DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The examiner has noticed that claims 1, 7-9 and 15 have been amended. Claims 4, 5, and 16 are canceled; and new Claims 17-26 are added. Claims 1-3, 6-11, 15, and 17-26 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response, filed 07/01/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 USC § 102 and claim 15 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, claims 1 and 17 are rejected based on Rapporteur and Kim ('2105) and claim 15 is formulated under 103 Rejection based on Rapporteur, Kim ('2105) and further in view of ('7721).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Rapporteur (ZTE) 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e 25 January – 4 February 2021: Discussion on support of small data transmission in INACTIVE state R3-210192) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0422105).
Regarding claim 1, Rapporteur teaches an apparatus for performing a network function, the apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to (Section 2.2.2. and Fig. 4 describes performing a network function):
transmit an indication associated with small data transmission (SDT) scheme selection for a user equipment (UE) from a central unit (CU) to a distributed unit (DU) (Section 2.2.3. and 2.2.4., proposal 7 describes the CU transmitting a request/indication to the DU relating to whether CG-SDT should be configured. An indication associated with SDT scheme selection (CG vs. RACH). The CU’s request to the DU to configure the CG is a transmission of an indication associated with selecting between CG-SDT and RACH-SDT schemes);
receive, by the CU from the DU, first configured grant (CG)-SDT resource configuration information for the UE in response to CG-SDT being configured (Section 2.2.4., Proposal 7 and Method 1 describes that gNB-DU responds to the CU with a message containing CG configuration results. “CG-SDT resource configuration information” received by the CU from the DU);
and transmit, by the CU to the DU, a radio resource control (RRC) release message for causing the UE to enter into a non-connected state with the first CG-SDT resource configuration information (Section 2.2.3., Proposal 4 and Fig. 4 describes that the CU sends to the DU an RRC release message carrying CG resource configuration, which causes the UE to enter RRC_INACTIVE (a “non-connected state”));
Rapporteur doesn’t teach receive, by the CU from the DU, an indication of random access (RA)-SDT which indicates that RA-SDT is performed by the UE which has entered into the non-connected state caused by the RRC release message; and transmit, by the CU to the DU, an identity of the first CG-SDT resource configuration information so that CG-SDT resource configuration information is to be reconfigured for the UE based on the first CG-SDT resource configuration information after the RA-SDT.
However, in analogous art Kim teaches receive, by the CU from the DU, an indication of random access (RA)-SDT which indicates that RA-SDT is performed by the UE which has entered into the non-connected state caused by the RRC release message (Paragraphs [0402];[ 0403] describes after the UE has entered RRC_INACTIVE with CG-SDT resources configured, the UE performs a ransom-access-based RRC resume procedure (RA-SDT-type access using RACH) which the DU forwards to the CU in an F1AP initial UL RRC message transfer message. This forwarded RRC resume request signaling that the UE has again accessed the network via random-access/resume procedure while CG-SDT was configured);
and transmit, by the CU to the DU, an identity of the first CG-SDT resource configuration information so that CG-SDT resource configuration information is to be reconfigured for the UE based on the first CG-SDT resource configuration information after the RA-SDT (Paragraphs [404]; [0432] describes the old gNB-DU UE F1 AP ID transmitted from the CU to the DU as an Identity that points to or identifies the previously-configured (first) CG-SDT resource configuration. Upon receiving this identity, the DU retrieves and reuses/ reconfigures the CG-SDT resource configuration and UE context originally established for the UE).
Therefore, it would have been, obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rapporteur to incorporate the teachings of Kim a UE in an inactive/idle state can efficiently transmit small data using pre-configured resources (CG-SDT) or random access (Ra-SDT) to manage the transition between these modes, timer controls to prevent unnecessary connection establishment.
Regrading claim 2, Rapporteur in view of Kim, Rapporteur teaches wherein the indication associated with SDT scheme selection is an SDT indication indicating the DU whether a data radio bearer (DRB) or a quality of service (QOS) flow or a protocol data unit (PDU) session is subject to an SDT (Section 2.2.4., Proposal and method 1 describes the indication being sent “in response to the CU determining that CG-SDT is to be configured.” Proposals 1 and 2 establishing that CU-CP makes the SDT scheme determination, after which it transmits the indication to the DU).
Regrading claim 3, Rapporteur in view of Kim, Rapporteur teaches wherein the indication associated with SDT scheme selection is an SDT indication indicating the DU whether a data radio bearer (DRB) or a quality of service (QoS) flow or a protocol data unit (PDU) session is subject to an SDT (Section 2.2.1., 2.2.2., 2.2.3 and Proposal 2 describes an indication from the CU to the DU conveying which DRBs are subject to SD).
Regrading claim 11, Rapporteur in view of Kim, Rapporteur teaches wherein the indication associated with SDT scheme selection is an SDT indication indicating the DU whether a data radio bearer (DRB) or a quality of service (QOS) flow or a protocol data unit (PDU) session is subject to an SDT (Section 2.2.1., 2.2.2., 2.2.3 and Proposal 2 describes an indication from the CU to the DU conveying which DRBs are subject to SD),
and the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to determine whether CG-SDT is to be configured by the DU (Section 2.2.3. describes CG-SDT is to be configured by the DU).
Regarding claim 20, Rapporteur in view of Kim (2105), Kim (2105) teaches further comprising storing, by the CU, the first CG-SDT resource configuration information received from the DU (Paragraph [0238] describes storing, by the CU, the first CG-SDT resource configuration information received from the DU).
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 respectively.
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2 respectively.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3 respectively.
Claim(s) 6-8 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapporteur in view of Kim in further view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0247721).
Regarding claim 6, Rapporteur doesn’t teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, by the CU from the DU, a time alignment timer (TAT)-SDT; start, by the CU, the TAT-SDT in response to triggering a UE context release procedure; and stop, by the CU, the TAT-SDT in response to receiving small data or receiving a resume request message.
In analogous art Kim teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, by the CU from the DU, a time alignment timer (TAT)-SDT (Paragraphs [0370]; [0373] describes TAT-SDT being received via an RRC release message from DU);
start, by the CU, the TAT-SDT in response to triggering a UE context release procedure (Paragraphs [0307]; [0373]; [0375] describes starting of TAT-SDT to the receipt of an RRC release message. The RRC release message is the precise mechanisms by which a UE context release procedure is triggered, the base station (CU) sends the RRC Release to move the UE to RRC_INACTIVE, which is the UE context release procedure. Starting the TAT-SDT in response to the RRC release procedure);
and stop, by the CU, the TAT-SDT in response to receiving small data or receiving a resume request message (Paragraphs [0374]; [0376]; [0394] describes that upon SDT completion (small data is successfully received by the base station), the SDT procedure is terminated which inherently involves stopping the associated TAT-SDT, as there is no longer an active SDT window requiring TA validation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rapporteur and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Kim enabling a wireless device (UE) to transmit and receive small amounts of data without transitioning to a fully connected RRC state, avoiding the overhead of full RRC connection establishment.
Regarding claim 7, Rapporteur in view of Kim and kim (721) , Kim (721) teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to release, by the CU, logic F1 connection associated with the UE and related UE context in response to expiry of the TAT-SDT (Paragraphs [0108]; [0339]; [0373]-[0374] describes the release of CG-SDT resources upon TAT-SDT expiry, the CU instructing the DU over the F1 interface to release the UE-associated logical connection. The CG-SDT resources reside at the DU, and the only path for the CU to release them is through the F1 logical conception making F1 connection release an inherent consequence of TAT-SDT expiry -triggered resource release).
Regarding claim 8, Rapporteur in view of Kim and kim (721) , Kim (721) teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to release, by the CU from the DU, a UE context release request message for requesting the CU to release logic F1 connection associated with the UE, wherein the UE context release request message comprises a cause value indicating that the UE context release request message is caused by expiry of a time alignment timer (TAT)-SDT (Paragraphs [0108]; [0285]; [0309]; [0373]-[0374] describes CU/DU split architecture with F1 interface; DU detects TAT-SDT expiry and must notify CU via F1 request message. F1 logical connection binds DU/CU resources for each UE; release of all UE resources necessarily involves F1 connection release. TAT-SDT expiry established as discrete trigger for resource release).
Claim 21 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6 respectively.
Claim 22 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7 respectively.
Claim 23 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8 respectively.
Claim(s) 15 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0247721) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0422105).
Regarding claim 15, Kim (721) teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (Paragraphs [0083]- [0084] describes a wireless device):
receive, by the UE from a network side, a radio resource control (RRC) release message with first configured grant (CG)-SDT resource configuration information (Fig. 6a, Paragraphs [0238]-[0246] describes the UE receiving an RRC release message from gNB-DU that contains SDT configuration information);
enter into a non-connected state in response to receiving the RRC release message (Paragraphs [0246]; [0399] describes the UE entering RRC_INACTIVE (the “non-connected state”) upon receiving the RRC release message);
Kim (721) doesn’t teach store the first CG-SDT resource configuration information; and release the first CG-SDT resource configuration information in response to receiving a network indication indicating releasing the first CG-SDT resource configuration information.
However, in analogous art Kim (2105) teaches store the first CG-SDT resource configuration information (Paragraphs [0251]; [0399]-[0400] describes that because the UE, while remaining in RRC_INACTIVE, is later able to determine to perform the CG-based SDT procedure using previously received CG-SDT configuration, the UE must necessarily store the first CG-SDT resource configuration information received in the RRCRelease message during the intervening RRC_INACTIVE period);
and release the first CG-SDT resource configuration information in response to receiving a network indication indicating releasing the first CG-SDT resource configuration information (Paragraphs [0339]; [0342]; [0435] describes RRC resume message transmitted from the network to the UE is a network indication instructing the UE to fully resume all holds and transition into RRC_CONNECTED state. Because the CG_SDT resource configuration is a resource configuration that is applicable only while the UE remains in the suspended/RRC_INACTIVE state for performing CG-based SDT, receipt of the RRC resume message which cause the UE to transition out of RRC_INACTIVE into full RRC_CONNECTED operation and resume all holds normally and inherently causes the UE to release the previously stored, suspended state specific first CG_SDT resource configuration information ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified (721) to incorporate the teachings of Kim enabling a wireless device (UE) to transmit and receive small amounts of data without transitioning to a fully connected RRC state, avoiding the overhead of full RRC connection establishment.
Regarding claim 24, Kim (721) in view of Kim (2105), Kim (2105) teaches wherein the network indication is received in a second radio resource control (RRC) release message (Paragraphs [0200]; [0238] describes indication is received in a second radio resource control (RRC) release message).
Regarding claim 25, Kim (721) in view of Kim (2105), Kim (2105) teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to release the first CG-SDT resource configuration information in response to expiry of a time alignment timer (TAT)-SDT associated with the first CG-SDT resource configuration information (Paragraph [0373] describes UE releases the first CG-SDT resource configuration information in response to expiry of a time alignment timer (TAT)-SDT associated with the first CG-SDT resource configuration information)
Regarding claim 26, Kim (721) in view of Kim (2105), Kim (2105) teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to release the first CG-SDT resource configuration information in response to falling back to random access (RA)-SDT or non-SDT (Paragraphs [0238]; [0336] describes the UE releases the first CG-SDT resource configuration information in response to falling back non-SDT).
Conclusion
/M.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/KAN YUEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464