DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Uebel et al. (DE1020190105655) which is cited in the IDS. An English translation of the description with paragraph numbers is provided herewith.
Regarding claim 1, Uebel teaches a method for model-based predictive control (MPC) of a motor vehicle, comprising:
executing an MPC algorithm (see at least [0013]), which comprises a high level solver module (at SQP of figure 10), wherein a high level longitudinal trajectory is calculated by the high level solver module for an upcoming route segment (see at least [0018, 0112]), according to which the motor vehicle is to travel within a route-based high level prediction horizon (see again at least [0111, 0112, 0115] which teaches the high-level MPC via the SQP);
sending the high level longitudinal trajectory calculated by the high level solver module to a tracker solver module in the MPC algorithm as an input (via low level MPC-2 of figure 10 and at least [0017, 0018, 0029, etc.]); and
calculating a tracker longitudinal trajectory based on the high level longitudinal trajectory calculated by the high level solver module with the tracker solver module (via the combined control taught in at least [0111-0119]), according to which the motor vehicle is to travel within a time-based tracker prediction horizon (see at least [0113-0115 which teaches a time based prediction horizon optimization control method using high and low level MPCs), wherein the tracker prediction horizon is shorter than the high level prediction horizon, such that the tracker prediction horizon only covers a portion of the high level prediction horizon (see at least [0116, 0117] which teaches optimization by covering smaller but more relevant area).
Regarding claim 2, Uebel teaches calculating the tracker longitudinal trajectory with a higher resolution than the high level longitudinal trajectory (see at least [0116] which discloses a higher quality solution when using multiple MPC stages).
Regarding claim 3, Uebel teaches a length of the high level prediction horizon is 50 meters to 5,000 meters (see at least [0126, 0128, 0130] which discloses operation parameters within the claimed limits, thus meeting the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 4, Uebel teaches sending the tracker longitudinal trajectory calculated by the tracker solver module to a post processing unit as an input value; processing the longitudinal trajectory calculated by the tracker solver module in the post processing unit to obtain a control signal; and controlling the motor vehicle on the basis of the control signal (see at least figure 1 [0030, 0031, 0043] which shows processor 102 that is used to calculate and send control signals).
Regarding claim 5, Uebel teaches the MPC algorithm comprises a longitudinal dynamics model and a high level cost function dedicated to the high level solver module, and the high level longitudinal trajectory is calculated taking the longitudinal dynamics model into account, while minimizing the high level cost function (longitudinal dynamics module via the route data 103 of figure 10 see calculation of minimum trajectory and at least [0113]).
Regarding claim 6, Uebel teaches wherein a tracker cost function is dedicated to the tracker solver module, and the tracker longitudinal trajectory is calculated taking the longitudinal dynamics model into account, while minimizing the tracker cost function (see above noted paragraphs and equivalent dynamics model 103 and additionally at least [0084]).
Regarding claim 7, Uebel teaches wherein the high level longitudinal trajectory comprises a speed trajectory, according to which the motor vehicle is to travel within the high level prediction horizon (see at least [0113, 0114] and figure 9 which shows speed trajectories) .
Regarding claim 8, Uebel teaches wherein the high level longitudinal trajectory comprises a course of a charging state of a battery, which serves as a power storage for an electric machine in the motor vehicle, wherein the motor vehicle is powered by the electric machine (see at least [0022, 0035, 0036] which discloses a hybrid electric vehicle).
Regarding claim 9, Uebel teaches wherein the high level longitudinal trajectory and the tracker longitudinal trajectory comprises a braking force trajectory for brakes in the motor vehicle according to which the brakes are to provide braking forces within the high level predication horizon and within the tracker prediction horizon (see at least [0043, 0050, 0053]).
Regarding claim 10, Uebel teaches wherein the tracker longitudinal trajectory comprises a torque trajectory for a least one drive assembly in the motor vehicle, according to which the at least one drive assembly is to provide drive torques within the tracker prediction horizon (see at least [0053, 0132]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached 892 form.
/JASON HOLLOWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658