DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the correspondence submitted on 02/29/2024.
Claims 1-30 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/29/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al (US20190199417A1) in view of Pande et al (US20080212461A1).
Regarding claim 1 (and method claim 14), Noh teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
memory ([0139]-[0140], terminal/UE including a processor; UE includes memory-processor executes the programs stored in the memory; coupled to the memory); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to ([0139]-[0140], terminal/UE including a processor; UE includes memory-processor executes the programs stored in the memory; coupled to the memory), based at least in part on information stored in the memory:
receive downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) spanning multiple sub-bands ([0010], [0042]-[0043], [0072], [0113], [0126], teaches receiving UL DCI that schedules PUSCH transmission and conveys UL precoding information; defines resource grids as REs and RBs in the frequency domain; further teaches that UL resources allocated for PUSCH are divided into multiple subbands, each comprising one or more RBs; importantly, the reference expressly discloses that the UL DCI includes multiple transmit precoding matrix indicators (TPMIS) conveying precoding information for multiple subbands, and that the UE applies different subband precoding vectors per subbands when transmitting PUSCH; DCI indicates a first precoder for a first resource grid of the PUSCH and a second precoder for a second resource grid of the PUSCH), the DCI indicating a first precoder for a first resource grid of the PUSCH and a second precoder for a second resource grid of the PUSCH ([0010], [0042]-[0043], [0072], [0113], [0126], teaches receiving UL DCI that schedules PUSCH transmission and conveys UL precoding information; defines resource grids as REs and RBs in the frequency domain; further teaches that UL resources allocated for PUSCH are divided into multiple subbands, each comprising one or more RBs; importantly, the reference expressly discloses that the UL DCI includes multiple transmit precoding matrix indicators (TPMIS) conveying precoding information for multiple subbands, and that the UE applies different subband precoding vectors per subbands when transmitting PUSCH; DCI indicates a first precoder for a first resource grid of the PUSCH and a second precoder for a second resource grid of the PUSCH); and
But Noh fails to teach transmit the PUSCH with the first precoder at the first resource grid and with a third precoder at the second resource grid, the third precoder being based on a phase rotation of the second precoder.
However, Pande teaches transmit the PUSCH with the first precoder at the first resource grid and with a third precoder at the second resource grid, the third precoder being based on a phase rotation of the second precoder ([0015], [0024], [0027]-[0029], discloses that steering/precoding matrices are rotated via unitary transforms, making explicit that a phase-rotated precoder is derived from another precoder).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UL subband precoding techniques of Noh with the transform-based precoder rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande. Noh expressly teaches scheduling a PUSCH spanning multiple subbands and singling, via UL DCI, multiple precoder indices (TPMIs) corresponding to different frequency subbands of the PUSCH in order to support subband-specific UL precoding. Pande teaches generating frequency-dependent precoders by applying unitary (orthonormal) transformations, including phase rotations, and further teaches interpolating between known precoders to derive precoders for intermediate frequency resources while preserving orthogonality and normalization. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the phase-rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande to the multi-subband UL precoding framework of Noh in order to efficiently derive precoders for resource grids between subbands, reduce signaling overhead, and ensure smooth frequency-domain precoder construction techniques to a known UL DCI-based subband precoding scheme.
Claims 2-13 & 15-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al (US20190199417A1) in view of Pande et al (US20080212461A1) in further view of Park et al (US20210143874A1).
Regarding claim 2 (and apparatus claim 17), Noh fails to teach but Park teaches the apparatus wherein each resource grid corresponds to one of a resource element (RE), a set of REs, a resource block (RB), or a set of RBs ([0069]-[0072], [0078]-[0080], Fig 2, explicitly defines resource grids, resource elements (REs) and resource blocks (RBs) and shows their grouping in UL subframes).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UL subband precoding techniques of Noh with the transform-based precoder rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande. Noh expressly teaches scheduling a PUSCH spanning multiple subbands and singling, via UL DCI, multiple precoder indices (TPMIs) corresponding to different frequency subbands of the PUSCH in order to support subband-specific UL precoding. Pande teaches generating frequency-dependent precoders by applying unitary (orthonormal) transformations, including phase rotations, and further teaches interpolating between known precoders to derive precoders for intermediate frequency resources while preserving orthogonality and normalization. Furthermore, Park already teaches signaling precoding information, including phase coefficients, on a per-subband basis for UL PUSCH transmission to improve performance while minimizing control overhead. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the phase-rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande to the multi-subband UL precoding framework of Noh in order to efficiently derive precoders for resource grids between subbands, reduce signaling overhead, and ensure smooth frequency-domain precoder construction techniques to a known UL DCI-based subband precoding scheme.
Regarding claim 3 (and apparatus claim 18), Park and Noh fails to teach the apparatus wherein the phase rotation includes multiplication of the second precoder by an orthonormal matrix.
However, Pande teaches the apparatus wherein the phase rotation includes multiplication of the second precoder by an orthonormal matrix ([0015], [0020], [0024], [0027], explicitly disclose steering/precoding matrices that are unitary (orthonormal) and explains generating new steering matrices via matrix transforms, including unitary multiplication).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UL subband precoding techniques of Noh with the transform-based precoder rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande. Noh expressly teaches scheduling a PUSCH spanning multiple subbands and singling, via UL DCI, multiple precoder indices (TPMIs) corresponding to different frequency subbands of the PUSCH in order to support subband-specific UL precoding. Pande teaches generating frequency-dependent precoders by applying unitary (orthonormal) transformations, including phase rotations, and further teaches interpolating between known precoders to derive precoders for intermediate frequency resources while preserving orthogonality and normalization. Furthermore, Park already teaches signaling precoding information, including phase coefficients, on a per-subband basis for UL PUSCH transmission to improve performance while minimizing control overhead. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the phase-rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande to the multi-subband UL precoding framework of Noh in order to efficiently derive precoders for resource grids between subbands, reduce signaling overhead, and ensure smooth frequency-domain precoder construction techniques to a known UL DCI-based subband precoding scheme.
Regarding claim 4 (and apparatus claim 19), Park and Noh fails to teach the apparatus wherein the orthonormal matrix is an identity matrix.
However, Pande teaches the apparatus wherein the orthonormal matrix is an identity matrix ([0027], definition of unitary matrices satisfying QH Q = I; explains that steering matrices reside on the unitary group and explicitly defines the identity matrix as a special case within the unitary/orthonormal framework).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UL subband precoding techniques of Noh with the transform-based precoder rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande. Noh expressly teaches scheduling a PUSCH spanning multiple subbands and singling, via UL DCI, multiple precoder indices (TPMIs) corresponding to different frequency subbands of the PUSCH in order to support subband-specific UL precoding. Pande teaches generating frequency-dependent precoders by applying unitary (orthonormal) transformations, including phase rotations, and further teaches interpolating between known precoders to derive precoders for intermediate frequency resources while preserving orthogonality and normalization. Furthermore, Park already teaches signaling precoding information, including phase coefficients, on a per-subband basis for UL PUSCH transmission to improve performance while minimizing control overhead. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the phase-rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande to the multi-subband UL precoding framework of Noh in order to efficiently derive precoders for resource grids between subbands, reduce signaling overhead, and ensure smooth frequency-domain precoder construction techniques to a known UL DCI-based subband precoding scheme.
Regarding claim 5 (and method claim 15), Park and Noh fails to teach the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, based at least in part on the information stored in the memory: transmit the PUSCH at resource grids between the first resource grid and the second resource grid with an interpolated precoder based on the first precoder and the third precoder.
However, Pande teaches the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, based at least in part on the information stored in the memory:
transmit the PUSCH at resource grids between the first resource grid and the second resource grid with an interpolated precoder based on the first precoder and the third precoder ([0011], [0023], Fig 2-3; explicitly teaches obtaining missing steering matrices via interpolation between known frequency points and reconstructing intermediate precoders).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UL subband precoding techniques of Noh with the transform-based precoder rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande. Noh expressly teaches scheduling a PUSCH spanning multiple subbands and singling, via UL DCI, multiple precoder indices (TPMIs) corresponding to different frequency subbands of the PUSCH in order to support subband-specific UL precoding. Pande teaches generating frequency-dependent precoders by applying unitary (orthonormal) transformations, including phase rotations, and further teaches interpolating between known precoders to derive precoders for intermediate frequency resources while preserving orthogonality and normalization. Furthermore, Park already teaches signaling precoding information, including phase coefficients, on a per-subband basis for UL PUSCH transmission to improve performance while minimizing control overhead. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the phase-rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande to the multi-subband UL precoding framework of Noh in order to efficiently derive precoders for resource grids between subbands, reduce signaling overhead, and ensure smooth frequency-domain precoder construction techniques to a known UL DCI-based subband precoding scheme.
Regarding claim 6 (and apparatus claim 21), Park and Noh fails to teach the apparatus wherein the interpolated precoder is based on linear interpolation.
However, Pande teaches the apparatus wherein the interpolated precoder is based on linear interpolation ([0011], expressly states that interpolation techniques include linear interpolation, and that linear interpolation may be sufficient between adjacent sub-carriers).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UL subband precoding techniques of Noh with the transform-based precoder rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande. Noh expressly teaches scheduling a PUSCH spanning multiple subbands and singling, via UL DCI, multiple precoder indices (TPMIs) corresponding to different frequency subbands of the PUSCH in order to support subband-specific UL precoding. Pande teaches generating frequency-dependent precoders by applying unitary (orthonormal) transformations, including phase rotations, and further teaches interpolating between known precoders to derive precoders for intermediate frequency resources while preserving orthogonality and normalization. Furthermore, Park already teaches signaling precoding information, including phase coefficients, on a per-subband basis for UL PUSCH transmission to improve performance while minimizing control overhead. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the phase-rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande to the multi-subband UL precoding framework of Noh in order to efficiently derive precoders for resource grids between subbands, reduce signaling overhead, and ensure smooth frequency-domain precoder construction techniques to a known UL DCI-based subband precoding scheme.
Regarding claim 7 (and apparatus claim 22), Park and Noh fails to teach the apparatus wherein each resource grid of the PUSCH is precoded with an precoder that is orthogonalized and normalized based on the interpolated precoder.
However, Pande teaches the apparatus wherein each resource grid of the PUSCH is precoded with an precoder that is orthogonalized and normalized based on the interpolated precoder ([0015], [0024], [0027]-[0029], teaches that steering matrices are unitary/orthonormal, and that interpolation is performed in a transform domain that preserves orthogonality and normalization of the reconstructed precoders).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UL subband precoding techniques of Noh with the transform-based precoder rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande. Noh expressly teaches scheduling a PUSCH spanning multiple subbands and singling, via UL DCI, multiple precoder indices (TPMIs) corresponding to different frequency subbands of the PUSCH in order to support subband-specific UL precoding. Pande teaches generating frequency-dependent precoders by applying unitary (orthonormal) transformations, including phase rotations, and further teaches interpolating between known precoders to derive precoders for intermediate frequency resources while preserving orthogonality and normalization. Furthermore, Park already teaches signaling precoding information, including phase coefficients, on a per-subband basis for UL PUSCH transmission to improve performance while minimizing control overhead. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the phase-rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande to the multi-subband UL precoding framework of Noh in order to efficiently derive precoders for resource grids between subbands, reduce signaling overhead, and ensure smooth frequency-domain precoder construction techniques to a known UL DCI-based subband precoding scheme.
Regarding claim 8 (and apparatus claim 23), Noh fails to teach but Park teaches the apparatus wherein the DCI indicates a set of precoders for a set of resource grids of the PUSCH, each resource grid of the set of resource grids being associated with a frequency sector ([0007], [0016], [0079]-[0080], teaches that DCI includes precoding information and further includes amplitude and/or phase coefficient vectors, and explicitly states that such coefficients may be individually determined for each subband; a subband corresponds to a frequency sector comprising a subset of the scheduled UL bandwidth, and each such sector is associated with its own effective precoder).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UL subband precoding techniques of Noh with the transform-based precoder rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande. Noh expressly teaches scheduling a PUSCH spanning multiple subbands and singling, via UL DCI, multiple precoder indices (TPMIs) corresponding to different frequency subbands of the PUSCH in order to support subband-specific UL precoding. Pande teaches generating frequency-dependent precoders by applying unitary (orthonormal) transformations, including phase rotations, and further teaches interpolating between known precoders to derive precoders for intermediate frequency resources while preserving orthogonality and normalization. Furthermore, Park already teaches signaling precoding information, including phase coefficients, on a per-subband basis for UL PUSCH transmission to improve performance while minimizing control overhead. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the phase-rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande to the multi-subband UL precoding framework of Noh in order to efficiently derive precoders for resource grids between subbands, reduce signaling overhead, and ensure smooth frequency-domain precoder construction techniques to a known UL DCI-based subband precoding scheme.
Regarding claim 9, Park and Noh fails to teach the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, based at least in part on the information stored in the memory: phase rotate each precoder at a sector boundary.
However, Pande teaches the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, based at least in part on the information stored in the memory: phase rotate each precoder at a sector boundary ([0015], [0024], [0027]-[0029], steering matrix is nearly orthonormal and corresponds to right singular vectors; steering matrices parameterized via transform; steering matrices belong to unitary group, generated from skew Hermitian matrices; Cayley transform produces unitary matrix; identity/unitary constraints shown).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UL subband precoding techniques of Noh with the transform-based precoder rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande. Noh expressly teaches scheduling a PUSCH spanning multiple subbands and singling, via UL DCI, multiple precoder indices (TPMIs) corresponding to different frequency subbands of the PUSCH in order to support subband-specific UL precoding. Pande teaches generating frequency-dependent precoders by applying unitary (orthonormal) transformations, including phase rotations, and further teaches interpolating between known precoders to derive precoders for intermediate frequency resources while preserving orthogonality and normalization. Furthermore, Park already teaches signaling precoding information, including phase coefficients, on a per-subband basis for UL PUSCH transmission to improve performance while minimizing control overhead. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the phase-rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande to the multi-subband UL precoding framework of Noh in order to efficiently derive precoders for resource grids between subbands, reduce signaling overhead, and ensure smooth frequency-domain precoder construction techniques to a known UL DCI-based subband precoding scheme.
Regarding claim 10, Park and Noh fails to teach the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, based at least in part on the information stored in the memory: interpolate between two precoders to obtain a corresponding precoder for resource grids between two closest resource grids of the set of resource grids for which the set of precoders are indicated.
However, Pande teaches the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, based at least in part on the information stored in the memory: interpolate between two precoders to obtain a corresponding precoder for resource grids between two closest resource grids of the set of resource grids for which the set of precoders are indicated ([0011], [0023], Fig 2-3 interpolating between known subcarrier indices; explicitly teaches obtaining missing steering/precoding matrices via interpolation between known frequency points (closest subcarriers) and reconstructing the intermediate precoders).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UL subband precoding techniques of Noh with the transform-based precoder rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande. Noh expressly teaches scheduling a PUSCH spanning multiple subbands and singling, via UL DCI, multiple precoder indices (TPMIs) corresponding to different frequency subbands of the PUSCH in order to support subband-specific UL precoding. Pande teaches generating frequency-dependent precoders by applying unitary (orthonormal) transformations, including phase rotations, and further teaches interpolating between known precoders to derive precoders for intermediate frequency resources while preserving orthogonality and normalization. Furthermore, Park already teaches signaling precoding information, including phase coefficients, on a per-subband basis for UL PUSCH transmission to improve performance while minimizing control overhead. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the phase-rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande to the multi-subband UL precoding framework of Noh in order to efficiently derive precoders for resource grids between subbands, reduce signaling overhead, and ensure smooth frequency-domain precoder construction techniques to a known UL DCI-based subband precoding scheme.
Regarding claim 11 (and apparatus claim 26), Noh fails to teach but Park teaches the apparatus wherein the frequency sector spans a set of one or more resource blocks (RBs) ([0079]-[0080], [0071], RB definition; defines UL resource allocation in terms of resource blocks and RB pairs in the frequency domain and explains that PUSCH occupies sets of RBs; a subband/frequency sector therefore naturally spans one or more RBs).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UL subband precoding techniques of Noh with the transform-based precoder rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande. Noh expressly teaches scheduling a PUSCH spanning multiple subbands and singling, via UL DCI, multiple precoder indices (TPMIs) corresponding to different frequency subbands of the PUSCH in order to support subband-specific UL precoding. Pande teaches generating frequency-dependent precoders by applying unitary (orthonormal) transformations, including phase rotations, and further teaches interpolating between known precoders to derive precoders for intermediate frequency resources while preserving orthogonality and normalization. Furthermore, Park already teaches signaling precoding information, including phase coefficients, on a per-subband basis for UL PUSCH transmission to improve performance while minimizing control overhead. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the phase-rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande to the multi-subband UL precoding framework of Noh in order to efficiently derive precoders for resource grids between subbands, reduce signaling overhead, and ensure smooth frequency-domain precoder construction techniques to a known UL DCI-based subband precoding scheme.
Regarding claim 12 (and apparatus claim 27), Noh fails to teach but Park teaches the apparatus wherein the frequency sector spans a number of resource elements ([0069]-[0072], RE and RB structure, Fig 2; explicitly defines a resource grid, resource elements (REs) and explains that RBs comprise multiple REs; thus a frequency sector spanning RBs necessarily spans a number of REs).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UL subband precoding techniques of Noh with the transform-based precoder rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande. Noh expressly teaches scheduling a PUSCH spanning multiple subbands and singling, via UL DCI, multiple precoder indices (TPMIs) corresponding to different frequency subbands of the PUSCH in order to support subband-specific UL precoding. Pande teaches generating frequency-dependent precoders by applying unitary (orthonormal) transformations, including phase rotations, and further teaches interpolating between known precoders to derive precoders for intermediate frequency resources while preserving orthogonality and normalization. Furthermore, Park already teaches signaling precoding information, including phase coefficients, on a per-subband basis for UL PUSCH transmission to improve performance while minimizing control overhead. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the phase-rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande to the multi-subband UL precoding framework of Noh in order to efficiently derive precoders for resource grids between subbands, reduce signaling overhead, and ensure smooth frequency-domain precoder construction techniques to a known UL DCI-based subband precoding scheme.
Regarding claim 13 (and apparatus claim 28), Noh fails to teach but Park teaches the apparatus further comprising: at least one of antenna coupled to the at least one processor ([0039], [0081]-[0086], Fig. 5-7, Fig 17; discloses a UE including multiple antennas, RF units, and processors, with the antennas coupled to the processing circuitry for UL transmission).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UL subband precoding techniques of Noh with the transform-based precoder rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande. Noh expressly teaches scheduling a PUSCH spanning multiple subbands and singling, via UL DCI, multiple precoder indices (TPMIs) corresponding to different frequency subbands of the PUSCH in order to support subband-specific UL precoding. Pande teaches generating frequency-dependent precoders by applying unitary (orthonormal) transformations, including phase rotations, and further teaches interpolating between known precoders to derive precoders for intermediate frequency resources while preserving orthogonality and normalization. Furthermore, Park already teaches signaling precoding information, including phase coefficients, on a per-subband basis for UL PUSCH transmission to improve performance while minimizing control overhead. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the phase-rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande to the multi-subband UL precoding framework of Noh in order to efficiently derive precoders for resource grids between subbands, reduce signaling overhead, and ensure smooth frequency-domain precoder construction techniques to a known UL DCI-based subband precoding scheme.
Regarding claim 16 (and method claim 29), Noh fails to teach but Park teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising:
Memory ([0008], [0039], Fig 17; discloses a UE including processor, RF unit, and memory configured to receive DCI and transmit PUSCH); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to ([0008], [0039], Fig 17; discloses a UE including processor, RF unit, and memory configured to receive DCI and transmit PUSCH), based at least in part on information stored in the memory:
transmit downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) spanning multiple sub-bands, the DCI indicating a first precoder for a first resource grid of the PUSCH and a second precoder for a second resource grid of the PUSCH ([0007], [0076], [0079]-[0080], Figs 3-4; explicitly discloses receiving DCI for PUSCH scheduling and explains that UL resources (RBs/RB pairs) are allocated in the frequency domain; spanning multiple subbands); and
But Park fails to teach receive the PUSCH with the first precoder at the first resource grid and with a third precoder at the second resource grid, the third precoder being based on a phase rotation of the second precoder.
However, Pande teaches receive the PUSCH with the first precoder at the first resource grid and with a third precoder at the second resource grid, the third precoder being based on a phase rotation of the second precoder ([0015], [0024], [0027]-[0029], discloses that steering/precoding matrices are rotated via unitary transforms, making explicit that a phase-rotated precoder is derived from another precoder).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UL subband precoding techniques of Noh with the transform-based precoder rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande. Noh expressly teaches scheduling a PUSCH spanning multiple subbands and singling, via UL DCI, multiple precoder indices (TPMIs) corresponding to different frequency subbands of the PUSCH in order to support subband-specific UL precoding. Pande teaches generating frequency-dependent precoders by applying unitary (orthonormal) transformations, including phase rotations, and further teaches interpolating between known precoders to derive precoders for intermediate frequency resources while preserving orthogonality and normalization. Furthermore, Park already teaches signaling precoding information, including phase coefficients, on a per-subband basis for UL PUSCH transmission to improve performance while minimizing control overhead. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the phase-rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande to the multi-subband UL precoding framework of Noh in order to efficiently derive precoders for resource grids between subbands, reduce signaling overhead, and ensure smooth frequency-domain precoder construction techniques to a known UL DCI-based subband precoding scheme.
Regarding claim 20 (and method claim 30), Park and Noh fails to teach the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, based at least in part on the information stored in the memory: receive the PUSCH at resource grids between the first resource grid and the second resource grid with an interpolated precoder based on the first precoder and the third precoder.
However, Pande teaches the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, based at least in part on the information stored in the memory: receive the PUSCH at resource grids between the first resource grid and the second resource grid with an interpolated precoder based on the first precoder and the third precoder ([0011], [0023], Fig 2-3; explicitly teaches obtaining missing steering matrices via interpolation between known frequency points and reconstructing intermediate precoders).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UL subband precoding techniques of Noh with the transform-based precoder rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande. Noh expressly teaches scheduling a PUSCH spanning multiple subbands and singling, via UL DCI, multiple precoder indices (TPMIs) corresponding to different frequency subbands of the PUSCH in order to support subband-specific UL precoding. Pande teaches generating frequency-dependent precoders by applying unitary (orthonormal) transformations, including phase rotations, and further teaches interpolating between known precoders to derive precoders for intermediate frequency resources while preserving orthogonality and normalization. Furthermore, Park already teaches signaling precoding information, including phase coefficients, on a per-subband basis for UL PUSCH transmission to improve performance while minimizing control overhead. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the phase-rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande to the multi-subband UL precoding framework of Noh in order to efficiently derive precoders for resource grids between subbands, reduce signaling overhead, and ensure smooth frequency-domain precoder construction techniques to a known UL DCI-based subband precoding scheme.
Regarding claim 24, Park and Noh fails to teach the apparatus wherein each precoder is phase rotated at a sector boundary.
However, Pande teaches the apparatus wherein each precoder is phase rotated at a sector boundary ([0011], [0023], Fig 2-3, states interpolation of steering matrices, including polynomial/linear interpolation; explains that only a subset of subcarriers have steering matrices and the rest are obtained via interpolation).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UL subband precoding techniques of Noh with the transform-based precoder rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande. Noh expressly teaches scheduling a PUSCH spanning multiple subbands and singling, via UL DCI, multiple precoder indices (TPMIs) corresponding to different frequency subbands of the PUSCH in order to support subband-specific UL precoding. Pande teaches generating frequency-dependent precoders by applying unitary (orthonormal) transformations, including phase rotations, and further teaches interpolating between known precoders to derive precoders for intermediate frequency resources while preserving orthogonality and normalization. Furthermore, Park already teaches signaling precoding information, including phase coefficients, on a per-subband basis for UL PUSCH transmission to improve performance while minimizing control overhead. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the phase-rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande to the multi-subband UL precoding framework of Noh in order to efficiently derive precoders for resource grids between subbands, reduce signaling overhead, and ensure smooth frequency-domain precoder construction techniques to a known UL DCI-based subband precoding scheme.
Regarding claim 25, Park and Noh fails to teach the apparatus wherein each resource grid of a sector is precoded with a phase rotated precoder.
However, Pande teaches the apparatus wherein each resource grid of a sector is precoded with a phase rotated precoder ([0015], [0024], [0027]-[0029], steering matrices are orthonormal/unitary, transform representation preserves structure; unitary group definition QHQ = I, Cayley transform and exponential map produce unitary matrices).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UL subband precoding techniques of Noh with the transform-based precoder rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande. Noh expressly teaches scheduling a PUSCH spanning multiple subbands and singling, via UL DCI, multiple precoder indices (TPMIs) corresponding to different frequency subbands of the PUSCH in order to support subband-specific UL precoding. Pande teaches generating frequency-dependent precoders by applying unitary (orthonormal) transformations, including phase rotations, and further teaches interpolating between known precoders to derive precoders for intermediate frequency resources while preserving orthogonality and normalization. Furthermore, Park already teaches signaling precoding information, including phase coefficients, on a per-subband basis for UL PUSCH transmission to improve performance while minimizing control overhead. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the phase-rotation and interpolation techniques of Pande to the multi-subband UL precoding framework of Noh in order to efficiently derive precoders for resource grids between subbands, reduce signaling overhead, and ensure smooth frequency-domain precoder construction techniques to a known UL DCI-based subband precoding scheme.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nishimoto et al (US10033446B2) discloses transmitting apparatus, receiving apparatus, control station, communication system, and transmission precoding method.
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419