DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen et al. (CN 113126371) in view of Inoue et al. (JP 10-186335).
Regarding claim 1, Wen et al. (figure 1) discloses a polymer dispersed liquid crystal film, comprising in this order:
a first transparent conductive film (see at least page 5, the first 4 paragraphs);
a polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer including a polymer matrix; and
a second transparent conductive film,
wherein the polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer includes a first region and a second region (31 and 32; see at least page 6, the last 6 paragraphs) that differ from each other in amount of change in haze caused by application of a voltage in plan view,
wherein the amount of change in haze of the first region caused by application of a voltage is smaller than the amount of change in haze of the second region caused by application of the voltage, and
wherein the liquid crystal droplets in the first region each include a non-polymerizable liquid crystal compound and a liquid crystal polymer (31 and 32);
wherein the liquid crystal droplets in the second region each include a non-polymerizable liquid crystal compound and a polymerizable liquid crystal compound (31-32).
The limitation, “wherein the polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer includes a first region and a second region that differ from each other in amount of change in haze caused by application of a voltage in plan view, wherein the amount of change in haze of the first region caused by application of a voltage is smaller than the amount of change in haze of the second region caused by application of the voltage, and wherein the liquid crystal droplets in the first region each include a non-polymerizable liquid crystal compound and a liquid crystal polymer” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Wen et al. discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Wen et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Wen et al. is silent regarding a polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer including a polymer matrix formed of a water-soluble resin or a water-dispersible resin and liquid crystal droplets dispersed in the polymer matrix. Inoue et al. (figure 1) teaches a polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer including a polymer matrix formed of a water-soluble resin or a water-dispersible resin and liquid crystal droplets dispersed in the polymer matrix (see at least page 6, the last two paragraphs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the polymer dispersed liquid crystal layer as taught by Inoue et al. in order to provide for reduction of angular birefringence of highly chiral LC systems, which advantageously reduces haze in applications such as switchable windows.
Regarding claim 3, Wen et al. (figure 1) discloses wherein the second region has a content weight ratio between the non-polymerizable liquid crystal compound and the polymerizable liquid crystal compound (non-polymerizable liquid crystal compound:polymerizable liquid crystal compound) of from 99:1 to 70:30 (see at least page 5, the first 4 paragraphs).
One of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 4, Wen et al. (figure 1) discloses wherein the liquid crystal polymer in each of the liquid crystal droplets of the first region is a polymerized product of the polymerizable liquid crystal compound in each of the liquid crystal droplets of the second region.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 5, Wen et al. (figure 1) discloses wherein a difference between the haze of the first region and the haze of the second region is increased by application of a voltage.
The limitation, “wherein a difference between the haze of the first region and the haze of the second region is increased by application of a voltage” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Wen et al. discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 6, Wen et al. (figure 1) discloses wherein the liquid crystal polymer in each of the liquid crystal droplets of the first region is in a non-aligned state.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Conclusion
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871