DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “predominantly” in claims 16 and 24 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “predominantly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) s 11-12, 14-20, 22-28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102()a)(2) as being anticipated by Slaughter-Zrostlik et al. (US 12158291 B1).
As per claim 11, Slaughter-Zrostlik et al. disclose an elastocaloric element for a temperature control system (Fig. 6D; etc.), wherein the elastocaloric element 10C comprises an elastic carrier 20 and a coating 30 applied to the carrier (elastocaloric materials 30 coat top and bottom sides of carrier 20), wherein the carrier consists at least partly of a plastic (col. 15, line 53; etc.) and the coating consists at least partly of an elastocaloric material (col. 15, lines 64-65; etc.).
As per claim 12, Slaughter-Zrostlik et al. disclose wherein the coating has a layer thickness of up to 200 µm (col. 13, line 9 re. .2mm thickness (i.e., 200 µm)).
As per claim 14, Slaughter-Zrostlik et al. disclose wherein the carrier is reversibly stretchable up to an elastic limit of at least 2% (col. 15, lines 41-42; etc.).
As per claim 15, Slaughter-Zrostlik et al. disclose wherein the elastocaloric material is a shape memory alloy (col. 10, lines 15-17; etc.).
As per claim 16, Slaughter-Zrostlik et al. disclose wherein the carrier is formed as a carrier body with an at least predominantly constant cross-section (Fig. 6D, etc., show constant cross-section).
As per claim 17, Slaughter-Zrostlik et al. disclose wherein the carrier is formed with a ring-shaped, star-shaped, or cross-shaped cross- section (Fig. 39 shows a ring-shaped example).
As per claim 18, Slaughter-Zrostlik et al. disclose wherein the carrier is formed as a spring (Fig. 6D shows a cantilever spring arrangement).
As per claim 19, Slaughter-Zrostlik et al. disclose a temperature control system (Fig. 6D; etc.) having an elastocaloric element 10C, comprising: an elastic carrier 20 and a coating 30 applied to the carrier, wherein the carrier consists at least partly of a plastic (col. 15, line 53; etc.) and the coating consists at least partly of an elastocaloric material (col. 15, lines 64-65; etc.).
As per claims 20 and 22-26, see corresponding claims 12 and 14-18 above, respectively.
As per claim 27, Slaughter-Zrostlik et al. disclose a temperature control system, comprising an elastocaloric element, the elastocaloric element comprising: an elastic carrier and a coating applied to the carrier, wherein the carrier consists at least partly of a plastic and the coating consists at least partly of an elastocaloric material. While Slaughter-Zrostlik et al. do not teach the temperature control system being on a motor vehicle, such is considered intended use recited within preamble not reading particular life or meaning to the body of the claim, and thus is not accorded patentable weight. (Nevertheless, for the record, it is noted that Sharar et al. (US 2020/0088449 A1) teach that electrocaloric heating/cooling can be used generally to replace vapor compression systems in various contexts, including vehicles – see for example para. 0067.)
As per claims 28 and 30, see corresponding claims 12 and 14 above, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 20, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slaughter-Zrostlik et al.
As per claims 13, 20, and 29, Slaughter-Zrostlik et al. do not teach wherein the coating has a layer thickness in the range from 5 µm to 100 µm, although do teach a thickness of 200 µm (col. 13, line 9). The exact thickness of the coating is considered a result effective variable that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to arrive at through routine experimentation for the purpose of achieving optimal elastocaloric temperature control effect.
Conclusion
/MARC E NORMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763