DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 05/20/2026. Claims 1-30 are pending for evaluation.
Note: The claims are presented with independent claims listed first in numerical order, followed by dependent claims also in numerical order; any dual or mirror claims are grouped with the lowest-numbered claim in their respective pairing.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/20/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 05/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 18, 27, and 30 have been amended. Claims 1-30 remain pending for evaluation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument on pg. 12 of Applicant Remarks that, in substance, Lee fails to teach or suggest at least “a UE that: (1) generates, when the UE is in one of the inactive state or the idle state, an uplink control information message based at least in part on the second set of resources, wherein the uplink control information message comprises hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information; and (2) transmits, to the base station when the UE is in the one of the inactive state or the idle state, a data message on at least a portion of the first set of resources and the uplink control information message on the second set of resources, wherein the first set of resources comprise physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources, and wherein the second set of resources comprise physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources” in the amended Claim 1, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Lee provides an inactive-state CG-SDT framework with several implementations. Lee Para. [0190-0228] and Fig. 9 define and configure the broader inactive-sate CG-SDT framework, including configuration of SDT resources and transmission of SDT uplink data by a UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state.
Lee Para. [0229-0231] then describe 4-step RACH implementations of that framework. Specifically, Para. [0229] states that MSG2 DCI may activate or resume an SDT-CG, Para. [0230] states that the RAR MAC CE may allocate both a MSG3 PUSCH UL grant for SDT UL data transmission and a PUCCH resource, and Para. [0231] describes transmission of a first transport block on the MSG3 PUSCH. Thus, Lee teaches control signaling identifying PUSCH resources for transmitting the data message and PUCCH resources for transmitting the uplink control information message within the described inactive-state SDT framework.
Regarding the limitation that the uplink control information message comprises HARQ feedback information, Lee Para. [0183] expressly states that multiplexing between CG-UCI and a PUCCH carrying HARQ-ACK may be configured or allowed by the base station, and Para. [0185] states that at least some of these CG procedures may be used for CG-based SDT. Additionally, Lee Para. [0144-0146] and [0155-0156] further state that PUCCH carries UCI, that the UCI may include HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback, and that a PUCCH resource is identified for such UCI transmission. Accordingly, Lee teaches that the UCI transmitted on the PUCCH resources may comprise HARQ feedback information.
In conclusion, Lee teaches “a UE that: (1) generates, when the UE is in one of the inactive state or the idle state, an uplink control information message based at least in part on the second set of resources, wherein the uplink control information message comprises hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information; and (2) transmits, to the base station when the UE is in the one of the inactive state or the idle state, a data message on at least a portion of the first set of resources and the uplink control information message on the second set of resources, wherein the first set of resources comprise physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources, and wherein the second set of resources comprise physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources.” Accordingly, Lee anticipates the claimed subject matter, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) is upheld.
Applicant’s arguments presented with respect to Claim(s) 2-30 are substantively the same as those set forth for Claim 1. Accordingly, the same reasoning and supporting explanation provided for Claim 1 are equally applicable to Claims 2-30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, 15, 17-23, 25, and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2022/0353943, previously presented), Lee hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Lee teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising (Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304]):
receiving, from a base station, control signaling (Fig. 9; Para. [0193-0216] - [0194] (1). The UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state may switch to the RRC_INACTIVE state by receiving an RRC Release message indicating suspension. In this case, a UE-dedicated (RRC) message may include information on at least one SDT configuration as follows. The UE-dedicated message may be equivalent to the RRC Release message or an RRC Reconfiguration message received by the UE before the RRC Release message; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304]; Para. [0337-0338])
identifying a first set of resources for data transmissions (Fig. 9; Table 8; Para. [0193-0285] - [0198] B. SDT related CG Configuration [0199] The BS may configure an SDT related CG in an RRC release message. For example, the BS may allocate at least one CG configuration index and configure a CG Type 1 resource as shown in Table 8 for each CG configuration index. In CG Type 1, the CG may be activated as long as the UE receives the RRC Release message. Meanwhile, the BS may configure CG Type 2 in the RRC Release message. In this case, the CG may be activated after the UE receives activation DCI. Table 8 shows a CG Type 1 resource configuration for one CG configuration index (extracted from TS 38.331)…[0202] The BS may configure a mapping relationship between SDT CG configuration indices and SDT logical channels. In this case, the UE may be configured to transmit specific logical channel data only on a CG resource with a SDT CG configuration index mapped thereto; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304]; Para. [0337-0338])
and a second set of resources for uplink control information transmission (Fig. 9; Table 8; Para. [0193-0285] - [0198] B. SDT related CG Configuration [0199] The BS may configure an SDT related CG in an RRC release message. For example, the BS may allocate at least one CG configuration index and configure a CG Type 1 resource as shown in Table 8 for each CG configuration index. In CG Type 1, the CG may be activated as long as the UE receives the RRC Release message. Meanwhile, the BS may configure CG Type 2 in the RRC Release message. In this case, the CG may be activated after the UE receives activation DCI. Table 8 shows a CG Type 1 resource configuration for one CG configuration index (extracted from TS 38.331)…[0201] Different CG resources mapped to different HARQ process IDs of one CG configuration index may be mapped to different RSs. For example, a CG resource mapped to HARQ process ID=1 may be configured to be mapped to ssb-index =1 and 2, and a CG resource mapped to HARQ process ID=2 may be configured to be mapped to ssb-index =3 and 4. Alternatively, HARQ process IDs of 1 and 3 may be configured to be mapped to SSB index =1, and HARQ process IDs of 2 and 4 may be configured to be mapped to SSB index =2. The HARQ process ID to SSB index mapping may be configured in the RRC Release message or system information; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304]; Para. [0337-0338])
by the UE when the UE is in an inactive state or an idle state (Fig. 9; Table 8; Para. [0193-0285] - [0194] (1). The UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state may switch to the RRC_INACTIVE state by receiving an RRC Release message indicating suspension. In this case, a UE-dedicated (RRC) message may include information on at least one SDT configuration as follows. The UE-dedicated message may be equivalent to the RRC Release message or an RRC Reconfiguration message received by the UE before the RRC Release message.; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304]; Para. [0337-0338]);
generating, when the UE is in one of the inactive state or the idle state, an uplink control information message based at least in part on the second set of resources (Fig. 9; Para. [0193-0285] - [0234] On the other hand, according to the SDT configuration information, MSG2 DCI, or RAR MAC CE of the BS, the UE may transmit UCI on a PUCCH resource, a MSG3 PUSCH, or a MSGA PUSCH. The UE may request CG activation or CG resume with UCI bits. The UCI bits may indicate a CG configuration index or SDT logical channel ID suitable for SDT UL data. Alternatively, the UCI bits may indicate the traffic pattern of the SDT UL data. For example, UCI bits=000 and 001 may indicate different UL data periods, different data sizes or different quality of service (QoS). Accordingly, the BS may select a CG configuration index where the SDT UL data of the UE is matched with the traffic pattern or logical channel Meanwhile, the UE may provide the CG configuration index, the SDT logical channel ID, the traffic pattern of the SDT UL data, the data period, the data size, the QoS, etc. in a MSG3 MAC CE or MSG3 RRC message rather than the UCI; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304]; Para. [0337-0338]),
wherein the uplink control information message comprises hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information (Para. [0144-0146] - [0144] PUCCH carries Uplink Control Information (UCI). UCI may include one or more of following information: [0145] SR (Scheduling Request): Information used to request a UL-SCH resource. [0146] HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest)-ACK (Acknowledgment): It is a response to a downlink data packet (e.g., codeword) on the PDSCH, and indicates whether the downlink data packet has been successfully received. 1 bit of HARQ-ACK may be transmitted in response to a single codeword, and 2 bits of HARQ-ACK may be transmitted in response to two codewords. The HARQ-ACK response includes positive ACK (simply, ACK), negative ACK (NACK), DTX or NACK/DTX. Here, HARQ-ACK may be called as HARQ ACK/NACK and ACK/NACK. [0147] CSI (Channel State Information): feedback information for a downlink channel. Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO)-related feedback information includes a Rank Indicator (RI) and a Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI); See also Para. [0155-0156]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304]; Para. [0337-0338]);
and transmitting, to the base station when the UE is in the one of the inactive state or the idle state,
a data message on at least a portion of the first set of resources (Fig. 9; Para. [0193-0285] - [0241] (8). For CG-SDT (e.g., SDT CG), a plurality of CG configurations may be provided to the UE in an RRC release message or system information. For each CG configuration, CG PUSCH resources may be associated with a set of SSB(s) by the BS. For CG-SDT related SSBs, CG resources may not be provided to the UE. For the CG configuration, multiple CG PUSCH occasions within one or more CG periodicities may be mapped to different SSBs belonging to one subset or mapped to the same SSB(s) belonging to one subset. For the CG configuration, multiple CG PUSCHs in one or more CG periodicities may be mapped to different SSBs of one subset or mapped to the same SSB of one subset. When multiple CG PUSCHs belonging to one or more CG periodicities are mapped to different SSBs belonging to one subset of the CG configuration, the UE selects at least one SSB that is above a threshold configured by the BS. The UE may perform repetition of the same TB only on CG PUSCH occasions associated with the selected at least one SSB. When multiple CG PUSCHs belonging to one or more CG periodicities are mapped to the same SSB belonging to one subset of the CG configuration. The UE performs repetition of the same TB on different CG PUSCH occasions associated with the same SSB. Alternatively, the UE may select one or more CG PUSCH occasions to transmit the TB (in this case, the TB may or may not be repeated); See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
and the uplink control information message on the second set of resources (Fig. 9; Para. [0193-0285] - [0242] CG-PUSCH resources may be shared by multiple UEs using CG-SDT. When a contention-based (CB) CG PUSCH is configured for CG-SDT, the BS may allocate a short UE index to each of the UEs sharing the same CB-CG configuration. Based on the configuration of the BS, the UE may transmit CG UCI on a CG PUSCH occasion. The CG UCI may include the short UE index (e.g., short UE index configured by the RRC Release message). The short UE index may be used to identify a UE that has actually performed UL transmission among UEs sharing CG PUSCH occasions of the CG configuration. For example, the short UE index may be uniquely configured within the CG configuration, within the CG PUSCH occasion, or within the CG periodicity of the CG PUSCH occasion; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]),
wherein the first set of resources comprise physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources, and wherein the second set of resources comprise physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources (Para. [0229-0231] - [0229] (4). In a 4-step RACH, the UE may monitor DCI, which is CRC scrambled by an RA-RNTI or C-RNTI, after transmitting a RACH preamble. In this case, the RA-RNTI of an SDT-related RACH may be determined to have a different value from the conventional RA-RNTI. Alternatively, MSG2 DCI may be monitored with an RNTI with a new value and name. In this case, the MSG2 DCI may activate or resume an SDT CG. For example, when an SDT CG configuration index is included in the MSG2 DCI, the UE may activate the corresponding SDT CG (for CG Type 2) or resume the corresponding SDT CG (for CG Type 1). [0230] The UE may receive a MSG2 PDSCH based on the received MSG2 DCI. In this case, the MAC PDU of the MSG2 PDSCH may include the RAPID for the RACH preamble transmitted by the UE in a sub-header. The MAC PDU of the MSG2 PDSCH may also include an RAR MAC CE mapped to the sub-header. The RAR MAC CE may allocate a MSG3 PUSCH UL grant for SDT UL data transmission, a temporary C-RNTI, and a PUCCH resource. Alternatively, when a specific SDT CG configuration index is included, the SDT CG may be activated (for CG Type 2) or resumed (for CG Type 1). Alternatively, MSG3 UCI transmission may be indicated; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1: Fig. 9 from Lee et al. (US 2022/0353943) with Examiner's annotations indicating mapping(s).)]
Regarding Claim 18, Lee teaches a method for wireless communication at a base station, comprising (Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304]):
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), control signaling (Fig. 9; Para. [0193-0216]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
identifying a first set of resources for data transmissions (Fig. 9; Table 8; Para. [0193-0285]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
and a second set of resources for uplink control information transmission (Fig. 9; Table 8; Para. [0193-0285]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
by the UE when the UE is in an inactive state or an idle state (Fig. 9; Table 8; Para. [0193-0285]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]);
and receiving, from the UE when the UE is in the one of the inactive state or the idle state,
a data message on at least a portion of the first set of resources (Fig. 9; Para. [0193-0285]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
and an uplink control information message on the second set of resources (Fig. 9; Para. [0193-0285]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]),
wherein the uplink control information message comprises hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information (Para. [0144-0146]; See also Para. [0155-0156]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304]; Para. [0337-0338]),
wherein the first set of resources comprise physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources, and wherein the second set of resources comprise physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources (Para. [0229-0231]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
Regarding Claim 27, Lee teaches an apparatus, comprising (Fig. 13, Para. [0309-0316]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0317-0320]):
a processor (Fig. 13, element 102, Para. [0309-0316]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0317-0320] ; Para. [0337-0338]);
memory coupled with the processor (Fig. 13, element 104, Para. [0309-0316]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0317-0320] ; Para. [0337-0338]);
and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (Fig. 13, elements 102 and 104, Para. [0309-0316]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0317-0320] ; Para. [0337-0338]):
receive, from a base station, control signaling (Fig. 9; Para. [0193-0216]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
identifying a first set of resources for data transmissions (Fig. 9; Table 8; Para. [0193-0285]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
and a second set of resources for uplink control information transmission (Fig. 9; Table 8; Para. [0193-0285]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
by the UE when the UE is in an inactive state or an idle state (Fig. 9; Table 8; Para. [0193-0285]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]);
generate, when the UE is in one of the inactive state or the idle state, an uplink control information message based at least in part on the second set of resources (Fig. 9; Para. [0193-0285]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]),
wherein the uplink control information message comprises hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information (Para. [0144-0146]; See also Para. [0155-0156]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304]; Para. [0337-0338]);
and transmit, to the base station when the UE in the one of the inactive state or the idle state,
a data message on at least a portion of the first set of resources (Fig. 9; Para. [0193-0285]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
and the uplink control information message on the second set of resources (Fig. 9; Para. [0193-0285]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]),
wherein the first set of resources comprise physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources, and wherein the second set of resources comprise physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources (Para. [0229-0231]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
Regarding Claim 30, Lee teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising (Fig. 13, Para. [0309-0316]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0317-0320]):
a processor (Fig. 13, element 202, Para. [0309-0316]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0317-0320] ; Para. [0337-0338]);
memory coupled with the processor (Fig. 13, element 204, Para. [0309-0316]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0317-0320] ; Para. [0337-0338]);
and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (Fig. 13, elements 202 and 204, Para. [0309-0316]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0317-0320] ; Para. [0337-0338]):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), control signaling (Fig. 9; Para. [0193-0216]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
identifying a first set of resources for data transmissions (Fig. 9; Table 8; Para. [0193-0285]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
and a second set of resources for uplink control information transmission (Fig. 9; Table 8; Para. [0193-0285]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
by the UE when the UE is in an inactive state or an idle state (Fig. 9; Table 8; Para. [0193-0285]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]);
and receive, from the UE when the UE is in the one of the inactive state or the idle state,
a data message on at least a portion of the first set of resources (Fig. 9; Para. [0193-0285]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
and an uplink control information message on the second set of resources (Fig. 9; Para. [0193-0285]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
wherein the uplink control information message comprises hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information (Para. [0144-0146]; See also Para. [0155-0156]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304]; Para. [0337-0338]);
wherein the first set of resources comprise physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources, and wherein the second set of resources comprise physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources (Para. [0229-0231]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee teaches Claim 1.
Lee further teaches
wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving, from the base station, a random access message of a random access procedure that identifies the first set of resources and the second set of resources (Fig. 9; Para. [0190-0285] - [0194] (1). The UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state may switch to the RRC_INACTIVE state by receiving an RRC Release message indicating suspension. In this case, a UE-dedicated (RRC) message may include information on at least one SDT configuration as follows. The UE-dedicated message may be equivalent to the RRC Release message or an RRC Reconfiguration message received by the UE before the RRC Release message…[0227] Alternatively, when performing the PRACH transmission with the general preamble, the UE may perform SDT CG transmission according to the instruction of the BS. In this case, the CG configuration index received in the RRC Release message may be indicated in MSG2, MSG4, or MSGB of the RACH; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
The Examiner interprets a MSG2 a random access message of a random access procedure.
Regarding Claim 19, Lee teaches Claim 18.
Lee further teaches
wherein transmitting the control signaling comprises: transmitting a random access message of a random access procedure that identifies the first set of resources and the second set of resources (Fig. 9; Para. [0190-0285] - [0194] (1). The UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state may switch to the RRC_INACTIVE state by receiving an RRC Release message indicating suspension. In this case, a UE-dedicated (RRC) message may include information on at least one SDT configuration as follows. The UE-dedicated message may be equivalent to the RRC Release message or an RRC Reconfiguration message received by the UE before the RRC Release message…[0227] Alternatively, when performing the PRACH transmission with the general preamble, the UE may perform SDT CG transmission according to the instruction of the BS. In this case, the CG configuration index received in the RRC Release message may be indicated in MSG2, MSG4, or MSGB of the RACH; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
Regarding Claim 28, Lee teaches Claim 27.
Lee further teaches
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to receive the control signaling by being executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the base station, a random access message of a random access procedure that identifies the first set of resources and the second set of resources (Fig. 9; Para. [0190-0285] - [0194] (1). The UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state may switch to the RRC_INACTIVE state by receiving an RRC Release message indicating suspension. In this case, a UE-dedicated (RRC) message may include information on at least one SDT configuration as follows. The UE-dedicated message may be equivalent to the RRC Release message or an RRC Reconfiguration message received by the UE before the RRC Release message…[0227] Alternatively, when performing the PRACH transmission with the general preamble, the UE may perform SDT CG transmission according to the instruction of the BS. In this case, the CG configuration index received in the RRC Release message may be indicated in MSG2, MSG4, or MSGB of the RACH; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee teaches Claim 1.
Lee further teaches
wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving, from the base station when the UE is in an active state, a message associated with releasing the UE from the active state to the inactive state or the idle state, wherein the message identifies the first set of resources and the second set of resources (Fig. 9; Para. [0190-0285] - [0194] (1). The UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state may switch to the RRC_INACTIVE state by receiving an RRC Release message indicating suspension. In this case, a UE-dedicated (RRC) message may include information on at least one SDT configuration as follows. The UE-dedicated message may be equivalent to the RRC Release message or an RRC Reconfiguration message received by the UE before the RRC Release message; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
Regarding Claim 20, Lee teaches Claim 18.
Lee further teaches
wherein transmitting the control signaling comprises: transmitting, to the UE when the UE is in an active state, a message associated with releasing the UE from the active state to the inactive state or the idle state, wherein the message identifies the first set of resources and the second set of resources (Fig. 9; Para. [0190-0285] - [0194] (1). The UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state may switch to the RRC_INACTIVE state by receiving an RRC Release message indicating suspension. In this case, a UE-dedicated (RRC) message may include information on at least one SDT configuration as follows. The UE-dedicated message may be equivalent to the RRC Release message or an RRC Reconfiguration message received by the UE before the RRC Release message; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
Regarding Claim 29, Lee teaches Claim 27.
Lee further teaches
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to receive the control signaling by being executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the base station when the UE is in an active state, a message associated with releasing the UE from the active state to the inactive state or the idle state, wherein the message identifies the first set of resources and the second set of resources (Fig. 9; Para. [0190-0285] - [0194] (1). The UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state may switch to the RRC_INACTIVE state by receiving an RRC Release message indicating suspension. In this case, a UE-dedicated (RRC) message may include information on at least one SDT configuration as follows. The UE-dedicated message may be equivalent to the RRC Release message or an RRC Reconfiguration message received by the UE before the RRC Release message; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
Regarding Claim 4, Lee teaches Claim 1.
Lee further teaches
wherein transmitting the uplink control information message comprises: transmitting the uplink control information message on the second set of resources with a random access message of a random access procedure (Fig. 9; Para. [0190-0285] - [0234] On the other hand, according to the SDT configuration information, MSG2 DCI, or RAR MAC CE of the BS, the UE may transmit UCI on a PUCCH resource, a MSG3 PUSCH, or a MSGA PUSCH. The UE may request CG activation or CG resume with UCI bits. The UCI bits may indicate a CG configuration index or SDT logical channel ID suitable for SDT UL data. Alternatively, the UCI bits may indicate the traffic pattern of the SDT UL data. For example, UCI bits=000 and 001 may indicate different UL data periods, different data sizes or different quality of service (QoS). Accordingly, the BS may select a CG configuration index where the SDT UL data of the UE is matched with the traffic pattern or logical channel Meanwhile, the UE may provide the CG configuration index, the SDT logical channel ID, the traffic pattern of the SDT UL data, the data period, the data size, the QoS, etc. in a MSG3 MAC CE or MSG3 RRC message rather than the UCI.; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
The Examiner interprets a MSG3 PUSCH as a random access message of a random access procedure.
Regarding Claim 21, Lee teaches Claim 18.
Lee further teaches
wherein receiving the uplink control information message comprises: receiving the uplink control information message on the second set of resources with a random access message of a random access procedure (Fig. 9; Para. [0190-0285] - [0234] On the other hand, according to the SDT configuration information, MSG2 DCI, or RAR MAC CE of the BS, the UE may transmit UCI on a PUCCH resource, a MSG3 PUSCH, or a MSGA PUSCH. The UE may request CG activation or CG resume with UCI bits. The UCI bits may indicate a CG configuration index or SDT logical channel ID suitable for SDT UL data. Alternatively, the UCI bits may indicate the traffic pattern of the SDT UL data. For example, UCI bits=000 and 001 may indicate different UL data periods, different data sizes or different quality of service (QoS). Accordingly, the BS may select a CG configuration index where the SDT UL data of the UE is matched with the traffic pattern or logical channel Meanwhile, the UE may provide the CG configuration index, the SDT logical channel ID, the traffic pattern of the SDT UL data, the data period, the data size, the QoS, etc. in a MSG3 MAC CE or MSG3 RRC message rather than the UCI.; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee teaches Claim 4.
Lee further teaches
wherein the random access procedure comprises a four-step random access procedure, the method further comprising (Fig. 9; Para. [0190-0285] - [0231] (5). For a 4-step RACH without CG activation/resume, the UE may transmit a first TB (i.e., MAC PDU) on a MSG3 PUSCH. If MSG2 DCI or a MSG2 RAR MAC CE indicates an SDT BWP ID, the UE may activate an indicated SDT BWP and transmit MSG3 in the activated SDT BWP. In this case, the initial BWP may be deactivated. However, if there are no indicated SDT BWPs, MSG3 may be transmitted in the initial BWP; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]):
transmitting the uplink control information message with the random access message based at least in part on identifying that a timing advance for the UE is valid (Para. [0174] - The RAR information transmitted on the PDSCH may include timing advance (TA) information for UL synchronization, an initial UL grant, and a temporary cell-RNTI (C-RNTI). The TA information may be used to control a UL signal transmission timing. The UE may transmit a UL signal over a UL shared channel as message 3 (Msg3) of the random access procedure based on the RAR information (see 1705 of FIG. 7(a)). Msg3 may include an RRC connection request and a UE identifier. In response to Msg3, the network may transmit message 4 (Msg4), which may be treated as a contention resolution message on DL (see 1707 of FIG. 7(a)). Upon receiving Msg4, the UE may enter the RRC_CONNECTED state; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee teaches Claim 4.
Lee further teaches
wherein the random access procedure comprises a two-step random access procedure, the method further comprising: transmitting the uplink control information message with the random access message after identifying that a timing advance for the UE is invalid (Fig. 9; Table 9; Para. [0174] - The RAR information transmitted on the PDSCH may include timing advance (TA) information for UL synchronization, an initial UL grant, and a temporary cell-RNTI (C-RNTI). The TA information may be used to control a UL signal transmission timing; Para. [0190-0285] - [0219] (3). When at least one of the conditions of Table 9 is satisfied, the inactive UE may perform SDT CG transmission after triggering the RACH for SDT; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
The Examiner notes that TAT in Table 9 is defined in Para. [0218] as “time alignment timer.” Further, the Examiner notes that the TAT is used to manage the validity of "timing alignment" (specifically, the Timing Advance command) in wireless communications (LTE/5G).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee teaches Claim 1.
Lee further teaches
wherein receiving the control signaling identifying the first set of resources for the data transmissions comprise receiving the control signaling when the UE is in an active state (Fig. 9; Para. [0190-0285] - [0194] (1). The UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state may switch to the RRC_INACTIVE state by receiving an RRC Release message indicating suspension. In this case, a UE-dedicated (RRC) message may include information on at least one SDT configuration as follows. The UE-dedicated message may be equivalent to the RRC Release message or an RRC Reconfiguration message received by the UE before the RRC Release message; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]),
the control signaling indicating a plurality of transmission occasions for the data transmissions (Fig. 9; Para. [0190-0285] - [0241] (8). For CG-SDT (e.g., SDT CG), a plurality of CG configurations may be provided to the UE in an RRC release message or system information. For each CG configuration, CG PUSCH resources may be associated with a set of SSB(s) by the BS. For CG-SDT related SSBs, CG resources may not be provided to the UE. For the CG configuration, multiple CG PUSCH occasions within one or more CG periodicities may be mapped to different SSBs belonging to one subset or mapped to the same SSB(s) belonging to one subset. For the CG configuration, multiple CG PUSCHs in one or more CG periodicities may be mapped to different SSBs of one subset or mapped to the same SSB of one subset. When multiple CG PUSCHs belonging to one or more CG periodicities are mapped to different SSBs belonging to one subset of the CG configuration, the UE selects at least one SSB that is above a threshold configured by the BS. The UE may perform repetition of the same TB only on CG PUSCH occasions associated with the selected at least one SSB. When multiple CG PUSCHs belonging to one or more CG periodicities are mapped to the same SSB belonging to one subset of the CG configuration. The UE performs repetition of the same TB on different CG PUSCH occasions associated with the same SSB. Alternatively, the UE may select one or more CG PUSCH occasions to transmit the TB (in this case, the TB may or may not be repeated); See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]),
the plurality of transmission occasions comprising the first set of resources, wherein the data message and the uplink control information message are transmitted within a transmission occasion of the plurality of transmission occasions (Fig. 9; Para. [0190-0285] - [0241] (8). For CG-SDT (e.g., SDT CG), a plurality of CG configurations may be provided to the UE in an RRC release message or system information…[0242] CG-PUSCH resources may be shared by multiple UEs using CG-SDT. When a contention-based (CB) CG PUSCH is configured for CG-SDT, the BS may allocate a short UE index to each of the UEs sharing the same CB-CG configuration. Based on the configuration of the BS, the UE may transmit CG UCI on a CG PUSCH occasion. The CG UCI may include the short UE index (e.g., short UE index configured by the RRC Release message). The short UE index may be used to identify a UE that has actually performed UL transmission among UEs sharing CG PUSCH occasions of the CG configuration. For example, the short UE index may be uniquely configured within the CG configuration, within the CG PUSCH occasion, or within the CG periodicity of the CG PUSCH occasion; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee teaches Claim 7.
Lee further teaches
wherein transmitting the data message and the uplink control information message comprises: multiplexing the data message and the uplink control information message within the transmission occasion (Para. [0149] - PUSCH carries uplink data (e.g., UL-SCH transport block, UL-SCH TB) and/or uplink control information (UCI); Fig. 9; Para. [0190-0285] - [0241] (8). For CG-SDT (e.g., SDT CG), a plurality of CG configurations may be provided to the UE in an RRC release message or system information…[0242] CG-PUSCH resources may be shared by multiple UEs using CG-SDT. When a contention-based (CB) CG PUSCH is configured for CG-SDT, the BS may allocate a short UE index to each of the UEs sharing the same CB-CG configuration. Based on the configuration of the BS, the UE may transmit CG UCI on a CG PUSCH occasion. The CG UCI may include the short UE index (e.g., short UE index configured by the RRC Release message). The short UE index may be used to identify a UE that has actually performed UL transmission among UEs sharing CG PUSCH occasions of the CG configuration. For example, the short UE index may be uniquely configured within the CG configuration, within the CG PUSCH occasion, or within the CG periodicity of the CG PUSCH occasion; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee teaches Claim 7.
Lee further teaches
wherein transmitting the data message and the uplink control information message comprises: refraining from transmitting the data message within a first transmission occasion of the plurality of transmission occasions based at least in part on generating the uplink control information message to be transmitted in the first transmission occasion; transmitting the uplink control information message within the first transmission occasion based at least in part on refraining from transmitting the data message; and transmitting the data message within a second transmission occasion of the plurality of transmission occasions based at least in part on transmitting the uplink control information message within the first transmission occasion (Fig. 9; Para. [0190-0285] - [0234] On the other hand, according to the SDT configuration information, MSG2 DCI, or RAR MAC CE of the BS, the UE may transmit UCI on a PUCCH resource, a MSG3 PUSCH, or a MSGA PUSCH. The UE may request CG activation or CG resume with UCI bits. The UCI bits may indicate a CG configuration index or SDT logical channel ID suitable for SDT UL data. Alternatively, the UCI bits may indicate the traffic pattern of the SDT UL data. For example, UCI bits=000 and 001 may indicate different UL data periods, different data sizes or different quality of service (QoS). Accordingly, the BS may select a CG configuration index where the SDT UL data of the UE is matched with the traffic pattern or logical channel Meanwhile, the UE may provide the CG configuration index, the SDT logical channel ID, the traffic pattern of the SDT UL data, the data period, the data size, the QoS, etc. in a MSG3 MAC CE or MSG3 RRC message rather than the UCI. [0235] (6). After transmitting MSG3/A, the UE may receive a HARQ retransmission resource or an ACK/NACK of MSG3 or MSGA in DCI transmitted with DCI format 0_0. In this case, the CRC of the DCI may be scrambled by a temporary C-RNTI… [0240] (7). When the UE receives CG activation or CG resume for a specific CG configuration index in DCI and when the UE receives MSG4 or MSGB, the UE may perform RACH contention resolution. In this case, the UE may execute CG activation or CG resume for the indicated CG configuration index. Thereafter, the UE may transmit SDT UL data depending on CG PUSCH resources which occur periodically. The UE may transmit at least one SDT TB based on a HARQ process with a HARQ process ID mapped to a CG resource. In this case, at least one SDT TB may include SDT logical channel data mapped to the CG resource and zero or at least one MAC CE.; See also Para. [0269]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee teaches Claim 1.
Lee further teaches
receiving, via the control signaling, an indication for the UE to multiplex the uplink control information with the data message within the second set of resources (Para. [0109] - After the foregoing procedure, the UE may receive a PDCCH/PDSCH (S107) and transmit a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)/physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (S108), as a general downlink/uplink signal transmission procedure. Control information transmitted from the UE to the BS is referred to as uplink control information (UCI). The UCI includes hybrid automatic repeat and request acknowledgement/negative-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK/NACK), scheduling request (SR), channel state information (CSI), etc. The CSI includes a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a rank indicator (RI), etc. While the UCI is transmitted on a PUCCH in general, the UCI may be transmitted on a PUSCH when control information and traffic data need to be simultaneously transmitted. In addition, the UCI may be aperiodically transmitted through a PUSCH according to request/command of a network; See also Para. [0184, 0240, 0268]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
which are included within the first set of resources (Table 8; Fig. 9; Para. [0190-0285] - [0198] B. SDT related CG Configuration [0199] The BS may configure an SDT related CG in an RRC release message. For example, the BS may allocate at least one CG configuration index and configure a CG Type 1 resource as shown in Table 8 for each CG configuration index. In CG Type 1, the CG may be activated as long as the UE receives the RRC Release message. Meanwhile, the BS may configure CG Type 2 in the RRC Release message. In this case, the CG may be activated after the UE receives activation DCI. Table 8 shows a CG Type 1 resource configuration for one CG configuration index (extracted from TS 38.331)… [0201] Different CG resources mapped to different HARQ process IDs of one CG configuration index may be mapped to different RSs. For example, a CG resource mapped to HARQ process ID=1 may be configured to be mapped to ssb-index =1 and 2, and a CG resource mapped to HARQ process ID=2 may be configured to be mapped to ssb-index =3 and 4. Alternatively, HARQ process IDs of 1 and 3 may be configured to be mapped to SSB index =1, and HARQ process IDs of 2 and 4 may be configured to be mapped to SSB index =2. The HARQ process ID to SSB index mapping may be configured in the RRC Release message or system information [0202] The BS may configure a mapping relationship between SDT CG configuration indices and SDT logical channels. In this case, the UE may be configured to transmit specific logical channel data only on a CG resource with a SDT CG configuration index mapped thereto… [0240] (7). When the UE receives CG activation or CG resume for a specific CG configuration index in DCI and when the UE receives MSG4 or MSGB, the UE may perform RACH contention resolution. In this case, the UE may execute CG activation or CG resume for the indicated CG configuration index. Thereafter, the UE may transmit SDT UL data depending on CG PUSCH resources which occur periodically. The UE may transmit at least one SDT TB based on a HARQ process with a HARQ process ID mapped to a CG resource. In this case, at least one SDT TB may include SDT logical channel data mapped to the CG resource and zero or at least one MAC CE.; See also Para. [0109, 0184, 0268]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]),
Examiner’s Note: The configured grant (CG) Type 1 allocates periodic PUSCH resources where certain resources are allocated for HARQ processes (which are considered UCI) and certain resources are allocated for SDT. Para. [0240] states at least one SDT TB may be transmitted with a HARQ resource within the CG. because the HARQ process associated with UCI is mapped to the same CG resource used for transmission of SDT uplink data, the resources supporting UCI transmission are included within the configured uplink data transmission resources.
wherein transmitting the data message and the uplink control information message is based at least in part on the indication (Para. [0109]; See also Para. [0184, 0240, 0268]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
Regarding Claim 22, Lee teaches Claim 18.
Lee further teaches
transmitting, via the control signaling, an indication for the UE to multiplex the uplink control information with the data message within the second set of resources (Para. [0109]; See also Para. [0240, 0268]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
which are included within the first set of resources (Table 8; Fig. 9; Para. [0190-0285]; See also Para. [0109, 0268]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]),
wherein receiving the data message and the uplink control information message is at least in part in response to transmitting the indication (Para. [0109]; See also Para. [0240, 0268]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
Regarding Claims 11 and 23, Lee teaches Claims 1 and 18.
Lee further teaches
wherein the second set of resources comprise a set of common uplink control resources, a set of dedicated uplink control resources, or any combination thereof (Para. [0180-0185] - [0183] For CG-based transmission on NR-U (i.e., shared spectrum channel access), configured grant uplink control information (CG-UCI) may be transmitted on a corresponding CG PUSCH (i.e., PUSCH scheduled by a CG)…. [0184] In conventional Rel. 16, the number of HARQ processes for the CG is indicated by an RRC configuration. The number of HARQ processes is shared between CG-based transmission and dynamic grant-based transmission; Table 8; Fig. 9; Para. [0190-0285] - [0240] (7). When the UE receives CG activation or CG resume for a specific CG configuration index in DCI and when the UE receives MSG4 or MSGB, the UE may perform RACH contention resolution. In this case, the UE may execute CG activation or CG resume for the indicated CG configuration index. Thereafter, the UE may transmit SDT UL data depending on CG PUSCH resources which occur periodically. The UE may transmit at least one SDT TB based on a HARQ process with a HARQ process ID mapped to a CG resource. In this case, at least one SDT TB may include SDT logical channel data mapped to the CG resource and zero or at least one MAC CE; See also Para. [0109, 0184, 0268]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]),
and wherein the first set of resources comprise a set of uplink shared resources (Table 8; Fig. 9; Para. [0190-0285] - [0198] B. SDT related CG Configuration [0199] The BS may configure an SDT related CG in an RRC release message. For example, the BS may allocate at least one CG configuration index and configure a CG Type 1 resource as shown in Table 8 for each CG configuration index. In CG Type 1, the CG may be activated as long as the UE receives the RRC Release message. Meanwhile, the BS may configure CG Type 2 in the RRC Release message. In this case, the CG may be activated after the UE receives activation DCI. Table 8 shows a CG Type 1 resource configuration for one CG configuration index (extracted from TS 38.331); See also Para. [0109, 0184, 0268]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]).
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner interprets the PUSCH resources in Table 8 (and therefor Para. [0198]) as a set of uplink shared resources (i.e., first resources). Certain PUSCH resources (i.e., second resources) are dedicated for CG-UCI (i.e., HARQ) and some PUSCH resources can be commonly used between HARQ (i.e., UCI) and SDT (i.e., data transmission).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee teaches Claim 1.
Lee further teaches
transmitting the uplink control information message based at least in part on identifying that a timing advance for the UE is valid (Para. [0076] - Msg3: Msg3 is a message transmitted on an uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) containing a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) or a common control channel (CCCH) service data unit (SDU), which is related to contention resolution of a UE as part of a random access procedure; Para. [0174] - The RAR information transmitted on the PDSCH may include timing advance (TA) information for UL synchronization, an initial UL grant, and a temporary cell-RNTI (C-RNTI). The TA information may be used to control a UL signal transmission timing. The UE may transmit a UL signal over a UL shared channel as message 3 (Msg3) of the random access procedure based on the RAR information (see 1705 of FIG. 7(a)). Msg3 may include an RRC connection request and a UE identifier. In response to Msg3, the network may transmit message 4 (Msg4), which may be treated as a contention resolution message on DL (see 1707 of FIG. 7(a)). Upon receiving Msg4, the UE may enter the RRC_CONNECTED state; See also Para. [0218, 0221, 0223, 0228]; Table 9; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
Regarding Claims 15 and 25, Lee teaches Claims 1 and 18.
Lee further teaches
wherein the uplink control information message comprises hybrid automatic repeat request feedback responsive to a contention resolution message, a downlink control plane message, a downlink user plane message, a radio resource control release message, or any combination thereof (Para. [0109] - After the foregoing procedure, the UE may receive a PDCCH/PDSCH (S107) and transmit a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)/physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (S108), as a general downlink/uplink signal transmission procedure. Control information transmitted from the UE to the BS is referred to as uplink control information (UCI). The UCI includes hybrid automatic repeat and request acknowledgement/negative-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK/NACK), scheduling request (SR), channel state information (CSI), etc. The CSI includes a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a rank indicator (RI), etc. While the UCI is transmitted on a PUCCH in general, the UCI may be transmitted on a PUSCH when control information and traffic data need to be simultaneously transmitted. In addition, the UCI may be aperiodically transmitted through a PUSCH according to request/command of a network; See also Para. [0089-0109]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]),
Regarding Claim 17, Lee teaches Claim 1.
Lee further teaches
receiving, from the base station, a control message indicating one or more parameters associated with the uplink control information message, the one or more parameters comprising a resource index, a transmit beam index, a quantity of repetitions, a frequency hopping scheme, an orthogonal cover code, or any combination thereof, wherein the control message comprises a downlink control information message, a medium access control-control element message, a radio resource control message, a system information message, or any combination thereof (Table 8; Fig. 9; Para. [0190-0285] - [0198] B. SDT related CG Configuration [0199] The BS may configure an SDT related CG in an RRC release message. For example, the BS may allocate at least one CG configuration index and configure a CG Type 1 resource as shown in Table 8 for each CG configuration index. In CG Type 1, the CG may be activated as long as the UE receives the RRC Release message. Meanwhile, the BS may configure CG Type 2 in the RRC Release message. In this case, the CG may be activated after the UE receives activation DCI. Table 8 shows a CG Type 1 resource configuration for one CG configuration index (extracted from TS 38.331); See also Para. [0076, 0149, 0183]; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
Figure 2: Table 8 from Lee et al. (US 2022/0353943) with Examiner's highlights indicating mapping(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Chen et al. (US 2023/0030443, previously presented), Chen hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 13, Lee teaches Claim 12.
Lee further teaches
identifying that a first timing advance for the uplink control information message is valid (Para. [0076]; Para. [0174]; See also Para. [0218, 0221, 0223, 0228]; Table 9; Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338]),
Yet, Lee does not expressly teach that a second timing advance for the data message is valid, that a third timing advance for both the uplink control information message and the data message is valid, or any combination thereof.
However, Chen teaches
that a second timing advance for the data message is valid, that a third timing advance for both the uplink control information message and the data message is valid, or any combination thereof (Para. [0062] - … In some implementations, the BS may provide pre-configured PUSCH resources (e.g., configured grant Type 1 configuration) in dedicated signaling (e.g., in an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration) and also a life timer (e.g., a TA timer) for the pre-configured PUSCH resources. For example, the configured grant configuration #1 (for providing PUSCH resources when the UE is in the RRC_INACTIVE state) may be associated with a life timer (e.g., a TA timer). In some implementations, the UE may start a life timer (e.g., a TA timer) for a configured grant after receiving the RRC Release message with the suspend configuration. In one example, a common life timer (e.g., a common TA timer) of one or more configured grants may be provided to the UE. In another example, different life timers (e.g., different TA timers) for different configured grants may be provided. In other examples, a life timer (e.g., a TA timer) may be configured for all pre-configured PUSCH resources. It should be noted that when a life timer (e.g., a TA timer) is running, the associated pre-configured PUSCH resources may be considered as valid. Once the life timer (e.g., the TA timer) expires (or is not running), the UE may consider all pre-configured PUSCH resources as invalid. That is, the UE may not be allowed to use the pre-configured PUSCH resources for small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state…; See also Para. [0047-0067]; Fig. 1, Para. [0073-0080]; Fig. 2, Para. [0081] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee’s invention of “a method of transmitting a signal by a user equipment (UE) in a radio resource control (RRC) Inactive state in a wireless communication system” (Lee Para. [005]) with Chen’s invention of “a method of a small data transmission and a related device” (Chen Para. [0002]) because Chen’s invention provides methods “to support small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state” by disclosing “a random access channel (RACH)-based scheme (e.g., 2-step RA procedure or 4-step RA procedure) for small data transmission or a pre-configured PUSCH resource for small data transmission” (Chen Para. [0035]) thereby mitigating “unnecessary power consumption and signaling overhead for both the UE side and the NW side” (Chen Para. [0034]) because the UE can remain in inactive mode as opposed to resuming “the connection (e.g. transition from the RRC_INACTIVE state to the RRC_CONNECTED state) for UL data transmission” (Chen Para. [0034]).
Claim(s) 14 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Tsai et al. (US 2021/0337625, previously presented), Tsai hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 14, Lee teaches Claim 1.
Lee further teaches
wherein transmitting the uplink control information message is at least in part in response to the suspension of timing advance validation (Fig. 9; Table 9; Para. [0174] - The RAR information transmitted on the PDSCH may include timing advance (TA) information for UL synchronization, an initial UL grant, and a temporary cell-RNTI (C-RNTI). The TA information may be used to control a UL signal transmission timing; Para. [0190-0285] - [0219] (3). When at least one of the conditions of Table 9 is satisfied, the inactive UE may perform SDT CG transmission after triggering the RACH for SDT; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
Yet, Lee does not expressly teach receiving, via the control signaling, an indication of a suspension of timing advance validation at the UE.
However, Tsai teaches
receiving, via the control signaling, an indication of a suspension of timing advance validation at the UE (Para. [0150] - In some implementations, the TA timer may be stopped when the UE receives an RRC message (e.g., RRC setup, RRC resume, RRC reconfiguration, RRC reconfiguration with sync, RRC release, RRC release with suspend configuration, RRC Reestablishment, RRC Reject, MobilityFromNRCommand, etc.); See also Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0056-0065]; Para. [0066-0199]; Fig. 3, Para. [0200-0205])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee’s invention of “a method of transmitting a signal by a user equipment (UE) in a radio resource control (RRC) Inactive state in a wireless communication system” (Lee Para. [005]) with Tsai’s invention of “small data transmission by a user equipment (UE) while the UE is in an RRC_INACTIVE state in the next generation wireless networks” (Tsai Para. [0002]) because Tsai’s invention provides methods mitigate “unnecessary power consumption and signaling overhead“ due to “scheduling of resources (and subsequent release of the resources)” “for each data transmission, regardless of how small and infrequent the data packets of each transmission were” (Tsai Para. [0004]).
Regarding Claim 24, Lee teaches Claim 18.
Lee further teaches
wherein receiving the uplink control information message is at least in part in response to the suspension of timing advance validation (Fig. 9; Table 9; Para. [0174]; Para. [0190-0285]; See also Fig. 4, Para. [0116-0149]; Fig. 5, Para. [0150-0162]; Fig. 6, Para. [0163-0167]; Fig. 7, Para. [0168-0177]; Fig. 8, Para. [0178-0189]; Fig. 9, Para. [0190-0285]; Fig. 10, Para. [0286-0290]; Fig. 11, Para. [0291-0304] ; Para. [0337-0338])
Yet, Lee does not expressly teach transmitting, via the control signaling, an indication of a suspension of timing advance validation at the UE.
However, Tsai teaches
transmitting, via the control signaling, an indication of a suspension of timing advance validation at the UE (Para. [0150]; See also Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0056-0065]; Para. [0066-0199]; Fig. 3, Para. [0200-0205])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee’s invention of “a method of transmitting a signal by a user equipment (UE) in a radio resource control (RRC) Inactive state in a wireless communication system” (Lee Para. [005]) with Tsai’s invention of “small data transmission by a user equipment (UE) while the UE is in an RRC_INACTIVE state in the next generation wireless networks” (Tsai Para. [0002]) because Tsai’s invention provides methods mitigate “unnecessary power consumption and signaling overhead“ due to “scheduling of resources (and subsequent release of the resources)” “for each data transmission, regardless of how small and infrequent the data packets of each transmission were” (Tsai Para. [0004]).
Claim(s) 16 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Chin et al. (US 2021/0028849, previously presented), Chin hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 16 and 26, Lee teaches Claim 1 and Claim 18.
Yet, Lee does not expressly teach wherein the uplink control information message comprises a first channel state information report that is smaller than a second channel state information report for an active state, a beam failure report, a bandwidth part index, a coverage enhancement request, a request for a termination of a set of data messages including the data message, or any combination thereof.
However, Chin teaches
wherein the uplink control information message comprises a first channel state information report that is smaller than a second channel state information report for an active state, a beam failure report, a bandwidth part index, a coverage enhancement request, a request for a termination of a set of data messages including the data message, or any combination thereof (Para. [00059] - The BFR report may be replaced by Uplink Control Information (UCI) transmission. For example, the BFR-related information (e.g., (failed) CC (or cell) information (e.g., cell index), (failed) set/group(s) of cells (e.g., the set/group may be pre-configured by the NW), (failed) TRP information, the corresponding measurement result (e.g., RSRP, SINR, etc.) of the (failed) CC, set/group of cells, TRP, Candidate beam information (or new beam information) (e.g., one or more qualified beam based on measuring NBI RS), no new beam information (e.g., if there is no new beam with RSRP higher than a threshold for the (failed) CC, set/group of cells, TRP)) may be included in the UCI; See also Para. [0041, 0050, 0068-0073, 0087, 0119-0120, 0146, 0206, 0231, 0251, 0259-0260, 0291-0293, 0301-0305, 0332)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee’s invention of “a method of transmitting a signal by a user equipment (UE) in a radio resource control (RRC) Inactive state in a wireless communication system” (Lee Para. [005]) with Chin’s invention of “a method of performing beam failure recovery and a related device” (Chin Para. [0002]) because Chin’s invention provides methods which mitigate beam misalignment which “may result in the loss of an ongoing link of the control channel (“beam failure”)” (Chin Para. [0006]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Xiong (US 20240163868) Fig. 5 and Para. [0065, 0081-0084] teaches inactive state CG-SDT using CG-PUSCH for data transmission and PUCCH for HARQ-ACK feedback.
Christoffersson et al. (US 20240137886) Fig. 2 and Para. [0007-0010, 0020, 0055] teach configuring PUSCH resources for SDT and using or validating those resources after the UE enters the inactive state.
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468