DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/1/2024, 2/13/2025 and 10/1/2025 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and a copy with initials is attached herewith.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 3/1/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1, 4-7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhao et al (CN 105810915 B)
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a positive electrode material for an electric device, comprising a positive electrode active material containing sulfur in the pores of a porous conductive material; and an electronic conductor, wherein the porous conductive material is a mesoporous carbon. Zhao teaches the mesoporous carbon spheres with sulfur in pores in direct contact with the C material and graphene, as electronic conductor, coating the surface of the mesoporous C/S composite and the size of the mesoporous carbon is 0.5-3 µm [Fig. 1-4; paragraph 0002, 0006-0054; claim 1].
Regarding claim 4, Zhao teaches graphene-coated sulfur-intercalated ordered mesoporous carbon sphere lithium-sulfur battery cathode materials, which further improves the performance of cathode materials [paragraph 0006, 0011, 0035].
Regarding claim 5, Zhao teaches graphene as electronic conductor, coating the surface of the mesoporous C/S composite [paragraph 0006, 0011, 0035].
Regarding claim 6, Zhao teaches that the size of the mesoporous carbon is 0.5-3 µm [paragraph 0052].
Regarding claim 7, Zhao teaches that the pore size of the porous conductive material is 5 nm or more [paragraph 0043].
Regarding claims 9-10, Zhao teaches an electric device comprising the positive electrode [paragraph 0004, 0051-0059].
7. Claim(s) 1, 4-6 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al (EP 3783703 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a positive electrode material for an electric device, comprising a positive electrode active material containing sulfur in the pores of a porous conductive material; and an electronic conductor, wherein the porous conductive material is a porous carbon. Kim teaches that porous carbon material can be carbon black or activated carbon, sulfur in pores in surface and coating shell with a conductive carbon which can include CNTs, CNFs, carbon black or activated carbon among others. The size of the porous C particles is 10-50 µm, assuming a similar size as that of the porous C/S composite particles [Fig. 1; paragraph 0016-0019, 0025-0055; claim 6].
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches that the carbon material of the coating improves electrical conductivity of the composite [paragraph 0038].
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches CNTs, CNFs, as electronic conductor, coating the surface of the C/S composite [paragraph 0037].
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches that the average primary particle size of the porous conductive material is 5 to 50 µm [paragraph 0055].
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches that the amount of the electronic conductor is 1.99 mass% with respect to an amount of the positive electrode active material containing sulfur [paragraph 0109-0114].
Regarding claims 9-10, Kim teaches an electric device comprising the positive electrode [claims 9 and 11].
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches that the electric device is an all solid lithium secondary battery [paragraph 0102].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (EP 3783703 A1) as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Ariga et al (US 20220223920 A1).
Regarding claims 2-3, Kim remain silent that the positive electrode material further comprising an electrolyte in the pores of the porous conductive material. However, it is known in the art to utilize electrolyte in the pores of the porous conductive material wherein the electrolyte is a sulfide solid electrolyte as taught by Ariga [paragraph 0049]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
/MUHAMMAD S SIDDIQUEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723