DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 02/29/2024. Claims 1-30 are pending for evaluation.
Note: The claims are presented with independent claims listed first in numerical order, followed by dependent claims also in numerical order; any dual or mirror claims are grouped with the lowest-numbered claim in their respective pairing.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/29/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 18, 20, 21, 26, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morita (US 2017/0048777).
Regarding Claim 1, Morita teaches a method for wireless communication, comprising (Fig. 8, Para. [0084-0105]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0061-0067]; Fig. 6, Para. [0068-0073]; Fig. 7, Para. [0074-0083]; Fig. 9, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0117-0130]; Para. [0131-0137]):
transmitting, by a user equipment (UE), a first packet to a node that is associated with a first radio access technology comprising a wireless local area network, wherein the first packet comprises a first control message requesting establishment of a connection with a network node (Fig. 8, step S153; Para. [0084-0105] - [0088] In step S153, in response to the WLAN connection request (first connection request) received by the cellular transceiver 111, the processor 160 of the UE 100 transmits a WLAN connection request (second connection request) to request connection with the AP 300 from the WLAN transceiver 112 to the AP 300. The WLAN connection request (second connection request) includes the WLAN MAC-ID. The WLAN transceiver 311 of the AP 300 receives the WLAN connection request (second connection request) from the UE 100; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0061-0067]; Fig. 6, Para. [0068-0073]; Fig. 7, Para. [0074-0083]; Fig. 9, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0117-0130]; Para. [0131-0137] )
receiving, from the node, a second packet in response to the first control message, wherein the second packet comprises a second control message for establishing the connection between the UE and the network node (Fig. 8, step S162; Para. [0084-0105] - [0097] In step S162, the processor 340 of the AP 300 transmits WLAN connection permission to permit connection with the AP 300 from the WLAN transceiver 311 to the UE 100. The WLAN connection permission includes the WLAN MAC-ID. The WLAN connection permission may also include information specifying traffic to be offloaded (such as bearer identification information). The WLAN transceiver 112 of the UE 100 receives the WLAN connection permission from the AP 300; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0061-0067]; Fig. 6, Para. [0068-0073]; Fig. 7, Para. [0074-0083]; Fig. 9, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0117-0130]; Para. [0131-0137]),
and establishing the connection with the network node over a communication link associated with the first radio access technology based at least in part on the second control message (Fig. 8, step S164; Para. [0084-0105] - [0099] In step S164, the processor 160 of the UE 100 establishes connection with the AP 300, in response to the WLAN connection permission received by the WLAN transceiver 112, and transmits and receives traffic associated with offloading to and from the AP 300; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0061-0067]; Fig. 6, Para. [0068-0073]; Fig. 7, Para. [0074-0083]; Fig. 9, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0117-0130]; Para. [0131-0137]).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1: Fig. 8 from Morita (US 2017/0048777) with Examiner highlights indicating mapping(s).)]
Regarding Claim 21, Morita teaches a method for wireless communication, comprising (Fig. 8, Para. [0084-0105]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0061-0067]; Fig. 6, Para. [0068-0073]; Fig. 7, Para. [0074-0083]; Fig. 9, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0117-0130]; Para. [0131-0137]):
receiving, by a network node associated with a first radio access technology, a first packet from a node associated with a second radio access technology, the second radio access technology comprising a wireless local area network, wherein the first packet comprises a first control message from a user equipment (UE) configured for communications via the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology (Fig. 8, step S153; Para. [0084-0105]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0061-0067]; Fig. 6, Para. [0068-0073]; Fig. 7, Para. [0074-0083]; Fig. 9, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0117-0130]; Para. [0131-0137])
and transmitting, to the node associated with the second radio access technology, a second packet comprising a second control message for establishing a connection between the network node and the UE over a communication link associated with the second radio access technology based at least in part on decoding the first control message (Fig. 8, step S162; Para. [0084-0105]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0061-0067]; Fig. 6, Para. [0068-0073]; Fig. 7, Para. [0074-0083]; Fig. 9, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0117-0130]; Para. [0131-0137]).
Regarding Claim 30, Morita teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising (Fig. 2, Para. [0047-0052]):
a processor (Fig. 2, element 160; Para. [0047-0052]);
and memory coupled with the processor, the memory having stored instructions which are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (Fig. 2, element 150; Para. [0047-0052]):
transmit, by a user equipment (UE), a first packet to a node that is associated with a first radio access technology comprising a wireless local area network, wherein the first packet comprises a first control message requesting establishment of a connection with a network node (Fig. 8, step S153; Para. [0084-0105]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0061-0067]; Fig. 6, Para. [0068-0073]; Fig. 7, Para. [0074-0083]; Fig. 9, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0117-0130]; Para. [0131-0137])
receive, from the node, a second packet in response to the first control message, wherein the second packet comprises a second control message for establishing the connection between the UE and the network node (Fig. 8, step S162; Para. [0084-0105]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0061-0067]; Fig. 6, Para. [0068-0073]; Fig. 7, Para. [0074-0083]; Fig. 9, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0117-0130]; Para. [0131-0137]),
and establish the connection with the network node over a communication link associated with the first radio access technology based at least in part on the second control message (Fig. 8, step S164; Para. [0084-0105]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0061-0067]; Fig. 6, Para. [0068-0073]; Fig. 7, Para. [0074-0083]; Fig. 9, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0117-0130]; Para. [0131-0137]).
Regarding Claim 5, Morita teaches Claim 1.
Morita further teaches
wherein transmitting the first packet to the node comprises: determining an address of the node; and transmitting the first packet having an address field that includes a destination address comprising the address of the node (Fig. 8, S153; Para. [0084-0105] - [0088] In step S153, in response to the WLAN connection request (first connection request) received by the cellular transceiver 111, the processor 160 of the UE 100 transmits a WLAN connection request (second connection request) to request connection with the AP 300 from the WLAN transceiver 112 to the AP 300. The WLAN connection request (second connection request) includes the WLAN MAC-ID. The WLAN transceiver 311 of the AP 300 receives the WLAN connection request (second connection request) from the UE 100; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0061-0067]; Fig. 6, Para. [0068-0073]; Fig. 7, Para. [0074-0083]; Fig. 9, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0117-0130]; Para. [0131-0137]).
Regarding Claim 6, Morita teaches Claim 5.
Morita further teaches
wherein the address of the node comprises a medium access control (MAC) address, or an Internet protocol (IP) address, or any combination thereof (Fig. 8, S153; Para. [0084-0105] - [0088] In step S153, in response to the WLAN connection request (first connection request) received by the cellular transceiver 111, the processor 160 of the UE 100 transmits a WLAN connection request (second connection request) to request connection with the AP 300 from the WLAN transceiver 112 to the AP 300. The WLAN connection request (second connection request) includes the WLAN MAC-ID. The WLAN transceiver 311 of the AP 300 receives the WLAN connection request (second connection request) from the UE 100; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0061-0067]; Fig. 6, Para. [0068-0073]; Fig. 7, Para. [0074-0083]; Fig. 9, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0117-0130]; Para. [0131-0137]).
Regarding Claim 18, Morita teaches Claim 1.
Morita further teaches
wherein the UE is configured to support communications via the first radio access technology and a second radio access technology (Para. [0009] - A user terminal comprises: a controller including at least one processor and at least one memory, the controller configured to establish a connection to a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) while maintaining a RRC (Radio Resource Control) connection between the user terminal and a cellular base station, wherein the controller is further configured to transmit a WLAN MAC (Media Access Control) address of the user terminal to the cellular base station, receive from the cellular base station, an identifier of a WLAN access point included in the WLAN, and establish a WLAN connection to the WLAN access point corresponding to the identifier; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0061-0067]; Fig. 6, Para. [0068-0073]; Fig. 7, Para. [0074-0083]; Fig. 8, Para. [0084-0105]; Fig. 9, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0117-0130]; Para. [0131-0137]).
Regarding Claim 20, Morita teaches Claim 1.
Morita further teaches
wherein the node comprises an access point (AP), or a wireless local area network termination (WT), or any combination thereof (Fig. 8, element AP 300; Para. [0084-0105] - [0088] In step S153, in response to the WLAN connection request (first connection request) received by the cellular transceiver 111, the processor 160 of the UE 100 transmits a WLAN connection request (second connection request) to request connection with the AP 300 from the WLAN transceiver 112 to the AP 300. The WLAN connection request (second connection request) includes the WLAN MAC-ID. The WLAN transceiver 311 of the AP 300 receives the WLAN connection request (second connection request) from the UE 100; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0061-0067]; Fig. 6, Para. [0068-0073]; Fig. 7, Para. [0074-0083]; Fig. 8, Para. [0084-0105]; Fig. 9, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0117-0130]; Para. [0131-0137]).
Regarding Claim 26, Morita teaches Claim 21.
Morita further teaches
wherein transmitting the second packet comprising the second control message comprises: determining an address of the UE, the address comprising a medium access control (MAC) address, or an Internet protocol (IP) address, or a UE association identifier, or any combination thereof; and transmitting the second packet including the address of the UE (Fig. 8, S153; Para. [0084-0105] - [0088] In step S153, in response to the WLAN connection request (first connection request) received by the cellular transceiver 111, the processor 160 of the UE 100 transmits a WLAN connection request (second connection request) to request connection with the AP 300 from the WLAN transceiver 112 to the AP 300. The WLAN connection request (second connection request) includes the WLAN MAC-ID. The WLAN transceiver 311 of the AP 300 receives the WLAN connection request (second connection request) from the UE 100; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0061-0067]; Fig. 6, Para. [0068-0073]; Fig. 7, Para. [0074-0083]; Fig. 9, Para. [0106-0116]; Fig. 10, Para. [0117-0130]; Para. [0131-0137]).
Claim(s) 27 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. (US 2015/0092688), Jeong hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 27, Jeong teaches a method for wireless communication, comprising (Fig. 8, Para. [0054-0061]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0002-0009]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0034-0037]; Fig. 4A-B, Para. [0039-0040]; Fig. 5, Para. [0041-0044]; Fig. 6, Para. [0045-0049]; Fig. 7, Para. [0050-0053]; Fig. 9, Para. [0062-0076]):
receiving, by a node associated with a first radio access technology, a first packet from a user equipment (UE) configured for communications via the first radio access technology and a second radio access technology, the first radio access technology comprising a wireless local area network, wherein the first packet comprises a first control message requesting establishment of a connection between the UE and a network node associated with the second radio access technology (Fig. 8, steps 830 and 835; Para. [0054-0061] - [0058] At step 835, the UE 235 transmits a bearer setup request message to the WLAN AP 250 selected using information contained in the received RRC message and NAS message (session management request). The bearer setup request message may contain an LTE UE ID, an EPS bearer ID, a DRB ID (LCID), a bearer QoS parameter, and the like; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0002-0009]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0034-0037]; Fig. 4A-B, Para. [0039-0040]; Fig. 5, Para. [0041-0044]; Fig. 6, Para. [0045-0049]; Fig. 7, Para. [0050-0053]; Fig. 9, Para. [0062-0076]);
and transmitting, to the network node associated with the second radio access technology, a second packet comprising the first control message for establishing the connection between the UE and the network node based at least in part on receiving the first packet (Fig. 8, step 840; Para. [0054-0061] - [0059] At step 840, using this information, the WLAN AP 250 requests a bearer setup to the eNB 210; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0002-0009]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0034-0037]; Fig. 4A-B, Para. [0039-0040]; Fig. 5, Para. [0041-0044]; Fig. 6, Para. [0045-0049]; Fig. 7, Para. [0050-0053]; Fig. 9, Para. [0062-0076]).
Regarding Claim 28, Jeong teaches Claim 27.
Morita further teaches
wherein transmitting the second packet comprising the first control message comprises: determining an address of the UE, the address comprising a medium access control (MAC) address, or an Internet protocol (IP) address, or a UE association identifier, or any combination thereof; and transmitting the second packet including the address of the UE (Fig. 8, steps 835 and 840; Para. [0054-0061] - [0058] At step 835, the UE 235 transmits a bearer setup request message to the WLAN AP 250 selected using information contained in the received RRC message and NAS message (session management request). The bearer setup request message may contain an LTE UE ID, an EPS bearer ID, a DRB ID (LCID), a bearer QoS parameter, and the like. [0059] At step 840, using this information, the WLAN AP 250 requests a bearer setup to the eNB 210; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0002-0009]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0034-0037]; Fig. 4A-B, Para. [0039-0040]; Fig. 5, Para. [0041-0044]; Fig. 6, Para. [0045-0049]; Fig. 7, Para. [0050-0053]; Fig. 9, Para. [0062-0076]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 19, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita in view of Zhu et al. (US 2020/0344843), Zhu hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 2, Morita teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Morita does not expressly teach transmitting, to the node, a third packet comprising a third control message, wherein the connection with the network node is established over the communication link based at least in part on the third control message.
However, Zhu teaches
transmitting, to the node, a third packet comprising a third control message, wherein the connection with the network node is established over the communication link based at least in part on the third control message (Fig. 21, step 2104; Para. [0251-0286] - [0262] 2104: After performing corresponding configuration according to an indication of the RRC connection establishment message, the UE sends an RRC connection establishment completion message to the RN 1; See also Fig. 1-2, Para. [0073-0075]; Fig. 3, 5-18, Para. [0096-0152]; Fig. 19, Para. [0153-0227]; Fig. 20, Para. [0229-0250]; Fig. 21, Para. [0251-0286]; Fig. 22, Para. [0287-0288]; Fig. 23, Para. [0289-0297]; Fig. 24, Para. [0298-0305]; Fig. 25A-B, Para. [0306-0316]; Fig. 26, Para. [0317-0326]; Fig. 27, Para. [0327-0358]; Fig. 28, Para. [0359-0366]; Fig. 29, Para. [0367-0379]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Morita’s invention of “a communication control method, a user terminal, a cellular base station, and an access point for allowing a cellular communication system to cooperate with a wireless LAN system” (Morita Para. [0002]) with Zhu’s invention of “a node and a communication method, to resolve a problem of relatively high implementation complexity and costs of an RN (relay node)” (Zhu Para. [0005]) because Zhu’s invention provides methods where an RN can “have a capability the same as that of the donor base station” (Zhu Para. [0004]) thereby providing means “to meet a 5G ultra-high capacity requirement, using high-frequency small cells for networking” (Zhu Para. [0003]).
Regarding Claim 3, Morita in view of Zhu teaches Claim 3.
Yet, Morita does not expressly teach wherein the third control message comprises a radio resource control setup complete message.
However, Zhu teaches
wherein the third control message comprises a radio resource control setup complete message (Fig. 21, step 2104; Para. [0251-0286]; See also Fig. 1-2, Para. [0073-0075]; Fig. 3, 5-18, Para. [0096-0152]; Fig. 19, Para. [0153-0227]; Fig. 20, Para. [0229-0250]; Fig. 21, Para. [0251-0286]; Fig. 22, Para. [0287-0288]; Fig. 23, Para. [0289-0297]; Fig. 24, Para. [0298-0305]; Fig. 25A-B, Para. [0306-0316]; Fig. 26, Para. [0317-0326]; Fig. 27, Para. [0327-0358]; Fig. 28, Para. [0359-0366]; Fig. 29, Para. [0367-0379]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Morita’s invention of “a communication control method, a user terminal, a cellular base station, and an access point for allowing a cellular communication system to cooperate with a wireless LAN system” (Morita Para. [0002]) with Zhu’s invention of “a node and a communication method, to resolve a problem of relatively high implementation complexity and costs of an RN (relay node)” (Zhu Para. [0005]) because Zhu’s invention provides methods where an RN can “have a capability the same as that of the donor base station” (Zhu Para. [0004]) thereby providing means “to meet a 5G ultra-high capacity requirement, using high-frequency small cells for networking” (Zhu Para. [0003]).
Regarding Claim 19, Morita teaches Claim 18.
Yet, Morita does not expressly teach wherein the second radio access technology comprises a new radio (NR) radio access technology, and wherein the network node comprises a centralized unit (CU).
However, Zhu teaches
wherein the second radio access technology comprises a new radio (NR) radio access technology (Para. [0377] - The terminal in the embodiments of this application may also be referred to as user equipment (UE), an access terminal, a subscriber unit, a subscriber station, a mobile station, a mobile console, a remote station, a remote terminal, a mobile device, a user terminal, a terminal, a wireless communications device, a user agent, or a user apparatus. Alternatively, the terminal may be a station (ST) in a wireless local area network (WLAN), and may be a cellular phone, a cordless phone, a session initiation protocol (SIP) phone, a wireless local loop (WLL) station, a personal digital assistant (PDA) device, a handheld device having a wireless communication function, a computing device, or another processing device connected to a wireless modem, a vehicle-mounted device, or a wearable device (which may also be referred to as a wearable intelligent device). Alternatively, the terminal may be a terminal in a next generation communications system, for example, a terminal in 5G or a terminal in a future evolved public land mobile network (PLMN), or a terminal in a new radio (NR) communications system; See also Para. [0086, 0238, 0297]; Fig. 1-2, Para. [0073-0075]; Fig. 3, 5-18, Para. [0096-0152]; Fig. 19, Para. [0153-0227]; Fig. 20, Para. [0229-0250]; Fig. 21, Para. [0251-0286]; Fig. 22, Para. [0287-0288]; Fig. 23, Para. [0289-0297]; Fig. 24, Para. [0298-0305]; Fig. 25A-B, Para. [0306-0316]; Fig. 26, Para. [0317-0326]; Fig. 27, Para. [0327-0358]; Fig. 28, Para. [0359-0366]; Fig. 29, Para. [0367-0379]),
and wherein the network node comprises a centralized unit (CU) (Fig. 21, Para. [0251-0285] - [0282] In this embodiment of this application, the RRC reconfiguration completion message of the UE and the context setup completion message of the UE may be included in an F1AP message, and the F1AP message is sent by the RN 1 to the DgNB (or a CU). The RRC reconfiguration message of the UE and the context of the UE may be included in an F1AP message, and the F1AP message is sent by the DgNB (or a CU) to the RN 1; See also Para. [0089, 0092, 0097, 0101, 0105, 0108, 0127, 0131, 0148, 0153, 0175, 0178, 0202, 0203, 0282, 0297-0357, 0367, 0374-0379]; Fig. 1-2, Para. [0073-0075]; Fig. 3, 5-18, Para. [0096-0152]; Fig. 19, Para. [0153-0227]; Fig. 20, Para. [0229-0250]; Fig. 21, Para. [0251-0286]; Fig. 22, Para. [0287-0288]; Fig. 23, Para. [0289-0297]; Fig. 24, Para. [0298-0305]; Fig. 25A-B, Para. [0306-0316]; Fig. 26, Para. [0317-0326]; Fig. 27, Para. [0327-0358]; Fig. 28, Para. [0359-0366]; Fig. 29, Para. [0367-0379]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Morita’s invention of “a communication control method, a user terminal, a cellular base station, and an access point for allowing a cellular communication system to cooperate with a wireless LAN system” (Morita Para. [0002]) with Zhu’s invention of “a node and a communication method, to resolve a problem of relatively high implementation complexity and costs of an RN (relay node)” (Zhu Para. [0005]) because Zhu’s invention provides methods where an RN can “have a capability the same as that of the donor base station” (Zhu Para. [0004]) thereby providing means “to meet a 5G ultra-high capacity requirement, using high-frequency small cells for networking” (Zhu Para. [0003]).
Regarding Claim 22, Morita teaches Claim 21.
Yet, Morita does not expressly teach wherein the first packet is received via a user plane, the method further comprising: receiving the first packet via a general packet radio service (GRPS) tunneling protocol-U (GTP-U) tunnel from the node, wherein the first packet comprises a tunnel endpoint identifier (TEID) allocated to the UE.
However, Zhu teaches
wherein the first packet is received via a user plane, the method further comprising: receiving the first packet via a general packet radio service (GRPS) tunneling protocol-U (GTP-U) tunnel from the node, wherein the first packet comprises a tunnel endpoint identifier (TEID) allocated to the UE (Fig. 19, step 1901; Para. [0153-0227] - [0154] 1901: The first node sends, at the first protocol layer, a first message to the peer first protocol layer on the interface between the first node and the second node…[0156] The first message includes context management information of a terminal served by the second node and/or an RRC message of the terminal. It may be understood that the context management information that is of the terminal served by the second node and that is included in the first message is downlink context management information of the terminal served by the second node, and the RRC message of the terminal is a downlink RRC message of the terminal. [0157] For example, the context management information that is of the terminal served by the second node and that is included in the first message may include at least one of the following information: an identifier of UE (for example, a first identifier allocated by the first node to the UE, or a second identifier allocated by the second node to the UE),… information about a general packet radio service tunneling protocol (GTP) tunnel that corresponds to the UE DRB and that needs to be established (the information includes, for example, an uplink endpoint identifier of the GTP tunnel on the first node and a transport layer address of the first node); See also Para. [0193-0194, 0222-0225, 0272, 0274, 0340-0344, 0353-0356, 0370-0373]; Fig. 1-2, Para. [0073-0075]; Fig. 3, 5-18, Para. [0096-0152]; Fig. 19, Para. [0153-0227]; Fig. 20, Para. [0229-0250]; Fig. 21, Para. [0251-0286]; Fig. 22, Para. [0287-0288]; Fig. 23, Para. [0289-0297]; Fig. 24, Para. [0298-0305]; Fig. 25A-B, Para. [0306-0316]; Fig. 26, Para. [0317-0326]; Fig. 27, Para. [0327-0358]; Fig. 28, Para. [0359-0366]; Fig. 29, Para. [0367-0379])
The Examiner interprets “the first protocol layer” as a user plane.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Morita’s invention of “a communication control method, a user terminal, a cellular base station, and an access point for allowing a cellular communication system to cooperate with a wireless LAN system” (Morita Para. [0002]) with Zhu’s invention of “a node and a communication method, to resolve a problem of relatively high implementation complexity and costs of an RN (relay node)” (Zhu Para. [0005]) because Zhu’s invention provides methods where an RN can “have a capability the same as that of the donor base station” (Zhu Para. [0004]) thereby providing means “to meet a 5G ultra-high capacity requirement, using high-frequency small cells for networking” (Zhu Para. [0003]).
Regarding Claim 23, Morita in view of Zhu teaches Claim 22.
Yet, Morita does not expressly teach wherein transmitting the second packet comprising the second control message comprises: transmitting the second packet via the GTP-U tunnel to the node, wherein a destination TEID of the second packet comprises the TEID allocated to the UE.
However, Zhu teaches
wherein transmitting the second packet comprising the second control message comprises: transmitting the second packet via the GTP-U tunnel to the node, wherein a destination TEID of the second packet comprises the TEID allocated to the UE (Para. [0153-0227] - [0189] 21) The second node sends, at the first protocol layer, a second message to the peer first protocol layer on the interface between the second node and the first node… [0191] The second message includes at least one of the following information: management information of a first connection, the context management information of the terminal served by the second node, the RRC message of the terminal, a first identifier, and a second identifier; the context management information that is of the terminal served by the second node and that is included in the second message includes a third identifier, the third identifier is a user-plane transmission channel identifier allocated by the second node to the terminal, the first identifier is a first connection identifier allocated by the first node to the terminal, the second identifier is a first connection identifier allocated by the second node to the terminal, and the first connection is a logical connection that is on the interface between the first node and the second node and that is based on the peer first protocol layer…[0193]… The context management information of the terminal served by the second node in the second message may include at least one of the following information:… information about a GTP tunnel that corresponds to the UE DRB and that needs to be established (including, for example, a downlink endpoint identifier of the GTP tunnel on the second node and a transport layer address of the second node)… information about a GTP tunnel that corresponds to the UE DRB and that needs to be established (including, for example, a downlink endpoint identifier of the GTP tunnel on the second node and a transport layer address of the second node)… [0194] For example, the user plane transmission channel identifier may be specifically a tunnel endpoint identifier (TEID); See also Para. [0193, 0222-0225, 0272, 0274, 0340-0344, 0353-0356, 0370-0373]; Fig. 1-2, Para. [0073-0075]; Fig. 3, 5-18, Para. [0096-0152]; Fig. 19, Para. [0153-0227]; Fig. 20, Para. [0229-0250]; Fig. 21, Para. [0251-0286]; Fig. 22, Para. [0287-0288]; Fig. 23, Para. [0289-0297]; Fig. 24, Para. [0298-0305]; Fig. 25A-B, Para. [0306-0316]; Fig. 26, Para. [0317-0326]; Fig. 27, Para. [0327-0358]; Fig. 28, Para. [0359-0366]; Fig. 29, Para. [0367-0379])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Morita’s invention of “a communication control method, a user terminal, a cellular base station, and an access point for allowing a cellular communication system to cooperate with a wireless LAN system” (Morita Para. [0002]) with Zhu’s invention of “a node and a communication method, to resolve a problem of relatively high implementation complexity and costs of an RN (relay node)” (Zhu Para. [0005]) because Zhu’s invention provides methods where an RN can “have a capability the same as that of the donor base station” (Zhu Para. [0004]) thereby providing means “to meet a 5G ultra-high capacity requirement, using high-frequency small cells for networking” (Zhu Para. [0003]).
Claim(s) 4, 9, 13, 16, 17, 24, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita in view of Lindheimer et al. (WO 2018/004434), Lindheimer hereinafter; Lindheimer was presented in the IDS submitted on 02/29/2024.
Regarding Claim 4, Morita teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Morita does not expressly teach encapsulating the first control message in a radio resource control container, wherein the first packet comprises the radio resource control container.
However, Lindheimer teaches
encapsulating the first control message in a radio resource control container, wherein the first packet comprises the radio resource control container (Para. [000138-000152] - [000140] As further shown in Figure 14, the UE 1410 may transmit an Open System Authentication (OSA) towards the WLAN access point 1420 (Step 2). The IEEE 802.1 X control port in this regard may be blocked and allow only particular types of frames to be sent by the UE to the AP (in this particular case those are either authentication frames or encapsulated RRC frames). The encapsulated RRC frames may be distinguishable also by an AP, e.g., as a combination of content and Ethertype used; See also Para. [000103, 000116, 000134-000135, 000156-000157]; Fig. 12, 14, 19-21, 30, 31A-C, 32A-D)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Morita’s invention of “a communication control method, a user terminal, a cellular base station, and an access point for allowing a cellular communication system to cooperate with a wireless LAN system” (Morita Para. [0002]) with Lindheimer’s invention of “control signalling of Wireless Wide Area Networks, WWANs, via Wireless Local Area Networks, WLANs” (Lindheimer Para. [0001]) because Lindheimer’s invention provides methods where “communication towards the WWAN, e.g. a 3GPP network, may continue by means of LWA, even in situations when WWAN, e.g. LTE, coverage is lost” and methods where the “wireless device may provide radio measurements even outside the coverage of the WWAN” (Lindheimer Para. [00023]).
Regarding Claim 9, Morita teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Morita does not expressly teach wherein transmitting the first packet to the node comprises :determining that one or more coverage conditions have been satisfied, wherein the one or more coverage conditions comprise the UE being outside a coverage of a second radio access technology associated with the network node, or the coverage of the second radio access technology satisfying a threshold, or a signal quality of the first radio access technology being greater than a signal quality of the second radio access technology, or any combination thereof; and transmitting the first packet comprising the first control message based at least in part on determining that the one or more coverage conditions have been satisfied.
However, Lindheimer teaches
wherein transmitting the first packet to the node comprises :determining that one or more coverage conditions have been satisfied, wherein the one or more coverage conditions comprise the UE being outside a coverage of a second radio access technology associated with the network node, or the coverage of the second radio access technology satisfying a threshold, or a signal quality of the first radio access technology being greater than a signal quality of the second radio access technology, or any combination thereof; and transmitting the first packet comprising the first control message based at least in part on determining that the one or more coverage conditions have been satisfied (Para. [000135] - Alternatively or additionally, embodiments herein facilitate continuing an ongoing LWA connection even in situations when LTE coverage is lost (e.g., upon entering a building with only WLAN radio coverage). RRC signalling may be moved from being transmitted over LTE to being transmitted over the WLAN part of LWA, by being encapsulated in an LWA bearer. Accordingly, communication towards a 3GPP network may continue, even in situations when LTE coverage is lost. The RRC anchoring and UE context may be kept in the eNB so that this is transparent to the evolved packet core (EPC) and to the rest of the radio access network. Significant impact may therefore be limited to RRC routing inside the eNB and UE, such that this functionality may be implemented without any change to the Rel-13 LWA architecture; See also Para. [000134, 000136, 000206, 000231]; Para. [000138-000152]; Fig. 12, 14, 19-21, 30, 31A-C, 32A-D)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Morita’s invention of “a communication control method, a user terminal, a cellular base station, and an access point for allowing a cellular communication system to cooperate with a wireless LAN system” (Morita Para. [0002]) with Lindheimer’s invention of “control signalling of Wireless Wide Area Networks, WWANs, via Wireless Local Area Networks, WLANs” (Lindheimer Para. [0001]) because Lindheimer’s invention provides methods where “communication towards the WWAN, e.g. a 3GPP network, may continue by means of LWA, even in situations when WWAN, e.g. LTE, coverage is lost” and methods where the “wireless device may provide radio measurements even outside the coverage of the WWAN” (Lindheimer Para. [00023]).
Regarding Claim 13, Morita teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Morita does not expressly teach wherein transmitting the first packet to the node comprises: determining that an access request transmitted to the network node has failed based at least in part on a random access failure, or access control barring, or a barred cell, or any combination thereof; and transmitting the first packet comprising the first control message based at least in part on the failed access request.
However, Lindheimer teaches
wherein transmitting the first packet to the node comprises: determining that an access request transmitted to the network node has failed based at least in part on a random access failure, or access control barring, or a barred cell, or any combination thereof; and transmitting the first packet comprising the first control message based at least in part on the failed access request (Para. [00079] - In some embodiments, the control signalling plane message 28 is advantageously transferred in this way when the WWAN radio access 18 is unavailable or when no control signalling plane is established over WWAN radio access 18. WWAN radio access 18 may be unavailable for instance when the UE 16 is geographically located outside a radio coverage area of the WWAN 12, when channel conditions for the WWAN radio access 18 are poor to the point of radio link failure, or when any other conditions exist preventing the UE's radio access to the WWAN 12. Of course, even if WWAN radio access 18 is available, a control signalling plane may not actually be established for the user equipment 16 over WWAN radio access 18. Despite the unavailability of WWAN radio access 18 or the lack of a control signalling plane for the user equipment 16 over WWAN radio access 18, though, the UE 16 and WWAN radio access node 20 are still able to transfer a control signalling plane message 28 between themselves, via the WLAN radio access 22. That is, even though the control signalling plane message 28 concerns control plane signalling for the WWAN 12, the control signalling plane message 28 is transferred via the WLAN radio access 22. This effectively decouples transfer of control plane signalling from WWAN radio access 18, so as to for instance make the establishment or continuing of an RRC connection with the WWAN 12 robust to WWAN radio access availability; See also Para. [00086, 000102, 000122]; Para. [000138-000152]; Fig. 12, 14, 19-21, 30, 31A-C, 32A-D)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Morita’s invention of “a communication control method, a user terminal, a cellular base station, and an access point for allowing a cellular communication system to cooperate with a wireless LAN system” (Morita Para. [0002]) with Lindheimer’s invention of “control signalling of Wireless Wide Area Networks, WWANs, via Wireless Local Area Networks, WLANs” (Lindheimer Para. [0001]) because Lindheimer’s invention provides methods where “communication towards the WWAN, e.g. a 3GPP network, may continue by means of LWA, even in situations when WWAN, e.g. LTE, coverage is lost” and methods where the “wireless device may provide radio measurements even outside the coverage of the WWAN” (Lindheimer Para. [00023]).
Regarding Claim 16, Morita teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Morita does not expressly teach wherein transmitting the first packet to the node comprises: receiving, from the node, a paging message comprising an indication to request the establishment of the connection with the network node over the communication link; and transmitting the first packet comprising the first control message based at least in part on the received paging message.
However, Lindheimer teaches
wherein transmitting the first packet to the node comprises: receiving, from the node, a paging message comprising an indication to request the establishment of the connection with the network node over the communication link; and transmitting the first packet comprising the first control message based at least in part on the received paging message (Fig. 14, step 1; Para. [000138-000152] - [000139] In order for the UE to know that a certain AP/this WLAN network supports encapsulating LTE RRC over WLAN signalling, the WLAN AP 1420 may advertise a beacon or probe to the UE 1410 (Step 1 ). This advertisement may include "RRC Connection encapsulation" capability and possibly a Global eNB-ID (which also includes the PLMN identity). The Global eNB-ID belongs to the same eNB to which the WT 1430 has already existing control plane signalling. This may be an eNB that normally serves traffic using LTE carriers, or alternatively, it may be a dedicated eNB entity, e.g., solely for purposes of connecting WLAN AP's to the 3GPP RAN. It could also be part of an eNB deployment with a centralized eNB entity serving one or several eNB coverage areas. The WLAN AP 1430 may use the "3GPP Cellular Network" ANQP-element (see 3GPP TS 24.302, Annex H) for the advertisement, or there may be a newly introduced information element (IE) that carries the information, then specified in the IEEE 802.1 1 specification. Either broadcast or unicast signalling may be used for the purpose. Some example means to implemented those are (but not limited to): Beacon frame, Fast Initial Link Setup Discover frame (FILS-DF), Generic Advertisement Service (GAS), Access Network Query Protocol (ANQP), Probe Request/Response frames, etc.) In case there are many eNBs attached to a WT the selected id may be based on which eNB is nearest eNB from a geographical coverage sense and/or based on traffic load in eNB and/or based on what kind of services are provided in the eNB (e.g. bit rate capabilities etc.). The WT1430 may make the choice if no specific eNB id was signalled to the UE or it may also select another eNB if so required based on load etc. It may also be that the chosen eNB cannot provide a service and rejects WT addition, meaning that the WT 1430 may choose a new eNB if available. The WT 1430 in this regard may make several requests of information to eNBs connected to it, for example to learn if the UE has been recently connected to that eNB.; See also Para. [00086, 000102, 000122]; Para. [000138-000152]; Fig. 12, 14, 19-21, 30, 31A-C, 32A-D)
The Examiner interprets a paging message as a beacon frame.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Morita’s invention of “a communication control method, a user terminal, a cellular base station, and an access point for allowing a cellular communication system to cooperate with a wireless LAN system” (Morita Para. [0002]) with Lindheimer’s invention of “control signalling of Wireless Wide Area Networks, WWANs, via Wireless Local Area Networks, WLANs” (Lindheimer Para. [0001]) because Lindheimer’s invention provides methods where “communication towards the WWAN, e.g. a 3GPP network, may continue by means of LWA, even in situations when WWAN, e.g. LTE, coverage is lost” and methods where the “wireless device may provide radio measurements even outside the coverage of the WWAN” (Lindheimer Para. [00023]).
Regarding Claim 17, Morita teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Morita does not expressly teach wherein the first control message comprises a radio resource control setup request message or a radio resource control resume request message, and wherein the second control message comprises a radio resource control setup message.
However, Lindheimer teaches
wherein the first control message comprises a radio resource control setup request message or a radio resource control resume request message, and wherein the second control message comprises a radio resource control setup message (Fig. 14, steps 3 and 6; Para. [000138-000152] - [000141 ] In Step 3 of Figure 14, the UE 1410 sends an RRC Connection Request to the WLAN AP 1420, i.e., via WLAN radio access. The RRC Connection request may be coded in a similar way as is described for transmission over LTE according to the 3GPP TS 36.331 specification, i.e., including an identity and/or a random value together with an establishment cause… [000148] The eNB 1440 responds to the UE 1410 with a RRC Connection Setup over the Xw-RRC using the same identity as was indicated by the RRC connection request message (Step 7). This RRC response is routed directly from RRC on the network side, through the LWAAP back to the WT 1410 over Xw. The LWAAP maintains the association between the specific WT 1410 from where the message originates and the specific request identity used during the RRC connection request procedure; See also Para. [00086, 000102, 000122]; Para. [000138-000152]; Fig. 12, 14, 19-21, 30, 31A-C, 32A-D)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Morita’s invention of “a communication control method, a user terminal, a cellular base station, and an access point for allowing a cellular communication system to cooperate with a wireless LAN system” (Morita Para. [0002]) with Lindheimer’s invention of “control signalling of Wireless Wide Area Networks, WWANs, via Wireless Local Area Networks, WLANs” (Lindheimer Para. [0001]) because Lindheimer’s invention provides methods where “communication towards the WWAN, e.g. a 3GPP network, may continue by means of LWA, even in situations when WWAN, e.g. LTE, coverage is lost” and methods where the “wireless device may provide radio measurements even outside the coverage of the WWAN” (Lindheimer Para. [00023]).
Regarding Claim 24, Morita teaches Claim 21.
Yet, Morita does not expressly teach encapsulating the second control message in a radio resource control container, wherein the second packet comprises the radio resource control container.
However, Lindheimer teaches
encapsulating the second control message in a radio resource control container, wherein the second packet comprises the radio resource control container (Fig. 14, step 4; Para. [000138-000152] - [000142] In Step 4, the WT 1430 triggers an Xw WT-lnitiated WT Addition Preparation in order to establish the signalling needed to encapsulate the RRC Connection Request from the UE 1410. The RRC traffic encapsulated over Xw is hereon referred to as Xw-RRC. The WT 1430 already has control plane signalling to a particular eNB 1440 so this is the eNB to which it sends the Xw WT Addition Request. The WT-lnitiated WT Addition Preparation procedure may be specified as shown in Figures 15-17; See also Para. [000103, 000116, 000134-000135, 000156, 000157]; Fig. 12, 14, 19-21, 30, 31A-C, 32A-D)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Morita’s invention of “a communication control method, a user terminal, a cellular base station, and an access point for allowing a cellular communication system to cooperate with a wireless LAN system” (Morita Para. [0002]) with Lindheimer’s invention of “control signalling of Wireless Wide Area Networks, WWANs, via Wireless Local Area Networks, WLANs” (Lindheimer Para. [0001]) because Lindheimer’s invention provides methods where “communication towards the WWAN, e.g. a 3GPP network, may continue by means of LWA, even in situations when WWAN, e.g. LTE, coverage is lost” and methods where the “wireless device may provide radio measurements even outside the coverage of the WWAN” (Lindheimer Para. [00023]).
Regarding Claim 25, Morita teaches Claim 21.
Yet, Morita does not expressly teach receiving, from the node, a third packet comprising a third control message, the third control message comprising a radio resource setup complete message, wherein the connection between the network node and the UE is established over the communication link based at least in part on the third control message.
However, Lindheimer teaches
receiving, from the node, a third packet comprising a third control message, the third control message comprising a radio resource setup complete message, wherein the connection between the network node and the UE is established over the communication link based at least in part on the third control message (Fig. 14, step 7; Para. [000138-000152] - [000149] In step 7, the UE responds with a RRC Connection Setup Complete in a similar way as if the message sequence was executed over LTE radio access, using the now already established connection to the eNB 1440. This is the first message that is sent over a dedicated channel, i.e., the SRB1; See also Fig. 12, 14, 19-21, 30, 31A-C, 32A-D)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Morita’s invention of “a communication control method, a user terminal, a cellular base station, and an access point for allowing a cellular communication system to cooperate with a wireless LAN system” (Morita Para. [0002]) with Lindheimer’s invention of “control signalling of Wireless Wide Area Networks, WWANs, via Wireless Local Area Networks, WLANs” (Lindheimer Para. [0001]) because Lindheimer’s invention provides methods where “communication towards the WWAN, e.g. a 3GPP network, may continue by means of LWA, even in situations when WWAN, e.g. LTE, coverage is lost” and methods where the “wireless device may provide radio measurements even outside the coverage of the WWAN” (Lindheimer Para. [00023]).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita in view of Bergström et al. (US 2016/0277978), Bergström hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 10, Morita teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Morita does not expressly teach wherein transmitting the first packet to the node comprises: identifying policy information configuring the UE to transmit the first packet to the node, the policy information being configured per service, or per cell type, or per application, or per network slice, or any combination thereof; and transmitting the first packet comprising the first control message based at least in part on the policy information.
However, Bergström teaches
wherein transmitting the first packet to the node comprises: identifying policy information configuring the UE to transmit the first packet to the node, the policy information being configured per service, or per cell type, or per application, or per network slice, or any combination thereof; and transmitting the first packet comprising the first control message based at least in part on the policy information (Fig. 7, Para. [0109-0110] - [0109] FIG. 7 illustrates a corresponding method of operating a mobile device. In step 600, the mobile device receives a WLAN list from a network node. As noted above, the WLAN list may be sent to the mobile device along with a version number, hash or other identifier for the WLAN list. [0110] The mobile device stores the WLAN list (and WLAN list identifier if present), and, optionally, uses the received WLAN list in an access network selection/traffic steering procedure (step 610); Para. [0118-0149] - [0126] RAN Triggered WLAN List Provisioning [0127] In this approach the eNB will trigger an update of a WLAN list stored in a UE. [0128] In one embodiment the RAN will trigger an update on detecting that the UE has initiated a NAS procedure (e.g. a NAS service request, a tracking area update or a NAS attach). The knowledge of when the UE performs these procedures could be indicated by the UE or by the MME, or it could be detected implicitly based on the amount of signalling or cause values used, etc.; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0015-0019]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0108]; Fig. 7, Para. [0109-0110]; Fig. 8A-C, Para. [0150-0158]; Fig. 9A-B, Para. [0159-0167])
The Examiner interprets the WLAN list in Bergström as policy information which can be configured per service (i.e., NAS service request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Morita’s invention of “a communication control method, a user terminal, a cellular base station, and an access point for allowing a cellular communication system to cooperate with a wireless LAN system” (Morita Para. [0002]) with Bergström’s invention of “techniques for controlling the operation of mobile terminals with respect to the use of multiple radio access technologies (RATs), such as a wide area wireless communication technology and a wireless local area network (WLAN) technology” (Bergström Para. [0001]) because Bergström’s invention provides “the advantage that it is possible for the RAN to send out a list of WLAN identifiers used for RAN-controlled access selection and traffic steering in a dynamic and efficient way, avoiding the need to rely on higher layer mechanisms” (Bergström Para. [0034]).
Regarding Claim 11, Morita in view of Bergström teaches Claim 10.
Yet, Morita does not expressly teach receiving non-access stratum signaling configuring the policy information, wherein the policy information is identified based at least in part on the non-access stratum signaling.
However, Bergström teaches
receiving non-access stratum signaling configuring the policy information, wherein the policy information is identified based at least in part on the non-access stratum signaling (Para. [0117] - [0117] In one embodiment the MME creates the list of WLANs for a UE and assigns to the list a version number or hash. The MME can signal the WLAN list to the UE, for example by NAS signalling and/or by delivering it to the RAN using e.g. S1 signalling, where the RAN will deliver it to the UE using e.g. radio resource control (RRC) signalling; See also Para. [0049, 0071, 0124, 0128, 0146]; Fig. 1, Para. [0015-0019]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0108]; Fig. 7, Para. [0109-0110]; Fig. 8A-C, Para. [0150-0158]; Fig. 9A-B, Para. [0159-0167])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Morita’s invention of “a communication control method, a user terminal, a cellular base station, and an access point for allowing a cellular communication system to cooperate with a wireless LAN system” (Morita Para. [0002]) with Bergström’s invention of “techniques for controlling the operation of mobile terminals with respect to the use of multiple radio access technologies (RATs), such as a wide area wireless communication technology and a wireless local area network (WLAN) technology” (Bergström Para. [0001]) because Bergström’s invention provides “the advantage that it is possible for the RAN to send out a list of WLAN identifiers used for RAN-controlled access selection and traffic steering in a dynamic and efficient way, avoiding the need to rely on higher layer mechanisms” (Bergström Para. [0034]).
Regarding Claim 12, Morita in view of Bergström teaches Claim 10.
Yet, Morita does not expressly teach wherein the policy information is preconfigured for the UE based at least in part on one or more subscriptions.
However, Bergström teaches
wherein the policy information is preconfigured for the UE based at least in part on one or more subscriptions (Para. [0104] - The ‘WLAN list’ or ‘list of WLAN identifiers’, as used herein, is a list of zero or more identifiers for WLAN access points that the mobile device is allowed to consider when performing access network selection or traffic steering. The APs included in a WLAN list can be any APs in a specific region (e.g. a city/town). This means that the APs included in a WLAN list can include APs not in the coverage area of the cell in which the mobile device is located. In this way, continuous updating of the WLAN list can be avoided. In some embodiments each UE in a region receives the same list, but in other embodiments it is possible to create and send UE-specific WLAN lists (or WLAN lists for specific categories of UEs, such as for UEs with a specific subscription level). In some embodiments, a specific WLAN list can be provided (for example a WLAN list with zero entries) if the network operator wishes to prevent the UE from accessing or switching traffic to the WLAN; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0015-0019]; Fig. 6, Para. [0103-0108]; Fig. 7, Para. [0109-0110]; Fig. 8A-C, Para. [0150-0158]; Fig. 9A-B, Para. [0159-0167])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Morita’s invention of “a communication control method, a user terminal, a cellular base station, and an access point for allowing a cellular communication system to cooperate with a wireless LAN system” (Morita Para. [0002]) with Bergström’s invention of “techniques for controlling the operation of mobile terminals with respect to the use of multiple radio access technologies (RATs), such as a wide area wireless communication technology and a wireless local area network (WLAN) technology” (Bergström Para. [0001]) because Bergström’s invention provides “the advantage that it is possible for the RAN to send out a list of WLAN identifiers used for RAN-controlled access selection and traffic steering in a dynamic and efficient way, avoiding the need to rely on higher layer mechanisms” (Bergström Para. [0034]).
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita in view of Pica et al. (US 2014/0133304), Pica hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 14, Morita teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Morita does not expressly teach wherein transmitting the first packet to the node comprises: determining that a radio resource control connection with the network node has been rejected; and transmitting the first packet comprising the first control message based at least in part on the rejected radio resource control connection.
However, Pica teaches
wherein transmitting the first packet to the node comprises: determining that a radio resource control connection with the network node has been rejected; and transmitting the first packet comprising the first control message based at least in part on the rejected radio resource control connection (Para. [0032] - A second case includes, for example, WWAN (e.g., cellular) to WLAN (e.g., WiFi) redirection at PS call setup based on WLAN characteristics reported to the WWAN access node by the UE. For example, offloading of call establishment to the WLAN access node at radio resource control (RRC) and/or PS-call setup can be achieved using a call redirection from WWAN to WLAN procedure. For instance, and according to this case, a UE may report WiFi measurements (or other information, see, e.g., Table 1, below) in an RRC Connection Request. A redirection command (e.g., an RRC Connection Reject) from the network to the UE may include target WiFi access points (AP) and/or other information (e.g., maximum WiFi search time, indication to return to WWAN in connected mode, or the like). Further, in some aspects, such a redirection command could be rejected by the UE based on local rules and/or policies (e.g., a preference for home WiFi or other user settings, or the like); See also Fig. 1, Para. [0035-0045]; Fig. 2, Para. [0046-0055]; Fig. 3, Para. [0056-0061]; Fig. 6, Para. [0083-0086])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Morita’s invention of “a communication control method, a user terminal, a cellular base station, and an access point for allowing a cellular communication system to cooperate with a wireless LAN system” (Morita Para. [0002]) with Pica’s invention of “apparatus and methods of controlling call establishment” (Pica Para. [0003) because Pica’s invention provides “helpful” techniques for “controlling call establishment related to a UE in connected mode with a WWAN access node by evaluating switching an existing call to a WLAN access node or maintaining the existing call on the WWAN access node but establishing a new call on a WLAN access node, based at least in part on load-related information at the cellular or WWAN access node” (Pica Para. [0028]).
Regarding Claim 15, Morita teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Morita does not expressly teach wherein transmitting the first packet to the node comprises: receiving an redirection indication from the network node, the redirection indication comprising an indication for the UE to request the establishment of the connection with the network node over the communication link; and transmitting the first packet comprising the first control message based at least in part on the redirection indication.
However, Pica teaches
wherein transmitting the first packet to the node comprises: receiving an redirection indication from the network node, the redirection indication comprising an indication for the UE to request the establishment of the connection with the network node over the communication link; and transmitting the first packet comprising the first control message based at least in part on the redirection indication (Para. [0032] - A second case includes, for example, WWAN (e.g., cellular) to WLAN (e.g., WiFi) redirection at PS call setup based on WLAN characteristics reported to the WWAN access node by the UE. For example, offloading of call establishment to the WLAN access node at radio resource control (RRC) and/or PS-call setup can be achieved using a call redirection from WWAN to WLAN procedure. For instance, and according to this case, a UE may report WiFi measurements (or other information, see, e.g., Table 1, below) in an RRC Connection Request. A redirection command (e.g., an RRC Connection Reject) from the network to the UE may include target WiFi access points (AP) and/or other information (e.g., maximum WiFi search time, indication to return to WWAN in connected mode, or the like). Further, in some aspects, such a redirection command could be rejected by the UE based on local rules and/or policies (e.g., a preference for home WiFi or other user settings, or the like); See also Fig. 1, Para. [0035-0045]; Fig. 2, Para. [0046-0055]; Fig. 3, Para. [0056-0061]; Fig. 6, Para. [0083-0086])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Morita’s invention of “a communication control method, a user terminal, a cellular base station, and an access point for allowing a cellular communication system to cooperate with a wireless LAN system” (Morita Para. [0002]) with Pica’s invention of “apparatus and methods of controlling call establishment” (Pica Para. [0003) because Pica’s invention provides “helpful” techniques for “controlling call establishment related to a UE in connected mode with a WWAN access node by evaluating switching an existing call to a WLAN access node or maintaining the existing call on the WWAN access node but establishing a new call on a WLAN access node, based at least in part on load-related information at the cellular or WWAN access node” (Pica Para. [0028]).
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of Zhu.
Regarding Claim 29, Jeong teaches Claim 27.
Yet, Jeong does not expressly teach wherein the second packet is transmitted via a user plane, the method further comprising: allocating a tunnel endpoint identifier (TEID) to the UE; and transmitting the second packet via a general packet radio service (GRPS) tunneling protocol-user (GTP-U) tunnel to the network node associated with the second radio access technology, wherein the second packet comprises the TEID allocated to the UE.
However, Zhu teaches
wherein the second packet is transmitted via a user plane, the method further comprising: allocating a tunnel endpoint identifier (TEID) to the UE; and transmitting the second packet via a general packet radio service (GRPS) tunneling protocol-user (GTP-U) tunnel to the network node associated with the second radio access technology, wherein the second packet comprises the TEID allocated to the UE (Para. [0153-0227] - [0189] 21) The second node sends, at the first protocol layer, a second message to the peer first protocol layer on the interface between the second node and the first node… [0191] The second message includes at least one of the following information: management information of a first connection, the context management information of the terminal served by the second node, the RRC message of the terminal, a first identifier, and a second identifier; the context management information that is of the terminal served by the second node and that is included in the second message includes a third identifier, the third identifier is a user-plane transmission channel identifier allocated by the second node to the terminal, the first identifier is a first connection identifier allocated by the first node to the terminal, the second identifier is a first connection identifier allocated by the second node to the terminal, and the first connection is a logical connection that is on the interface between the first node and the second node and that is based on the peer first protocol layer…[0193]… The context management information of the terminal served by the second node in the second message may include at least one of the following information:… information about a GTP tunnel that corresponds to the UE DRB and that needs to be established (including, for example, a downlink endpoint identifier of the GTP tunnel on the second node and a transport layer address of the second node)… information about a GTP tunnel that corresponds to the UE DRB and that needs to be established (including, for example, a downlink endpoint identifier of the GTP tunnel on the second node and a transport layer address of the second node)… [0194] For example, the user plane transmission channel identifier may be specifically a tunnel endpoint identifier (TEID); See also Para. [0193, 0222-0225, 0272, 0274, 0340-0344, 0353-0356, 0370-0373]; Fig. 1-2, Para. [0073-0075]; Fig. 3, 5-18, Para. [0096-0152]; Fig. 19, Para. [0153-0227]; Fig. 20, Para. [0229-0250]; Fig. 21, Para. [0251-0286]; Fig. 22, Para. [0287-0288]; Fig. 23, Para. [0289-0297]; Fig. 24, Para. [0298-0305]; Fig. 25A-B, Para. [0306-0316]; Fig. 26, Para. [0317-0326]; Fig. 27, Para. [0327-0358]; Fig. 28, Para. [0359-0366]; Fig. 29, Para. [0367-0379])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jeong’s invention of “a communication method and apparatus using a wireless LAN AP in a wireless communication system” (Jeong Para. [0001]) with Zhu’s invention of “a node and a communication method, to resolve a problem of relatively high implementation complexity and costs of an RN (relay node)” (Zhu Para. [0005]) because Zhu’s invention provides methods where an RN can “have a capability the same as that of the donor base station” (Zhu Para. [0004]) thereby providing means “to meet a 5G ultra-high capacity requirement, using high-frequency small cells for networking” (Zhu Para. [0003]).
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita in view of Hong et al. (US 2019/0140708), Hong hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 7, Morita teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Morita does not expressly teach wherein transmitting the first packet to the node comprises: determining an address of the network node; and transmitting the first packet having an address field that includes a destination address comprising the address of the network node.
However, Hong teaches
wherein transmitting the first packet to the node comprises: determining an address of the network node; and transmitting the first packet having an address field that includes a destination address comprising the address of the network node (Fig. 4A, Step 402; Para. [0062-0076] - [0066] In step 402, the UE sends a WLAN data packet to a WLAN AP, the WLAN data packet including a MAC address of a target WT connected to the target eNB; See also Fig. 4B, Para. [0077-0082]; Fig. 5A-B, Para. [0083-0107]; Fig. 6A-B, Para. [0108-0125]; Fig. 7, Para. [0126-0130]; Fig. 8, Para. [0131-0136]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Morita’s invention of “a communication control method, a user terminal, a cellular base station, and an access point for allowing a cellular communication system to cooperate with a wireless LAN system” (Morita Para. [0002]) with Hong’s invention of “a data transmission system, a data transmission method, a data aggregation method and device” (Hong Para. [0005]) because Hong’s invention provides “advantageous benefits” (Hong Para. [0013]) whereby “adding the MAC address of the target WT connected to the target eNB in the WLAN data packet” allows for “ensuring that the WLAN data packet is transmitted to the target eNB and improving the accuracy of uplink transmission of the WLAN data packet” when the “the WLAN AP is connected to the plurality of WTs” (Hong Para. [0014]).
Regarding Claim 8, Morita in view of Hong teaches Claim 5.
Yet, Morita does not expressly teach wherein the address of the network node comprises a medium access control (MAC) address, or an Internet protocol (IP) address, or any combination thereof.
However, Hong teaches
wherein the address of the network node comprises a medium access control (MAC) address, or an Internet protocol (IP) address, or any combination thereof (Fig. 4A, Step 402; Para. [0062-0076] - [0066] In step 402, the UE sends a WLAN data packet to a WLAN AP, the WLAN data packet including a MAC address of a target WT connected to the target eNB; See also Fig. 4B, Para. [0077-0082]; Fig. 5A-B, Para. [0083-0107]; Fig. 6A-B, Para. [0108-0125]; Fig. 7, Para. [0126-0130]; Fig. 8, Para. [0131-0136]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Morita’s invention of “a communication control method, a user terminal, a cellular base station, and an access point for allowing a cellular communication system to cooperate with a wireless LAN system” (Morita Para. [0002]) with Hong’s invention of “a data transmission system, a data transmission method, a data aggregation method and device” (Hong Para. [0005]) because Hong’s invention provides “advantageous benefits” (Hong Para. [0013]) whereby “adding the MAC address of the target WT connected to the target eNB in the WLAN data packet” allows for “ensuring that the WLAN data packet is transmitted to the target eNB and improving the accuracy of uplink transmission of the WLAN data packet” when the “the WLAN AP is connected to the plurality of WTs” (Hong Para. [0014]).
Conclusion
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468