DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/arguments 7/20/2026 for
response of the office action mailed on 4/21/2026. Claims 1-3, 5-8, and 15-20 have been amended. Claims 4 and 21 have been canceled. Claims 1-3 and 5-20 remain pending in the application.
to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 7/20/2026 has been entered.
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed on 4/21/2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the Specification have overcome most of the objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 4/21/2026, but the objection (page 16 line 24) is maintained.
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims 20 and 21 have overcome the rejection based on 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection to the claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed on 4/21/2026. Claim 21 is canceled.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1 “performing at least one measurement frame,” has overcome the rejection based on 35 USC § 112 to the claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 4/21/2026.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 (and similarly claim 19) “wherein signal frequency subsets assigned to each second radio unit in the same subgroup of second radio units differs from each other in at least one measurement frame” in lines 17-18 have overcome the rejection based on 35 USC § 112 to the claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 4/21/2026.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 “wherein at least one performed measurement frame comprises at least” in lines 4-5 has overcome the rejection based on 35 USC § 112 to the claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 4/21/2026.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 19 “wherein the processor is configured to initiate and execute at least one measurement frame” in lines 3-4 has overcome the rejection based on 35 USC § 112 to the claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 4/21/2026.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 21 “A non-transitory carrier medium comprising the computer program product” in line 1 withdrawn the rejection based on 35 USC § 112 to the claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 4/21/2026. Claim 21 is canceled.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 1, 3 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1 line 21, “wherein_-the signal frequency” should be “wherein the signal frequency”.
Regarding claim 3 line 3-4, “_signals are transmitted via only one of at least one of” should be “signals are transmitted via only at least one of”.
Regarding claim 7 line 1, “The method of claim 1_wherein” should be “The method of claim 1, wherein”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Specification Objections
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 16 line 24, “second radio unit 204 may” should be “second radio unit 202 may”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 3-9), filed on 7/20/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been
fully considered but are moot based on new ground of rejections using a newly introduced reference (BADIC et al.) is applied in the current rejection.
Regarding remarks in page 12 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Keller does not perform, nor does it have any technical motivation to perform, dynamic measurement frames where the assignment of radio units to subgroups changes from one frame to a subsequent frame, let alone repeating a selected configuration of subgroups across selected frames. The Examiner's citation of Keller paragraph [0022] (and paragraphs [0119], [0176]) merely relates to measuring interference at a plurality of measurement locations to adjust cell parameters like size or transmit power. This is a conventional network optimization process and does not involve re-subgrouping the base stations (first radio units) into different configurations from one measurement frame to another as defined by amended Claim 1
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Keller et al. (US 2004/0092256 Al) discloses (cell clusters of the introduced cellular radio network may only be arranged in a subset of the group of all possible equilateral triangles (or other areas defined by connecting at least two cells of the existing cellular radio network), i.e., for example every second such area. one group of the areas defined by connecting cells of the existing cellular radio network using the same transmission frequency would be occupied by a cell cluster of the introduced cellular radio network using this transmission frequency, whereas the remaining subgroup of such areas would have located therein, for example at or close to the center of the areas, cells of the existing cellular radio network using the adjacent transmission frequencies., Keller: [0230]-[0232].
Regarding remarks in page 12 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that this sequential transmission by subgroups of subscribers (which would correspond to the "second radio units" ofthe present application) does not teach or suggest reorganizing the base stations (the "first radio units" of the present application) into different subgroups from one measurement frame to another, nor does it teach repeating a selected configuration of base station subgroups in selected frames.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. KOSAREV (US 2020/0413387 Al) discloses (messages sent to all subscribers can also include the number of subscriber groups, while each subscriber of each group can calculate the transmission time of subsequent messages for its group of subscribers after receiving the specified messages and can be involved in the reception mode only for the period of time the base stations transmit the specified subsequent messages for its group of subscribers in the next cycle with taking into account the number of subscriber groups. Kosarev: [0028]-[0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller et
al. (US 2004/0092256 Al, hereinafter “Keller”) in view of KOSAREV (US 2020/0413387 Al, hereafter “Kosarev”) and in further view of BADIC et al. (US 2021/0297128 Al, hereafter “Badic”).
Regarding claim 1, Keller discloses:
assigning at least a portion of radio units from a plurality of radio units to a group of first radio units (one group of the areas defined by connecting cells of the existing cellular radio network, Keller: [0230]-[0231]);
assigning at least one remaining radio unit from said plurality of radio units to at least one group of second radio units (a first cluster may be arranged to use a first set of transmission frequencies, and a second cluster located adjacent to the first cluster may be arranged to use a second set of frequencies. cell clusters of the introduced cellular radio network may only be arranged in a subset of the group of all possible equilateral triangles, Keller: [0187], [0230]); and
performing operations during a plurality of measurement frames (FIG. 6 may be performed during arranging the cell clusters, i.e., during establishing the cellular radio network to be introduced, or may be used in adjusting the cell clusters of the introduced cellular radio network to changing requirements, e.g. in case the existing cellular radio network is changed by altered circumstances such as user density, environmental changes such as buildings and similar, Keller: Fig. 6, [0170]),
assigning each radio units of the at least one group of first radio units to at least one subgroup of first radio units (one group of the areas defined by connecting cells of the existing cellular radionetwork. The remaining subgroup of such areas would have located, Keller: [0230]-[0231]),
assigning each radio units of the at least one group of second radio units to at least one subgroup of second radio units, wherein each subgroup of second radio units is associated with a subgroup of first radio units (in a cell cluster using a frequency group X the border cells may use one frequency of a frequency group Y, which is a frequency group used by an adjacent cell cluster. the remaining subgroup of such areas would have located therein, for example at or close to the center of the areas, cells of the existing cellular radio network using the adjacent transmission frequencies, Keller: [0186], [0231]),
assigning a signal frequency set to each subgroup of first radio units (one group of the areas defined by connecting cells of the existing cellular radio network. The remaining subgroup of such areas would have located, Keller: [0230]-[0231]),
wherein a signal frequency set assigned to a first subgroup of first radio units differs from a signal frequency set assigned to a second subgroup of first radio units (in a cell cluster using a frequency group X the border cells may use one frequency of a frequency group Y, which is a frequency group used by an adjacent cell cluster, Keller: [0186]),
assigning, to each second radio unit of a subgroup of second radio units, a signal frequency subset comprised in the signal frequency set assigned to the subgroup of first radio units associated with the subgroup of second radio units (a first cluster may use a first set of transmission frequencies; a second cluster may be located adjacent to the first cluster may use a second set of transmission frequencies, Keller: [0019]),
wherein the signal frequency subsets assigned to the second radio unit in the same subgroup of second radio units differ from one another (FIG. 10 only presents an example for arranging cells using frequencies 3 and 5, and it is understood that any other transmission frequencies may be considered, Keller: Fig. 10, [0239]);
Keller does not explicitly disclose:
A method for performing radio transmissions, the method comprising:
transmitting, via at least one of the first radio units, a signal comprising frequencies of the assigned signal frequency set; and
transmitting, via at least one of the second radio units, a signal comprising frequencies of the assigned signal frequency subset;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kosarev teaches:
A method for performing radio transmissions, the method comprising (method for wireless communication, Kosarev: [0010]):
transmitting, via at least one of the first radio units, a signal comprising frequencies of the assigned signal frequency set (base stations of each group can periodically send these messages simultaneously on different frequencies, while all subscribers can receive messages simultaneously on different frequencies, Kosarev: [0022]); and
transmitting, via at least one of the second radio units, a signal comprising frequencies of the assigned signal frequency subset (all base stations of the first group of base stations send messages on the frequency f21, all base stations of the second group of base stations send messages on frequency f22, Kosarev: [0066]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keller in view of Kosarev in order to further modify a method for performing radio transmissions, and transmitting, via at least one of the first radio units and one of the second radio units, a signal comprising frequencies of the assigned signal frequency set from the teachings of Kosarev.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to increase the spectral efficiency and increase the radio communication range and the coverage area (Kosarev: [0018]).
Yet, Keller in view of Kosarev does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the operations performed during at least one measurement frames of the plurality of measurement frames comprise:
wherein an assignment of the first radio units to subgroups of first radio units in first measurement frame of the plurality of measurement frames differs from an assignment of the first radio units to subgroups of first radio units in a subsequent measurement frame of the plurality of measurement frames; and
an assignment of the first radio units to a selected configuration of subgroups of first radio units is repeated in at least two selected measurement frames of the plurality of measurement frames.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Badic teaches:
wherein the operations performed during at least one measurement frames of the plurality of measurement frames comprise (each transmission pattern of the set of transmission patterns can designate a plurality of time slots within a virtual frame, the virtual frame defining a number of consecutive time slots to be used for transmission over one or more wireless resources, Badic: Fig. 42, [0390]-[0393]):
wherein an assignment of the first radio units to subgroups of first radio units in first measurement frame of the plurality of measurement frames differs from an assignment of the first radio units to subgroups of first radio units in a subsequent measurement frame of the plurality of measurement frames (for any time slot (exemplarily indicated as ti, t2 , t3 , t4 , t5 , respectively) resource blocks are allocated to one or more of wireless devices #1, #2, #3, #4 whereby respectively allocated blocks do not overlap, Badic: Fig. 13A, [0171]-[0172]); and
an assignment of the first radio units to a selected configuration of subgroups of first radio units is repeated in at least two selected measurement frames of the plurality of measurement frames (wireless devices 500a and 500b may operate on a slotted communication schedule that allocates certain time slots and frequencies (discovery resources) for discovery during each frame (or sequence of frames). for any time slot (exemplarily indicated as ti, t2, t3, t4, t5, respectively) resource blocks are allocated to one or more of wireless devices #1, #2, #3, #4 whereby respectively allocated blocks do not overlap, Badic: Fig. 13A, [0137], [0171]-[0172]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keller and Kosarev in view of Badic in order to further modify the operations which is performed during at least one measurement frames of the plurality of measurement frames, and an assignment of the first radio units to subgroups of first radio units differs from an assignment of the first radio units to subgroups of first radio units in a subsequent measurement frame, and an assignment of the first radio units to a selected configuration of subgroups of first radio units is repeated in at least two selected measurement frames from the teachings of Badic.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because such time/frequency resource pattern may be defined dynamically, e.g. may be negotiated with exchanged allocation information or defined by the master resource management device (Badic: [0172]).
Regarding claim 2, Keller-Kosarev-Badic teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Keller further discloses:
wherein the at least one performed measurement frame comprises (the interference may be measured on the downlink transmission path and on the uplink transmission path, Keller: [0119])
transmitting, via at least one of the first radio units, a further signal comprising frequencies of the assigned signal frequency set (Cells at the periphery of the cluster may use at least one transmission frequency within the first frequency range. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “and/or” in the limitation, Keller: [0017]), and/or
transmitting, via at least one of the second radio units, a further signal comprising frequencies of the assigned signal frequency subset.
Regarding claim 3, Keller-Kosarev-Badic teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Keller further discloses:
wherein during a subset of the plurality of measurement frames (the interference may be measured on the downlink transmission path and on the uplink transmission path, Keller: [0119]),
signals are transmitted via only at least one of the first radio units or via only one of at least one of the second radio units (These interference measurements may for example be provided by the operator of the existing cellular radio network, e.g. using base stations and measurements on communication links, Keller: [0120]-[0121]).
Regarding claim 5, Keller-Kosarev-Badic teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Keller further discloses:
wherein the group of first radio units comprises radio units that are fixed in position and the group of second radio units comprises radio units that are movable or configured to be tracked (the base station is located at the center of the circle. It is furthermore assumed that the users are randomly distributed in the cell with uniform distribution, Keller: [0147]).
Regarding claim 6, Keller-Kosarev-Badic teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Keller further discloses:
wherein the assignment of the first radio units to a subgroup of first radio units is based on respective distance between the first radio units (path loss between a mobile station and a base station deterministically depends only on the distance between the mobile station and the base station, Keller: [0222]),
such that first radio units assigned to the same subgroup of first radio units are within reception distance of each other (distance from a cell border depends on the cell size, Keller: [0185]).
Regarding claim 7, Keller-Kosarev-Badic teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Keller further discloses:
wherein the assignment of the second radio units to a subgroup of second radio units is based on a determined or estimated position of the second radio units (propagation attenuation at selected locations from the measurement positions to serving base stations of the introduced cellular radio network may be measured, Keller: [0198]),
wherein the second radio units are associated with a certain subgroup of first radio units that is closest in proximity (measuring a propagation attenuation from the positions of measurement of an interference from the existing cellular radio network to the introduced cellular radio network. allocate transmission frequencies C+ 1 and C-1 to cells of the existing cellular radio network closest to the locations X, Keller: [0119], [0132], [0225]).
Regarding claim 8, Keller-Kosarev-Badic teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Keller further discloses:
wherein the assignment of signal frequency sets is based on frequency allocation logic dividing a total signal frequency range into one or more signal frequency sets (existing cellular radio network comprising a plurality of cells using transmission frequencies A-G of a frequency range allocated to the existing cellular radio network, Keller: [0055]),
preferably wherein at least a portion of adjacent or subsequent frequencies in the total signal frequency range belong to a different signal frequency set to provide the different signal frequency sets at interleaved frequencies, or wherein signal frequency sets comprise frequencies in continuous, non-overlapping frequency ranges (a frequency range of a cellular radio network may include a single sequence of frequencies or multiple discontinuous sequences of frequencies, or a set of individual frequencies, Keller: Fig. 17, [0345]).
Regarding claim 9, Keller-Kosarev-Badic teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Keller further discloses:
wherein a first signal frequency set assigned to a first subgroup of first radio units is reused and assigned to a subsequent subgroup of first radio units in the same measurement frame if determined suitable according to frequency allocation logic (FIG. 17 a specific example of frequency plans and reuse factor of the introduced cellular radio network and the existing cellular radio network are shown, Keller: Fig. 17, [0345]),
said frequency allocation logic taking into account at least distance between the radio units of the first and subsequent subgroups of first radio units (path loss between a mobile station and a base station deterministically depends only on the distance between the mobile station and the base station, Keller: [0222]).
Regarding claim 10, Keller-Kosarev-Badic teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 9 above.
Keller further discloses:
wherein the frequency allocation logic takes into account a signal-to-interference ratio for the distance between subgroups of first radio units where a signal frequency set may be reused (desired distribution of carrier to interference ratios is achieved in the introduced-cellular radio network, Keller: [0132]),
by determining the minimum achievable signal-to interference ratio and determining that said minimum achievable signal-to-interference ratio is larger than a threshold value for a considered distance between one subgroup of first radio units and one other subgroup of first radio units (In case the interference measured is above the upper threshold, the parameters of the introduced cellular radio network may be adjusted such that the interference is below the upper threshold, Keller: [0132]-[0134]),
and reusing a signal frequency set by assigning the same signal frequency set to both of the considered subgroups of first radio units (the introduced cellular radio network may reuse frequencies already used in the existing cellular radio network. the introduced cellular radio network may reuse frequencies of an existing cellular radio network in the same geographical area, Keller: [0007], [0026]).
Regarding claim 11, Keller-Kosarev-Badic teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Keller further discloses:
wherein the minimum achievable signal-to-interference ratio is determined by propagation simulation (propagation attenuation may be assumed to be of Okumura Hata type, Keller: [0143]),
determination of the ratio by performing transmissions with the radio units, ray tracing, or as a ratio of minimum distance between any member in one subgroup of first radio units and any member in another subgroup of first radio units and the maximum distance of members within these subgroups of first radio units (propagation attenuation L, e.g. of a base station of the introduced cellular radio network versus distance d to a transmitter, e.g. of a base station may be assumed to be of Okumura Hata type, Keller: [0143]),
and raising this ratio to the power exponent of the propagation law (Keller: [0143]-[0144])
Regarding claim 13, Keller-Kosarev-Badic teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Keller further discloses:
wherein the method additionally comprises performing transmissions between at least three pairs of radio units (the number of cells in a cell cluster may also be determined by the number of subscribers, Keller: [0141]),
and at least one third pair of radio units comprises a radio unit comprised in a subgroup of first radio units and a radio unit comprised in an associated subgroup of second radio units (the remaining subgroup of such areas would have located therein cells of the existing cellular radio network using the adjacent transmission frequencies, Keller: [0231]).
Keller in view of Badic does not explicitly disclose:
wherein at least one first pair of radio units comprises two radio units comprised in a first subgroup of first radio units,
at least one second pair of radio units comprises two radio units comprised in a second subgroup of first radio units,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kosarev teaches:
wherein at least one first pair of radio units comprises two radio units comprised in a first subgroup of first radio units (subgroup No. 1 of subscribers 5 (messages 20.1) does at t2 time intervals, Kosarev: [0073]),
at least one second pair of radio units comprises two radio units comprised in a second subgroup of first radio units (subgroup No. 2 of subscribers 5 (messages 20.2) does at t3 time intervals, Kosarev: [0073]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keller and Badic in view of Kosarev in order to further modify at least one first and second pairs of radio units comprises two radio units comprised in a first and second subgroups of first radio units from the teachings of Kosarev.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to increase the spectral efficiency and increase the radio communication range and the coverage area (Kosarev: [0018]).
Regarding claim 19, Keller discloses:
at least one group of first radio units comprising a plurality of radio units (one group of the areas defined by connecting cells of the existing cellular radio network, Keller: [0230]-[0231]),
at least one group of second radio units comprising at least one radio unit (a first cluster may be arranged to use a first set of transmission frequencies, and a second cluster located adjacent to the first cluster may be arranged to use a second set of frequencies. cell clusters of the introduced cellular radio network may only be arranged in a subset of the group of all possible equilateral triangles, Keller: [0187], [0230]); and
assign each of the radio units of the group of first radio units to at least one subgroup of first radio units (one group of the areas defined by connecting cells of the existing cellular radionetwork, Keller: [0230]-[0231])
assign each radio unit of the at least one group of second radio units to at least one subgroup of second radio units, wherein each subgroup of second radio units is associated with a subgroup of first radio units (a first cluster may be arranged to use a first set of transmission frequencies, and a second cluster located adjacent to the first cluster may be arranged to use a second set of frequencies. cell clusters of the introduced cellular radio network may only be arranged in a subset of the group of all possible equilateral triangles, Keller: [0187], [0230]),
assign a signal frequency set to each subgroup of first radio units (one group of the areas defined by connecting cells of the existing cellular radio network. The remaining subgroup of such areas would have located, Keller: [0230]-[0231]),
wherein a signal frequency set assigned to a first subgroup of first radio units differs from a signal frequency set assigned to a second subgroup of first radio units (in a cell cluster using a frequency group X the border cells may use one frequency of a frequency group Y, which is a frequency group used by an adjacent cell cluster, Keller: [0186]),
assign, to each second radio unit of a subgroup of second radio units, a signal frequency subset comprised in a signal frequency set assigned to the subgroup of first radio units associated with the subgroup of second radio units (a first cluster may use a first set of transmission frequencies; a second cluster may be located adjacent to the first cluster may use a second set of transmission frequencies, Keller: [0019]),
assign, to each second radio unit of a subgroup of second radio units, a signal frequency subset comprised in a signal frequency set assigned to the subgroup of first radio units associated with the subgroup of second radio units (FIG. 10 only presents an example for arranging cells using frequencies 3 and 5, and it is understood that any other transmission frequencies may be considered, Keller: Fig. 10, [0239]),
Keller does not explicitly disclose:
An arrangement for performing radio transmissions, the arrangement comprising:
cause at least one of the first radio units comprised in a subgroup of first radio units to transmit a signal comprising frequencies of the signal frequency set assigned to the subgroup of first radio units; and
cause at least one second radio unit to transmit a signal comprising frequencies of the signal frequency subset assigned to the at least one second radio unit;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kosarev teaches:
An arrangement for performing radio transmissions, the arrangement comprising (arranging a cellular radio network. arranging at least one cell of the introduced cellular radio network in a cell cluster, Kosarev: [0001], [0023]):
cause at least one of the first radio units comprised in a subgroup of first radio units to transmit a signal comprising frequencies of the signal frequency set assigned to the subgroup of first radio units (base stations of each group can periodically send these messages simultaneously on different frequencies, while all subscribers can receive messages simultaneously on different frequencies, Kosarev: [0022]); and
cause at least one second radio unit to transmit a signal comprising frequencies of the signal frequency subset assigned to the at least one second radio unit (all base stations of the first group of base stations send messages on the frequency f21, all base stations of the second group of base stations send messages on frequency f22, Kosarev: [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keller in view of Kosarev in order to further modify an arrangement for performing radio transmissions, and first radio units are configured to transmit a signal comprising frequencies of the assigned the subgroup of first radio units, and second radio units to transmit a signal comprising frequencies of the signal frequency subset assigned to the at least one second radio unit from the teachings of Kosarev.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to increase the spectral efficiency and increase the radio communication range and the coverage area (Kosarev: [0018]).
Yet, Keller in view of Kosarev does not explicitly disclose:
at least one processor, configured to control the arrangement to perform radio transmissions during a plurality of measurement frame, and during at least one measurement frame of the plurality of measurement frames, to:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: assign the first radio units to subgroups of first radio units in a first measurement frame of the plurality of measurement frames and in a subsequent measurement frame of the plurality of measurement frames such that the assignment in the first measurement frame differs from the assignment in the subsequent measurement frame; and
repeat an assignment of the first radio units to a selected configuration of subgroups of first radio units in selected ones of the plurality of measurement frames.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Badic teaches:
at least one processor, configured to control the arrangement to perform radio transmissions during a plurality of measurement frame, and during at least one measurement frame of the plurality of measurement frames, to (a processor or controller may transmit or receive data over a software-level connection with another processor or controller in the form of radio signals. each transmission pattern of the set of transmission patterns can designate a plurality of time slots within a virtual frame, the virtual frame defining a number of consecutive time slots to be used for transmission over one or more wireless resources, Badic: Fig. 2, Fig. 42, [0119], [0390]-[0393]):
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: assign the first radio units to subgroups of first radio units in a first measurement frame of the plurality of measurement frames and in a subsequent measurement frame of the plurality of measurement frames such that the assignment in the first measurement frame differs from the assignment in the subsequent measurement frame (for any time slot (exemplarily indicated as ti, t2 , t3 , t4 , t5 , respectively) resource blocks are allocated to one or more of wireless devices #1, #2, #3, #4 whereby respectively allocated blocks do not overlap, Badic: Fig. 13A, [0171]-[0172]); and
repeat an assignment of the first radio units to a selected configuration of subgroups of first radio units in selected ones of the plurality of measurement frames (wireless devices 500a and 500b may operate on a slotted communication schedule that allocates certain time slots and frequencies (discovery resources) for discovery during each frame (or sequence of frames). for any time slot (exemplarily indicated as ti, t2 , t3 , t4 , t5 , respectively) resource blocks are allocated to one or more of wireless devices #1, #2, #3, #4 whereby respectively allocated blocks do not overlap, Badic: Fig. 13A, [0137], [0171]-[0172]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keller and Kosarev in view of Badic in order to further modify configuring to control the arrangement to perform radio transmissions during a plurality of measurement frame and assign the first radio units to subgroups of first radio units in a first measurement frame, and in a subsequent measurement frame of the plurality of measurement frames such that the assignment in the first measurement frame differs from the assignment in the subsequent measurement frame, and repeating an assignment of the first radio units to a selected configuration of subgroups of first radio units in selected ones of the plurality of measurement frames from the teachings of Badic.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because such time/frequency resource pattern may be defined dynamically, e.g. may be negotiated with exchanged allocation information or defined by the master resource management device (Badic: [0172]).
Regarding claim 20, Keller-Kosarev-Badic teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Keller further discloses:
A computer program product comprising code means stored on a non-transient storage medium configured, when run on a processor, to cause the processor to initiate execution of the method of claim 1 (measuring an interference may be implemented by programs including coded instructions for execution on a data processing unit or a plurality of data processing units. computer readable medium may be provided having a program recorded thereon, Keller: [0188], [0202]).
Claims 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller-Kosarev-
Badic and in further view of BUCHWALD et al. (US 2015/0139073 Al, hereinafter “Buchwald”).
Regarding claim 12, Keller-Kosarev-Badic teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the
rejection of claim 1 above.
Keller-Kosarev-Badic does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first radio units comprised in the same subgroup of first radio units transmit a signal consecutively in a time slot allocated to each first radio unit, and/or
second radio units transmit a signal in at least one time slot allocated to one or more second radio units,
optionally wherein all second radio units in the same subgroup of second radio units transmit their respective signal simultaneously.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Buchwald teaches:
wherein the first radio units comprised in the same subgroup of first radio units transmit a signal consecutively in a time slot allocated to each first radio unit (The uplink transmitting source subscriber device (SD) then switches its transceiver to the highpower uplink traffic channel identified in the grant (e.g.,including tuning to a particular frequency and/or time slot and/or code associated with the identified channel). Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “and/or” in the limitation, Buchwald: [0073]), and/or
second radio units transmit a signal in at least one time slot allocated to one or more second radio units,
optionally wherein all second radio units in the same subgroup of second radio units transmit their respective signal simultaneously.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keller-Kosarev-Badic in view of Buchwald in order to further modify the first radio units transmit a signal consecutively in a time slot allocated to each first radio unit from the teachings of Buchwald.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because a subscriber device for improving spectral efficiency by requesting or using uplink channels according to expected receive signal levels at a serving base station (Buchwald: [0026]).
Regarding claim 18, Keller-Kosarev-Badic teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Keller further discloses:
further comprising, during at least one measurement frame of the plurality of measurement frames, performing at least one further transmission between a further pair of radio units (each subscriber of each group can calculate the transmission time of subsequent messages for its group of subscribers after receiving the specified messages, Keller: [0028]),
Keller in view of Kosarev does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the further pair of radio units comprises two second radio units, further wherein the two second radio units transmit respective signals in respective consecutive time slots.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Buchwald teaches:
wherein the further pair of radio units comprises two second radio units, further wherein the two second radio units transmit respective signals in respective consecutive time slots (immediately adjacent frequency F2 carries a first uplink channel on timeslot 1 and a second uplink traffic channel on timeslot 2, Buchwald: [0076]-[0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keller-Kosarev-Badic in view of Buchwald in order to further modify a further pair of radio units comprises two second radio units, further wherein the two second radio units transmit respective signals in respective consecutive time slots from the teachings of Buchwald.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because a subscriber device for improving spectral efficiency by requesting or using uplink channels according to expected receive signal levels at a serving base station (Buchwald: [0026]).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller-Kosarev-Badic
and in further view of EITEL et al. (US 2023/0007617 Al, hereinafter “Eitel”).
Regarding claim 14, Keller-Kosarev-Badic teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Keller further discloses:
The method of claim l, wherein the method additionally comprises receiving a signal transmitted from one radio unit at another radio unit to obtain a pair of radio units (receive values indicating the interference from the introduced cellular radio network to the existing cellular radio network at a plurality of measurement locations, Keller: [0022]),
Keller-Kosarev-Badic does not explicitly disclose:
and for at least one pair of radio units, determining phase information indicative of phases of received signals with respect to a local oscillator the receiving radio unit.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Eitel teaches:
and for at least one pair of radio units, determining phase information indicative of phases of received signals with respect to a local oscillator the receiving radio unit (receive phase information from the first node and/or the second node. Phase information is extracted by means of comparing against a local reference signal, Eitel: [0011], [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keller-Kosarev-Badic in view of Eitel in order to further modify at least one pair of radio units, determining phase information indicative of phases of received signals with respect to a local oscillator the receiving radio unit from the teachings of Eitel.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because additional phase difference information can be used to improve the ranging accuracy, e.g. averaging of the phase differences may be applied to reduce the variance of the ranging result (Eitel: [0079]).
Regarding claim 15, Keller-Kosarev-Badic and in further view of Eitel teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 14 above.
Keller-Kosarev-Badic does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 14, additionally comprising determining at least one phase sum and/or phase difference indicative of a sum or difference of phase information relating to a signal received by one of the radio units in a pair of radio units and phase information relating to a signal received by the other radio unit in the pair of radio units, wherein said pair of radio units has performed at least one round of two-way transmissions.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Eitel teaches:
additionally comprising determining at least one phase sum and/or phase difference indicative of a sum or difference of phase information relating to a signal received by one of the radio units in a pair of radio units and phase information relating to a signal received by the other radio unit in the pair of radio units, wherein said pair of radio units has performed at least one round of two-way transmissions (methods using conventional phase difference ranging by avoiding the bidirectional communication between the communication device and the nodes, Eitel: [0016], [0052]-[0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keller-Kosarev-Badic in view of Eitel in order to further modify determining at least one phase sum and/or phase difference indicative of a sum or difference of phase information relating to a signal received by one of the radio units in a pair of radio units and phase information relating to a signal received by the other radio unit in the pair of radio units, wherein said pair of radio units has performed at least one round of two-way transmissions from the teachings of Eitel.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because additional phase difference information can be used to improve the ranging accuracy, e.g. averaging of the phase differences may be applied to reduce the variance of the ranging result (Eitel: [0079]).
Regarding claim 16, Keller-Kosarev-Badic and in further view of Eitel teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 15 above.
Keller-Kosarev-Badic does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 15, wherein the method comprises determining clock data indicative of a time and/or phase difference between local oscillators of the radio units in the pair of radio units based on a determined phase difference.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Eitel teaches:
wherein the method comprises determining clock data indicative of a time and/or phase difference between local oscillators of the radio units in the pair of radio units based on a determined phase difference (opening the phase-locked loop of node B after phase lock to freeze the oscillator frequency and executing the second step of the two-way ranging as fast as possible after the first step to minimize the time lag flt and hence the influence of clock drift, Eitel: [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keller-Kosarev-Badic in view of Eitel in order to further modify determining clock data indicative of a time and/or phase difference between local oscillators of the radio units in the pair of radio units based on a determined phase difference from the teachings of Eitel.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because additional phase difference information can be used to improve the ranging accuracy, e.g. averaging of the phase differences may be applied to reduce the variance of the ranging result (Eitel: [0079]).
Regarding claim 17, Keller-Kosarev-Badic in further view of Eitel teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 14 above.
Keller-Kosarev-Badic does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 14, wherein the method comprises determining data indicative of distances between a plurality of radio units.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Eitel teaches:
wherein the method comprises determining data indicative of distances between a plurality of radio units (estimate a distance difference using the measured first and second phases and the received phase information, Eitel: [0012], [0016], [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keller-Kosarev-Badic in view of Eitel in order to further modify determining data indicative of distances between a plurality of radio units from the teachings of Eitel.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because additional phase difference information can be used to improve the ranging accuracy, e.g. averaging of the phase differences may be applied to reduce the variance of the ranging result (Eitel: [0079]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM ET.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467