DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/23/2026 have been fully considered. Applicant argues that Jia does not teach amended claims. The amended claims are discussed below in the office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jia et al. (USPN 11,153,824).
Regarding claim 1, Jia teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a first station (STA) from a second STA, a target wake time (TWT) element including information indicating at least one service period (SP) related to a sensing [Col. 7, lines 1-32, TWT session time is determined and communicated with the station during which health status is checked which is the sensing operation, also see Col. 8, lines 28-38]; and performing a sensing operation based on the at least one SP [Col. 7, lines 33-50, health value is determined based on the health status check operation which is the sensing operation, also see Col. 11, lines 44-61], wherein the sensing includes obtaining a measurement of an object other than the first STA and the second STA [Col. 4, lines 46-52, measurement is done without first or second STA transmitting any frames during a sniffer time window].
Regarding claim 2, Jia teaches the information indicating the at least one SP related to the sensing is commonly applied to the at least one SP indicated by the TWT element, or indicates a sensing-related SP or not for each TWT identifier (ID) [Col. 11, lines 44-61, indicates sensing related service period and common window for performing sensing operation].
Regarding claim 3, Jia teaches the information indicating the at least one SP related to the sensing indicates a sensing-related SP or not for each TWT identifier (ID) [Col. 3, line 60 – Col. 4, line 40, sensing related service periods are determined from the multiple periods].
Regarding claim 4, Jia teaches the information indicating the at least one SP related to the sensing is included in a control field of the TWT element [Col. 3, line 60 – Col. 4, line 40, control field has information about TWT period].
Regarding claim 5, Jia teaches the TWT element includes an individual TWT parameter set, or includes a broadcast TWT parameter set [Col. 3, line 60 – Col. 4, line 40].
Regarding claim 6, Jia teaches the information indicating the at least one SP related to the sensing is included in a request type subfield of a broadcast TWT parameter set of the TWT element, or a broadcast TWT recommendation subfield of the request type subfield [Col. 3, line 60 – Col. 4, line 40].
Regarding claim 7, Jia teaches the information indicating the at least one SP related to the sensing is included in a broadcast TWT information (Info) subfield of a broadcast TWT parameter set of the TWT element [Col. 3, line 60 – Col. 4, line 40].
Regarding claim 8, Jia teaches the TWT element is included in at least one of a sensing session setup request frame, a sensing session setup response frame, a sensing measurement setup request frame, or a sensing measurement setup response frame [Col. 3, line 60 – Col. 4, line 40].
Regarding claim 9, Jia teaches the TWT element including the information indicating the at least one SP related to the sensing is included in a beacon frame [Col. 8, line 63 – Col. 9, line 13].
Regarding claim 10, Jia teaches the at least one SP related to the sensing is configured periodically or aperiodically [Fig. 1, 110].
Regarding claim 11, Jia teaches the sensing operation includes at least one measurement instance [Col. 7, lines 33-50].
Regarding claim 12, Jia teaches each measurement instance includes at least one of a sensing signal transmission, a sensing signal reception, a sensing result reporting [Col. 7, lines 33-50].
Regarding claim 13, Jia teaches the first STA is a sensing responder, the second STA is a sensing initiator [Fig. 2, 200 and 220, 222, 224].
Regarding claim 14, Jia teaches a first station (STA) comprising: at least one transceiver [Col. 2, lines 12-38, transceiver is present to achieve the described functionality]; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive, through the at least one transceiver, from a second STA, a target wake time (TWT) element including information indicating at least one service period (SP) related to a sensing [Col. 7, lines 1-32, TWT session time is determined and communicated with the station during which health status is checked which is the sensing operation, also see Col. 8, lines 28-38]; and perform a sensing operation based on the at least one SP [Col. 7, lines 33-50, health value is determined based on the health status check operation which is the sensing operation, also see Col. 11, lines 44-61] wherein the sensing includes obtaining a measurement of an object other than the first STA and the second STA [Col. 4, lines 46-52, measurement is done without first or second STA transmitting any frames during a sniffer time window].
Regarding claim 16, Jia teaches a second station (STA) comprising: at least one transceiver [Fig. 8, 810]; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: transmit, through the at least one transceiver, to a first STA, a target wake time (TWT) element including information indicating at least one service period (SP) related to a sensing [Col. 7, lines 1-32, TWT session time is determined and communicated with the station during which health status is checked which is the sensing operation, also see Col. 8, lines 28-38]; and perform a sensing operation based on the at least one SP [Col. 7, lines 33-50, health value is determined based on the health status check operation which is the sensing operation, also see Col. 11, lines 44-61], wherein the sensing includes obtaining a measurement of an object other than the first STA and the second STA [Col. 4, lines 46-52, measurement is done without first or second STA transmitting any frames during a sniffer time window].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Chandrahas B Patel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464