DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meyer (WO 0013723 A2).
Regarding claim 1, Meyer discloses a needleless vial stopper (67) for a vial (66) defining a vial opening (A, annotated fig. 7C), the needleless vial stopper (67) comprising:
a body (F, annotated fig. 7C) having a first end (B, annotated fig. 7C) and a second end (C, annotated fig. 7C) positioned opposite the first end, the body (B) comprising a sealing portion (D, annotated fig. 7C) and a flange (E, annotated fig. 7C) extending radially outward from the sealing portion (D, annotated fig. 7C), the sealing portion (D) configured to be received by the vial opening (A) and form a seal with the vial (the seal traps the liquid and forms a leakproof peripheral seal, page 6 lines 13-16, page 7 lines 7-12), wherein the body (B) defines an opening (68) having a first open position (fig. 2, the equivalent for the stopper 64 not placed in a vial or tube; stopper can be opened with a needleless syringe being put in without being placed into a vial, page 10 lines 19-28; note that the claim language does not require the first open position to occur while the vial stopper is in a relaxed resting state - free of any manipulation) prior to insertion of the sealing portion into the vial opening, a closed position (fig. 7C) after insertion of the sealing portion into the vial opening, and a second open position (fig. 7D) when the body is engaged with a luer (63) of a needleless syringe (spigot 64 is fitted with the threads 70 of the stopper 67, fig. 7B, page 10 lines 19-28).
Note: Plug 67 is operationally the same as plug 15; 67 is a variation of plug 15 adapted for a vial top so it has an annular lip (fig. 7C) whereas plug 15 is used on a plain cylindrical container (fig. 1A), so teachings of various elements and functions are used between plug 15 and plug 67 interchangeably—the disclosure also equates the plugs (see abstract and page 10 lines 25-28).
Regarding claim 3, Meyer discloses the stopper of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the sealing portion (D) is circular in a cross-section extending perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the body (the vial is circular and the plug fits into the circular opening of the neck, figs. 7C, 7E).
Regarding claim 6, Meyer discloses the stopper of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the flange (E) is configured to engage a top surface of a neck of the vial (annotated fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 13, Meyer discloses the stopper of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the opening (68) of the body (B) is configured such that fluid can flow through the opening in the first and second open positions of the opening (stopper can be opened with a needleless syringe being put in without being placed into a vial, page 10 lines 19-28) and cannot flow through the opening in the closed position of the opening (spigot 64 is fitted with the threads 70 of the stopper 67, fig. 7B, page 10 lines 19-28).
Regarding claim 14, Meyer discloses the stopper of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the body comprises an elastomeric material (page 7 lines 13-16, page 10 lines 25-28).
Regarding claim 15, Meyer discloses the stopper of claim 1 and further discloses a needleless vial stopper (67) for a vial (66) defining a vial opening (A), the needleless vial stopper (67) comprising: a body (F) having a first end (B) and a second end (C) positioned opposite the first end, the body (B) comprising a sealing portion (D) and a flange (E) extending radially outward from the sealing portion (D, annotated fig. 7C), the sealing portion (D) configured to be received by the vial opening (A) and form a seal with the vial (the seal traps the liquid and forms a leakproof peripheral seal, page 6 lines 13-16, page 7 lines 7-12), wherein the body defines a frangible section (the slit 27/68 is precut and the connector is pushed through, page 3 lines 3-9) configured to define an opening (68) through the body upon engagement with a luer (63) of a needleless luer syringe (spigot 64 is fitted with the threads 70 of the stopper 67, fig. 7B, page 10 lines 19-28), the opening configured to move to a closed position when not engaged with the luer of the needleless luer syringe (see figs. 3A-3E that show the opening of the slit 27 which is equivalent to slit 68 and the same operation happens with figs. 7C and 7D; “when the connector is unscrewed, the slit closes up” from abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4-5, 7-9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer (WO 0013723 A2).
Regarding claim 2, Meyer discloses the vial stopper of claim 1, however fails to disclose wherein the sealing portion is oval-shaped in a cross-section extending perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the body.
Meyer discloses the plugs are made of an elastomeric material and since the claim language does not require the sealing portion to be in contact with any vial opening and could be in that first open state wherein the stopper is outside of a vial, nor requires how the sealing portion arrives at the oval cross-section, the stopper of Meyer is fully capable of achieving an oval-shaped cross-section that extends perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the body because the elastic material obviously allows for such a shape when compressed.
Regarding claim 4, Meyer discloses the vial stopper of claim 1, however the stopper 67 adapted for a vial does not disclose wherein the sealing portion comprises an annular sealing rib.
The stopper 15 of Meyer has an annular sealing rib (30, 31, 32, page 7 lines 7-12).
Although stoppers/plugs 15 and 67 are functionally the same thing; the stopper 67 for a vial does not have the annular beads to add extra leak protection likely because the flange around the top of the vial provides the necessary protection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stopper 67 of Meyer and incorporate the annular rib of the stopper 15 of the same reference to add extra leak protection and bolster the peripheral seal (page 7 lines 7-12).
Regarding claim 5, Meyer discloses the vial stopper of claim 2 and further discloses wherein the opening of the body has a width of 0.0-0.020 inches when the opening is in the first open position (the pre-cut slit self-seals in the absence of a spigot present in the vial stopper; therefore, would have a width of zero, abstract and page 3 lines 3-9).
Regarding claims 7-9, Meyer discloses the stopper of claim 1. However, the stopper 67 adapted for a vial does not disclose:
(Claim 7) wherein the body defines a first passageway extending from the first end of the body to a position intermediate the first and second ends of the body, and wherein the body defines a second passageway extending from the second end of the body to a position intermediate the first and second ends of the body;
(Claim 8) wherein the first passageway and the second passageway each comprise a frustoconical surface;
(Claim 9) wherein the opening of the body is positioned between the first passageway and the second passageway.
The embodiment of stopper 15 of Meyer discloses:
(Claim 7) wherein the body defines a first passageway (H, annotated fig. 2) extending from the first end of the body to a position intermediate the first and second ends of the body, and wherein the body defines a second passageway (I, annotated fig. 2) extending from the second end of the body to a position intermediate the first and second ends of the body;
(Claim 8) wherein the first passageway (area H has a recess 28 that fits the narrow spigot end of the incoming syringe, see tapered tip in fig. 3B) and the second passageway (I) each comprise a frustoconical surface (annotated fig. 2);
(Claim 9) wherein the opening (27) of the body is positioned between the first passageway (H) and the second passageway (I).
Although stoppers/plugs 15 and 67 are functionally the same thing; the stopper 67 for a vial does not have the same frustoconical passageways surrounding the opening, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stopper 67 of Meyer and incorporate the passageways because Figure 3E shows the tip rested against the second passageway providing stability for the nose of the syringe.
Regarding claim 12, Meyer discloses the stopper of claim 1. However, the stopper 67 adapted for a vial does not disclose wherein a maximum diameter of the sealing portion of the body is larger than a diameter of the vial opening of the vial.
The embodiment of stopper 15 of Meyer discloses wherein a maximum diameter of the sealing portion of the body is larger than a diameter of the vial opening of the vial (page 7 lines 7-12).
Although stoppers/plugs 15 and 67 are functionally the same thing; the stopper 67 for a vial does not disclose a diameter, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stopper 67 of Meyer and incorporate the larger diameter to effectively plug the vial opening and prevent leaks (page 7 lines 7-12).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer (WO 0013723 A2) in view of Yatsko et al. (US 5433330 A, hereafter “Yatsko”).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Meyer discloses the stopper of claim 1. However, Meyer fails to disclose:
(Claim 10) wherein the sealing portion comprises a transverse passageway extending in a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the body;
(Claim 11) wherein the transverse passageway extends across an entire diameter of the sealing portion.
Yatsko teaches a similar device in the same field of endeavor:
(Claim 10) wherein the sealing portion comprises a transverse passageway (cross section 41, fig. 8) extending in a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the body (column 6 lines 54-67);
(Claim 11) wherein the transverse passageway (41) extends across an entire diameter of the sealing portion (37, fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stopper of Meyer and incorporated the wide slit of Yatsko to have more control over the force needed to penetrate the stopper (column 3 lines 26-40).
Conclusion
/ERIN A KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/SUSAN S SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781 12 February 2026