DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Pub No. 2021/0234159)
Regarding Claim 1, Kim et al. teaches a positive electrode material for an electric device [Fig. 1, 0024-0025, Abstract], the positive electrode material comprising:
composite material particles [sulfur carbon composite, Fig. 1, abstract, 0066] containing a positive electrode active material containing sulfur in pores of a porous conductive material [0007, claim 1]; and
an electronic conductor coating [coating layer, Fig. 1, Abstract, 0048] a surface of the composite material particles [0041, 0066],
wherein the porous conductive material is particulate [0066], an average primary particle size of the porous conductive material 10-50 um overlapping the claimed 2 um to 50 µm [0066],
the electronic conductor is at least one selected from a group consisting of carbon fiber,
graphene, and carbon nanotube [0127],
the positive electrode active material containing sulfur is in contact with the porous
conductive material in the pores of the porous conductive material [Fig. 1, claim 1],
the porous conductive material is in contact with the electronic conductor [Fig. 1, claim 1], and by the electronic conductor being physically absorbed onto the surface of the composite material particles [Fig. 1, claim 1]
a coating film [the point contact binder and CNT shell in figure 1 is the coating film, Fig. 1, 0127] containing the electronic conductor is formed on the surface of the composite material particles [0124-0128]
The limitation of “by dry coating,” is/are considered product-by-process claim. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding Claim 2, Kim et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Kim et al. teaches the positive electrode material further comprising a solid electrolyte in the pores of the porous conductive material [0037, 0111].
Regarding Claim 3, Kim et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Kim et al. teaches wherein a mass ratio of the electronic conductor to the porous conductive material is more than 0 and less than 1 [0128].
Regarding Claim 4, Kim et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Kim et al. teaches wherein a shape of the electronic conductor is a fibrous shape [0048],
and silent on a ratio of a pore size of the porous conductive material to an average fiber length of a fibrous electronic conductor is more than 0 and less than 1, or a shape of the electronic conductor is a sheet shape, and a ratio of a pore size of the porous conductive material to an average longest diameter of a sheet-shaped electronic conductor in a surface direction is more than 0 and less than 1.
As the cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the parameters of the positive electrode material, with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the parameters of the positive electrode material are changed, the precise parameters of the positive electrode material would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “a ratio of a pore size of the porous conductive material to an average fiber length of a fibrous electronic conductor is more than 0 and less than 1, or a shape of the electronic conductor is a sheet shape, and a ratio of a pore size of the porous conductive material to an average longest diameter of a sheet-shaped electronic conductor in a surface direction is more than 0 and less than 1” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters of the positive electrode material to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Kim et al. teaches wherein the average primary particle size of the porous conductive material is 10-50 um overlapping the claimed 5 um to 50 µm [0066].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding Claim 7, Kim et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Kim et al. is silent on wherein a mass ratio of the electronic conductor to the porous conductive material 0.01 or more and 0.5 or less.
As the cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the parameters of the electronic conductor and porous conductive material, with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the parameters of the electronic conductor and porous conductive material are changed, the precise parameters of the electronic conductor and porous conductive material would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “wherein a mass ratio of the electronic conductor to the porous conductive material 0.01 or more and 0.5 or less.” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters of the electronic conductor and porous conductive material to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Kim et al. teaches the positive electrode comprising the positive electrode material for an electric device according to claim 1 [Abstract, 0022, 0011].
Regarding Claim 9, Kim et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Kim et al. teaches an electric device comprising the positive electrode for an electric device according to claim 8 [Abstract, 0006, 0123].
Regarding Claim 10, Kim et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Kim et al. teaches wherein the electric device is an all-solid lithium secondary battery [0111, 0101].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Pub No. 2021/0234159) in view of Dohata (JP2020/161288, Machine translation)
Regarding Claim 5, Kim et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Kim et al. is silent on wherein at least a part of the solid electrolyte and at least a part of the positive electrode active material containing sulfur are disposed inside the pores of the porous conductive material to be in contact with each other.
Dohata et al. teaches a sulfur cathode composite where the sulfur and the solid electrolyte are enclosed within the pores [0022]. The configuration of Dohata et al. suppresses the decrease in the contact area between sulfur and the solid electrolyte over cycles, thereby suppressing the decline in capacity retention rate [0022].
Since Kim et al. teaches the use of a sulfur composite electrode material with a solid electrolyte, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the sulfur and solid electrolyte of Kim et al. to be enclosed within the pores of the porous conductive material in order to suppress the decrease in the contact area between sulfur and the solid electrolyte over cycles, thereby suppressing the decline in capacity retention rate [0022].
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728