DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 2, 3 and 6-8 in the reply filed on 29 September 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 4, 5 and 9-25 are withdrawn from consideration.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “gripping means” (claims 2 and 3) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “22” has been used to designate “handle extensions (22)”; “hooks (22)” and “fastening means (22)” (see at least [0062] of the instant publication).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “20” has been used to designate “handle extensions”; and “mounting means” (see [0060] of the instant publication which recites “mounting means (handle extensions) (20)”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use. As outlined below, “(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S)” should precede “(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.” Additionally, “(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS” should commence on a separate sheet and thus should not be listed as part of the disclosure in the Specification.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3 and 5-8 are objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of reference characters in the claims do not afford patentable weight to the claims and should therefore be deleted.
At line 4 of claims 2 and 3, “said mounting means” should apparently read –wherein said mounting means--. Appropriate correction is required.
In claims 6-8, “characterized in that” should apparently read –wherein--.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2 (at lines 3 and 4) and claim 3 (at lines 3, 4 and 9), the term "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
At lines 4, 5 and 7 of claim 2, it is unclear if “said mounting means” refers to “two mounting means” recited in line 4, or “at least one mounting means” recited at line 3.
At line 6 of claim 2, it is unclear if “said fastening means” refers to “two fastening means” recited in line 3, or “at least one fastening means” recited at line 2.
At lines 4, 5 and 7 of claim 3, it is unclear if “said mounting means” refers to “two mounting means” recited in line 4, or “at least one mounting means” recited at line 3.
At lines 6, 7 and 9 of claim 3, it is unclear if “said fastening means” refers to “two fastening means” recited in line 3, or “at least one fastening means” recited at line 2.
At line 8 of claim 3, it is unclear which limitation “it” references.
Claim limitation “gripping means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Paragraphs [0015]-[0017] of the instant publication appear to refer to a “gripping means” but it is unclear what constitutes the equivalent structure absent any clear structure as defined in those paragraphs or a corresponding reference character in the drawings (noted above). Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
At line 2 of claim 7, it is unclear which “the mounting means” is being referenced as claim 2 recites “two mounting means” and “at least one mounting means”.
At lines 2, 3 and 4 of claim 7, it is unclear which “the mounting means” is being referenced as claim 2 recites “two mounting means” and “at least one mounting means”.
Regarding claim 8 (at lines 2 and 3), the term "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Troutman (U.S. Patent No. 7,458,114). Regarding claim 2, Troutman teaches a device for lying and translocating of an infant comprising:
support means (play yard having rail/railing 24 – Figs. 1, 10-12 and col. 2, lines 37-45 and col. 3, lines 9-20),
a hammock with a lying area (310, 330, 400, 402)
at least one fastening means (“primary clip” 10, 210, 350) for fastening the hammock to the support means (Fig. 1, 6-7 and 10-14; col. 2, lines 31-50; col. 6, lines 65-67 – col. 7, lines 1-6; col. 7, lines 65-67 – col. 8, lines 1-26), and
at least one mounting means (176, 252, 66), wherein said mounting means is designed to spread the lying area at least partially while translocating the infant (see Figs. 10, 13), and
said mounting means (176, 252, 66) is reversibly mountable and detachable from said fastening means (“primary clip” 10, 210, 350) (as shown and described with respect to Figs. 12 and 13; col. 9, lines 3-19 and col. 10, lines 39-49),
wherein said mounting means (176, 252, 66) further comprises gripping means (see reproduction of Fig. 11 below).
[AltContent: textbox ([img-media_image1.png])]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (“gripping means”)]
Regarding claim 3, Troutman teaches a device for lying and translocating of an infant comprising:
support means (play yard having rail/railing 24 – Figs. 1, 10-12 and col. 2, lines 37-45 and col. 3, lines 9-20),
a hammock with a lying area (310, 330, 400, 402)
at least one fastening means (“primary clip” 10, 210, 350) for fastening the hammock to the support means (Fig. 1, 6-7 and 10-14; col. 2, lines 31-50; col. 6, lines 65-67 – col. 7, lines 1-6; col. 7, lines 65-67 – col. 8, lines 1-26), and
at least one mounting means (176, 252, 66), wherein said mounting means is designed to spread the lying area at least partially while translocating the infant (see Figs. 10, 13), and
said mounting means (176, 252, 66) is reversibly mountable and detachable from said fastening means (“primary clip” 10, 210, 350) (as shown and described with respect to Figs. 12 and 13; col. 9, lines 3-19 and col. 10, lines 39-49),
wherein said mounting means (176, 252, 66) further comprises gripping means (see reproduction of Fig. 11 above) and
the fastening means (“primary clip” 10, 210, 350) is connected to the support means (play yard having rail/railing 24) in such a way, that it facilitates a movement of the fastening means (sliding the clip along the rail/railing or pulling it vertically off the rail/railing via lip 228 – col. 8, lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 6, the gripping means (shown in Fig. 11 above) is designed in an arcuate shape.
Regarding claim 7, the gripping means (shown in Fig. 11 above) protrudes from the mounting means (176, 252, 66).
Regarding claim 8, at least one surface of the gripping means (shown in Fig. 11 above) is at an angle to the mounting means (176, 252, 66) of about 90° (as shown in Fig. 11 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0271243; and U.S. Patent No. 6,526,608.
/CHRISTINE H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791