supporting Msg3 repetition (second terminal type without coverage enhancement capability), and the second carrier selection RSRP threshold being applicable to a UE supporting Msg3 repetition (first terminal type with coverage enhancement capability).);
the first threshold value corresponding to the first terminal type is less than the first threshold value corresponding to the second terminal type ([0124] In addition, network configures two carrier selection RSRP thresholds: [0125] 1. Threshold-1=−100 dBm, applicable to UEs not supporting Msg3 repetition (corresponding to the second terminal type). [0126] 2. Threshold-2=−110 dBm, applicable to UEs supporting Msg3 repetition (corresponding to the first terminal type). First threshold value is less than second threshold value because -110dBm is less than -100 dBm).
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches the carrier determining method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a second threshold value based on a received second indication signaling or communication protocol, wherein the second threshold value is used to determine whether to initiate a retransmission request, wherein different second threshold values correspond to different carriers ([0053] In another implementation, the RSRP threshold configuration (second indication signaling) comprises at least one of the following: an Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold (second threshold value), an SSB selection RSRP threshold, or a set of two carrier selection RSRP thresholds. [0054] In another implementation, in response to a measured RSRP of a SSB is lower than the Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold (second threshold value), the UE determines to request Msg3 repetition (initiate a retransmission request). [0064] In various embodiments, an RSRP threshold configuration may include one or more of the following: [0065] (1) Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold. If a measured RSRP of an SSB or RSRP of pathloss reference is lower than this threshold, the UE can request network to enable Msg3 repetition. The threshold can be configured differently for different carriers (NUL or SUL), and/or for different BWPs, and/or for different SSBs.).
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches the carrier determining method of claim 7, wherein the second indication signaling or communication protocol further comprises a third offset value or a fourth offset value ([0142] In one implementation, the at least one access threshold comprises at least one of the following: a first threshold being applicable to a UE not supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition (first threshold value); a second threshold being applicable to a UE supporting Msg3 repetition and not supporting SUL (second threshold value); a third threshold being applicable to a UE supporting SUL and not supporting Msg3 repetition (first threshold value); or a fourth threshold being applicable to a UE supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition (second threshold value). In another implementation, each of the at least one access threshold is provided by one of an absolute value or a relative offset. [0161] For cell selection, following thresholds are configured in SIB1, as shown in FIG. 11. [0162] Threshold-1=−100 dBm: applicable to UEs that does not supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition. [0163] Threshold-2=−10 dB offset to Threshold-1 (third offset): applicable to UEs that support Msg3 repetition without supporting SUL (or SUL is not configured for the cell). [0164] Threshold-3=−120 dBm: applicable to UEs that support SUL without supporting Msg3 repetition. [0165] Threshold-4=−10 dB offset to Threshold-3: applicable to UEs that supporting both SUL and Msg3 repetition when SUL carrier is configured for the cell);
the second threshold value is determined based on the first threshold value and the third offset value ([0163] Threshold-2 (second threshold value) = −10 dB offset to Threshold-1 (first threshold value and the third offset): applicable to UEs that support Msg3 repetition without supporting SUL (or SUL is not configured for the cell).); or
the second threshold value is determined based on the first threshold value and the fourth offset value;
the third offset value (-10 dBm from Threshold-1) and the fourth offset value (-10 dBm from Threshold-3) correspond to different carriers (third offset value corresponds to NUL carrier and fourth offset value corresponds to SUL carrier as shown in Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches the carrier determining method of claim 7, further comprising:
determining that the second threshold value is greater than or equal to the first threshold value, in response to the second threshold value being corresponding to a primary carrier ([0107] A NR cell is configured with both NUL and SUL. The cell is transmitting 8 SSBs in downlink, from index 0 to index 7. The cell has enabled Msg3 repetition on NUL, but does not enable Msg3 repetition on SUL. So network provides the Msg3 repetition configuration included in NUL configuration, and is broadcasted in system information. The Msg3 repetition configuration includes the following: [0108] 1. An Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold=−100 dBm (second threshold value), applicable to all SSBs of the NUL (second threshold value being corresponding to a primary carrier). [0109] 2. Two carrier selection RSRP threshold: a) Threshold-1=−100 dBm, applicable to UEs not supporting Msg3 repetition; and b) Threshold-2=−115 dBm, applicable to UEs supporting Msg3 repetition. Second threshold value -100 dBm is greater than or equal to first threshold value; -100 or -115 dBm); or
determining that the second threshold value is less than or equal to the first threshold value, in response to the second threshold value being corresponding to a secondary carrier.
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches the carrier determining method of claim 1, wherein determining the carrier for data transmission based on the first threshold value comprises:
determining using a primary carrier to initiate random access, in response to a determined measurement value being greater than or equal to the first threshold value ([0124] In addition, network configures two carrier selection RSRP thresholds: [0125] 1. Threshold-1=−100 dBm, applicable to UEs not supporting Msg3 repetition. [0126] 2. Threshold-2=−110 dBm, applicable to UEs supporting Msg3 repetition. [0127] UE-1 is camping on this NR cell, and UE-1 supports Msg3 repetition. UE-1 initiates RACH procedure to access the NR cell. UE-1 measures the RSRP of downlink pathloss reference, the RSRP result is −105 dBm. Considering UE-1 supports Msg3 repetition, so based on carrier selection Threshold-2, UE-1 should select NUL to perform RACH); or
determining using a secondary carrier to initiate random access, in response to a determined measurement value being less than or equal to the first threshold value ([0124] In addition, network configures two carrier selection RSRP thresholds: [0125] 1. Threshold-1=−100 dBm, applicable to UEs not supporting Msg3 repetition. [0126] 2. Threshold-2=−110 dBm, applicable to UEs supporting Msg3 repetition. [0129] UE-2 is camping on this NR cell, the UE-2 supports Msg3 repetition. UE-2 initiates RACH procedure to access the NR cell. UE-2 measures the RSRP of downlink pathloss reference, the RSRP is −117 dBm. Considering UE-2 supports Msg3 repetition, so based on carrier selection Threshold-2, UE-2 should select SUL to perform RACH).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches the carrier determining method of claim 6, further comprising:
determining a channel measurement value and the carrier for data transmission ([0113] UE-2 is camping on this NR cell, the UE-2 supports Msg3 repetition. UE-2 initiates RACH procedure to access the NR cell. UE-2 measures the RSRP of downlink pathloss reference, the result is also −105 dBm. Considering UE-2 supports Msg3 repetition, so based on carrier selection Threshold-2, UE-2 should select NUL to perform RACH.);
initiating a retransmission request based on the carrier, in response to the channel measurement value being less than the second threshold value corresponding to the carrier ([0113] Moreover, UE measures the RSRP of SSBs, the highest RSRP of SSB-3 is −110, the results is lower than the Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold on NUL, so UE-2 can trigger Msg3 repetition).
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches a carrier determining method, performed by a network device, comprising:
Determining, based on terminal information, a first threshold value, corresponding to the terminal information, wherein different terminal information corresponds to different first threshold values (Fig. 5, [0046] step 510: sending, by the base station, a configuration to the UE, so that the UE determines a random access (RA) resource based on the configuration and a measured downlink signal strength. [0035] Some embodiments may provide detailed solution for requesting Msg3 repetition. In some implementations, for UEs who support uplink coverage enhancement and UEs who not support uplink coverage enhancement, the cell coverage may be different, cell selection and reselection configuration may be adjusted for different UEs. [0053] In another implementation, the RSRP threshold configuration comprises at least one of the following: an Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold, an SSB selection RSRP threshold, or a set of two carrier selection RSRP thresholds. [0064] In various embodiments, an RSRP threshold configuration may include one or more of the following: [0065] (1) Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold. If a measured RSRP of an SSB or RSRP of pathloss reference is lower than this threshold, the UE can request network to enable Msg3 repetition. The threshold can be configured differently for different carriers (NUL or SUL), and/or for different BWPs, and/or for different SSBs. [0075] Optionally, different Msg3 repetition configurations can be configured for different type of UEs (e.g., RedCap and Normal UE), and for UE from different slices. [0078] Optionally in some embodiments, for RACH resource configuration, the network may provide multiple RACH resources pools, wherein each resource pool includes RACH occasions and/or RACH preamble resources. For each configured RACH resource pool, network can indicate this RACH resource pool is applicable to which UE type (e.g., RedCap UE, non-RedCap UE), and/or to which slice, and/or to which feature (e.g., Msg3 repetition, small data transmission). [0124] In addition, network configures two carrier selection RSRP thresholds:
[0125] 1. Threshold-1=−100 dBm, applicable to UEs not supporting Msg3 repetition (first threshold value for UEs that do not support Msg3 repetition).
[0126] 2. Threshold-2=−110 dBm, applicable to UEs supporting Msg3 repetition (first threshold value for UEs that do support Msg3 repetition).),
the terminal information comprises a terminal type, and the terminal type comprises a first terminal type or a second terminal type (([0125] 1. Threshold-1=−100 dBm, applicable to UEs not supporting Msg3 repetition (second terminal type). [0126] 2. Threshold-2=−110 dBm, applicable to UEs supporting Msg3 repetition (first terminal type)),
a first threshold value corresponding to the first terminal type is determined based on a candidate threshold value, a first threshold value corresponding to the second terminal type is determined based on the candidate threshold value and a first offset value, the first offset value is determined based on a communication protocol ([0162] Threshold-1=−100 dBm: applicable to UEs that does not supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition (second terminal type). [0163] Threshold-2=−10 dB offset to Threshold-1: applicable to UEs that support Msg3 repetition (first terminal type) without supporting SUL (or SUL is not configured for the cell). (Threshold-1 is the candidate threshold value (-100 dB) and the first threshold value (-100 dB) corresponding to UEs that do not support Msg3 repetition (first terminal type) and Threshold-2 is a first threshold value (-110 dB) corresponding to UEs that do support Msg3 repetition (second terminal type) based on the candidate threshold value (-100 dB) and the first offset value (-10 dB).). It would be obvious to switch how the signaling provides the thresholds such that the candidate threshold is the first threshold value corresponding to UEs that do support Msg3 repetition (first terminal type) and the offset is provided for the first threshold value corresponding to UEs that do NOT support Msg3 repetition (second terminal type). [0161] A NR cell is configured with both NUL and SUL, and the cell has enabled Msg3 repetition on both NUL and SUL carriers. For cell selection, following thresholds are configured in SIB1, as shown in FIG. 11. The UE can determine the offset value (in this case -10 dB) based on the SIB1 configuration (In 5G NR, SIB1 is an RRC message defined by RRC specifications, thus it is part of the NR communication protocol).),
the first threshold value is used for a terminal to determine a carrier for initiating data transmission ([0036] In various embodiments, for an NR cell configured with both NUL and SUL, when RACH is triggered and the carrier (NUL or SUL) to use for RACH procedure is not explicitly configured, the UE may first perform uplink carrier selection based on a configured rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL threshold, if the UE supports SUL. If the RSRP of downlink path loss reference is less than the threshold, UE may performs RACH on SUL carrier; if the RSRP of downlink path loss reference is not less than the threshold, UE may perform RACH on NUL carrier.); and
sending a first indication signaling, the first indication signaling is used for determining the candidate threshold value ([0046] step 510: sending, by the base station, a configuration to the UE, so that the UE determines a random access (RA) resource based on the configuration and a measured downlink signal strength; [0124] In addition, network configures two carrier selection RSRP thresholds: [0125] 1. Threshold-1=−100 dBm, applicable to UEs not supporting Msg3 repetition (second terminal type). [0126] 2. Threshold-2=−110 dBm, applicable to UEs supporting Msg3 repetition (first terminal type). [0142] In another implementation, each of the at least one access threshold is provided by one of an absolute value or a relative offset. (In other words, each threshold can be indicated by a base threshold (candidate threshold) and an offset.)
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches the carrier determining method of claim 12, wherein the terminal information corresponding to the first offset value is different from the terminal information corresponding to the first threshold value ([0161] For cell selection, following thresholds are configured in SIB1, as shown in FIG. 11. [0162] Threshold-1=−100 dBm (first threshold value): applicable to UEs that does not supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition. [0163] Threshold-2=−10 dB offset to Threshold-1 (first offset value): applicable to UEs that support Msg3 repetition without supporting SUL (or SUL is not configured for the cell). The first offset value of -10dBm in the example above corresponds to UEs who support Msg3 repetition while the first threshold value (-100 dBm) corresponds to UEs that do not support Msg3 repetition.).
Regarding claim 15, Liu teaches the carrier determining method of claim 12, wherein the first indication signaling further comprises a second threshold value and a second offset value (This was explained in claim 4 rejection. [0060] In various embodiments, the UE receives Msg3 repetition configuration from the network. [0064] In various embodiments, an RSRP threshold configuration may include one or more of the following: [0065] (1) Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold. The threshold can be configured differently for different carriers (NUL or SUL). [0142] In one implementation, the at least one access threshold comprises at least one of the following: a first threshold being applicable to a UE not supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition; a second threshold being applicable to a UE supporting Msg3 repetition and not supporting SUL; a third threshold being applicable to a UE supporting SUL and not supporting Msg3 repetition; or a fourth threshold being applicable to a UE supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition. In another implementation, each of the at least one access threshold is provided by one of an absolute value or a relative offset. [0145] Or partial are provided by absolute value, partial are provide by relative offset. This shows any of these thresholds can be configured by a relative offset (second offset value).);
the second threshold value is used to determine whether to initiate a retransmission request ([0065] If a measured RSRP of an SSB or RSRP of pathloss reference is lower than this threshold, the UE can request network to enable Msg3 repetition.);
different second offset values correspond to different terminal information ([0075] Optionally, different Msg3 repetition configurations can be configured for different type of UEs (e.g., RedCap and Normal UE), and for UE from different slices.).
Regarding claim 18, Liu teaches the carrier determining method of claim 12, further comprising:
sending a second indication signaling, wherein the second indication signaling comprises a second threshold value, and the second threshold value is used to determine whether to initiate a retransmission request ([0064] In various embodiments, an RSRP threshold configuration (second indication signaling) may include one or more of the following: [0065] (1) Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold (second threshold value). If a measured RSRP of an SSB or RSRP of pathloss reference is lower than this threshold, the UE can request network to enable Msg3 repetition.);
different second threshold values correspond to different carriers ([0065] The threshold can be configured differently for different carriers (NUL or SUL), and/or for different BWPs, and/or for different SSBs.).
Regarding claim 19, Liu teaches the carrier determining method of claim 18, wherein the second indication signaling or the communication protocol further comprises a third offset value or a fourth offset value ([0142] In one implementation, the at least one access threshold comprises at least one of the following: a first threshold being applicable to a UE not supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition (second threshold value); a second threshold being applicable to a UE supporting Msg3 repetition and not supporting SUL (first threshold value); a third threshold being applicable to a UE supporting SUL and not supporting Msg3 repetition (second threshold value); or a fourth threshold being applicable to a UE supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition (first threshold value). In another implementation, each of the at least one access threshold is provided by one of an absolute value or a relative offset. [0161] For cell selection, following thresholds are configured in SIB1, as shown in FIG. 11. [0162] Threshold-1=−100 dBm: applicable to UEs that does not supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition. [0163] Threshold-2=−10 dB offset to Threshold-1 (third offset): applicable to UEs that support Msg3 repetition without supporting SUL (or SUL is not configured for the cell). [0164] Threshold-3=−120 dBm: applicable to UEs that support SUL without supporting Msg3 repetition. [0165] Threshold-4=−10 dB offset to Threshold-3 (fourth offset): applicable to UEs that supporting both SUL and Msg3 repetition when SUL carrier is configured for the cell);
wherein the first threshold value and the third offset value are used for the terminal to determine the second threshold value ([0163] Threshold-2 (second threshold value) = −10 dB offset to Threshold-1 (first threshold value and the third offset): applicable to UEs that support Msg3 repetition without supporting SUL (or SUL is not configured for the cell).); or
the first threshold value and the fourth offset value are used for the terminal to determine the second threshold value ([0165] Threshold-4 (second threshold value) = −10 dB offset to Threshold-3 (first threshold value and the fourth offset value): applicable to UEs that supporting both SUL and Msg3 repetition when SUL carrier is configured for the cell); and
wherein the third offset value and the fourth offset value correspond to different carriers. (third offset value corresponds to NUL carrier and fourth offset value corresponds to SUL carrier as shown in Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 20, Liu teaches the carrier determining method of claim 18, further comprising:
determining that the second threshold value is greater than or equal to the first threshold value, in response to the second threshold value being corresponding to a primary carrier ([0107] A NR cell is configured with both NUL and SUL. The cell is transmitting 8 SSBs in downlink, from index 0 to index 7. The cell has enabled Msg3 repetition on NUL, but does not enable Msg3 repetition on SUL. So network provides the Msg3 repetition configuration included in NUL configuration, and is broadcasted in system information. The Msg3 repetition configuration includes the following: [0108] 1. An Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold=−100 dBm (second threshold value), applicable to all SSBs of the NUL (second threshold value being corresponding to a primary carrier). [0109] 2. Two carrier selection RSRP threshold: a) Threshold-1=−100 dBm, applicable to UEs not supporting Msg3 repetition; and b) Threshold-2=−115 dBm, applicable to UEs supporting Msg3 repetition. Second threshold value -100 dBm is greater than or equal to first threshold value; -100 or -115 dBm); or
determining that the second threshold value is less than or equal to the first threshold value, in response to the second threshold value being corresponding to a secondary carrier.
Regarding claim 23, Liu teaches a terminal ([0041] Fig. 3, a terminal device 300), comprising:
a processor ([0043] may include one or more processors 321); and
a memory ([0043] memories 322), configured to store instructions executable by the processor ([0043] The memory 322 stores, for example, an operating system 324, instructions 326, and parameters 328),
wherein the processor is configured to:
determine terminal information of the terminal, and determining a first threshold value corresponding to the terminal information ([0103] UE-1 measures the DL SSB of cell (terminal information of the terminal), and finds the best SSB is SSB-1, whose RSRP is −105 dBm (first threshold value)); and
determine a carrier for initiating data transmission based on the first threshold value ([0067] If the RSRP of downlink pathloss reference (first threshold value) is lower than the threshold, UE should select SUL (carrier) to perform RACH, otherwise, UE can select NUL (carrier) to perform RACH).
wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine a candidate threshold value based on a received first indication signaling and determine a first offset value based on a communication protocol ([0046] step 510: sending, by the base station, a configuration to the UE, so that the UE determines a random access (RA) resource based on the configuration and a measured downlink signal strength. [0053] In another implementation, the RSRP threshold configuration comprises at least one of the following: an Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold, an SSB selection RSRP threshold, or a set of two carrier selection RSRP thresholds. [0124] In addition, network configures two carrier selection RSRP thresholds: [0125] 1. Threshold-1=−100 dBm, applicable to UEs not supporting Msg3 repetition (second terminal type). [0126] 2. Threshold-2=−110 dBm, applicable to UEs supporting Msg3 repetition (first terminal type). [0142] In another implementation, each of the at least one access threshold is provided by one of an absolute value or a relative offset. (In other words, each threshold can be indicated by a base threshold (candidate threshold) and an offset.) For example, [0162] Threshold-1=−100 dBm: applicable to UEs that does not supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition. [0163] Threshold-2=−10 dB offset to Threshold-1: applicable to UEs that support Msg3 repetition without supporting SUL (or SUL is not configured for the cell). [0161] A NR cell is configured with both NUL and SUL, and the cell has enabled Msg3 repetition on both NUL and SUL carriers. For cell selection, following thresholds are configured in SIB1, as shown in FIG. 11. The UE can determine the offset value (in this case -10 dB) based on the SIB1 configuration (In 5G NR, SIB1 is an RRC message defined by RRC specifications, thus it is part of the NR communication protocol).);
wherein different terminal information corresponds to different first threshold values ([0124] In addition, network configures two carrier selection RSRP thresholds (different first threshold values): [0125] 1. Threshold-1=−100 dBm, applicable to UEs not supporting Msg3 repetition (terminal information). [0126] 2. Threshold-2=−110 dBm, applicable to UEs supporting Msg3 repetition (terminal information)), the terminal information comprises a terminal type, and the terminal type comprises a first terminal type or a second terminal type (([0125] 1. Threshold-1=−100 dBm, applicable to UEs not supporting Msg3 repetition (second terminal type). [0126] 2. Threshold-2=−110 dBm, applicable to UEs supporting Msg3 repetition (first terminal type));
determine the candidate threshold value as a first threshold value corresponding to the first terminal type, determine a first threshold value corresponding to the second terminal type based on the candidate threshold value and the first offset value ([0162] Threshold-1=−100 dBm: applicable to UEs that does not supporting SUL and Msg3 repetition (second terminal type). [0163] Threshold-2=−10 dB offset to Threshold-1: applicable to UEs that support Msg3 repetition (first terminal type) without supporting SUL (or SUL is not configured for the cell). (Threshold-1 is the candidate threshold value (-100 dB) and the first threshold value (-100 dB) corresponding to UEs that do not support Msg3 repetition (first terminal type) and Threshold-2 is a first threshold value (-110 dB) corresponding to UEs that do support Msg3 repetition (second terminal type) based on the candidate threshold value (-100 dB) and the first offset value (-10 dB).). It would be obvious to switch how the signaling provides the thresholds such that the candidate threshold is the first threshold value corresponding to UEs that do support Msg3 repetition (first terminal type) and the offset is provided for the first threshold value corresponding to UEs that do NOT support Msg3 repetition (second terminal type).)
Regarding claim 25, Liu teaches a network device (Fig. 2, [0039] electronic device 200 to implement a network node or network base station), configured to implement the carrier determining method of claim 12, comprising:
a processor (Fig. 2, [0040] may include processor(s) 221); and
a memory, configured to store instructions executable by the processor (Fig. 2, [0040] Memory 222 may include an operating system 224, instructions 226, and parameters 228).
Regarding claim 26, Liu teaches the carrier determining method of claim 1, wherein the first indication signaling comprises one of Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, Downlink Control Information (DCI), or Media Access Control (MAC CE) signaling ([0151] A NR cell is configured with both NUL and SUL, and the cell has enabled Msg3 repetition on both NUL and SUL carriers. For cell selection, following thresholds are configured in SIB1, as shown in FIG. 10. (SIB1 is carried in RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 27, Liu teaches the carrier determining method of claim 7, wherein the second indication signaling comprises one of RRC signaling, DCI or MAC CE signaling ([0048] Referring to step 462: the network may send an Msg3 repetition configuration to the UE. The Msg3 repetition configuration may be transmitted via system information or at least one radio resource control (RRC) message.)
Regarding claim 28, Liu teaches the carrier determining method of claim 7, wherein the terminal is a coverage enhancement terminal, the method comprising:
in a case where a SS-RSRP value obtained from measuring a synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) measured by the coverage enhancement terminal is greater than a first threshold value corresponding to the coverage enhancement terminal and less than a first threshold value corresponding to a non coverage enhancement terminal, initiating a blind retransmission request for msg3 ([0079] Referring to FIG. 4A, the method 400 may, optionally and/or alternatively, include selecting, by the UE, a SSB during a RACH initiation based on the SSB selection RSRP threshold (first threshold value corresponding to the coverage enhancement terminal) and the Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold (first threshold value corresponding to a non coverage enhancement terminal) by selecting the SSB based on the SSB selection RSRP threshold, and determining whether to perform Msg3 repetition based on the Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold. In one implementation, in response to a measured RSRP of the SSB being higher than the SSB selection RSRP threshold and the measured RSRP of the SSB being lower than the Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold, the UE selects the SSB and triggers Msg3 repetition (initiating a blind retransmission request for msg3). [0115] A NR cell is configured with both NUL and SUL. The cell is transmitting 8 SSBs in downlink, from index 0 to index 7. The cell has enabled Msg3 repetition on both NUL and SUL. So network provides the Msg3 repetition configuration in both NUL and SUL configuration, and is broadcasted in system information. [0116] The Msg3 repetition configuration of NUL includes the following: [0117] 1. An Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold=−100 dBm, applicable to all SSBs of the NUL. [0118] 2. Msg3 repetition RACH resources associated with all SSBs, including: a) Number of preambles per SSB, and its value=5; b) Number of SSBs per RACH occasion, and its value=3; c) Number of RA preambles group A, and its value=2. [0119] No SSB index list is provided, which means Msg3 repetition can be triggered to all SSBs on NUL. [0120] The Msg3 repetition configuration of SUL includes the following: [0121] 1. A list of SSB indexes, includes SSB-1, SSB-3 and SSB-5, or a bitmap with the bits corresponding to SSB-1, SSB-3 and SSB-5 set to 1. [0122] 2. An Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold=−115 dBm, applicable to all SSBs of the NUL. [0123] 3. Msg3 repetition RACH resources associated with SSB-1, SSB-3 and SSB-5, including: a) Number of preambles per SSB, and its value=5; b) Number of SSBs per RACH occasion, and its value=1; c) Number of RA preambles group A, and its value=0, which implies only UE who intends to send Msg3 with large message size on SUL can trigger Msg3 repetition. [0124] In addition, network configures two carrier selection RSRP thresholds:
[0125] 1. Threshold-1=−100 dBm, applicable to UEs not supporting Msg3 repetition.
[0126] 2. Threshold-2=−110 dBm, applicable to UEs supporting Msg3 repetition.
[0127] UE-1 is camping on this NR cell, and UE-1 supports Msg3 repetition. UE-1 initiates RACH procedure to access the NR cell. UE-1 measures the RSRP of downlink pathloss reference, the RSRP result is −105 dBm. Considering UE-1 supports Msg3 repetition, so based on carrier selection Threshold-2, UE-1 should select NUL to perform RACH. [0128] UE-1 measures the RSRP of SSBs, and finds the best SSB is SSB-1, the RSRP result is −110 dBm. Based on the Msg3 repetition configuration configured for NUL, the RSRP result of SSB-1 is lower than the Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold, so UE-1 can trigger Msg3 repetition.).
in a case where the SS-RSRP value measured by the coverage enhancement terminal is less than a second threshold value of a secondary carrier, initiating a blind retransmission request for msg3 on the secondary carrier ([0129] UE-2 is camping on this NR cell, the UE-2 supports Msg3 repetition. UE-2 initiates RACH procedure to access the NR cell. UE-2 measures the RSRP of downlink pathloss reference, the RSRP is −117 dBm. Considering UE-2 supports Msg3 repetition, so based on carrier selection Threshold-2, UE-2 should select SUL to perform RACH. Moreover, the UE measures the RSRP of SSBs, and finds the best SSB is SSB-3, the RSRP result is −118 dBm, which is lower than the Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold on SUL.);
in a case where the SS-RSRP value measured by the coverage enhancement terminal is greater than the first threshold value corresponding to the coverage enhancement terminal and less than the second threshold value of a primary carrier, initiating a blind retransmission request for msg3 on the primary carrier ([0127] UE-1 is camping on this NR cell, and UE-1 supports Msg3 repetition. UE-1 initiates RACH procedure to access the NR cell. UE-1 measures the RSRP of downlink pathloss reference, the RSRP result is −105 dBm. Considering UE-1 supports Msg3 repetition, so based on carrier selection Threshold-2, UE-1 should select NUL to perform RACH. [0128] UE-1 measures the RSRP of SSBs, and finds the best SSB is SSB-1, the RSRP result is −110 dBm. Based on the Msg3 repetition configuration configured for NUL, the RSRP result of SSB-1 is lower than the Msg3 repetition RSRP threshold, so UE-1 can trigger Msg3 repetition.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465