DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A COMPACT DISC (See 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5) and MPEP 608.05. Computer program listings (37 CFR 1.96(c)), “Sequence Listings” (37 CFR 1.821(c)), and tables having more than 50 pages of text are permitted to be submitted on compact discs.) or
REFERENCE TO A “MICROFICHE APPENDIX” (See MPEP § 608.05(a). “Microfiche Appendices” were accepted by the Office until March 1, 2001.)
(e) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(f) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(g) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(h) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(i) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(j) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(k) SEQUENCE LISTING (See MPEP § 2424 and 37 CFR 1.821-1.825. A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document on compact disc).
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is suggested to remove the “wherein” found in lines 62 and 66 that follow the limitation “when the second forming die is moved with the axial die movement”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is suggested to remove the “wherein” found in lines 62 and 66 that follow the limitation “when the second forming die is moved with the axial die movement”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is suggested to amend the limitation “the axially parallel inner side” in line 13 to read as “an axially parallel inner side”, amend the limitation “the axially parallel outer side” in line 30 to read as “an axially parallel outer side”, amend the limitation “an axially parallel outer side” in line 31 to read as “the axially parallel outer side” and amend the limitation “an axially parallel inner side” to read as “the axially parallel inner side”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 7, there appears to be insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the ratio of the amounts of the axial mandrel movement and of the axial die movement” and the limitation “the ratio of the speeds of the axial mandrel movement and of the axial die movement”. It is noted that claim 7 is dependent upon claim 5 however claim 6 provides the proper antecedent basis for the limitations found in claim 7. For examination purposes claim 7 is being interpreted as being dependent upon claim 6.
With regards to claim 9, the claim states “wherein the second forming device being designed to produce a subsequent form of the preform, to product the finished formed hollow body”, it is unclear if the second forming device is to produce two separate products, i.e. the subsequent form of the preform and the finished formed hollow body, or if the subsequent form of the preform and the finished formed hollow body are referring to the same product. Clarification and/or correction is required.
With regards to claim 11, the claim states “wherein the first mandrel is provided as the second mandrel” this renders the claim indefinite since claim 9 from which it depends sets forth two distinct mandrels, i.e. first and second, therefore it is unclear how the two distinct mandrels are not a single mandrel.
With regards to claim 13, the claim states “wherein the second forming die has, as a shape-imparting die profile, a second shape-imparting die profile having second die profile projections and second die profile intermediate spaces formed between the second die profile projections”, this renders the claim indefinite since claim 9, from which claim 13 depends, previously recites the second forming die is provided with a shape-imparting die profile having die profile projections and die profile intermediate spaces, therefore it is unclear if the second forming die profile of claim 13 is in addition to the shape-imparting die profile recited in claim 9, i.e. the second forming die has two shape-imparting die profiles, or if the shape-imparking die profile of claim 13 is intending to refer to the same profile of claim 9. It is noted that should the limitation intend to refer to the shape-imparting profile of claim 9 the limitation appears to be a duplicate and not further defining.
With regards to claim 15, the claimed subject matter is couched in a narrative format, i.e. being arranged, which does not lend itself to a clear understanding of the essential steps of the method. Positively setting forth the method as a series of steps with the essential features of each step being distinctly claimed would overcome the indefiniteness with regard to the inferential claimed provision. Applicant is respectfully reminded that to be entitled to patentable weight in method claims, the structural limitations recited therein must affect the method in a manipulative sense, and not to amount to the mere claiming of a use of a particular structure [see Ex parte Pfeiffer, 135 USPQ 31 (1961)]. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced, e.g. it doesn't begin a step with a gerund term.
With regards to claim 16, the claimed subject matter is couched in a narrative format, i.e. being produced, being designed, is arranged, is moved, etc., which does not lend itself to a clear understanding of the essential steps of the method. Positively setting forth the method as a series of steps with the essential features of each step being distinctly claimed would overcome the indefiniteness with regard to the inferential claimed provision. Applicant is respectfully reminded that to be entitled to patentable weight in method claims, the structural limitations recited therein must affect the method in a manipulative sense, and not to amount to the mere claiming of a use of a particular structure [see Ex parte Pfeiffer, 135 USPQ 31 (1961)]. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced, e.g. it doesn't begin a step with a gerund term.
The phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention [see MPEP § 2173.05(d)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over House (US 3,487,673) in view of Steinmetz et al (US 2022/0134401).
In reference to claim 1, House discloses a device for forming a tubular hollow body having a hollow body wall made of plastically deformable material and a hollow body axis extending in a longitudinal direction of the hollow body [see figure 1], comprising
a forming die (58) designed to be arranged on an outer side of the hollow body and provided with a die opening designed for receiving the hollow body [see figure 3; col. 3 lines 12-16],
a mandrel designed to be arranged in an interior of the hollow body and provided on a circumference thereof with a shape imparting mandrel profile (68, 76) having mandrel profile projections and mandrel profile intermediate spaces formed between the mandrel profile projections, with the mandrel profile projections and the mandrel profile intermediate spaces extending along the hollow body axis on the mandrel arranged in the interior of the hollow body, and the mandrel profiled intermediate spaces opening towards an axially parallel inner side of the hollow body wall [see figure 4; col. 3 lines 17-24],
wherein the forming die is provided at the die opening with a shape imparting die profile (67) having die profile projections and die profile intermediate spaces formed between the die profile projections, wherein when the hollow body is drawn
the die profile projections and the die profile intermediate spaces extend along the hollow boy axis and the die profile intermediate spaces open towards the axially parallel outer side of the hollow body wall and
die profiled projections arranged on the axially parallel outer side of the hollow body wall and the mandrel profile intermediate spaces arranged on the axially parallel inner side of the hollow body wall as well as die profiled intermediate spaces arranged on the axially parallel outer side of the hollow body wall and mandrel profile projections arranged on the axially parallel inner side of the hollow body wall in each case lie opposite to each other on the hollow body wall in a radial direction of the hollow body axis, with the die profiled projections impinging material of the hollow body wall in a direction of the mandrel profiled intermediate spaces opposite the die profile projections, forming the inner profile of the hollow body wall [see figure 4].
House further discloses the hollow body is connected to means for drawing the hollow body through the die [see col. 3 lines 32-35]. House discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the forming die is moved over the hollow body by a forming drive to perform the drawing.
However, Steinmetz et al teaches of a drawing process of a tubing where a forming drive comprising a die drive is provided to move a die (120) over a tube (200) in order to draw the tube through the die [see paragraph 0051].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a die drive for the die of House, in order to move the die over the hollow body to control the drawing of the hollow body therein.
In reference to claim 2, House further discloses a mandrel side toothed profile having mandrel teeth as the mandrel profile projections and having mandrel tooth intermediate spaces as the mandrel profile intermediate spaces is provided as the shape imparting mandrel profile [see figure 4], and
wherein a die side toothed profile having die teeth as the die profile projections and having die tooth intermediate spaces as die profile intermediate spaces is provided as the shape imparting die profile [see figure 4], and
wherein die teeth arranged on the axially parallel outer side of the hollow body wall and mandrel tooth intermediate spaces arranged on the axially parallel inner side of the hollow body wall as well as die tooth intermediate spaces arranged on the axially parallel outer side of the hollow body wall and the mandrel teeth arranged on the axially parallel inner side of the hollow body wall lie opposite to each other on the hollow body wall in the radial direction of the hollow body axis and the die teeth impinge material of the hollow body wall in the direction of the mandrel tooth intermediate spaces opposite the die teeth, forming the inner profile of the hollow body wall, as seen in figure 4.
In reference to claim 3, House further discloses the die opening has an opening cross section that is smaller than a hollow body cross section, extending perpendicularly to the hollow body axis, in an initial state [see col. 3 lines 12-16; figure 3], and wherein the cross section of the hollow body (T) is reduced due to movement and associated exceeding of the flow limit of the material of the hollow body wall [see figure 1].
In reference to claim 4, Steinmetz et al further teaches an axial abutment (140) is provided for the hollow body, on which the hollow body is supported in the direction of the axial die movement and which abutment is stationary along the hollow body axis during the axial die movement carried out by the forming die relative to the hollow body [see paragraph 0049].
In reference to claim 5, Steinmetz et al further teaches the forming drive has a mandrel drive and a drive controller (152) in addition to the die drive [see paragraph 0051], the mandrel drive is controlled to move the mandrel arranged in the interior of the hollow body along the hollow body axis through the die opening with an axial movement counter to the axial die movement [see paragraphs 0051-0052],
the hollow body wall can be subjected to tensile stress by means of the mandrel in a direction of the axial mandrel movement due to the axial mandrel movement and can thereby be drawn through the die opening relative to the forming die in the direction of the axial mandrel movement, and
the drive controller (152) of the forming drive is configured to control the mandrel drive and the die drive in such a way that the axial mandrel movement and the axial die movement are superposed on one another [see paragraph 0051].
In reference to claim 6, the combination further discloses the drive controller is configured to control the die drive and the mandrel drive in such a way that a ratio of speeds the axial mandrel movement and of the axial die movement is dependent on a ratio of the cross section of the hollow body in an initial state and the cross section of the hollow body after a forming process.
In reference to claim 7, the ratio of the amounts of the axial mandrel movement and of the axial die movement is reciprocal to the ratio of the speeds of the axial mandrel movement and of the axial die movement.
In reference to claim 8, the combination further discloses the forming die (58) is movable by means of the die drive with a position movement from a position away from the hollow body to be formed to a position in which the forming die is arranged on the outer side of the hollow body, and
the drive controller is configured to control the die drive and the mandrel drive in such a way that the mandrel drive initiates the axial movement before the forming die is arranged on the outer side of the hollow body due to the positioning movement of the forming die.
In reference to claim 9, House discloses an arrangement for forming a tubular hollow body (T) having a hollow body wall made of a plastically deformable material and a hollow body axis extending in the longitudinal direction of the hollow body [see figure 1], comprising
a first forming device (36) and a second forming device (58) and the second forming device being arranged downstream of the first forming device in a forming process,
wherein the first forming device (36) is designed to produce a preform (17) of a finished formed hollow body from the hollow body in an initial state [see col. 2 lines 15-20; figure 1],
wherein the preform is designed as a tubular hollow body having a preform wall made of a plastically deformable material and having a preform axis coinciding with the hollow body axis, and
wherein the second forming device being designed to produce a subsequent form of the preform (14) [see col. 2 lines 10-13; figure 1],
wherein the first forming device comprises
a first forming die (36) designed to be arranged on an outer side of the hollow body and provided with a first die opening designed for receiving the hollow body [see figure 3; col. 247-58],
a first mandrel (76) designed to be arranged in an interior of the hollow body and provided on a circumference with a first shape imparting mandrel profile having first mandrel profile projections and first mandrel profile intermediate spaces formed between the first mandrel profile projections, with the first mandrel profile projections and the first mandrel profile intermediate spaces extending along the hollow body axis on the first mandrel arranged in the interior of the hollow body, and the first mandrel profile intermediate spaces opening towards an axially parallel inner side of the hollow body wall [see figure 4; col. 3 lines 23-24], and
wherein the second forming device comprises
a second forming die (58) designed to be arranged on an outer side of the preform and having a second die opening designed for receiving the preform [see col. 3 lines 12-16; figure 3],
a second mandrel (68) designed to be arranged in an interior of the preform and provided on a circumference with a second shape imparting mandrel profile having second mandrel profile projections and second mandrel profile intermediate spaces formed between the second mandrel profile projections, with the second mandrel profiled projections and the second mandrel profile intermediate spaces extending along a preform axis on the second mandrel arranged in the interior of the preform, and the second mandrel profile intermediate spaces opening towards an axially parallel inner side of the preform wall and receiving an inner profile of the preform wall, and
wherein the second forming die is provided at the second die opening with a shape imparting die profile (67) having die profile projections and die profile intermediate spaces formed between the die profile projections, and wherein when the hollow body is drawn
the die profile projections and the die profile intermediate spaces of the second forming die extend along the preform axis and the die profile intermediate spaces open towards an axially parallel outer side of the preform wall and
die profile projections arranged on the axially parallel outer side of the preform wall and second mandrel profile intermediate spaces arranged on the axially parallel inner side of the preform wall as well as die profiled intermediate spaces arranged on the axially parallel outer side of the preform wall and second mandrel profile projections arranged on the axially parallel inner side of the preform wall in each case lie opposite to each other on the preform wall in a radial direction of the preform axis, with the die profile projections impinging material of the preform wall in a direction of the second mandrel profiled intermediate spaces opposite the die profile projections, forming the inner profile of the subsequent form wall [see figure 4].
House further discloses the hollow body is connected to means for drawing the hollow body through the die [see col. 3 lines 32-35]. House discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the forming dies are moved over the hollow body by a forming drive to perform the drawing.
However, Steinmetz et al teaches of a drawing process of a tubing where a forming drive comprising a die drive is provided to move a die (120) over a tube (200) in order to draw the tube through the die [see paragraph 0051].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a die drive for the dies of House, in order to move the dies over the hollow body to control the drawing of the hollow body therein.
In reference to claim 10, House further discloses the first shape imparting mandrel profile of the first mandrel (76) and the second shape imparting mandrel profile of the second mandrel (68) correspond to one another in their geometry, as seen in figure 4].
In reference to claim 11, House further discloses the first mandrel and the second mandrel make up a single compound mandrel [see col. 3 lines 17-18].
In reference to claim 13, House further discloses the first forming die (36) is provided at the first die opening with a first shape imparting die profile having first die profile projections (40) and first die profile intermediate spaces formed between the first die profile projections [see figure 4], wherein when the hollow body is drawn
the first die profile projections and the first die profile intermediate spaces extend along the hollow body axis and the first die profile intermediate spaces open towards the axially parallel outer side of the hollow body wall,
first die profile projections arranged on the axially parallel outer side of the hollow body wall and first mandrel profiled intermediate spaces arranged on the axially parallel inner side of the hollow body wall as well as first die profiled intermediate spaces arranged on the axially parallel outer side of the hollow body wall and first mandrel profile projections arranged on the axially parallel inner side of the hollow body wall in each case lie opposite to each other on the hollow body wall in the radial direction of the hollow body axis, with the first die profile projections impinging material of the hollow body wall in the direction of the first mandrel profile intermediate spaces opposite the first die profile projections, forming the inner profile of the preform wall, and
wherein the second forming die has, as the shape imparting die profile, a second shape imparting die profile having second die profile projections and second die profile intermediate spaces formed between the second die profile projections, as seen in figure 4.
In reference to claim 14, the second die opening of the second forming die (58) has an opening cross section (66) that is smaller than a preform cross section of the preform extending perpendicularly to the preform axis, with the cross section of the preform being reduced due to the axial die movement of the second forming die and an associated exceeding of the flow limit of the material of the preform wall, as seen in figure 3.
In reference to claim 15, House discloses a method for forming a tubular hollow body (T) having a hollow body wall made of a plastically deformable material and a hollow body axis extending in the longitudinal direction of the hollow body, the method comprising the steps of
arranging a forming die (58) on the outer side of the hollow body and provided with a die opening designed for receiving the hollow body,
arranging a mandrel in an interior of the hollow body and provided on a circumference with a shape imparting mandrel profile (68, 76) having mandrel profile projections and mandrel profile intermediate spaces formed between the mandrel profile projections, with the mandrel profile projections and the mandrel profile intermediate spaces extending along the hollow body axis on the mandrel arranged in an interior of the hollow body, and the mandrel profiled intermediate spaces opening towards an axially parallel inner side of the hollow body wall [see figure 4; col. 3 lines 17-24],
drawing the hollow body (T) through the die (58) and along the mandrel arranged in the interior of the hollow body, wherein material of the hollow body wall flows into the mandrel profile intermediate spaces of the mandrel due to the axial movement of the hollow body and an associated exceeding of the flow limit of the material of the hollow body wall, forming an inner profile of the hollow body wall,
wherein the forming die (58) is provided at the die opening with a shape imparting die profile having die profile projections and die profile intermediate spaces formed between the die profile projections wherein when hollow body is drawn
the die profile projections and the die profile intermediate spaces extend along the hollow body axis and the die profile intermediate spaces open towards an axially parallel outer side of the hollow body wall and
die profile projections arranged on the axially parallel outer side of the hollow body wall and the mandrel profiled intermediate spaces arranged on the axially parallel inner side of the hollow body wall as well as die profiled intermediate spaces arranged on the axially parallel outer side of the hollow body wall and the mandrel profiled projections arranged on the axially parallel inner side of the hollow body wall in each case lie opposite to each other on the hollow body wall in a radial direction of the hollow body axis, with the die profile projections impinging material of the hollow body wall in a direction of the mandrel profiled intermediate spaces opposite the die profiled projections, forming the inner profile of the hollow body wall.
House further discloses the hollow body is connected to means for drawing the hollow body through the die [see col. 3 lines 32-35]. House discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the forming die is moved over the hollow body by a forming drive to perform the drawing.
However, Steinmetz et al teaches of a drawing process of a tubing where a forming drive comprising a die drive is provided to move a die (120) over a tube (200) in order to draw the tube through the die [see paragraph 0051].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a die drive for the die of House, in order to move the die over the hollow body to control the drawing of the hollow body therein.
In reference to claim 16, House discloses a method for forming a tubular hollow body (T) having a hollow body wall made of a plastically deformable material and a hollow body axis extending in the longitudinal direction of the hollow body, the method comprising a first method stage and a second method stage with the second method stage following the first method stage in the method,
a preform (17) of a finished formed hollow body being produced in the first method stage from the hollow body in an initial stage,
the preform being designed as a tubular hollow body having a preform wall made of a plastically deformable material and having a preform axis coinciding with the hollow body axis, and
in the second method stage, a subsequent form of the preform which has a subsequent form wall,
wherein in the first method stage
a first forming die (36) of a first forming device is arranged on an outer side of the hollow body in such a way that the first forming die receives the hollow body at a first die opening,
a first mandrel (76) of the first forming device is arranged in an interior of the hollow body and provided on a circumference with a first shape imparting mandrel profile having first mandrel profile projections and first mandrel profile intermediate spaces formed between the first mandrel profile projections, with the first mandrel profile projections and the first mandrel profile intermediate spaces extending along the hollow body axis on the first mandrel arranged in the interior of the hollow body, and the first mandrel profiled intermediate spaces opening towards an axial parallel inner side of the hollow body wall, and
the hollow body is drawn through the first forming die and along the first mandrel arranged in the interior of the hollow body, wherein material of the hollow body wall flows into the first mandrel profile intermediate spaces of the first mandrel due to the axial movement of the hollow body and an associated exceeding of the flow limit of the material of the hollow body wall, forming an inner profile of the preform wall [see figure 4], and
in the second method stage
a second forming die (58) of a second forming device is arranged on an outer side of the preform in such a way that the second forming die receives the preform at a second die opening (66),
a second mandrel (68) of the second forming device is arranged in an interior of the preform and provided on a circumference with a second shape imparting mandrel profile having second mandrel profile projections and second mandrel profile intermediate spaces formed between the second mandrel profile projections, with the second mandrel profile projections and the second mandrel profile intermediate paces extending along the preform axis on the second mandrel arranged in the interior of the preform, and the second mandrel profile intermediate spaces opening towards an axially parallel inner side of the preform wall and receiving the inner profile of the preform wall, and
wherein the second forming die (58) is provided at the second die opening with a shape imparting die profile having die profile projections and die profile intermediate spaces formed between the die profile projections, wherein when the hollow body is drawn
the die profile projections and the die profile intermediate spaces of the second forming die extend along the preform axis and the die profile intermediate spaces open towards an axially parallel outer side of the perform wall, and
die profile projections arranged on the axially parallel outer side of the preform wall and second mandrel profile intermediate spaces arranged on the axially parallel inner side of the preform wall as well as die profile intermediate spaces arranged on the axially parallel outer side of the preform wall and second mandrel profile projections arranged on the axially parallel inner side of the preform wall in each case lie opposite to each other on the preform wall in a radial direction of the preform axis, with the die profiled projections impinging material of the preform wall in a direction of the second mandrel profile intermediate spaces opposite the die profile projections, forming the inner profile of the subsequent form wall [see figures 3 & 4; col. 2 lines 47-58, col. lines 12-24, 32-43].
House further discloses the hollow body is connected to means for drawing the hollow body through the die [see col. 3 lines 32-35]. House discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the forming die is moved over the hollow body by a forming drive to perform the drawing.
However, Steinmetz et al teaches of a drawing process of a tubing where a forming drive comprising a die drive is provided to move a die (120) over a tube (200) in order to draw the tube through the die [see paragraph 0051].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a die drive for the die of House, in order to move the die over the hollow body to control the drawing of the hollow body therein.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725