DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on 12/11/2025. Currently claims 1-20 are pending in the application; with claims 15 withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102 as being anticipated over Semaan et al. (WO 2020/207940 A1), hereafter, referred to as “Semaan”.
Regarding claim 1, Semaan teaches a polyethylene film, comprising an outer layer (layer A), a core layer (layer B) and an inner layer (layer A) (claims 1, 5 and 13; page 6, lines 23-26; page 7, lines 5-8; and examples 1, 2). Semaan teaches that the core layer (B) is made of a core layer composition comprising a component (b1), which is a recycled low density ethylene polymer in an amount of at least 50 wt.% (claim 13; 65-75 wt.%), based on the total weight of the core layer composition, and a slip agent (claim 5). Semaan also teaches that the inner layer(A) is made of an inner layer composition comprising a component (a1; page 6, lines 23-26; page 7, lines 5-8; examples 1, and 2), which is a linear low density ethylene polymer having a density of from 910 to 925 kg/m3 and an MFR2 of from 0.5 to 2.0 g/10 min, determined according to ISO 1133. The use of the film as a “sealant film” is a matter of intended application.
Regarding claim 2, Semaan teaches a polyethylene sealant film, wherein the component is an ethylene copolymer having a density of from 916 to 920 kg/m3 (page 7, lines 5-8), and an MFR2 of from 1.2 to 1.8 g/10 min, determined according to ISO 1133 (page 6, lines 23-26).
Regarding claim 3, Semaan teaches a polyethylene sealant film, wherein the inner layer composition further comprises a component, which is an ethylene-based plastomer; by teaching to use a multimodal polymer of ethylene with at least two different comonomers selected from alpha-olefins having from 4 to 10 carbon atoms, which multi modal polymer of ethylene has a density in the range from 910 to 935 kg/m3 (overlapping the range of 860-915), and a Mw/Mn of 2 to 8 (overlapping the range of below 8) defining plastomeric properties.
Regarding claim 4, Semaan teaches a polyethylene sealant film, wherein the inner layer composition comprises a slip agent in an amount of from 50 to 5000 ppm, and/or an anti-block agent in an amount of from 50 to 5000 ppm, each being based on the total weight of the inner layer composition (claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, Semaan teaches a polyethylene sealant film, wherein the component AC (core layer, b1) has an MFR2 of from 0.25 to 1.0 g/10 min, determined according to ISO 1133, and/or a density of from 910 to 940 kg/m3 (claim 13).
Regarding claim 8, Semaan teaches a polyethylene sealant film, wherein the core layer composition comprises from 50 to 5000 ppm of the slip agent, based on the total weight of the core layer composition (claim 5).
Regarding claim 9, Semaan teaches a polyethylene sealant film, wherein the inner layer composition comprises from 20 to 60 wt. % of the component AI, and optionally from 40 to 80 wt. % of the component BI, each being based on the total weight of the inner layer composition; by teaching 5 to 25 wt.% of (a1), 50 to 90 wt. % (a3) (claim 3).
Regarding claim 16, Semaan teaches a polyethylene sealant film, wherein the component AI (inner layer, a2) is a multimodal ethylene terpolymer having a density of from 916 to 920 kg/m3 (page 13, lines 12-17); and an MFR2 of from 1.2 to 1.8 g/10 min, determined according to ISO 1133 (page 13, lines 19-22).
Regarding claim 17, Semaan teaches a polyethylene sealant film, wherein the component BI (inner layer, a1) is a copolymer of ethylene and a C3 to C10 alpha-olefin (claim 13) having an MFR2 of from 0.5 to 2.0 g/10 min, determined according to ISO 1133 (page 6, lines 23-26), and/or a density of from 880 to 912 kg/m3 (claim 13).
.
Regarding claim 18, Semaan teaches a polyethylene sealant film, wherein the component BC (core layer, b2) is a multimodal ethylene terpolymer (claim 13).
Regarding claim 19, Semaan teaches a polyethylene sealant film, wherein the component BC (core layer, b2) is present in an amount of from 10 to 50 wt. %, based on the total weight of the core layer composition. (claim 13).
Regarding claim 20, Semaan teaches a polyethylene sealant film, wherein the inner layer composition further comprises from 100 to 3000 ppm of the slip agent and from 200 to 4000 ppm of the anti-block agent, each being based on the total weight of the inner layer composition (claim 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Semaan et al. (WO 2020/207940 A1), in view of Farkas et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0370201 A1), hereafter, referred to as “Farkas”.
Regarding claim 5, Semaan teaches a polyethylene sealant film, wherein the layers comprise of slip agents. But Semaan fails to explicitly teach the use of fatty acid amides, such as erucamide, oleamide or stearamide, and combinations thereof as slip agents. However, Farkas teaches the use of slip agent of erucamide or other fatty acid amide, such as, oleamide. The slip agent lowers the coefficient friction of the film and allows it to slide readily over various surfaces (para. {0054]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Farkas and use a known technique of using slip agents that comprises a compound selected from the group consisting of fatty acid amides, such as erucamide, oleamide or stearamide, and combinations thereof, because that would lower the coefficient friction of the film and allows it to slide readily over various surfaces (KSR Rationale C, MPEP 2143).
Regarding claims 11, and 13, Semaan, in view of Farkas teaches a polyethylene sealant film, wherein the layers comprise of slip agents, wherein the slip agent lowers the coefficient friction of the film and allows it to slide readily over various surfaces. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any ordinary artisan that the composition and processing parameters would be optimized so that the final articles have desired frictional properties. Therefore, maintaining the polyethylene sealant film to have a dynamic coefficient of friction after 7 days of up to 0.30, determined according to ASTM D 1894, determined according to ASTM F 2029; ASTM F 88 (as claimed in claim 11); and the laminated polyethylene film to have a dynamic coefficient of friction after 4 days of up to 0.30, determined according to ASTM D1894 (as claimed in claim 13), would be a matter of optimization that would be performed under routine experimentation. Please see In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
Claims 10, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Semaan et al. (WO 2020/207940 A1), in view of Pey et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0346440 A1), hereafter, referred to as “Pey”.
Regarding claim 10, Semaan teaches a polyethylene sealant film, comprising of inner core, and outer layers. But Semaan fails to explicitly teach that the outer layer is made of an outer layer composition, which is different from the inner layer composition. However, Pey teaches in an exemplary embodiment where the sealant of the multilayer film comprises a sealant outer layer, a sealant inner layer, and a sealant core layer between the sealant outer layer and the sealant inner layer, wherein the multilayer film may comprise in each of the layers a polyethylene, in the form of a polyethylene composition comprising polyethylene with different densities (para. [0087]). The resultant laminate films are employed to prepare stand-up pouches (SUPs), with sufficient stiffness-related and toughness-related properties to ensure package integrity without distortion and rupture, especially during packaging and transportation (para. [0004]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Pey and use polyethylene of different density (composition) for the different layers including inner and outer layer, because that would allow to provide sufficient stiffness-related and toughness-related properties to ensure package integrity without distortion and rupture, especially during packaging and transportation by optimizing the inner and outer layer composition.
Regarding claims 12, and 14, Semaan, in view of Pey teaches a polyethylene sealant film, wherein the resultant laminate films adhered to a substrate, are employed to prepare stand-up pouches (SUPs) (equivalent to an article), with sufficient stiffness-related and toughness-related properties to ensure package integrity without distortion and rupture, especially during packaging and transportation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being directly or indirectly dependent upon rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitation of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indication of allowable subject
matter:
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of references (of record) does not teach or fairly suggest the (by themselves or in combination) a polyethylene sealant film comprising “wherein the core layer composition further comprises a component BC, which is a linear low density ethylene polymer having an MFRs of from 0.5 to 5 g/10 min, determined according to ISO 1133, and a density of from 920 to 940 kg/m3”
Responses to Arguments
Applicant’s argument filed on 12/11/2025, see page 5, for the 102 rejection of independent claim 1, has been fully considered. Applicant’s argument with respect to claim 1 has been considered, but is not persuasive. The examiner takes the position that the use of the film as a sealant film is a matter of intended application. Additionally, Semaan teaches that the core layer (B) is made of a core layer composition comprising a slip agent (claim 5). Finally, the argument that Semaan does not teach an inner layer that contains solely LLDPE is also not persuasive, as the claim recitation uses the word “comprising” which is open ended. Therefore, The Examiner maintains that based on the teaching of Semaan, the rejection set forth in this office action address the scope of the claim, and is relevant.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, with respect to the rejection of dependent claim 7, under 102 rejections have been fully considered, and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn, and the claim has been indicated as having allowable material.
Because the rejections are being maintained on the independent claim, and since there is no substantive arguments on the rejections against the references applied against rest of the dependent claims, these rejections are being maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD M AMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742