DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/9/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s remarks, Applicant mainly argues that Moss does not explicitly disclose “noise condition” and “noise information.”
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The central concept of present application is directed toward determining predicate associated with observed type of log data entries, and generate noise condition based on the observed type using conversion information. Based on broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the Specification, the combination of references teaches or at least suggests the limitations as claimed for the following reason.
Specifically, Moss is relied upon for disclosure of receiving log files indicating various types of anomalies or event surges, and converting the log entries into standardized format prior to generating event noise/noise condition (Moss: Fig. 2: identify and select surge to generate event noise/noise condition; [0036] and [0093]: aggregate and normalize logs from a variety of software components in a converged software stack, i.e. standardization of the selected conversion target data; [0101]-[0105]: determine content of the log event, i.e. condition, and classify the event data into different categories, e.g. DDOS attack). Although Moss does not explicitly disclose generating noise information based on noise conditions, Porras discloses establishing or generating pre-filter criteria/noise condition for identifying event data that are considered to be noise (Porras: col. 3 lines. 10-20: pre-filtering module set conditions to remove known noises or log entries that arise from non-hostile activity or activity from which useful filters cannot be reliably derived… match criteria that have been empirically identified as commonly occurring non-useful input; col. 4 lines 1-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to identify events that are noises based on conditions and event types associated with observed activities in event logs because they are analogous art involving analyzing log data to detect system anomalies. The motivation to combine would be to improve analytical efficiency based on specific data type.
Furthermore, the steps are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. converting using conversion method information included in conversion information) or for intended use (i.e. noise condition…for standardization, noise information configured for…), Applicant is advised to further clarify context and output result associated with the steps to distinguish from the prior art.
Accordingly, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive in light of above explanation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0406106 (hereinafter Moss) in view of Porras et al. U.S. Pat. No. 9,083,712 (hereinafter Porras).
As per claim 1, 5 and 9, Moss discloses an attack analysis support apparatus/method/non-transitory computer readable medium comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions; and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to:
acquire a predicate indicating a type of an attack included in an observation indicating a trace of the attack, or an observation type indicating a type of the observation corresponding to the predicate (Moss: [0004]; [0035]: receive log files containing event history indicating different type of event surge or anomalies; [0043]-[0048]: classify review error events);
using selection information that is included in conversion information associated with the predicate or the observation type and is configured for selecting conversion target data included in log management information for managing a log that includes traces of the attack, select conversion target data from the log management information (Moss: Fig. 2: select surge/target data from the log data to generate event/noise condition), generate a noise condition by converting the selected conversion target data using conversion method information for standardization of the selected conversion target data included in the conversion information. (Moss: [0036] and [0093]: aggregate and normalize logs from a variety of software components in a converged software stack, i.e. standardization of the selected conversion target data); and
generate information to be used for determination of whether or not the observation is relevant, in accordance with the condition generated for the log management information (Moss: [0004]: event noises are used to remove data from log analysis; [0101]-[0105]: classify event logs based on different conditions to show different anomalies, e.g. error events, alert events, status events).
Moss discloses removing certain error-event in the log files by identifying event surges as event noise based on periodic patterns (Moss: Figs. 2 and 3; [0004]). Moss does not explicitly disclose generate noise condition for noise information to filter out information that is not pertinent to the analysis. However, Porras discloses identifying event data that are considered to be noise based on certain conditions or event type (Porras: col. 3 lines. 10-20: pre-filtering module set conditions to remove noises or log entries that arise from non-hostile activity or activity from which useful filters cannot be reliably derived…match criteria that have been empirically identified as commonly occurring non-useful input; col. 4 lines 1-15). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to identify events that are noises based on conditions and event types associated with observed activities in event logs because they are analogous art involving analyzing log data to detect system anomalies. The motivation to combine would be to improve analytical efficiency based on specific data type.
As per claim 2, 6 and 10, Moss as modified discloses the limitations according to claims 1, 5 and 9 respectively. Moss as modified further discloses wherein search, using a search condition that was set in advance and configured for searching for noise, for noise information that matches the search condition, from the generated noise information (Moss: Fig. 2; [0101]-[0105]: classify event logs based on different conditions to show different anomalies, e.g. error events, alert events, status events).
As per claim 3, 7 and 11, Moss as modified discloses the limitations according to claims 1, 5 and 9 respectively. Moss as modified further discloses wherein determine whether or not the observation is noise using the generated noise information, and delete the observation from a storage device in a case of determining that the observation is noise (Moss: [0038]-[0039]; Porras: col. 3 lines. 10-20). Same rationale applies here as above in rejecting claim 1.
Claims 4, 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss in view of Porras and further in view of Porat et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0357966 (hereinafter Porat).
As per claim 4, 8 and 12, Moss as modified discloses the limitations according to claims 1, 5 and 9 respectively. Moss as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein generate output information for outputting the generated noise information to an output device; and acquire modification information, which is configured for modifying the conversion information and was generated by a user using the generated noise information, and modify the conversion information using the acquired modification information. However, Porat discloses detecting malicious threat based on deterministic algorithms and/or manually where new profiles are acknowledged by an administrator (Porat: [0131]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to implement deterministic algorithm and user input to analyze and classify events in event log because they are analogous art involving monitoring and analyzing event data/log to detect system anomaly. The motivation to combine would be to further refine rules to filter out irrelevant data set.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moss in view of Porras and further in view of Li et al. U.S. 2019/0050561 (hereinafter Li).
As per claim 13 and 14, Moss as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Moss as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, using the preset rule, in a case where the noise condition comprises multiple noise conditions generated from different selection information related to the log management information, execute the instructions to: generate the noise information by connecting the multiple noise conditions with a logical product or logical sum. However, Li discloses using logical operations to establish filters in threat detection system (Li: [0049]: the constraints can be connected by logical operations for tracking data). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use logical operations to filter out data based on combination of filtering conditions because Moss and Li are analogous art involving identifying and filtering specific data during data analysis. The motivation to combine would be to expand or narrow search result.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIN-HON (ERIC) CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431