DETAILED ACTION
I. This office action is in response to the correspondence filed February 29, 2024. Claims 1-3, 5, 7-16, 18, 20-21, 31-33 are pending and being examined.
II. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Specification
III. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
IV. Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-10, 14-16, 18, 20, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Agarwal et al. (US 2021/0185637 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Agarwal teaches an information transmission method, performed by a positioning function entity with an interface between the positioning function entity and a radio access network (RAN) device (see paragraph [0095] and Fig. 6, The LMF is configured to invoke the Namf communication towards the AMF to request the transfer of a network positioning message to the serving NG-RAN node. This reads on an information transmission method, performed by a positioning function entity with an interface between the positioning function entity and a radio access network (RAN) device), the information transmission method comprising: transmitting, by the positioning function entity, a first request message to the RAN device through the interface; wherein the first request message is used to request position-related information (see paragraph [0095] and Fig. 6, The LMF is configured to invokes the Namf Communication N1N2MessageTransfer service operation towards the AMF to request the transfer of a network positioning message to the serving NG-RAN node for the UE. The network positioning message may request location information for the UE from the NG-RAN node. This read on transmitting, by the positioning function entity, a first request message to the RAN device through the interface; wherein the first request message is used to request position-related information); and receiving, by the positioning function entity, a first response message in response to the first request message from the RAN device (see paragraph [0096] and Fig. 6, The AMF invokes the Namf Communication N2InfoNotify service towards the LMF. The LMF receives the service operation including the network positioning message received from the Initial UE message. This reads on receiving, by the positioning function entity, a first response message in response to the first request message from the RAN device).
Regarding claim 2 Agarwal teaches wherein the first request message comprises one or more of: a positioning message; a message type of the positioning message; an association identifier for identifying the first response message associated with the first request message in response messages from the RAN device; or, a first identity of a user equipment (UE); wherein the first identity is assigned by the RAN device for the UE and used to identify the UE (see paragraph [0095] and Fig. 6, The LMF is configured to invoke the Namf communication towards the AMF to request the transfer of a network positioning message to the serving NG-RAN node. This reads on wherein the first request message comprises one or more of: a positioning message; a message type of the positioning message; an association identifier for identifying the first response message associated with the first request message in response messages from the RAN device; or, a first identity of a user equipment (UE); wherein the first identity is assigned by the RAN device for the UE and used to identify the UE).
Regarding claim 3 Agarwal teaches wherein the transmitting, by the positioning function entity, the first request message to the RAN device through the interface, comprises: receiving a position request message from a mobility function entity; wherein the position request message is used to request a position of a user equipment (UE) and the position request message carries UE-related information; and transmitting the first request message to the RAN device corresponding to the UE-related information through the interface in accordance with the UE-related information; wherein the first request message carries a first identity of the UE; or, wherein the transmitting, by the positioning function entity, the first request message to the RAN device through the interface, comprises:
obtaining information of the RAN device that services a UE and/or a first identity of the UE; and
in accordance with the information of the RAN device, transmitting, through the interface, the first request message to the RAN device corresponding to the information of the RAN device; wherein the first request message carries the first identity of the UE (see paragraph [0095] and Fig. 6, The LMF is configured to invoke the Namf communication towards the AMF to request the transfer of a network positioning message to the serving NG-RAN node. The network positioning message may request location information for the UE from the NG-RAN node. The network positioning message from the LMF includes the UE ID (see paragraph [0092]). This reads on wherein the transmitting, by the positioning function entity, the first request message to the RAN device through the interface , comprises: receiving a position request message from a mobility function entity; wherein the position request message is used to request a position of a user equipment (UE) and the position request message carries UE-related information; and transmitting the first request message to the RAN device corresponding to the UE-related information through the interface in accordance with the UE-related information; wherein the first request message carries a first identity of the UE).
Regarding claim 5 Agarwal teaches obtaining UE-related information from a first function entity (see paragraph [0095] and Fig. 6, The LMF invokes the Namf communication N1N2MessageTransfer service operation towards the AMF. The service operation includes the cell-id. This reads on obtaining UE-related information from a first function entity); and obtaining the information of the RAN device that services the UE and/or the first identity of the UE in accordance with the UE-related information (see paragraph [0100], The UE transmits a secure message including the UE identity. This reads on obtaining the information of the RAN device that services the UE and/or the first identity of the UE in accordance with the UE-related information).
Regarding claim 7 Agarwal teaches wherein the UE-related information comprises one or more of: information of the RAN device that services the UE; the first identity of the UE; a connection state of the UE; information of a serving cell corresponding to the UE; or, an access technology adopted by the UE (see paragraph [0095] and Fig. 6, The LMF invokes the Namf communication N1N2MessageTransfer service operation towards the AMF. The service operation includes the cell-id. This reads on wherein the UE-related information comprises one or more of: information of the RAN device that services the UE).
Regarding claim 9 Agarwal teaches wherein after receiving, by the positioning function entity, the first response message in response to the first request message from the RAN device, the information transmission method further comprises: transmitting position information of a UE to a mobility function entity or an exposure function entity; wherein the position information of the UE is obtained by the positioning function entity in accordance with the first response message (see paragraph [0096] and Fig. 6, At step 3, the serving NG-RAN node returns location measurements obtained in step 2c to the AMF in a Network Positioning message included in an Initial UE message. The serving NG-RAN node is configured to include the routing identifier received in the paging message in the Initial UE message. The AMF invokes the Namf Communication N2InfoNotify service towards the LMF indicated by the routing identifier included in the Initial UE message. The service operation includes the network positioning message received from the Initial UE message and the LCS Correlation identifier).
Regarding claim 10 Agarwal teaches an information transmission method, performed by a radio access network (RAN) device with an interface between the RAN device and a positioning function entity (see paragraph [0096] and Fig. 6, The serving NG-RAN node returns location measurements to the AMF in a Network Positioning message. This reads on an information transmission method, performed by a radio access network (RAN) device with an interface between the RAN device and a positioning function entity) the information transmission method comprising: receiving, by the RAN device, a first request message from the from the positioning function entity through the interface; wherein the first request message is used to request position-related information (see paragraph [0095] and Fig. 6, The LMF is configured to invokes the Namf Communication N1N2MessageTransfer service operation towards the AMF to request the transfer of a network positioning message to the serving NG-RAN node for the UE. The network positioning message may request location information for the UE from the NG-RAN node. This read on receiving, by the RAN device, a first request message from the from the positioning function entity through the interface; wherein the first request message is used to request position-related information); and transmitting, by the RAN device, a first response message in response to the first request message to the positioning function entity (see paragraph [0096] and Fig. 6, The serving NG-RAN returns location measurements to the AMF in a Network positioning message. The AMF invokes the Namf Communication N2InfoNotify service towards the LMF. The LMF receives the service operation including the network positioning message received from the Initial UE message. This reads on transmitting, by the RAN device, a first response message in response to the first request message to the positioning function entity).
Regarding claim 11 Agarwal teaches limitations as recited in claim 2 and therefore claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 14 Agarwal teaches a positioning function entity with an interface between the positioning function entity and a radio access network (RAN) device, the positioning function entity comprising: a memory (411, Fig. 4), a transceiver (440, Fig. 4) and a processor (410, Fig. 4); wherein the memory is configured to store program instructions, the transceiver is configured to receive and transmit data under control of the processor, and the transceiver (see paragraph [0087] and Fig. 4, The server may be a network node such as the LMF. The memory stores the software which may be processor-readable, processor-executable software code containing instructions that are configured to, when executed, cause the processor to perform various functions. This reads on positioning function entity with an interface between the positioning function entity and a radio access network (RAN) device, the positioning function entity comprising: a memory, a transceiver and a processor; wherein the memory is configured to store program instructions, the transceiver is configured to receive and transmit data under control of the processor, and the transceiver) and the transceiver is configured to perform the following operations: transmitting a first request message to the RAN device through the interface; wherein the first request message is used to request position-related information (see paragraph [0095] and Fig. 6, The LMF is configured to invokes the Namf Communication N1N2MessageTransfer service operation towards the AMF to request the transfer of a network positioning message to the serving NG-RAN node for the UE. The network positioning message may request location information for the UE from the NG-RAN node. This read on transmitting a first request message to the RAN device through the interface; wherein the first request message is used to request position-related information); and receiving a first response message in response to the first request message from the RAN device (see paragraph [0096] and Fig. 6, The serving NG-RAN returns location measurements to the AMF in a Network positioning message. The AMF invokes the Namf Communication N2InfoNotify service towards the LMF. The LMF receives the service operation including the network positioning message received from the Initial UE message. This reads on receiving a first response message in response to the first request message from the RAN device).
Regarding claim 15 Agarwal teaches limitations as recited in claim 2 and therefore claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 16 Agarwal teaches limitations as recited in claim 3 and therefore claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 18 Agarwal teaches obtain UE-related information from a first function entity; and obtain the information of the RAN device that services the UE and/or the first identity of the UE in accordance with the UE-related information; or, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a position request message from an exposure function entity; wherein the position request message is used to request a position of a UE; and in accordance with a second identity of the UE carried in the position request message, obtain UE-related information corresponding to the second identity from the first function entity; wherein the second identity is used to identify the UE, and the UE is identified by a core network device in accordance with the second identity (see paragraphs [0095] & [0100] and Fig. 6, The LMF invokes the Namf communication N1N2MessageTransfer service operation towards the AMF. The service operation includes the cell-id. This reads on obtaining UE-related information from a first function entity). The UE transmits a secure message including the UE identity. This reads on obtaining the information of the RAN device that services the UE and/or the first identity of the UE in accordance with the UE-related information. This reads on obtain UE-related information from a first function entity; and obtain the information of the RAN device that services the UE and/or the first identity of the UE in accordance with the UE-related information).
Regarding claim 20 Agarwal teaches limitations as recited in claim 7 and therefore claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 31 Agarwal teaches a radio access network (RAN) device for performing the information transmission method according to claim 10, with an interface between the positioning function entity and the RAN device (see paragraph [0095] and Fig. 6, The LMF is configured to invoke the Namf communication towards the AMF to request the transfer of a network positioning message to the serving NG-RAN node. This reads on an information transmission method, performed by a positioning function entity with an interface between the positioning function entity and the RAN device), the RAN device comprising: a memory (111, Fig. 3), a transceiver (315, Fig. 3) and a processor (310, Fig. 3); wherein the memory is configured to store program instructions, the transceiver is configured to receive and transmit data under control of the processor, and the transceiver (see paragraph [0084] and Fig. 3, The memory is a non-transitory storage medium that may include random access memory (RAM)), flash memory, disc memory, and/or read-only memory (ROM), etc. The memory stores the software which may be processor-readable, processor-executable software code containing instructions that are configured to, when executed, cause the processor to perform various functions. This reads on the RAN device comprising: a memory, a transceiver and a processor; wherein the memory is configured to store program instructions, the transceiver is configured to receive and transmit data under control of the processor, and the transceiver) and the transceiver is configured to perform the following operations: receiving a first request message from the from the positioning function entity through the interface; wherein the first request message is used to request position-related information (see paragraph [0095] and Fig. 6, The LMF is configured to invokes the Namf Communication N1N2MessageTransfer service operation towards the AMF to request the transfer of a network positioning message to the serving NG-RAN node for the UE. The network positioning message may request location information for the UE from the NG-RAN node. This read on receiving a first request message from the from the positioning function entity through the interface; wherein the first request message is used to request position-related information); and transmitting a first response message in response to the first request message to the positioning function entity (see paragraph [0096] and Fig. 6, The serving NG-RAN returns location measurements to the AMF in a Network positioning message. The AMF invokes the Namf Communication N2InfoNotify service towards the LMF. The LMF receives the service operation including the network positioning message received from the Initial UE message. This reads on transmitting a first response message in response to the first request message to the positioning function entity).
Regarding claim 32 Agarwal teaches limitations as recited in claim 2 and therefore claim 32 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
V. Claims 8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agarwal et al. (US 2021/0185637 A1) in view of Wu (US 2018/0027543 A1).
Regarding claim 8 Agarwal teaches the information transmission method according to claim 1 including transmitting, by the positioning function entity, the first request message to the RAN device through the interface (see Agarwal, paragraph [0095], The LMF transmits a positioning request towards the AMF for transfer to the ng-eNB. This reads on transmitting, by the positioning function entity, the first request message to the RAN device through the interface) and except for assigning, by the positioning function entity, an association identifier for the first request message; wherein the association identifier is used to identify the first response message associated with the first request message in response messages from the RAN device, wherein the first request message carries the association identifier.
Wu teaches assigning, by the positioning function entity, an association identifier for the first request message; wherein the association identifier is used to identify the first response message associated with the first request message in response messages from the RAN device (see paragraph [0062], A positioning process association identifier attribute is created and set as the identifier allocated to the current positioning request. This reads on assigning, by the positioning function entity, an association identifier for the first request message; wherein the association identifier is used to identify the first response message associated with the first request message in response messages from the RAN device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make transmitting, by the positioning function entity, the first request message to the RAN device in Agarwal adapt to include assigning, by the positioning function entity, an association identifier for the first request message; wherein the association identifier is used to identify the first response message associated with the first request message in response messages from the RAN device, wherein the first request message carries the association identifier because the positioning association identifier in Wu can be incorporated into the positioning request Agarwal using well-known techniques and it would allow for more efficient use of resources during acquisition of location information (see Wu, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 21 Agarwal and Wu teach limitations as recited in claim 8 and therefore claim 21 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
VI. Claims 12-13 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agarwal et al. (US 2021/0185637 A1) in view of Wu (US 2018/0027543 A1) and Li et al. (US 2012/0182995 A1).
Regarding claim 12 Agarwal and Wu teach the information transmission method according to claim 10 including obtaining an association identifier from a first request message (see Wu, paragraph [0062], A positioning process association identifier attribute is created and set as the identifier allocated to the current positioning request. This reads on obtaining an association identifier from a first request message) and an identity of the positioning function entity (see Agarwal, paragraph [0091], The AMF forwards a network positioning message to the serving NG-RAN. The AMF may include a routing identifier in the message to the NG-RAN to identify the LMF. This reads on an identity of the positioning function entity) and except for storing a mapping relationship between the association identifier and an identity of the positioning function entity.
Li teaches storing a mapping relationship between an identifier and an identity of a positioning function entity (see paragraph [0048], A mapping relationship between a user identity and an address of the router of the first location server may be stored. This reads on storing a mapping relationship between an identifier and an identity of a positioning function entity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the association identifier and identity of the positioning function entity in the Agarwal and Wu combination adapt to include storing a mapping relationship between the association identifier and an identity of the positioning function entity because it would allow for efficient use of resources during acquisition of location information.
Regarding claim 13 Agarwal teaches wherein the transmitting, by the RAN device, the first response message in response to the first request message to the positioning function entity, comprises: transmitting the first response message in response to the first request message to the positioning function entity (see Agarwal, paragraph [0091], The LMF is configured to invoke an operation towards an AMF to request the transfer of network positioning message to the serving NG-RAN. The serving NG-RAN is configured to return location information obtained to the AMF for transmission to the LMF. This reads on wherein the transmitting, by the RAN device, the first response message in response to the first request message to the positioning function entity, comprises: transmitting the first response message in response to the first request message to the positioning function entity) and Li teaches a mapping relationship between an identifier and an identity of a positioning function entity (see paragraph [0048], A mapping relationship between a user identity and an address of the router of the first location server may be stored. This reads on storing a mapping relationship between an identifier and an identity of a positioning function entity).
Regarding claim 33 Agarwal, Wu, and Li teach limitations as recited in claims 12-13 and therefore claim 33 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
VII. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al Pub. No.: US 2021/0274459 A1 discloses location management component and method for a mobile communication network including sending a location request and receiving a location response at a location management component (see abstract and Fig. 1).
Edge et al. Pub. No.: US 2020/0053686 A1 discloses low power periodic and triggered location of a mobile device using control plane optimization including an LCS client sending a location request (see paragraphs [0156]; [0162] – [0163]).
/BRANDON J MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
June 5, 2026