DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-14 and 16-18 are pending in the application.
Claim Interpretation-35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph
The phrases “movement means”, “cutting means”, & “means of the additional reel of the additional reel assembly”, has been interpreted to correspond to – roller conveyor or catenary type, glow wire 41, and additional reel and/or reel change respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dahlmanns et al. (US 20200017248 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dahlmanns et al. discloses a sheet placing apparatus (fig. 2) configured to lay a protective cover sheet (5) over a palletized load (sleeve group 2/packaging units 11 on pallet 25 [0102-0104], fig. 6) comprising:
movement means (conveyor unit 3) that support and/or move the palletized load (sleeve group 2/packaging units 11 on pallet 25 [0102-0104], fig. 6),
a cover sheet picking up and positioning device (outer packaging unit 7/feed roller 14 and brake jaws 16A and 16B); and
a feeding device comprising a reel assembly (15/deflection rollers 17A) that rotatably supports a reel of film (5) and to allow the film to be unwound from the reel by exerting a traction (brake jaws 16A and 16B/ rollers 17A) on an edge of the film (figs. 1-4), and once a length of film sufficient to cover the load has been unwound, the film is cut, by cutting means (sealing unit 18/sealing jaws 19 [0096-0098]),
wherein a plurality of said cover sheets (5) can be obtained, by unwinding and cutting the film of said reel (15/deflection rollers 17A), and wherein said reel assembly is positioned in an operating position along an advancement line of said palletized load below under the movement means (conveyor unit 3), by making available the edge of the film, emerging from the movement means (conveyor unit 3), to be grasped by the picking and positioning device (outer packaging unit 7/feed roller 14 and brake jaws 16A and 16B) lifting said film from under to the top of the palletized load ([0085-0104], figs. 1-6).
Regarding claim 2, Dahlmanns et al. discloses the feeding device (15/deflection rollers 17A) is arranged such that a reel assembly (15/17) is configured to have the reel (15/17) with an axis of rotation thereof orthogonal to the advancement direction of the palletized load ([0085-0104], figs. 1-6).
Regarding claim 3, Dahlmanns et al. discloses the feeding device (15/deflection rollers 17A) cooperates with the picking and positioning device (outer packaging unit 7/feed roller 14 and brake jaws 16A and 16B) so that said cover sheet (5), is unwound, cut and picked up in a position in front of and/or behind the palletized load (sleeve group 2/packaging units 11 on pallet 25 [0102-0104], fig. 6) along said advancement line ([0085-0104], figs. 1-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De Vlaam (US 6082254 A) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over De Vlaam (US 6082254 A) in view of Van Ottele (US 4782648 A) and further in view of Dahlmanns et al. (US 20200017248 A1).
Regarding claim 1, De Vlaam discloses a sheet placing apparatus (tape supply means 2 and 2', figs. 1 and 7) configured to lay a protective cover sheet (3’) over a palletized load (G, figs. 1-3) comprising:
movement means (1) that support and/or move the palletized load (G),
a cover sheet picking up and positioning device (tape positioning means 4 and 4and/or tape positioning means 6 and 6', figs. 1 and 7); and
a feeding device comprising a reel assembly (storage reel 21, guiding reel 22) that rotatably supports a reel of film (tape 3/3') and to allow the film to be unwound from the reel by exerting a traction (pair of clamping or braking jaws 23) on an edge of the film (figs. 1-7), and once a length of film sufficient to cover the load has been unwound, the film is cut, by cutting means (5),
wherein a plurality of said cover sheets (portions of tape 3/3') can be obtained, by unwinding and cutting the film of said reel (storage reel 21, guiding reel 22), and wherein said reel assembly is positioned in an operating position along an advancement line of said palletized load below under the movement means (1), by making available the edge of the film, emerging from the movement means (1), to be grasped by the picking and positioning device (tape positioning means 4 and 4and/or tape positioning means 6 and 6', figs. 1 and 7) lifting said film from under to the top of the palletized load (figs. 1-7 show the film emerging from the movement means below to wrap the bottom and the top with the film lifted to the top via tape positioning means 4 and 4and/or tape positioning means 6 and 6' col. 3, line 1- col. 5, line 62, figs. 1-9).
De Vlaam also teaches having a picking and positioning device (7) for lifting said film (3/3’) from under to the top of the palletized load and also having crosswise strapping to have combined “transverse or parallel strapping” (col. 6, lines 9-65, fig. 10).
In the alternative, if it can be argued that De Vlaam fails to disclose the reel assembly is positioned in an operating position along an advancement line of said palletized load under the movement means, by making available the edge of the film, emerging from the movement means, to be grasped by the picking and positioning device lifting said film from under to the top of the palletized load -
Van Ottele teaches a reel assembly (guide rollers 45, the tensioning rollers 48) positioned in an operating position along an advancement line of a load (1) under a movement means (conveyor belt 2), by making available an edge of a film (tape 6,7), emerging from the movement means (conveyor belt 2), to be grasped by a picking and positioning device (supporting plate 55 with piston 51 and the clamping members 28 pick and position the tape 6/7) lifting said film from below to the top of the palletized load (from guide rollers 18 to 22 below to top rollers 24/25, col. 3, line 30- col. 5, line 39, figs. 1-3).
Dahlmanns et al. also teaches a reel assembly (15) positioned in an operating position along an advancement line of a palletized load (sleeve group 2/packaging units 11 on pallet 25 [0102-0104], fig. 6) under a movement means (conveyor 3), by making available an edge of a film (5), emerging from the movement means (conveyor 3), to be grasped by a picking and positioning device (outer packaging unit 7/feed roller 14 and brake jaws 16A and 16B) lifting said film from below the top of the palletized load (roller 14 lifts sheet 5 upward to wrap sleeve group 2 to form packing unit 11, [0085-0104], figs. 1-6).
Given the teachings of De Vlaam to have sheet placing apparatus with a reel assembly of film below a conveyor to wrap a package/palletized load with a film and transverse or parallel strapping, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the sheet placing apparatus with having the reel assembly is positioned in an operating position along an advancement line of said palletized load under the movement means, by making available the edge of the film, emerging from the movement means, to be grasped by the picking and positioning device lifting said film from under to the top of the palletized load to have precise adjustment of the film by having the bottom aligned with the film more easily, adjusting the height of the film for different sized packages, save space around the sheet placing apparatus by having the reel assembly underneath, and/or for providing a more direct path of the film to the package for as taught by Van Ottele and Dahlmanns et al.
Regarding claim 2, De Vlaam fails to disclose the feeding device (storage reel 21, guiding reel 22) is arranged such that the reel assembly (storage reel 21, guiding reel 22) is configured to have the reel (storage reel 21, guiding reel 22) with an axis of rotation thereof orthogonal to the advancement direction of the palletized load.
Van Ottele teaches the feeding device (pneumatic cylinder 50 - guide rollers 45, the tensioning rollers 48) is arranged such that a reel assembly (guide rollers 45, the tensioning rollers 48) is configured to have the reel (guide rollers 45, the tensioning rollers 48) with an axis of rotation thereof orthogonal to the advancement direction of the palletized load (col. 3, line 30- col. 5, line 39, figs. 1-3).
Dahlmanns et al. teaches the feeding device (15/deflection rollers 17A) is arranged such that a reel assembly (15/17) is configured to have the reel (15/17) with an axis of rotation thereof orthogonal to the advancement direction of the palletized load ([0085-0104], figs. 1-6).
Given the teachings of De Vlaam to have a sheet placing apparatus with a reel assembly of film below a conveyor to wrap a package/palletized load with a film, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the sheet placing apparatus with having the feeding device arranged such that the reel is configured to have the reel with an axis of rotation thereof orthogonal to the advancement direction of the palletized load to have precise adjustment of the film by having the bottom aligned with the film more easily, adjusting the height of the film for different sized packages, save space around the sheet placing apparatus by having the reel assembly underneath, and/or for providing a more direct path of the film to the package as taught by Van Ottele and Dahlmanns et al.
Regarding claim 3, De Vlaam discloses the feeding device (15/deflection rollers 17A) cooperates with the picking and positioning device (outer packaging unit 7/feed roller 14 and brake jaws 16A and 16B) so that said cover sheet (5), is unwound, cut and picked up in a position in front of and/or behind the palletized load (sleeve group 2/packaging units 11 on pallet 25 [0102-0104], fig. 6) along said advancement line ([0085-0104], figs. 1-6).
Claim(s) 4-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Dahlmanns et al. (US 20200017248 A1) in view of Sforacchi (US 20190352029 A1) and further in view of Bonneville et al. (US 20120292422 A1).
Regarding claims 4-10, Dahlmanns et al. fails to explicitly disclose having the reel assembly extractable to a side of the movement means, an additional reel assembly, the additional reel assembly also below the movement means adjacent the reel assembly in use and is also extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means, both cooperate with the picking and positioning device, operates with the additional reel when placed in the operating position when the reel assembly is extracted and comprises a carriage for moving from the operating position to the extracted position and replacing said empty reel by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means and without stopping the work cycle.
Sforacchi ‘029 teaches (see Figure 2 and Figure 3) wherein the reel assembly (17) is configured to be extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means (27) to a side of said movement means (27) in which to perform the reel change (as seen in Figure 3), wherein the feeding device (3) comprises an additional reel assembly (17’; see Paragraph 0101) configured to rotatably support an additional reel (B’) of film (C) from which a plurality of said cover sheets (C) are obtainable by unwinding and cutting the film (C) of said additional reel (B; see paragraph 0045 and paragraph 0046), wherein the additional reel assembly (17’; as seen in Figure 3) is positioned in an operating position below the movement means (27) and in a position adjacent to the reel assembly (17; as seen in Figure 3), wherein the additional reel assembly (17’) is configured to be extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means (27) to the side of said movement means (27) in which order to perform a reel change (as seen in Figure 3), wherein the reel assembly (17) and the additional reel assembly (17’) are configured to cooperate with the picking and positioning device (4) one at a time (see Paragraph 0114-0115), wherein the film placing apparatus (1) is configured to continue to operate by means of the additional reel (B’) of the additional reel assembly (17’) placed in the operating position when the reel assembly (17) is placed in the extracted position and vice versa (see Paragraph 0114-0115), wherein the reel assembly (17) and/or the additional reel assembly (17’) comprises a carriage (20; 21) for moving from the operating position to the extracted position (see Paragraph 0107 and see Figure 2 and Figure 3) and wherein the film (C) is taken from a reel (B) or an additional reel (B’), which are placed side-by-side below the movement means (27; as seen in Figures 2-3), wherein at the end (D) of the film (C) of the reel (B) or additional reel (B’), the method further comprises replacing said empty reel (B) by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means (27) and without stopping the work cycle (see Paragraph 0114-0115).
Bonneville et al. also teaches having an additional reel assembly (roll 16) for reloading, the additional reel assembly below a movement means (frame 30 with idler rollers 34/conveyor in arrow 50 direction [0006-0007, 0018-0022], claim 1, fig. 3) adjacent the reel assembly in use and is also extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means (figs. 1-3), and comprises a carriage (52) for moving from the operating position to the extracted position and replacing said empty reel by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means ([0018-0023], figs. 1-4).
Given the teachings of Dahlmanns et al. to have a sheet placing apparatus with a reel assembly of film below a conveyor to wrap a package/palletized load with a film, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the sheet placing apparatus with having the reel assembly extractable to a side of the movement means, an additional reel assembly, the additional reel assembly also below the movement means adjacent the reel assembly in use and is also extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means, both cooperate with the picking and positioning device, operates with the additional reel when placed in the operating position when the reel assembly is extracted and comprises a carriage for moving from the operating position to the extracted position and replacing said empty reel by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means and without stopping the work cycle to have a quick reload reel ready to go, easier loading on the side, and/or for providing a packing machine with a storage area for spare reels as taught by Sforacchi ‘029 and Bonneville et al.
Regarding claims 11-14, Dahlmanns et al. fails to explicitly disclose both the reel assembly and the additional reel assembly respectively comprise a first and a second retaining device to retain the edge of the film, configured to assume at least one of a working position or an out-of-the-way position, wherein the working position provides that the edge of the film is in a position where the edge of the film can be grasped and lifted by the picking and positioning device, wherein when the first retaining device is in the working position, the second retaining device is in the out-of- the-way position and vice versa, wherein the feeding device comprises a swapping device configured to cooperate with the first and/or second retaining device so as to simultaneously swap said first and/or second retaining device from the out-of-the- way position to the working position, when the reel assemblies are in the operating position.
Sforacchi ‘029 teaches (see Figure 2 and Figure 3) wherein both the reel assembly (17) and the additional reel assembly (17’) respectively comprise a first and a second retaining device (14) for the film (C) configured to cooperate with the respective reel (B) or the additional reel (B’) to retain the edge (D) of the film (see Paragraph 0076), wherein said first and second retaining devices (14) are configured to assume at least one of a working position or an out-of-the-way position, wherein the working position provides that the edge (D) of the film (C) is in a position where the edge (D) of the film (C) can be grasped and lifted by the picking and positioning device (4; see Paragraph 0076), wherein when the first retaining device (14) is in the working position, the second retaining device (14’) is in the out-of- the-way position and vice versa (see Paragraph 0079), wherein the feeding device (3) comprises a swapping device (18) configured to cooperate with the first and/or second retaining device (14) so as to simultaneously swap said first and/or second retaining device from the out-of-the- way position to the working position, when the reel assemblies (17; 17’) are in the operating position (see Paragraph 0095).
Bonneville et al. also teaches having an additional reel assembly (roll 16) for reloading, the additional reel assembly below a movement means (frame 30 with idler rollers 34/conveyor in arrow 50 direction [0006-0007, 0018-0022], claim 1, fig. 3) adjacent the reel assembly in use and is also extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means (figs. 1-3), and comprises a carriage (52) for moving from the operating position to the extracted position and replacing said empty reel by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means ([0018-0023], figs. 1-4).
Given the teachings of Dahlmanns et al. to have a sheet placing apparatus with a reel assembly of film below a conveyor to wrap a package/palletized load with a film, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the sheet placing apparatus with having both the reel assembly and the additional reel assembly respectively comprise a first and a second retaining device to retain the edge of the film, configured to assume at least one of a working position or an out-of-the-way position, wherein the working position provides that the edge of the film is in a position where the edge of the film can be grasped and lifted by the picking and positioning device, wherein when the first retaining device is in the working position, the second retaining device is in the out-of- the-way position and vice versa, wherein the feeding device comprises a swapping device configured to cooperate with the first and/or second retaining device so as to simultaneously swap said first and/or second retaining device from the out-of-the- way position to the working position, when the reel assemblies are in the operating position to have transporting device for removing reels and loading reels, have a transport device for moving the reels to the working position or an out-of-the-way position, and/or for providing a packing machine with retaining device for the spare reels as taught by Sforacchi ‘029 and Bonneville et al.
Claim(s) 4-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over De Vlaam (US 6082254 A) in view of Sforacchi (US 20190352029 A1) and further in view of Bonneville et al. (US 20120292422 A1) OR IN THE ALTERNATIVE - De Vlaam (US 6082254 A) in view of Van Ottele (US 4782648 A) in view of Dahlmanns et al. (US 20200017248 A1) in view of Sforacchi (US 20190352029 A1) and further in view of Bonneville et al. (US 20120292422 A1).
Regarding claims 4-10 and 17-18, De Vlaam/modified De Vlaam discloses having the reel assembly extractable to a side of the movement means (reel assemblies are on the side) but fails to disclose an additional reel assembly, the additional reel assembly also below the movement means adjacent the reel assembly in use and is also extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means, both cooperate with the picking and positioning device, operates with the additional reel when placed in the operating position when the reel assembly is extracted and comprises a carriage for moving from the operating position to the extracted position and replacing said empty reel by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means and without stopping the work cycle.
Sforacchi ‘029 teaches (see Figure 2 and Figure 3) wherein the reel assembly (17) is configured to be extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means (27) to a side of said movement means (27) in which to perform the reel change (as seen in Figure 3), wherein the feeding device (3) comprises an additional reel assembly (17’; see Paragraph 0101) configured to rotatably support an additional reel (B’) of film (C) from which a plurality of said cover sheets (C) are obtainable by unwinding and cutting the film (C) of said additional reel (B; see paragraph 0045 and paragraph 0046), wherein the additional reel assembly (17’; as seen in Figure 3) is positioned in an operating position below the movement means (27) and in a position adjacent to the reel assembly (17; as seen in Figure 3), wherein the additional reel assembly (17’) is configured to be extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means (27) to the side of said movement means (27) in which order to perform a reel change (as seen in Figure 3), wherein the reel assembly (17) and the additional reel assembly (17’) are configured to cooperate with the picking and positioning device (4) one at a time (see Paragraph 0114-0115), wherein the film placing apparatus (1) is configured to continue to operate by means of the additional reel (B’) of the additional reel assembly (17’) placed in the operating position when the reel assembly (17) is placed in the extracted position and vice versa (see Paragraph 0114-0115), wherein the reel assembly (17) and/or the additional reel assembly (17’) comprises a carriage (20; 21) for moving from the operating position to the extracted position (see Paragraph 0107 and see Figure 2 and Figure 3) and wherein the film (C) is taken from a reel (B) or an additional reel (B’), which are placed side-by-side below the movement means (27; as seen in Figures 2-3), wherein at the end (D) of the film (C) of the reel (B) or additional reel (B’), the method further comprises replacing said empty reel (B) by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means (27) and without stopping the work cycle (see Paragraph 0114-0115).
Bonneville et al. also teaches having an additional reel assembly (roll 16) for reloading, the additional reel assembly below a movement means (frame 30 with idler rollers 34/conveyor in arrow 50 direction [0006-0007, 0018-0022], claim 1, fig. 3) adjacent the reel assembly in use and is also extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means (figs. 1-3), and comprises a carriage (52) for moving from the operating position to the extracted position and replacing said empty reel by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means ([0018-0023], figs. 1-4).
Given the teachings of De Vlaam/modified De Vlaam to have a sheet placing apparatus with a reel assembly of film below a conveyor to wrap a package/palletized load with a film and having the reel assembly extractable to a side of the movement means, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the sheet placing apparatus with having the reel assembly extractable to a side of the movement means, an additional reel assembly, the additional reel assembly also below the movement means adjacent the reel assembly in use and is also extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means, both cooperate with the picking and positioning device, operates with the additional reel when placed in the operating position when the reel assembly is extracted and comprises a carriage for moving from the operating position to the extracted position and replacing said empty reel by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means and without stopping the work cycle to have a quick reload reel ready to go, easier loading on the side, and/or for providing a packing machine with a storage area for spare reels as taught by Sforacchi ‘029 and Bonneville et al.
Regarding claims 11-14, De Vlaam/modified De Vlaam discloses having the reel assembly extractable to a side of the movement means (reel assemblies are on the side) but fails to explicitly disclose both the reel assembly and the additional reel assembly respectively comprise a first and a second retaining device to retain the edge of the film, configured to assume at least one of a working position or an out-of-the-way position, wherein the working position provides that the edge of the film is in a position where the edge of the film can be grasped and lifted by the picking and positioning device, wherein when the first retaining device is in the working position, the second retaining device is in the out-of- the-way position and vice versa, wherein the feeding device comprises a swapping device configured to cooperate with the first and/or second retaining device so as to simultaneously swap said first and/or second retaining device from the out-of-the- way position to the working position, when the reel assemblies are in the operating position.
Sforacchi ‘029 teaches (see Figure 2 and Figure 3) wherein both the reel assembly (17) and the additional reel assembly (17’) respectively comprise a first and a second retaining device (14) for the film (C) configured to cooperate with the respective reel (B) or the additional reel (B’) to retain the edge (D) of the film (see Paragraph 0076), wherein said first and second retaining devices (14) are configured to assume at least one of a working position or an out-of-the-way position, wherein the working position provides that the edge (D) of the film (C) is in a position where the edge (D) of the film (C) can be grasped and lifted by the picking and positioning device (4; see Paragraph 0076), wherein when the first retaining device (14) is in the working position, the second retaining device (14’) is in the out-of- the-way position and vice versa (see Paragraph 0079), wherein the feeding device (3) comprises a swapping device (18) configured to cooperate with the first and/or second retaining device (14) so as to simultaneously swap said first and/or second retaining device from the out-of-the- way position to the working position, when the reel assemblies (17; 17’) are in the operating position (see Paragraph 0095).
Bonneville et al. also teaches having an additional reel assembly (roll 16) for reloading, the additional reel assembly below a movement means (frame 30 with idler rollers 34/conveyor in arrow 50 direction [0006-0007, 0018-0022], claim 1, fig. 3) adjacent the reel assembly in use and is also extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means (figs. 1-3), and comprises a carriage (52) for moving from the operating position to the extracted position and replacing said empty reel by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means ([0018-0023], figs. 1-4).
Given the teachings of De Vlaam/modified De Vlaam to have a sheet placing apparatus with a reel assembly of film below a conveyor to wrap a package/palletized load with a film and having the reel assembly extractable to a side of the movement means, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the sheet placing apparatus with having both the reel assembly and the additional reel assembly respectively comprise a first and a second retaining device to retain the edge of the film, configured to assume at least one of a working position or an out-of-the-way position, wherein the working position provides that the edge of the film is in a position where the edge of the film can be grasped and lifted by the picking and positioning device, wherein when the first retaining device is in the working position, the second retaining device is in the out-of- the-way position and vice versa, wherein the feeding device comprises a swapping device configured to cooperate with the first and/or second retaining device so as to simultaneously swap said first and/or second retaining device from the out-of-the- way position to the working position, when the reel assemblies are in the operating position to have transporting device for removing reels and loading reels, have a transport device for moving the reels to the working position or an out-of-the-way position, and/or for providing a packing machine with retaining device for the spare reels as taught by Sforacchi ‘029 and Bonneville et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-18 are allowed.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Reasons for Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious a method for laying a protective cover sheet over a palletized load comprising all the structural and functional limitations and further comprising, amongst other limitations/features, picking a cover sheet from a reel of film along an advancement line thereof, placed under a movement means configured to support and/or move the palletized load, and grasping the edge of the film to make and lift the cover sheet to a position in front of and/or behind the advancement line of the palletized load. Though Dahlmanns et al. (US 20200017248 A1) teaches a method for laying a protective cover sheet over a palletized load, it would not be obvious to modify cover sheet laying system to add the step of grasping the edge of the film to make and lift the cover sheet to a position in front of and/or behind the advancement line of the palletized load and one of ordinary skill would recognize that a second cable cannot be added to single roller without having to add other rollers and modify the clamping member to function with a two cable system. Having the efficiency and speed of the film placed under a movement means for grasping the edge of the film to make and lift the cover sheet to a position in front of and/or behind the advancement line of the palletized load provides an effective load wrapping device.
While various features of the claimed subject matter are found individually in the prior art, a skilled artisan would have to include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure to combine or modify the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed subject matter, and thus obviousness would not be proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine or modify the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention, and thus obviousness would not be proper. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 08/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 16-18 under Dahlmanns et al. (US 20200017248 A1) & De Vlaam (US 6082254 A) in view of Sforacchi (US 20190352029 A1) and further in view of Bonneville et al. (US 20120292422 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Since as applicant argues - neither De Vlaam nor Van Ottele show a picking and positioning device that grasps a cover sheet by an edge thereof and rather show devices that push faces of the tape/sheet towards the item to be strapped. Neither device has a positioning device that is able to grasp an edge of the cover sheet as claimed. Therefore, the rejection of claims 16-18 have been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-14 Dahlmanns et al. & De Vlaam both have sheets that “can be obtained, by unwinding and cutting the film” and both are lifting said film from under to the top of the palletized load Dahlmanns et al. (tape positioning means 4 and 4', 6 and 6', 7 and 7, ’figs. 1-10) and De Vlaam (14/15 lift the film, figs. 3A-3E). As claimed in claim 1, “to be grasped by the picking and positioning device lifting said film from under to the top of the palletized load” is functional and not limited structurally as to how the film is lifted since “making available the edge of the film…to be grasped” does not positively recite whether the edge is grasped and a particular structure member/mechanism to do the lifting. Moreover, tape is a form of a sheet. Also, since Dahlmanns et al. discloses the (storage reel 21, guiding reel 22) on the side of the movement means, then the function of “having the reel assembly extractable to a side of the movement means” would require no modification to the structure. Moreover, “side” is not limited to any particular location and De Vlaam also discloses the reel assembly on the side. Dahlmanns et al. also shows a palletized load (fig. 6) and object G and “pallet” is a very broad term with meanings such as “bundle”, “box” and etc. (see attached synonym list).
Further, phrases like “assume at least one of a working position or an out-of-the-way position” are subjective and no limiting to any particular structure or function. Examiner suggest defining axis to give meaning to directions and orientations and provide structure for claimed terms.
Conclusion
Additional prior art considered pertinent: see form 892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731