DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim 1, Applicant’s amendments overcome the previous 102 rejections to claim 1. Therefore, the previous 102 rejections of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Regarding claim 20, Applicant’s arguments see pages 21-28, filed 6/30/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The corresponding 103 rejections of claims 20-23 have been withdrawn.
Regarding claim 7, Applicant appears to argue that it would not be obvious to modify a disposable chip by having an autosampler, as the chip must be replaced after each use; therefore, using it to measure multiple samples would undermine the simplicity of the chip taught by Takenaka. Additionally, Applicant appears to argue that neither Takenaka nor Wilson provides any teaching, suggestion, or rationale for such a modification.
As the examiner fully considered Applicant’s arguments, the examiner did a review of the prior art to evaluate Applicant’s arguments in light of the level of ordinary skill in the art as it relates to disposable chips and autosamplers. The examiner did not find any teaching away of combining autosamplers and disposable chips, or in modifying them to be used together. In contrast, the examiner found that they are indeed used together in the prior art. For example, Hart (US 20210121878 A1) reads, "[0057] In an alternative embodiment, the devices and methods of the invention may comprise particle or cellular analysis occurring on-chip in a separate region of the autosampler dedicated for Raman analysis. Various configurations of the device may be appropriate depending on the purpose and functionality of the task… In certain embodiments, a disposable chip with regions for 96 samples to collect and be measured may be used."
112f -- Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: pressurized gas delivery system in claims 1-9 and 12-18; light focusing element and light detection system in claims 12-13 and 22-23; and heating unit in claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takenaka (US 20080153153 A1; cited by Applicant) in view of Wilson (US 20170138835 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Takenaka teaches a flow cytometry evaluation system, comprising:
a flow cytometry investigation system (paragraphs 78-79 and 152-153) comprising an investigation zone (18) configured to receive during a flow cytometry evaluation a flow of a fluid sample (paragraphs 59-61);
a sample effluent system (paragraphs 78-79), comprising:
an effluent collection vessel (163) with an effluent fluid inlet to receive an effluent of the fluid sample exiting the investigation zone (18) during a flow cytometry evaluation (paragraphs 78-79), and
an effluent fluid conduction path from the investigation zone (18) to the effluent fluid inlet (figures 5 and 9-10; path from 18 to 163); and
a pressurized gas delivery system (14) in fluid communication with the sample effluent system, wherein the pressurized gas delivery system is configured to apply pressurized gas to pressurize at least a portion of the sample effluent system to impede fluid flow through the effluent fluid conduction path toward the effluent fluid inlet during a flow cytometry investigation (paragraphs 72-76 explain the pressure is pressurized air which is pressurized gas; and paragraphs 64-65 explain 158 is an air flow path; regarding impede fluid flow, note that it impedes flow in both directions at different times as explained in paragraphs 78-79 and figures 9-10; this is while the flow is in and through the investigation zone and therefore during the investigation, as explained in the examiner’s comments).
a fluid sample conduction path to the investigation zone to provide the fluid sample to the investigation zone for the flow cytometry investigation, wherein the fluid sample conduction path, the investigation zone, the effluent fluid conduction path and the effluent collection vessel are configured to comprise a pressurized fluidics system during the flow cytometry investigation (figures 5, 9, and 10 and paragraphs 64 and 75-79).
Takenaka doesn’t explicitly teach an autosampler configured to receive a plurality of the fluid samples contained in a plurality of sample containers and to deliver the plurality of the fluid samples to the fluid sample conduction path for flow cytometry evaluation.
Like Takenaka (and like Applicant), Wilson is directed to a flow cytometry system and teaches an autosampler configured to receive a plurality of the fluid samples contained in a plurality of sample containers and to deliver the plurality of the fluid samples to the fluid sample conduction path for flow cytometry evaluation (paragraphs 4 and 17). Additionally, Wilson teaches this provides the benefit of increasing the number of samples that can be processed (paragraph 4) while properly utilizing space (paragraphs 5-6).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination such that it comprises an autosampler configured to receive a plurality of the fluid samples contained in a plurality of sample containers and to deliver the plurality of the fluid samples to the fluid sample conduction path for flow cytometry evaluation in order to increase the number of samples that can be processed while properly utilizing space.
For the level of ordinary skill in the art, see the additional prior art below, such as Hart (US 20210121878 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the above combination comprises a housing in which the flow cytometry investigation system and the autosampler are disposed in a stacked relationship, wherein the first stack location is in a first compartment within the housing with the autosampler disposed therein and the second stack location is in a second compartment within the housing with the flow cytometry investigation system disposed therein, and wherein the second compartment is disposed below the first compartment (Wilson, figure 1, where the flow cytometer investigation system is 102 and the autosampler is 104 as explained in paragraphs 16-17; housings and stacked relationship is visible in the figures).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takenaka and Wilson, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Sklar (US 20020170365 A1)
Regarding claim 9, in the above combination the autosampler comprises a sample receiving location configured to receive a plurality of sample containers containing a plurality of the fluid samples for flow cytometry evaluation, the autosampler comprises a sample delivery probe configured to withdraw the fluid samples from the sample containers for delivery to the investigation zone for flow cytometry evaluation (Wilson, figure 1 and paragraphs 18-19).
The above combination doesn’t explicitly teach and the sample receiving location is disposed higher in elevation than a highest elevation in the investigation zone.
Like Takenaka (and like Applicant), Sklar is directed to flow cytometry and teaches the autosampler comprises a sample receiving location configured to receive a plurality of sample containers containing a plurality of the fluid samples for flow cytometry evaluation, the autosampler comprises a sample delivery probe configured to withdraw the fluid samples from the sample containers for delivery to the investigation zone for flow cytometry evaluation and the sample receiving location is disposed higher in elevation than a highest elevation in the investigation zone (figure 1A; paragraphs 43 and 47).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination such that the autosampler comprises a sample delivery probe configured to withdraw the fluid samples from the sample containers for delivery to the investigation zone for flow cytometry evaluation and the sample receiving location is disposed higher in elevation than a highest elevation in the investigation zone – in order to have high throughput in a system that is adapted to the environmental restrictions of the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6, 12-18, and 20-23 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 1-6 and 12-18, the prior art of record (taken alone or in combination) fails to anticipate or render obvious, “a pressurized gas delivery system in fluid communication with the sample effluent system, wherein the pressurized gas delivery system is configured to apply pressurized gas to pressurize at least a portion of the sample effluent system to impede fluid flow through the effluent fluid conduction path in a direction from the investigation zone toward the effluent fluid inlet while the fluid sample is flowing through the investigation zone during a flow cytometry investigation,” in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Regarding claims 20-23, the prior art of record (taken alone or in combination) fails to anticipate or render obvious, “applying pressurized gas to pressurize at least a portion of the sample effluent system to impede fluid flow through the effluent fluid conduction path toward the effluent fluid inlet of the effluent collection vessel.,” in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Additional Prior Art
Hart (US 20210121878 A1) reads, "[0057] In an alternative embodiment, the devices and methods of the invention may comprise particle or cellular analysis occurring on-chip in a separate region of the autosampler dedicated for Raman analysis. Various configurations of the device may be appropriate depending on the purpose and functionality of the task… In certain embodiments, a disposable chip with regions for 96 samples to collect and be measured may be used."
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUFUS L PHILLIPS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877