DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GU et al. (US 2008/0086247).
Regarding claim 1,
GU teaches a battery management system that manages both battery cells and subgroups of batteries [0031]. As shown in Fig. 3-4 the slave controller (micro-master) receives data from each of the battery cells. The sensing and transmitting of data from the sensor to the slave controller is considered to be done by a supervision circuit. The slave controller then determines the state of charge (SOC) from the sensor data (evaluate and filter) [0038]. The SOC data is sent to the master controller (control unit) which then transmits to the hybrid control unit (battery management system) [0039].
Regarding claim 2,
GU teaches using a low voltage system and circuit design for the slave control system including communication (data) lines [0043].
Regarding claim 7,
The controllers in GU are considered to be “upgradable” by either updating software/memory or by physical circuit replacement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GU et al. (US 2008/0086247) in view of KAIN et al. (US 2020/0083720).
Regarding claims 3 and 4,
GU teaches the cell sensors and slave control unit include sensing units sending data to the slave control in addition to a balancing maintenance unit sending data back to the individual cells [0034]. The reference does not expressly teach using a ring circuit or bidirectional ring bus. However, KAIN teaches that when sending commands between a master node and slave nodes, a bidirectional ring evens power costs across the nodes when compared to serial connections and also allow for double checking of the same command to ensure accuracy, Fig. 3-4 and [0068]-[0072]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a bidirectional ring network to balance the power requirements across nodes.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GU et al. (US 2008/0086247) in view of BUTZMANN et al. (US 2014/0212714).
Regarding claims 5, 6, and 10,
GU teaches the slave controller (micro-master part of each module/subgroup) uses insulation between the high and low voltage (subsidiary) systems [0043]. The reference does not expressly teach connecting the voltage and temperature sensors to a low voltage line. However, BUTZMANN more clearly describes powering the sensors for a battery management system using cell supervision circuits [0005] and further teaches the low voltage can be used to power voltage sensors on a low voltage side of the controller separated from a high voltage side using isolation 29, see fig. 3 and [0039]. The use of redundant sensors (high and low voltage isolated from each other) makes the system more reliable [0039]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to use low voltage sensors (cell supervision circuits) isolated from high voltage wiring to offer reliable sensor monitoring through redundancy.
Regarding claim 9,
The cell supervision circuit uses both high voltage and low voltage connectors (a high voltage junction box).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GU et al. (US 2008/0086247) in view of LOFBAMIA et al. (US 2018/0276157) and MURNANE (US 2021/0376626).
Regarding claim 8,
GU teaches the slave control unit are connected to a master control [0034]. The reference does not expressly teach using an ISO SPI data line (isoSPI is a serial/daisy connection). However, LOFAMIA teaches that when connecting master and slave SPI can be used because the serial interface is easier to wire and has less crosstalk [0040]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use SPI data lines for simplicity and reduced cross talk.
The references teach using SPI but do not each isolated SPI (ISO SPI). However, MURNANE teaches that isolated SPI can be used to couple controllers and slave modules [0020]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to implement an isolated serial peripheral interface as a known SPI connection.
Conclusion
/AUSTIN MURATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712