DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 32, and 36 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 26-28, 32, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koullick et al. (US 20040220510 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Koullick discloses a ventricular catheter portion of a hydrocephalus shunt (10) comprising: a proximal end portion (B, annotated fig. 2) and a distal end portion (A, fig. 1 and annotated fig. 2, para. [0036]; note that the claim does not explicitly denote where each portion starts or ends);
wherein the proximal end portion (B, annotated fig. 2) is comprised of tubing (11) terminating in a proximal tip (22, para. [0036, 0056], fig. 2), wherein the tubing comprises a first material which comprises a fluorinated material (agent 20 is positioned in or on the surface of the shunt 10, para. [0039]; the agent may be coated onto or impregnated into the material utilized to produce the shunt walls and may be fluoropolymers or polytetrafluoroethylenes, para. [0054]);
wherein the distal end portion (A) is comprised of tubing (wall structure 26, para. [0056]) that is comprised of a second material selected from the group consisting of a non-fluorinated polymer, non-perfluorinated polymer, silicone elastomer (biocompatible elastomer material, such as silicone, para. [0006, 0056]), fluorosilicone elastomer, or perfluorosilicone elastomer; and
wherein the tubing of the proximal end portion and the tubing of the distal end portion have a lumen (28) with an open end of the lumen distal to the proximal tip (annotated fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Koullick discloses the device of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the first material comprises one or more of: PFA, PTFE (para. [0054]), FEP, ePTFE, EFEP, ETFE, PVDF, VF2/HFP, VF2/tetrafluoro ethylene/HFP terpolymer, a fluoroelastomer, and/or a perfluoroelastomer.
Regarding claim 26, Koullick discloses a method of making a ventricular catheter portion of a medical device according to claim 1, the method comprising preparing all or part of the proximal end portion or the distal end portion by one or more of: machining away excess material, drilling, laser cutting, laser drilling, extrusion, co-extrusion, injection molding, compression molding, melt spinning, electrospinning, dip coating (para. [0054]), blowing, foaming, over-molding, and chemical vapor deposition.
Regarding claim 27, Koullick discloses the method of claim 26 and further discloses wherein the proximal portion and/or distal end portion comprise a fluoropolymer and/or perfluoropolymer present on at least a portion of their exterior surfaces (32, para. [0056]), wherein the fluoropolymer or perfluoropolymer containing exterior surface is formed by a method selected from the group consisting of: extrusion, co-extrusion, injection molding, compression molding, melt spinning, electrospinning, dip coating (para. [0054]), blowing, and/or foaming.
Regarding claim 28, Koullick discloses a ventricular catheter portion of a hydrocephalus shunt (10) made by the method of claim 26 (para. [0005, 0056]).
Regarding claim 32, Koullick discloses a hydrocephalus shunt (10) comprising a ventricular catheter portion (para. [0067]) of claim 1.
Regarding claim 36, Koullick discloses a method of treatment comprising implanting the hydrocephalus shunt of claim 32 in an animal (para. [0005]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8, 20-25, 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koullick et al. (US 20040220510 A1) in view of Jones et al. (WO 2020077161 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Koullick discloses the device of claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein the first material comprises ePTFE.
Jones teaches a similar device in the same field of endeavor comprising ePTFE (para. [0030]).
Koullick discloses PTFE, not ePTFE and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used ePTFE as shown in Jones with predictable results, namely, a flexible and porous material commonly used for medical implants.
Regarding claim 8, Koullick discloses the device of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the distal end portion (A) comprises a tube comprised of a silicone elastomer (para. [0006, 0056]), fluorosilicone elastomer, and/or perfluorosilicone elastomer; and wherein the tubing of the distal end portion (A) is mechanically attached to the tubing (11) of the proximal end portion to create a ventricular catheter portion having a continuous lumen (28, fig. 1 and annotated fig. 2).
However, Koullick fails to disclose the tubing of the proximal end portion is comprised of ePTFE.
Jones teaches ePTFE (para. [0030]).
Koullick discloses PTFE, not ePTFE and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used ePTFE as shown in Jones with predictable results, namely, a flexible and porous material commonly used for medical implants.
Regarding claim 20, Koullick discloses the device of claim 1. However, Koullick fails to disclose wherein at least a portion of a surface of the proximal end portion, or a portion of a surface of both the proximal end portion and the distal end portion is coated with one or more fluorinated liquids, one or more perfluorinated liquids, or a combination of one or more fluorinated liquids and/or one or more perfluorinated liquids.
Jones teaches wherein the medical device is coated with one or more fluorinated liquids, one or more perfluorinated liquids, or a combination of one or more fluorinated liquids and/or one or more perfluorinated liquids (para. [0027, 0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the liquid coating as shown in Jones to prevent thrombus formation, cell adhesion, and biofilm adhesion/growth (para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Koullick and Jones discloses the device of claim 20. However, Koullick fails to disclose wherein the fluorinated liquid, the perfluorinated liquid, or the combination of one or more fluorinated liquids and/or one or more perfluorinated liquids comprises a fluoroalkane or perfluoroalkane.
Jones teaches wherein the fluorinated liquid, the perfluorinated liquid, or the combination of one or more fluorinated liquids and/or one or more perfluorinated liquids comprises a fluoroalkane or perfluoroalkane (para. [0027, 0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the liquid coating as shown in Jones to prevent thrombus formation, cell adhesion, and biofilm adhesion/growth (para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Koullick and Jones discloses the device of claim 20. However, Koullick fails to disclose wherein greater than 50%, 75%, 80%, or 90%, or 100%, of an exterior surface of the proximal end portion, the distal end portion, or both the proximal end portion and the distal end portion is comprised of a fluoropolymer and/or perfluorinated polymer and is coated with the fluorinated liquid, perfluorinated liquid, or a combination of one or more fluorinated liquids and/or perfluorinated liquids.
Jones teaches wherein greater than 50%, 75%, 80%, or 90%, or 100%, of an exterior surface of the proximal end portion, the distal end portion, or both the proximal end portion and the distal end portion is comprised of a fluoropolymer and/or perfluorinated polymer and is coated with the fluorinated liquid, perfluorinated liquid, or a combination of one or more fluorinated liquids and/or perfluorinated liquids (para. [0027, 0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the liquid coating as shown in Jones to prevent thrombus formation, cell adhesion, and biofilm adhesion/growth (para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Koullick and Jones discloses the device of claim 20. However, Koullick fails to disclose wherein the one or more fluorinated liquids, the one or more perfluorinated liquids, or the combination of one or more fluorinated liquids and/or perfluorinated liquids comprises, consists essentially of, or consists of one or more perfluorinated liquids.
Jones teaches wherein the one or more fluorinated liquids, the one or more perfluorinated liquids, or the combination of one or more fluorinated liquids and/or perfluorinated liquids comprises, consists essentially of, or consists of one or more perfluorinated liquids (para. [0027, 0030, 0033]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Koullick and Jones discloses the device of claim 20. However, Koullick fails to disclose wherein the one or more fluorinated liquids, the one or more perfluorinated liquids, or the combination of one or more fluorinated liquids and/or one or more perfluorinated liquids comprises greater than:
(i) 50%, 60%, 70%, 80%, 90%, 95%, or 98% of one or two fluorinated and/or perfluorinated compounds on a weight basis;
(ii) 50%, 60%, 70%, 80%, 90%, 95%, or 98% of fluorinated compounds on a weight basis;
(iii) 50%, 60%, 70%, 80%, 90%, 95%, or 98% of perfluorinated compounds on a weight basis; or
(iv) 50%, 60%, 70%, 80%, 90%, 95%, or 98% of fluorinated and/or perfluorinated compounds on a weight basis.
Jones teaches a variety of fluorinated and/or perfluorinated liquids, their potential compounds, and that a combination can be used (para. [0033]) but does not expressly disclose percentages by weight of the various compounds. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquid of Jones to have a composition as any of the many options listed above as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Koullick and Jones discloses the device of claim 20. However, Koullick fails to disclose wherein the one or more fluorinated liquids, the one or more perfluorinated liquids, or the combination of one or more fluorinated liquids and/or one or more perfluorinated liquids comprises: perfluoropropane, perfluorobutane, perfluoropentane, perfluorohexane, perfluorooctane, perfluorodecalin, perfluoroperhydrophenanthrene, perfluorooctylbromide, perfluoro tributyl amine, perfluorotripentyl amine, poly(hexa)fluoropropylene oxide, or combinations thereof.
Jones teaches wherein the one or more fluorinated liquids, the one or more perfluorinated liquids, or the combination of one or more fluorinated liquids and/or one or more perfluorinated liquids comprises: perfluoropropane, perfluorobutane, perfluoropentane, perfluorohexane, perfluorooctane, perfluorodecalin, perfluoroperhydrophenanthrene, perfluorooctylbromide, perfluoro tributyl amine, perfluorotripentyl amine, poly(hexa)fluoropropylene oxide, or combinations thereof (para. [0033]).
Regarding claim 29, Koullick discloses the device of claim 1. However, Koullick fails to disclose wherein the catheter is packaged in a sterile nonporous container coated with one or more fluorinated liquids, one or more perfluorinated liquids, or a combination of one or more fluorinated liquids and/or one or more perfluorinated liquids.
Jones teaches a medical device packaged in a sterile nonporous (liquid tight seal cover, para. [0012]) container coated with one or more fluorinated liquids, one or more perfluorinated liquids, or a combination of one or more fluorinated liquids and/or one or more perfluorinated liquids (para. [0012, 0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the packaging of Jones for the device of Koullick to maintain sterility of the device and prevent thrombus formation, cell adhesion, and biofilm adhesion/growth (para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 30, Koullick discloses the catheter of claim 1. However, Koullick fails to disclose wherein the catheter is packaged in a sterile nonporous container in the absence of one or more fluorinated liquids, one or more perfluorinated liquids, or a combination of one or more fluorinated liquids and/or one or more perfluorinated liquids; where the package either further comprises or is accompanied by a sterile aliquot of the one or more fluorinated liquids, one or more perfluorinated liquids, or the combination of one or more fluorinated liquids and/or one or more perfluorinated liquids.
Jones teaches a medical device packaged in a sterile nonporous (liquid tight seal cover, para. [0012]) container in the absence of one or more fluorinated liquids, one or more perfluorinated liquids, or a combination of one or more fluorinated liquids and/or one or more perfluorinated liquids (para. [0007-0008, 0012]); where the package either further comprises or is accompanied by a sterile aliquot of the one or more fluorinated liquids, one or more perfluorinated liquids, or the combination of one or more fluorinated liquids and/or one or more perfluorinated liquids (para. [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the packaging of Jones for the device of Koullick to maintain sterility of the device and prevent thrombus formation, cell adhesion, and biofilm adhesion/growth (para. [0040]).
Claim(s) 3, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koullick et al. (US 20040220510 A1) in view of Forcucci et al. (US 20160022970 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Koullick discloses the device of claim 1 and wherein the first material is a fluoropolymer. However, Hooven fails to disclose wherein the first material is a porous fluoropolymer, a porous perfluoropolymer, or a porous fluoropolymer-perfluoropolymer combination.
Forcucci teaches a medical implant wherein the material is a porous fluoropolymer, a porous perfluoropolymer, or a porous fluoropolymer-perfluoropolymer combination (unexpanded PTFE, para. [0137]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluoropolymer of Koullick to be a flexible, biocompatible, non-absorbable material like porous PTFE (para. [0137]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Koullick and Forcucci discloses the device of claim 3. Koullick further discloses wherein the second material of the catheter comprises an elastomer, silicone (para. [0006, 0056]), fluorosilicone, perfluorosilicone, or polyurethane.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Koullick and Forcucci discloses the device of claim 5. Koullick further discloses wherein the section where the tubing of the proximal end portion and the tubing of the distal end portion join or overlap extends from 0 to 1 cm (the overlap is 0 cm, see fig 1 and annotated fig. 2), from 1 cm to 2 cm, from 2 cm to 3 cm, from 3 cm to 4 cm, from 4 cm to 5 cm, from 5 cm to 6 cm, from 6 cm to 7 cm, from 7 cm to 8 cm, from 8 cm to 9 cm, from 9 cm to 10 cm, from 10 cm to 11 cm, from 11 cm to 12 cm, from 12 cm to 13 cm, or from 13 cm to 14 cm.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN A KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/SUSAN S SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781 22 October 2026