DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, the preamble phrase “Sheet placing apparatus” should be - - A sheet placing apparatus - - and likewise in claim 16, the preamble phrase “Method for laying” should be - - A method for laying - -. See 608.01(m) Form of Claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dahlmanns et al. (US 20200017248 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dahlmanns et al. discloses a sheet placing apparatus (fig. 2) configured to lay a protective cover sheet (5) over a palletized load (sleeve group 2/packaging units 11 on pallet 25 [0102-0104], fig. 6) comprising:
movement means (conveyor unit 3) that support and/or move the palletized load palletized load (sleeve group 2/packaging units 11 on pallet 25 [0102-0104], fig. 6),
a cover sheet picking up and positioning device (outer packaging unit 7/feed roller 14 and brake jaws 16A and 16B); and
a feeding device comprising a reel assembly (15/deflection rollers 17A) that rotatably supports a reel of film (5) and to allow the film to be unwound from the reel by exerting a traction (brake jaws 16A and 16B/ rollers 17A) on an edge of the film (figs. 1-4), and once a length of film sufficient to cover the load has been unwound, the film is cut, by cutting means (sealing unit 18/sealing jaws 19 [0096-0098]),
wherein a plurality of said cover sheets (5) can be obtained, by unwinding and cutting the film of said reel (15/deflection rollers 17A), and wherein said reel assembly is positioned in an operating position along an advancement line of said palletized load below under the movement means (conveyor unit 3), by making available the edge of the film, emerging from the movement means (conveyor unit 3), to be grasped by the picking and positioning device (outer packaging unit 7/feed roller 14 and brake jaws 16A and 16B) lifting said film from under to the top of the palletized load ([0085-0104], figs. 1-6).
Regarding claim 16, Dahlmanns et al. discloses a method for laying a protective cover sheet (5) over a palletized load (sleeve group 2/packaging units 11 on pallet 25 [0102-0104], fig. 6) comprising: picking said cover sheet (5) from a reel (15/deflection rollers 17A) of film (5) along an advancement line thereof (A-D, figs. 2-3), placed under a movement means (conveyor unit 3) configured to support and/or move the palletized load (sleeve group 2/packaging units 11 on pallet 25 [0102-0104], fig. 6), and grasping an edge of the film (5) to make and lift the cover sheet (5) to a position in front of and/or behind the advancement of the palletized load (outer packaging unit 7/feed roller 14 and brake jaws 16A and 16B lift the sheet 5, [0085-0104], figs. 1-6).
Regarding claim 2, Dahlmanns et al. discloses the feeding device (15/deflection rollers 17A) is arranged such that a reel assembly (15/17) is configured to have the reel (15/17) with an axis of rotation thereof orthogonal to the advancement direction of the palletized load ([0085-0104], figs. 1-6).
Regarding claim 3, Dahlmanns et al. discloses the feeding device (15/deflection rollers 17A) cooperates with the picking and positioning device (outer packaging unit 7/feed roller 14 and brake jaws 16A and 16B) so that said cover sheet (5), is unwound, cut and picked up in a position in front of and/or behind the palletized load (sleeve group 2/packaging units 11 on pallet 25 [0102-0104], fig. 6) along said advancement line ([0085-0104], figs. 1-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De Vlaam (US 6082254 A) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over De Vlaam (US 6082254 A) in view of Van Ottele (US 4782648 A) and further in view of Dahlmanns et al. (US 20200017248 A1).
Regarding claim 1, De Vlaam discloses a sheet placing apparatus (tape supply means 2 and 2', figs. 1 and 7) configured to lay a protective cover sheet (3’) over a palletized load (G, figs. 1-3) comprising:
movement means (1) that support and/or move the palletized load (G),
a cover sheet picking up and positioning device (tape positioning means 4 and 4and/or tape positioning means 6 and 6', figs. 1 and 7); and
a feeding device comprising a reel assembly (storage reel 21, guiding reel 22) that rotatably supports a reel of film (tape 3/3') and to allow the film to be unwound from the reel by exerting a traction (pair of clamping or braking jaws 23) on an edge of the film (figs. 1-7), and once a length of film sufficient to cover the load has been unwound, the film is cut, by cutting means (5),
wherein a plurality of said cover sheets (portions of tape 3/3') can be obtained, by unwinding and cutting the film of said reel (storage reel 21, guiding reel 22), and wherein said reel assembly is positioned in an operating position along an advancement line of said palletized load below under the movement means (1), by making available the edge of the film, emerging from the movement means (1), to be grasped by the picking and positioning device (tape positioning means 4 and 4and/or tape positioning means 6 and 6', figs. 1 and 7) lifting said film from under to the top of the palletized load (figs. 1-7 show the film emerging from the movement means below to wrap the bottom and the top with the film lifted to the top via tape positioning means 4 and 4and/or tape positioning means 6 and 6' col. 3, line 1- col. 5, line 62, figs. 1-9).
De Vlaam also teaches having a picking and positioning device (7) for lifting said film (3/3’) from under to the top of the palletized load and also having crosswise strapping to have combined “transverse or parallel strapping” (col. 6, lines 9-65, fig. 10).
In the alternative, if it can be argued that De Vlaam fails to disclose the reel assembly is positioned in an operating position along an advancement line of said palletized load under the movement means, by making available the edge of the film, emerging from the movement means, to be grasped by the picking and positioning device lifting said film from under to the top of the palletized load -
Van Ottele teaches a reel assembly (guide rollers 45, the tensioning rollers 48) positioned in an operating position along an advancement line of a load (1) under a movement means (conveyor belt 2), by making available an edge of a film (tape 6,7), emerging from the movement means (conveyor belt 2), to be grasped by a picking and positioning device (supporting plate 55 with piston 51 and the clamping members 28 pick and position the tape 6/7) lifting said film from below to the top of the palletized load (from guide rollers 18 to 22 below to top rollers 24/25, col. 3, line 30- col. 5, line 39, figs. 1-3).
Dahlmanns et al. also teaches a reel assembly (15) positioned in an operating position along an advancement line of a palletized load (sleeve group 2/packaging units 11 on pallet 25 [0102-0104], fig. 6) under a movement means (conveyor 3), by making available an edge of a film (5), emerging from the movement means (conveyor 3), to be grasped by a picking and positioning device (outer packaging unit 7/feed roller 14 and brake jaws 16A and 16B) lifting said film from below the top of the palletized load (roller 14 lifts sheet 5 upward to wrap sleeve group 2 to form packing unit 11, [0085-0104], figs. 1-6).
Given the teachings of De Vlaam to have sheet placing apparatus with a reel assembly of film below a conveyor to wrap a package/palletized load with a film and transverse or parallel strapping, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the sheet placing apparatus with having the reel assembly is positioned in an operating position along an advancement line of said palletized load under the movement means, by making available the edge of the film, emerging from the movement means, to be grasped by the picking and positioning device lifting said film from under to the top of the palletized load to have precise adjustment of the film by having the bottom aligned with the film more easily, adjusting the height of the film for different sized packages, save space around the sheet placing apparatus by having the reel assembly underneath, and/or for providing a more direct path of the film to the package for as taught by Van Ottele and Dahlmanns et al.
Regarding claim 16, De Vlaam discloses a method for laying a protective cover sheet (tape 3/3') over a palletized load (G, figs. 1-3) comprising: picking said cover sheet (tape 3/3') from a reel (storage reel 21, guiding reel 22) of film (tape 3/3') along an advancement line thereof (figs. 1-7), placed under a movement means (1) configured to support and/or move the palletized load (G), and grasping an edge of the film (tape 3/3') to make and lift the cover sheet (tape 3/3') to a position in front of and/or behind the advancement of the palletized load (tape positioning means 4 and 4and/or tape positioning means 6 and 6', lift said film from under to the top of the palletized load with the film emerging from the movement means below to wrap the bottom and the top with the film lifted to the top via tape positioning means 4 and 4and/or tape positioning means 6 and 6' col. 3, line 1- col. 5, line 62, figs. 1-9).
De Vlaam also teaches having a picking and positioning device (7) for lifting said film (3/3’) from under to the top of the palletized load and also having crosswise strapping to have combined “transverse or parallel strapping” (col. 6, lines 9-65, fig. 10)
In the alternative, if it can be argued that De Vlaam fails to disclose the reel along an advancement line thereof, placed under a movement means making available the edge of the film and grasping an edge of the film (tape 3/3') to make and lift the cover sheet (tape 3/3') to a position in front of and/or behind the advancement of the palletized load -
Van Ottele teaches a reel assembly (guide rollers 45, the tensioning rollers 48) positioned in an operating position along an advancement line of a load (1) under a movement means (conveyor belt 2), by making available an edge of a film (tape 6,7), emerging from the movement means (conveyor belt 2), to be grasped by a picking and positioning device (supporting plate 55 with piston 51 and the clamping members 28 pick and position the tape 6/7) lifting said film from below to the top of the palletized load (from guide rollers 18 to 22 below to top rollers 24/25, col. 3, line 30- col. 5, line 39, figs. 1-3).
Dahlmanns et al. also teaches a reel assembly (15) positioned in an operating position along an advancement line of a palletized load (sleeve group 2/packaging units 11 on pallet 25 [0102-0104], fig. 6) under a movement means (conveyor 3), by making available an edge of a film (5), emerging from the movement means (conveyor 3), to be grasped by a picking and positioning device (outer packaging unit 7/feed roller 14 and brake jaws 16A and 16B) lifting said film from below the top of the palletized load (roller 14 lifts sheet 5 upward to wrap sleeve group 2 to form packing unit 11, [0085-0104], figs. 1-6).
Given the teachings of De Vlaam to have sheet placing apparatus with a reel assembly of film below a conveyor to wrap a package/palletized load with a film and transverse or parallel strapping, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the sheet placing apparatus with having the reel along an advancement line thereof, placed under a movement means making available the edge of the film and grasping an edge of the film to make and lift the cover sheet to a position in front of and/or behind the advancement of the palletized load to have precise adjustment of the film by having the bottom aligned with the film more easily, adjusting the height of the film for different sized packages, save space around the sheet placing apparatus by having the reel assembly underneath, and/or for providing a more direct path of the film to the package for as taught by Van Ottele and Dahlmanns et al.
Regarding claim 2, De Vlaam fails to disclose the feeding device (storage reel 21, guiding reel 22) is arranged such that the reel assembly (storage reel 21, guiding reel 22) is configured to have the reel (storage reel 21, guiding reel 22) with an axis of rotation thereof orthogonal to the advancement direction of the palletized load.
Van Ottele teaches the feeding device (pneumatic cylinder 50 - guide rollers 45, the tensioning rollers 48) is arranged such that a reel assembly (guide rollers 45, the tensioning rollers 48) is configured to have the reel (guide rollers 45, the tensioning rollers 48) with an axis of rotation thereof orthogonal to the advancement direction of the palletized load (col. 3, line 30- col. 5, line 39, figs. 1-3).
Dahlmanns et al. teaches the feeding device (15/deflection rollers 17A) is arranged such that a reel assembly (15/17) is configured to have the reel (15/17) with an axis of rotation thereof orthogonal to the advancement direction of the palletized load ([0085-0104], figs. 1-6).
Given the teachings of De Vlaam to have a sheet placing apparatus with a reel assembly of film below a conveyor to wrap a package/palletized load with a film, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the sheet placing apparatus with having the feeding device arranged such that the reel is configured to have the reel with an axis of rotation thereof orthogonal to the advancement direction of the palletized load to have precise adjustment of the film by having the bottom aligned with the film more easily, adjusting the height of the film for different sized packages, save space around the sheet placing apparatus by having the reel assembly underneath, and/or for providing a more direct path of the film to the package as taught by Van Ottele and Dahlmanns et al.
Regarding claim 3, De Vlaam discloses the feeding device (15/deflection rollers 17A) cooperates with the picking and positioning device (outer packaging unit 7/feed roller 14 and brake jaws 16A and 16B) so that said cover sheet (5), is unwound, cut and picked up in a position in front of and/or behind the palletized load (sleeve group 2/packaging units 11 on pallet 25 [0102-0104], fig. 6) along said advancement line ([0085-0104], figs. 1-6).
Claim(s) 4-14 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Dahlmanns et al. (US 20200017248 A1) in view of Sforacchi (US 20190352029 A1) and further in view of Bonneville et al. (US 20120292422 A1).
Regarding claims 4-10 and 17-18, Dahlmanns et al. fails to explicitly disclose having the reel assembly extractable to a side of the movement means, an additional reel assembly, the additional reel assembly also below the movement means adjacent the reel assembly in use and is also extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means, both cooperate with the picking and positioning device, operates with the additional reel when placed in the operating position when the reel assembly is extracted and comprises a carriage for moving from the operating position to the extracted position and replacing said empty reel by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means and without stopping the work cycle.
Sforacchi ‘029 teaches (see Figure 2 and Figure 3) wherein the reel assembly (17) is configured to be extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means (27) to a side of said movement means (27) in which to perform the reel change (as seen in Figure 3), wherein the feeding device (3) comprises an additional reel assembly (17’; see Paragraph 0101) configured to rotatably support an additional reel (B’) of film (C) from which a plurality of said cover sheets (C) are obtainable by unwinding and cutting the film (C) of said additional reel (B; see paragraph 0045 and paragraph 0046), wherein the additional reel assembly (17’; as seen in Figure 3) is positioned in an operating position below the movement means (27) and in a position adjacent to the reel assembly (17; as seen in Figure 3), wherein the additional reel assembly (17’) is configured to be extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means (27) to the side of said movement means (27) in which order to perform a reel change (as seen in Figure 3), wherein the reel assembly (17) and the additional reel assembly (17’) are configured to cooperate with the picking and positioning device (4) one at a time (see Paragraph 0114-0115), wherein the film placing apparatus (1) is configured to continue to operate by means of the additional reel (B’) of the additional reel assembly (17’) placed in the operating position when the reel assembly (17) is placed in the extracted position and vice versa (see Paragraph 0114-0115), wherein the reel assembly (17) and/or the additional reel assembly (17’) comprises a carriage (20; 21) for moving from the operating position to the extracted position (see Paragraph 0107 and see Figure 2 and Figure 3) and wherein the film (C) is taken from a reel (B) or an additional reel (B’), which are placed side-by-side below the movement means (27; as seen in Figures 2-3), wherein at the end (D) of the film (C) of the reel (B) or additional reel (B’), the method further comprises replacing said empty reel (B) by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means (27) and without stopping the work cycle (see Paragraph 0114-0115).
Bonneville et al. also teaches having an additional reel assembly (roll 16) for reloading, the additional reel assembly below a movement means (frame 30 with idler rollers 34/conveyor in arrow 50 direction [0006-0007, 0018-0022], claim 1, fig. 3) adjacent the reel assembly in use and is also extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means (figs. 1-3), and comprises a carriage (52) for moving from the operating position to the extracted position and replacing said empty reel by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means ([0018-0023], figs. 1-4).
Given the teachings of Dahlmanns et al. to have a sheet placing apparatus with a reel assembly of film below a conveyor to wrap a package/palletized load with a film, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the sheet placing apparatus with having the reel assembly extractable to a side of the movement means, an additional reel assembly, the additional reel assembly also below the movement means adjacent the reel assembly in use and is also extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means, both cooperate with the picking and positioning device, operates with the additional reel when placed in the operating position when the reel assembly is extracted and comprises a carriage for moving from the operating position to the extracted position and replacing said empty reel by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means and without stopping the work cycle to have a quick reload reel ready to go, easier loading on the side, and/or for providing a packing machine with a storage area for spare reels as taught by Sforacchi ‘029 and Bonneville et al.
Regarding claims 11-14, Dahlmanns et al. fails to explicitly disclose both the reel assembly and the additional reel assembly respectively comprise a first and a second retaining device to retain the edge of the film, configured to assume at least one of a working position or an out-of-the-way position, wherein the working position provides that the edge of the film is in a position where the edge of the film can be grasped and lifted by the picking and positioning device, wherein when the first retaining device is in the working position, the second retaining device is in the out-of- the-way position and vice versa, wherein the feeding device comprises a swapping device configured to cooperate with the first and/or second retaining device so as to simultaneously swap said first and/or second retaining device from the out-of-the- way position to the working position, when the reel assemblies are in the operating position.
Sforacchi ‘029 teaches (see Figure 2 and Figure 3) wherein both the reel assembly (17) and the additional reel assembly (17’) respectively comprise a first and a second retaining device (14) for the film (C) configured to cooperate with the respective reel (B) or the additional reel (B’) to retain the edge (D) of the film (see Paragraph 0076), wherein said first and second retaining devices (14) are configured to assume at least one of a working position or an out-of-the-way position, wherein the working position provides that the edge (D) of the film (C) is in a position where the edge (D) of the film (C) can be grasped and lifted by the picking and positioning device (4; see Paragraph 0076), wherein when the first retaining device (14) is in the working position, the second retaining device (14’) is in the out-of- the-way position and vice versa (see Paragraph 0079), wherein the feeding device (3) comprises a swapping device (18) configured to cooperate with the first and/or second retaining device (14) so as to simultaneously swap said first and/or second retaining device from the out-of-the- way position to the working position, when the reel assemblies (17; 17’) are in the operating position (see Paragraph 0095).
Bonneville et al. also teaches having an additional reel assembly (roll 16) for reloading, the additional reel assembly below a movement means (frame 30 with idler rollers 34/conveyor in arrow 50 direction [0006-0007, 0018-0022], claim 1, fig. 3) adjacent the reel assembly in use and is also extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means (figs. 1-3), and comprises a carriage (52) for moving from the operating position to the extracted position and replacing said empty reel by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means ([0018-0023], figs. 1-4).
Given the teachings of Dahlmanns et al. to have a sheet placing apparatus with a reel assembly of film below a conveyor to wrap a package/palletized load with a film, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the sheet placing apparatus with having both the reel assembly and the additional reel assembly respectively comprise a first and a second retaining device to retain the edge of the film, configured to assume at least one of a working position or an out-of-the-way position, wherein the working position provides that the edge of the film is in a position where the edge of the film can be grasped and lifted by the picking and positioning device, wherein when the first retaining device is in the working position, the second retaining device is in the out-of- the-way position and vice versa, wherein the feeding device comprises a swapping device configured to cooperate with the first and/or second retaining device so as to simultaneously swap said first and/or second retaining device from the out-of-the- way position to the working position, when the reel assemblies are in the operating position to have transporting device for removing reels and loading reels, have a transport device for moving the reels to the working position or an out-of-the-way position, and/or for providing a packing machine with retaining device for the spare reels as taught by Sforacchi ‘029 and Bonneville et al.
Claim(s) 4-14 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over De Vlaam (US 6082254 A) in view of Sforacchi (US 20190352029 A1) and further in view of Bonneville et al. (US 20120292422 A1) OR IN THE ALTERNATIVE - De Vlaam (US 6082254 A) in view of Van Ottele (US 4782648 A) in view of Dahlmanns et al. (US 20200017248 A1) in view of Sforacchi (US 20190352029 A1) and further in view of Bonneville et al. (US 20120292422 A1).
Regarding claims 4-10 and 17-18, De Vlaam/modified De Vlaam discloses having the reel assembly extractable to a side of the movement means (reel assemblies are on the side) but fails to disclose an additional reel assembly, the additional reel assembly also below the movement means adjacent the reel assembly in use and is also extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means, both cooperate with the picking and positioning device, operates with the additional reel when placed in the operating position when the reel assembly is extracted and comprises a carriage for moving from the operating position to the extracted position and replacing said empty reel by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means and without stopping the work cycle.
Sforacchi ‘029 teaches (see Figure 2 and Figure 3) wherein the reel assembly (17) is configured to be extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means (27) to a side of said movement means (27) in which to perform the reel change (as seen in Figure 3), wherein the feeding device (3) comprises an additional reel assembly (17’; see Paragraph 0101) configured to rotatably support an additional reel (B’) of film (C) from which a plurality of said cover sheets (C) are obtainable by unwinding and cutting the film (C) of said additional reel (B; see paragraph 0045 and paragraph 0046), wherein the additional reel assembly (17’; as seen in Figure 3) is positioned in an operating position below the movement means (27) and in a position adjacent to the reel assembly (17; as seen in Figure 3), wherein the additional reel assembly (17’) is configured to be extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means (27) to the side of said movement means (27) in which order to perform a reel change (as seen in Figure 3), wherein the reel assembly (17) and the additional reel assembly (17’) are configured to cooperate with the picking and positioning device (4) one at a time (see Paragraph 0114-0115), wherein the film placing apparatus (1) is configured to continue to operate by means of the additional reel (B’) of the additional reel assembly (17’) placed in the operating position when the reel assembly (17) is placed in the extracted position and vice versa (see Paragraph 0114-0115), wherein the reel assembly (17) and/or the additional reel assembly (17’) comprises a carriage (20; 21) for moving from the operating position to the extracted position (see Paragraph 0107 and see Figure 2 and Figure 3) and wherein the film (C) is taken from a reel (B) or an additional reel (B’), which are placed side-by-side below the movement means (27; as seen in Figures 2-3), wherein at the end (D) of the film (C) of the reel (B) or additional reel (B’), the method further comprises replacing said empty reel (B) by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means (27) and without stopping the work cycle (see Paragraph 0114-0115).
Bonneville et al. also teaches having an additional reel assembly (roll 16) for reloading, the additional reel assembly below a movement means (frame 30 with idler rollers 34/conveyor in arrow 50 direction [0006-0007, 0018-0022], claim 1, fig. 3) adjacent the reel assembly in use and is also extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means (figs. 1-3), and comprises a carriage (52) for moving from the operating position to the extracted position and replacing said empty reel by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means ([0018-0023], figs. 1-4).
Given the teachings of De Vlaam/modified De Vlaam to have a sheet placing apparatus with a reel assembly of film below a conveyor to wrap a package/palletized load with a film and having the reel assembly extractable to a side of the movement means, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the sheet placing apparatus with having the reel assembly extractable to a side of the movement means, an additional reel assembly, the additional reel assembly also below the movement means adjacent the reel assembly in use and is also extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means, both cooperate with the picking and positioning device, operates with the additional reel when placed in the operating position when the reel assembly is extracted and comprises a carriage for moving from the operating position to the extracted position and replacing said empty reel by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means and without stopping the work cycle to have a quick reload reel ready to go, easier loading on the side, and/or for providing a packing machine with a storage area for spare reels as taught by Sforacchi ‘029 and Bonneville et al.
Regarding claims 11-14, De Vlaam/modified De Vlaam discloses having the reel assembly extractable to a side of the movement means (reel assemblies are on the side) but fails to explicitly disclose both the reel assembly and the additional reel assembly respectively comprise a first and a second retaining device to retain the edge of the film, configured to assume at least one of a working position or an out-of-the-way position, wherein the working position provides that the edge of the film is in a position where the edge of the film can be grasped and lifted by the picking and positioning device, wherein when the first retaining device is in the working position, the second retaining device is in the out-of- the-way position and vice versa, wherein the feeding device comprises a swapping device configured to cooperate with the first and/or second retaining device so as to simultaneously swap said first and/or second retaining device from the out-of-the- way position to the working position, when the reel assemblies are in the operating position.
Sforacchi ‘029 teaches (see Figure 2 and Figure 3) wherein both the reel assembly (17) and the additional reel assembly (17’) respectively comprise a first and a second retaining device (14) for the film (C) configured to cooperate with the respective reel (B) or the additional reel (B’) to retain the edge (D) of the film (see Paragraph 0076), wherein said first and second retaining devices (14) are configured to assume at least one of a working position or an out-of-the-way position, wherein the working position provides that the edge (D) of the film (C) is in a position where the edge (D) of the film (C) can be grasped and lifted by the picking and positioning device (4; see Paragraph 0076), wherein when the first retaining device (14) is in the working position, the second retaining device (14’) is in the out-of- the-way position and vice versa (see Paragraph 0079), wherein the feeding device (3) comprises a swapping device (18) configured to cooperate with the first and/or second retaining device (14) so as to simultaneously swap said first and/or second retaining device from the out-of-the- way position to the working position, when the reel assemblies (17; 17’) are in the operating position (see Paragraph 0095).
Bonneville et al. also teaches having an additional reel assembly (roll 16) for reloading, the additional reel assembly below a movement means (frame 30 with idler rollers 34/conveyor in arrow 50 direction [0006-0007, 0018-0022], claim 1, fig. 3) adjacent the reel assembly in use and is also extractable in an extracted position external to the movement means (figs. 1-3), and comprises a carriage (52) for moving from the operating position to the extracted position and replacing said empty reel by pulling the empty reel out to a side of the movement means ([0018-0023], figs. 1-4).
Given the teachings of De Vlaam/modified De Vlaam to have a sheet placing apparatus with a reel assembly of film below a conveyor to wrap a package/palletized load with a film and having the reel assembly extractable to a side of the movement means, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the sheet placing apparatus with having both the reel assembly and the additional reel assembly respectively comprise a first and a second retaining device to retain the edge of the film, configured to assume at least one of a working position or an out-of-the-way position, wherein the working position provides that the edge of the film is in a position where the edge of the film can be grasped and lifted by the picking and positioning device, wherein when the first retaining device is in the working position, the second retaining device is in the out-of- the-way position and vice versa, wherein the feeding device comprises a swapping device configured to cooperate with the first and/or second retaining device so as to simultaneously swap said first and/or second retaining device from the out-of-the- way position to the working position, when the reel assemblies are in the operating position to have transporting device for removing reels and loading reels, have a transport device for moving the reels to the working position or an out-of-the-way position, and/or for providing a packing machine with retaining device for the spare reels as taught by Sforacchi ‘029 and Bonneville et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-14 and 16-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on all references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731