DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Claims
This Final Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on July 29th, 2026 for application no. 18/688,488 filed on March 1st, 2024. Claims 14-20 and 22-27 are pending. In the present amendment, claims 14, 20, 22 and 25-26 are amended, claim 27 is new, and claim 21 is canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 7th, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement was considered by the Examiner.
Specification
Amendments to the abstract filed July 29th, 2026 are supported by the original disclosure and are not considered new matter. Examiner withdraws the objection to the specification previously mentioned in the Office Action mailed May 15th, 2026 and the amendment to the abstract is accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-20 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herion-Werke (DE 82 12 371), in view of Niederhofer (DE 10 2018 124 310).
Herion-Werke was cited on the Third-Party Submission filed March 23rd, 2026. See translation provided to Applicant with the Office Action mailed May 15th, 2026.
Niederhofer was cited on the IDS filed March 1st, 2024. See translation provided to Applicant with this Office Action.
Regarding Claim 14, Herion-Werke teaches an electromagnetic pressure control valve (see Fig. 1) for controlling an air pressure, comprising:
(a) a housing (15) having a compressed air supply connector (“port” 16) for connection to a compressed air supply (see Fig. 1), a compressed air outlet connector (“port” 14) for connection to a load (see Fig. 1), and a compressed air ventilating connector (“port” 12) for ventilation (see Fig. 1);
(b) an armature (“armature” 20) which supports a first valve body (“seals” 32) on a first end of the armature (20) and a second valve body (30) on a second end of the armature (20), the first end and the second end facing away from each other (see Fig. 1), and which can be displaced within the housing (15) by magnetic forces (via “solenoid coil” 18) counter to a spring force of at least one first spring (“spring” 26), so that it connects the compressed air outlet connector (14) selectively to the compressed air supply connector (16) or the compressed air ventilating connector (12; via 18 or 28);
(c) a first valve seat (“valve seat” 24) connected to the compressed air supply connector (16);
(d) a second valve seat (“valve seat” 22) connected to the compressed air ventilating connector (12);
wherein:
(e) the first valve body (32) forms, together with the first valve seat (24), an inlet valve (32, 24), and the second valve body (30) forming, together with the second valve seat (22), an outlet valve (30, 22), including:
(f) a permanent axial compressed air connection (via “central through-channel” 38) through the first valve body (32), through an interior of the armature (20) and through the second valve body (30), which compressed air connection includes at least one central axial through bore (38) of the armature (20), at least one first axial through opening (“opening” 34) in the first valve body (32), and at least one second axial through opening (34) in the second valve body (30), wherein:
(g) the first valve body (32) has a first radially inner portion (see Fig. 1) which closes the first valve seat (24) sealingly when the inlet valve (32, 24) is closed ([0020] – “Two valve elements in the form of seals 30 and 34 are installed in the magnetic armature 20, whereby the valve seat 22 can be opened and closed by means of the seal 30, while the valve seat 24 is opened and closed by means of the seal”), and a first radially outer portion (see Fig. 1) which has the at least one first axial through opening (34 of 32), and
(h) the second valve body (30) has a second radially inner portion (see Fig. 1) which closes the second valve seat (22) sealingly when the outlet valve (30, 22) is closed (see Fig. 1; see [0020]), and a second radially outer portion (see Fig. 1) which has the at least one second axial through opening (34 of 30).
Herion-Werke does not teach “wherein the second valve body is configured as a compressed air-permeable cage that supports, as a separate component within the cage, a second flexible sealing element made from at least one elastomer, the second sealing element constituting the second radially inner portion and being exposed at an end of the cage facing the second valve seat for direct sealing contact with the second valve seat”. In other words, the second valve body taught by Herion-Werke comprises a sealing element as an integral component instead of a two-piece construction.
Niederhofer teaches a valve body (Fig. 1, “sealing bodies” 8) is configured as a compressed air-permeable cage (“carrier” 19) that supports, as a separate component within the cage (19), a flexible sealing element (“sealing element” 18) made from at least one elastomer ([0027] – “wherein the sealing element 18 is formed from an elastomer”),
the sealing element (18) constituting a radially inner portion (see Figs. 1-2) and being exposed at an end of the cage (19) facing a valve seat (“openings” 4) for direct sealing contact with the valve seat (4; [0027] – “The sealing elements 8 are designed such that each sealing element 8 seals one of the openings 4, depending on the anchor position. In this process, one of the sealing bodies 8 is pressed against one of the openings 4 by the anchor position”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the integral second valve body taught by Herion-Werke with the two-piece second valve body taught by Niederhofer, such that “wherein the second valve body is configured as a compressed air-permeable cage that supports, as a separate component within the cage, a second flexible sealing element made from at least one elastomer, the second sealing element constituting the second radially inner portion and being exposed at an end of the cage facing the second valve seat for direct sealing contact with the second valve seat”, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized there was a reasonable expectation of success in substituting known elements, and have the obvious advantage of reliably sealing the second valve body taught by Herion-Werke. See MPEP 2144.06(II) – Substituting Equivalents Known for the Same Purpose and MPEP 2144.04(V)(C) – Making Separable.
Regarding Claim 15, Herion-Werke and Niederhofer teach the electromagnetic pressure control valve of claim 14,
Herion-Werke teaches wherein the permanent axial compressed air connection (Fig. 1, via 38) conducts compressed air from the compressed air supply connector (16) into the compressed air outlet connector (14) when, in the case of an open inlet valve (32, 24), the first valve body (32) is lifted from the first valve seat (24; position seen in Fig. 1) and, in the case of a closed outlet valve (30, 22), the second valve body (30) is seated sealingly on the second valve seat (22; position seen in Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 16, Herion-Werke and Niederhofer teach the electromagnetic pressure control valve of claim 14,
Herion-Werke teaches wherein the first valve body (Fig. 1, 32) is a first separate body (see Fig. 1) which is received within the central axial through bore (38) of the armature (20).
Regarding Claim 17, Herion-Werke and Niederhofer teach the electromagnetic pressure control valve of claim 14,
Herion-Werke teaches wherein the first valve body (Fig. 1, 32) is received axially displaceably within the central axial through bore (38) of the armature (20; [0028] – “Since it is necessary for alternating current magnets that the magnetic armature 20 makes metallic contact with the counter-armature 50, care must be taken to ensure that the seal 32 sits on the valve seat 24 and closes it before the magnetic armature 20 strikes the counter-armature 50. For this purpose, the seal is elastically supported by the spring 28”).
Regarding Claim 18, Herion-Werke and Niederhofer teach the electromagnetic pressure control valve of claim 14,
Herion-Werke teaches wherein the second valve body (Fig. 1, 30) is a second separate body (see Fig. 1) and is received in an axially fixed and non-rotational manner in the central axial through bore (38) of the armature (20; see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 19, Herion-Werke and Niederhofer teach the electromagnetic pressure control valve of claim 14,
Herion-Werke teaches wherein the first valve body (Fig. 1, 32) which is mounted axially displaceably in the central axial through bore (38) of the armature (20) is supported axially on the second valve body (30) by at least one second spring (“spring” 28; see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 20, Herion-Werke and Niederhofer teach the electromagnetic pressure control valve of claim 14,
Herion-Werke teaches wherein the first valve body (Fig. 1, 32) is a first flexible sealing element (32) which is made from at least one elastomer (see [0036]) and seals against the first valve seat (24) when the inlet valve (32, 24) is closed ([0036] – “The seals are preferably made of an elastic plastic material or a rubber material, such as Perbunan or Viton”).
Regarding Claim 22, Herion-Werke and Niederhofer teach the electromagnetic pressure control valve of claim 14,
Herion-Werke teaches wherein the first radially outer portion of the first valve body (Fig. 1, 32) and/or the second radially outer portion of the second valve body (30) have/has at least one radially outer slot (34) or at least one radially outer groove (34) for axial compressed air routing (see Fig. 1) wherein: (i) the at least one radially outer slot (34) or the at least one radially outer groove (34) forms the at least one first axial through opening (34 of 32), and/or (ii) the at least one radially outer slot (34) or the at least one radially outer groove (34) forms the at least one second axial through opening (34 of 30).
Regarding Claim 23, Herion-Werke and Niederhofer teach the electromagnetic pressure control valve of claim 14,
Herion-Werke teaches wherein at least one electric magnet coil (Fig. 1, “solenoid coil” 18) is received in the housing (15),
wherein the armature (20) is actuatable axially in a manner which is dependent on an electric excitation or de-energization of the at least one magnet coil (18) between a first axial position (position seen in Fig. 1), in which the second valve body (30) seals against the second valve seat (22) and the first valve body (32) is lifted from the first valve seat (24; see Fig. 1), and
a second axial position (not shown), in which the first valve body (32) seals against the first valve seat (24) and the second valve body (30) is lifted from the second valve seat (22).
Regarding Claim 24, Herion-Werke and Niederhofer teach the electromagnetic pressure control valve of claim 23,
Herion-Werke teaches wherein the electromagnetic pressure control valve is configured as: (a) a normally open pressure control valve, for which, when the magnet coil (Fig. 1, 18) is not energized, the inlet valve (32, 24) is open and the outlet valve (30, 22) is closed (position seen in Fig. 1; [0028] – “When the solenoid coil 18 is switched on, the solenoid armature 20 is attracted against the force of the spring 26, the valve seat 22 is opened and the valve seat 24 is closed”), or
(b) a normally closed pressure control valve, for which, when the magnet coil is not energized, the inlet valve is closed and the outlet valve is open.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant's arguments filed July 29th, 2026 are in response to the Office Action mailed May 15th, 2026. The Applicant's arguments have been fully considered.
Response to Claim Objections
Regarding Claims 14 and 25-26, Applicant’s amendment addresses various minor informalities indicated in the previous Office Action. As such, the relevant claim objections are withdrawn.
Response to Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding Claims 14, 20-22 and 25-26, Applicant’s amendment has clarified the invention. As such, the relevant 112(b) rejections indicated in the previous Office Action are withdrawn.
Response to Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and/or 103
Regarding Claim 14, Applicant has recited features that distinguish from those taught by the prior art of Herion-Werke; however, the claimed invention is still obvious in view of the prior art of record. See detailed and relevant rejections presented above.
In conclusion, amended claims 14-20 and 22-24 are rejected. See detailed and relevant rejections set forth above. Amended claims 25-26 are allowed and claim 27 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim. See allowable subject matter set forth below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims ---25-26 are allowed.
Claim 27 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for allowance, if applicable, will be the subject of a separate communication to the Applicant or patent owner, pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.104 and MPEP § 1302.14.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, Applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. The prior art of Batts (US 3,324,889) listed in the attached "Notice of References Cited" discloses a similar electromagnetic pressure control valve comprising an armature related to various aspects of the claimed invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES J. TAYLOR II
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655
/JAMES J TAYLOR II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655