DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, line 2: “first valves and/or flaps” should read “first valves and/or first flaps”
Claim 6, line 6: “second valves and/or flaps” should read “second valves and/or second flaps”
Claim 6, line 10: “the second valves and/or flaps” should read “the second valves and/or the second flaps”
Claim 6, lines 10-11: “the first valves and/or flaps” should read “the first valves and/or the first flaps”
Claim 6, line 12: “the first flap and/or second flap” should read “the first flap and/or the second flap”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 9-10, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the corresponding valve" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “"the corresponding valve" in line 4 to “a corresponding valve”.
Claim 6, lines 8-9 recite, “the corresponding valve” in relation to the second valves and/or flaps and is unclear to the Examiner as to how the corresponding valve of lines 8-9 relate to the previously claimed corresponding valve of line 4 of claim 6. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the corresponding valves of lines 4 and 8-9 to be different components. The Examiner recommends making amendments to clarify the relationship between the corresponding valves of claim 6.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the corresponding flap" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “"the corresponding flap " in line 13 to “a corresponding flap”.
Claim 6, lines 14-16 recite, “wherein the first flap and/or the second flap are arranged horizontally and the connecting lines to which the corresponding flap is connected are arranged horizontally” which is unclear to the Examiner as lines 7-11 of claim 6 specify the second valves and/or flaps to be arranged in a vertical plane which is makes it unclear to the Examiner what the claims mean by “arranged horizontally” as it appears the second flap is to be arranged both in a vertical plane and horizontally. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the limitation to simply require the first flap and/or the second flap as the first flap and/or the second flap are three-dimension objects in a three-dimensional space which means the first flap and/or the second flap are always at least partially “arranged horizontally” within the space. The Examiner recommends amending the claim to clarify what is meant by “horizontally arranged”.
Claim 9, line 5 recites, “a control unit” which is unclear to the Examiner as to how the control unit of line 5 relates to the control unit of line 3 of claim 9. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the control units of claim 9 to be the same components. The Examiner recommends making amendments to clarify the relationship between the control units of claim 9.
Claims 10 and 17 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 9.
Claim 18 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-10, 13-15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bracque et al. (US Patent No. 5,461,871), hereinafter Bracque.
Regarding claim 1, Bracque discloses a distributor module for a process engineering system, which is connected to a main air compressor arrangement, at least two adsorbers, each of which can be operated in an adsorption phase and a regeneration phase, and a main heat exchanger arrangement can be connected by means of fluid lines (Fig. 1, warm module 3, air compression module 1, electric motor 8, principal compressor 9, cylinders 2A, 2B, cold module 4, heat exchange line 24, subcooler 25, connecting tubes 6; Col. 2, lines 56-57, The cylinders 2A, 2B are conventional adsorption cylinders; Further, the cylinders 2A, 2B of Bracque have the same structure as the claimed at least two adsorbers and are capable of functioning in the manner claimed), comprising:
a compressor connection which comprises:
a connection pair comprising a first adsorber connection and a second adsorber connection, a first heat exchanger connection and a second heat exchanger connection and a residual gas connection or a residual gas outlet and (Fig. 1, inlet connector 11, inlet connection 15, connections 12A, 12B, connections 22A, 22B, coupling 23, inlet/outlet connectors 29, conduit 19; Col. 2, lines 66-67, the conduit 19 for evacuating the residual gas of the column),
a valve and flap assembly that is configured for each connection pair in either a first state or a second state (Col. 3, lines 22-27, It will be understood that, according to the installation under consideration, the elements of the modules 3 and 4 can vary as to type and number. Moreover, these modules comprise all the connection conduits for their elements to each other, with corresponding automatic and/or remotely controlled valves):
wherein in the first state of the connection pair, to fluidically connect the compressor connection to the first adsorber connection of the connection pair and fluidically connect the second adsorber connection of the connection pair to the first heat exchanger connection (Fig. 1 of Bracque depicts the compressor module 1 to be fluidically connected to the cylinders 2A, 2B and to the cold module 4 via inlet connector 11, inlet connection 15, connections 12A, 12B, connections 22A, 22B, coupling 23, inlet/outlet connectors 29); and,
wherein in the second state of the connection pair, to fluidically connect the second heat exchanger connection to the second adsorber connection of the connection pair, and to fluidically connect the first adsorber connection of the connection pair to the residual gas connection or a residual gas outlet (Fig. 1 of Bracque depicts the cold module 4 to be connected to cylinders 2A, 2B and conduit 19 via connections 12A, 12B, connections 22A, 22B, coupling 23, inlet/outlet connectors 29),
wherein the distributor module has a floor side, and a height of the distributor module measured perpendicular to the floor side, and traverse dimensions of the distributor module measured parallel to the floor side. (See annotated Fig. 3 of Bracque below, floor side F, height H, traverse dimension T).
However, Bracque does not explicitly disclose the height of the distributor module is at least 5 times greater than both transverse dimensions of the distributor module measured parallel to the floor side.
Bracque does however disclose the size of the module 3 to be dimensioned to permit road transport (Col. 3, lines 37-44, The applicant has determined that even for installations of large size, for example producing tens of tons per day of oxygen, as well as of the type for the vaporization of liquid oxygen under pressure, it is possible to produce in the manner described above modules 3 and 4 of generally parallelepipedal shape whose external dimensions permit road transport). As such the dimensions of the distributor modules, including the height of the distributor module in relation to both transverse dimensions of the distributor module measured parallel to the floor side, is disclosed to be a result effective variable in that the dimensions of the modules must be sized to permit road transport. therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Bracque by making the height of the distributor module is at least 5 times greater than both transverse dimensions of the distributor module measured parallel to the floor side as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Annotated Fig. 3 of Bracque
Regarding claim 5, Bracque as modified discloses the distributor module according to claim 1 (see the modification of the reference used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the compressor connection in the distributor module is connected to the main air compressor arrangement via a fluid line (Fig. 1, connecting tubes 6, inlet connector 11, inlet connection 15).
Regarding claim 7, Bracque as modified discloses the distributor module according to claim 1 (see the modification of the reference used in the rejection of claim 1 above), comprising a regeneration gas heater that is fluidly connected to the second heat exchanger connection (Fig. 1, reheater 18; Col. 2, lines 65-66, a reheater 18 for gas for regenerating the adsorbent; Col. 3, lines 22-27, It will be understood that, according to the installation under consideration, the elements of the modules 3 and 4 can vary as to type and number. Moreover, these modules comprise all the connection conduits for their elements to each other, with corresponding automatic and/or remotely controlled valves; Further, the teachings of Bracque at least imply the a regeneration gas heater that is fluidly connected to the second heat exchanger connection since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Regarding claim 8, the distributor module according to claim 1 (see the modification of the reference used in the rejection of claim 1 above), comprising a blowdown silencer arranged on the residual gas connection or the residual gas outlet (Fig. 1, muffler 20; Col. 2, lines 66-67, the conduit 19 for evacuating the residual gas of the column, provided with a muffler 20).
Regarding claim 9, Bracque as modified discloses the distributor module according to claim 1 (see the modification of the reference used in the rejection of claim 1 above), further comprising a support frame on which are mounted the valve and flap assembly, and/or the regeneration gas heater and/or a control unit, and/or; the blowdown silencer, wherein further fluid lines for connecting the valve and flap assembly, and/or the regeneration gas heater and/or a control unit, and for connecting to the compressor connection, the first t exchanger connection and the second heat exchanger connection, the first adsorber connection, and the second adsorber connection, are also mounted on the support frame (Fig. 1, parallelepipedal framework 13, connecting tubes 6; Col. 2-3, lines 59-67 and 1-6, The module 3 comprises a parallelepipedal framework 13 in which are fixed the assembly of the "warm" elements of the installation other than the compression module and the purification cylinders: the final cooler 14 of the compressor, connected to an inlet connection 15 disposed facing the connection 11, and a cold group 17 mounted in series with the cooler 14, a reheater 18 for gas for regenerating the adsorbent, the conduit 19 for evacuating the residual gas of the column, provided with a muffler 20, and also the assembly of the monitoring, control and instrumentation members relating to the elements 14 to 20, schematically shown at 21. The module 3 also comprises two connections 22A, 22B for each respective cylinder 2A, 2B, and couplings 23 for connection with the cold module 4, three in number in this example; Col. 3, lines 22-27, It will be understood that, according to the installation under consideration, the elements of the modules 3 and 4 can vary as to type and number. Moreover, these modules comprise all the connection conduits for their elements to each other, with corresponding automatic and/or remotely controlled valves).
Regarding claim 10, Bracque as modified discloses the distributor module according to claim 9 (see the modification of the reference used in the rejection of claim 9 above), wherein the support frame is cuboid and has a length, a width, and a depth, and wherein the height of the distributor module is equal to the length of the support frame and the transverse dimension of the distributor module is equal to the width of the support frame, the depth of the support frame, or an average of the width and the depth of the support frame (Fig. 1, parallelepipedal framework 13; See annotated Fig. 3 of Bracque below which depicts height H to be equal to a length L and the traverse dimensions to be equal to a width W of the modules and a depth D). Further, Bracque may not expressly teach wherein the height of the distributor module is equal to the length of the support frame and the transverse dimension of the distributor module is equal to the width of the support frame, the depth of the support frame, or an average of the width and the depth of the support frame of the instant claim, Bracque teaches a distributor module and a support frame. The courts have held the following: In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP § 2144.04-IV-A. Therefore, the distributor module of Bracque is capable of operating in the manner claimed and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device and is not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Annotated Fig. 3 of Bracque
Regarding claim 13, Bracque as modified discloses an air separation plant comprising a distributor module according to claim 1 (see the modification of the reference used in the rejection of claim 1 above) and further comprising fluid lines that connect the main air compressor arrangement, the at least two adsorbers, each of which can be operated in the adsorption phase and the regeneration phase, and the main heat exchanger arrangement which are connected to the distributor module (Fig. 1, warm module 3, air compression module 1, electric motor 8, principal compressor 9, cylinders 2A, 2B, cold module 4, heat exchange line 24, subcooler 25, connecting tubes 6; Col. 2, lines 56-57, The cylinders 2A, 2B are conventional adsorption cylinders; Further, the cylinders 2A, 2B of Bracque have the same structure as the claimed at least two adsorbers and are capable of functioning in the manner claimed).
Regarding claim 14, Bracque as modified discloses the air separation plant according to claim 13 (see the modification of the reference used in the rejection of claim 13 above) further comprising a separation column arrangement, wherein the main heat exchanger arrangement is arranged between the distributor module and the separation column arrangement, and wherein the main heat exchanger arrangement is preferably mounted in a main heat exchanger module, and/or the separation column arrangement is mounted in a separation column module (Fig. 1, double distillation column 5, cylindrical wall 32, cold module 4; Col. 3, lines 7-21, The module 4 comprises the principal heat exchange line 24, constituted by several parallelepipedal heat exchangers of the brazed plate type, a subcooler 25, the cold accessories of the installation such as cryogenic pumps 26 and turbines 27, and the assembly of the monitoring, control and instrumentation members relating to the elements 24 to 27, schematically shown at 28. The module 4 also comprises inlet/outlet connectors 29 of the heat exchange line, of a number equal to the couplings 23 and disposed facing these latter, and couplings 30 for connection to the column 5. The assembly of the elements 24 to 30 is mounted in a parallelepipedal framework 31. The assembly of the cold parts of the cold elements (exchangers 24 and 25, bodies of cryogenic valves, pumps 26, turbines 27, etc.) are thermally insulated, for example by means of perlite; Further, Fig. 1 of Bracque depicts the heat exchange line 24 and the subcooler 25 to be mounted in cold module 4 between warm module 3 and the double distillation column 5).
Regarding claim 15, Bracque as modified discloses the air separation plant according to claim 13 (see the modification of the reference used in the rejection of claim 13 above).
While Bracque as modified may not expressly teach wherein the height of the distributor module in relation to a heat exchanger height of the main heat exchanger arrangement or a heat exchanger height of the main heat exchanger module is between the heat exchanger height minus 5 m and heat exchanger height plus 5 m of the instant claim, Bracque teaches a distributor module. The courts have held the following: In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP § 2144.04-IV-A. Therefore, the distributor module of Bracque is capable of operating in the manner claimed and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device and is not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 17, Bracque as modified discloses the air separation plant according to claim 9 (see the modification of the reference used in the rejection of claim 9 above).
Bracque as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the support frame is a steel support frame. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the support frame from steel since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use or purpose MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 18, Bracque as modified discloses the air separation plant according to claim 9 (see the modification of the reference used in the rejection of claim 10 above).
However, Bracque does not explicitly disclose wherein the width of the support frame and the depth of the support frame are, independently of one another, in the range of 3.5 m to 7 m, and the length of the support frame is in the range of 10 m to 30 m.
Bracque does however disclose the size of the module 3, which includes the parallelepipedal framework 13, to be dimensioned to permit road transport (Col. 2, line 59, The module 3 comprises a parallelepipedal framework 13; Col. 3, lines 37-44, The applicant has determined that even for installations of large size, for example producing tens of tons per day of oxygen, as well as of the type for the vaporization of liquid oxygen under pressure, it is possible to produce in the manner described above modules 3 and 4 of generally parallelepipedal shape whose external dimensions permit road transport). As such the dimensions of the distributor modules, which includes the parallelepipedal framework 13, are disclosed to be a result effective variable in that the dimensions of the modules must be sized to permit road transport. therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Bracque by making the width of the support frame and the depth of the support frame are, independently of one another, in the range of 3.5 m to 7 m, and the length of the support frame is in the range of 10 m to 30 mas a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 20, Bracque as modified discloses the air separation plant according to claim 14 (see the modification of the reference used in the rejection of claim 14 above) wherein the main heat exchanger arrangement is mounted in a main heat exchanger module, and/or the separation column arrangement is mounted in a separation column module (Fig. 1, double distillation column 5, cylindrical wall 32, cold module 4; Col. 3, lines 7-21, The module 4 comprises the principal heat exchange line 24, constituted by several parallelepipedal heat exchangers of the brazed plate type, a subcooler 25, the cold accessories of the installation such as cryogenic pumps 26 and turbines 27, and the assembly of the monitoring, control and instrumentation members relating to the elements 24 to 27, schematically shown at 28. The module 4 also comprises inlet/outlet connectors 29 of the heat exchange line, of a number equal to the couplings 23 and disposed facing these latter, and couplings 30 for connection to the column 5. The assembly of the elements 24 to 30 is mounted in a parallelepipedal framework 31. The assembly of the cold parts of the cold elements (exchangers 24 and 25, bodies of cryogenic valves, pumps 26, turbines 27, etc.) are thermally insulated, for example by means of perlite; Further, Fig. 1 of Bracque depicts the heat exchange line 24 and the subcooler 25 to be mounted in cold module 4 between warm module 3 and the double distillation column 5).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bracque et al. (US Patent No. 5,461,871), hereinafter Bracque in view of Rampp (US 20130283855), hereinafter Rampp.
Regarding claim 4, Bracque as modified discloses the distributor module according to claim 1 (see the modification of the reference used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the first heat exchanger connection and the second heat exchanger connection can be connected to the warm end of the main heat exchanger arrangement by the fluid lines (Fig. 1, inlet/outlet connectors 29).
However, Bracque as modified does not disclose wherein the connections between the first heat exchanger connection and the warm end of the main heat exchanger as well as the connection between the second heat exchanger and the warm end of the main heat exchanger are arranged in an upper third of the height of the distributor module.
Rampp teaches wherein the connections between the first heat exchanger connection and the warm end of the main heat exchanger as well as the connection between the second heat exchanger and the warm end of the main heat exchanger are arranged in an upper third of the height of the distributor module (Fig. 2 of Rampp depicts ports 10a, 10b for connecting between the piping module 10 and the two main heat exchangers 1a, 1b to be arranged in the upper third of the height of the piping module 10).
Bracque as modified fails to teach wherein the connections between the first heat exchanger connection and the warm end of the main heat exchanger as well as the connection between the second heat exchanger and the warm end of the main heat exchanger are arranged in an upper third of the height of the distributor module, however Rampp teaches that it is a known method in the art of low temperature air separation plants to include wherein the connections between the first heat exchanger connection and the warm end of the main heat exchanger as well as the connection between the second heat exchanger and the warm end of the main heat exchanger are arranged in an upper third of the height of the distributor module. This is strong evidence that modifying Bracque as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing a simple arrangement for fluid distribution). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bracque as modified by Rampp and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing a simple arrangement for fluid distribution.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bracque et al. (US Patent No. 5,461,871), hereinafter Bracque in view of Rampp (US 20130283855), hereinafter Rampp and Cavagne et al. (US Patent No. 10,807,033), hereinafter Cavage.
Regarding claim 6, Bracque as modified discloses the distributor module according to claim 1 (see the modification of the reference used in the rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein first valves and/or flaps which shut off/release fluid flows to the at least two adsorbers or to the connection pairs are arranged horizontally in the distributor module or in the valve and flap assembly and the connection lines to which the corresponding valve is connected are arranged horizontally (Col. 3, lines 22-27, It will be understood that, according to the installation under consideration, the elements of the modules 3 and 4 can vary as to type and number. Moreover, these modules comprise all the connection conduits for their elements to each other, with corresponding automatic and/or remotely controlled valves; Further, as best understood, the Examiner is interpreting the valves and connection lines to be arranged horizontally as they are three-dimensional objects that take up both horizontal and vertical space within the distributor module);
wherein second valves and/or flaps, which shut off/release fluid flows between connection pairs and the heat exchanger connections (Col. 3, lines 22-27, It will be understood that, according to the installation under consideration, the elements of the modules 3 and 4 can vary as to type and number. Moreover, these modules comprise all the connection conduits for their elements to each other, with corresponding automatic and/or remotely controlled valves);
wherein the first flap and/or second flap are arranged horizontally and the connecting lines to which the corresponding flap is connected are arranged horizontally (Col. 3, lines 22-27, It will be understood that, according to the installation under consideration, the elements of the modules 3 and 4 can vary as to type and number. Moreover, these modules comprise all the connection conduits for their elements to each other, with corresponding automatic and/or remotely controlled valves; Further, as best understood, the Examiner is interpreting the flaps and connection lines to be arranged horizontally as they are three-dimensional objects that take up both horizontal and vertical space within the distributor module; see 112(b) rejections above).
However, Bracque as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein second valves and/or flaps are arranged in a vertical in the distributor module or in the valve and flap assembly and the connection lines to which the corresponding valve is connected are arranged in a vertical plane.
Rampp teaches wherein second valves and/or flaps are arranged in a vertical in the distributor module or in the valve and flap assembly and the connection lines to which the corresponding valve is connected are arranged in a vertical plane (Fig. 2 of Rampp depicts the valve 14 and the connection lines to be arranged in a vertical plate in the piping module 10).
Bracque as modified fails to teach wherein second valves and/or flaps are arranged in a vertical or almost vertical plane in the distributor module or in the valve and flap assembly, that is, the connection lines to which the corresponding valve is connected are arranged in a vertical or almost vertical plane, however Rampp teaches that it is a known method in the art of low temperature air separation plants to include wherein second valves and/or flaps are arranged in a vertical or almost vertical plane in the distributor module or in the valve and flap assembly, that is, the connection lines to which the corresponding valve is connected are arranged in a vertical or almost vertical plane. This is strong evidence that modifying Bracque as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing a simple arrangement for fluid distribution). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bracque as modified by Rampp and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing a simple arrangement for fluid distribution.
Further, Bracque as modified does not disclose wherein the second valves and/or flaps are arranged spatially above the first valves and/or flaps.
Cavage teaches wherein the second valves and/or flaps are arranged spatially above the first valves and/or flaps (Fig. 2, first assembly of pipework and valves 10, second assembly of pipework and valves 11; Col. 2, lines 17-24, a first assembly of pipework and valves 10 and a second assembly of pipework and valves 11, characterized in that the first assembly of pipework and valves 10 is laid on the floor or on a metal structure and the second assembly of pipework and valves 11 is located high up along the same vertical axis as the first assembly of pipework and valves 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valves and flaps of Bracque as modified wherein the second valves and/or flaps are arranged spatially above the first valves and/or flaps as taught by Cavage. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to divide the assembly of valves and pipework into two sub-assemblies of reduced size that are installed one above the other and that reduce the distances of pipe runs and to reduce system pressure drops (Cavage, Col. 1-2, lines 39-67 and 1-12, and Col. 3, lines 22-26).
Claims 11-12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bracque et al. (US Patent No. 5,461,871), hereinafter Bracque in view of Hirose (JP 6668542), hereinafter Hirose.
Regarding claim 11, Bracque as modified discloses the distributor module according to claim 1 (see the modification of the reference used in the rejection of claim 1 above), configured, when the distributor module is connected to the main air compressor arrangement, the at least two adsorbers and the main heat exchanger arrangement, for each of the adsorbers of the at least two adsorbers, independently of each other (Fig. 1 of Bracque depicts the warm module 3 to be connected to the air compressor module 1, cylinders 2A, 2B, and the cold module 4 via inlet connector 11, inlet connection 15, connections 12A, 12B, connections 22A, 22B, coupling 23, inlet/outlet connectors 29).
However, Bracque as modified does not explicitly disclose the system to direct an air flow to one of the adsorbers of the at least two adsorbers during the adsorption phase of the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers, and to direct the air flow from the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers to the main heat exchanger arrangement after flowing through the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers; and,
to direct a regeneration gas flow from the main heat exchanger arrangement to one of the adsorbers of the at least two adsorbers during the regeneration phase of the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers and, after flowing through the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers, to direct the regeneration gas flow to a residual gas outlet.
Hirose teaches the system to direct an air flow to one of the adsorbers of the at least two adsorbers during the adsorption phase of the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers, and to direct the air flow from the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers to the main heat exchanger arrangement after flowing through the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers (Pg. 9, paragraph 37, The valve switching device 30 switches between the introduction and the derivation of the raw air and the regeneration gas to the first adsorption tower 10 and the second adsorption tower 20, that is, alternately performs the purification processing of the raw air and the regeneration processing of the adsorbent. It is a device to make it. The valve switching device 30 includes a raw air supply line L1 for supplying raw air supplied from the raw air production equipment, and a purified air for supplying purified raw air purified by the adsorption tower to the rectification tower equipment 40. A raw air supply line L2, a regeneration gas supply line L3 for supplying a regeneration gas sent from the rectification tower equipment 40, and a waste gas for discharging a waste gas that is a regeneration gas used for the regeneration treatment of the adsorbent. It has a gas line L4 and a valve control unit 35 for controlling the opening and closing of a gate valve (or control valve) installed in each line); and,
to direct a regeneration gas flow from the main heat exchanger arrangement to one of the adsorbers of the at least two adsorbers during the regeneration phase of the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers and, after flowing through the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers, to direct the regeneration gas flow to a residual gas outlet (Pg. 9, paragraph 37, The valve switching device 30 switches between the introduction and the derivation of the raw air and the regeneration gas to the first adsorption tower 10 and the second adsorption tower 20, that is, alternately performs the purification processing of the raw air and the regeneration processing of the adsorbent. It is a device to make it. The valve switching device 30 includes a raw air supply line L1 for supplying raw air supplied from the raw air production equipment, and a purified air for supplying purified raw air purified by the adsorption tower to the rectification tower equipment 40. A raw air supply line L2, a regeneration gas supply line L3 for supplying a regeneration gas sent from the rectification tower equipment 40, and a waste gas for discharging a waste gas that is a regeneration gas used for the regeneration treatment of the adsorbent. It has a gas line L4 and a valve control unit 35 for controlling the opening and closing of a gate valve (or control valve) installed in each line).
Bracque as modified fails to teach the system to direct an air flow to one of the adsorbers of the at least two adsorbers during the adsorption phase of the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers, and to direct the air flow from the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers to the main heat exchanger arrangement after flowing through the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers; and, to direct a regeneration gas flow from the main heat exchanger arrangement to one of the adsorbers of the at least two adsorbers during the regeneration phase of the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers and, after flowing through the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers, to direct the regeneration gas flow to a residual gas outlet, however Hirose teaches that it is a known method in the art of low temperature air separation plants to include the system to direct an air flow to one of the adsorbers of the at least two adsorbers during the adsorption phase of the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers, and to direct the air flow from the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers to the main heat exchanger arrangement after flowing through the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers; and, to direct a regeneration gas flow from the main heat exchanger arrangement to one of the adsorbers of the at least two adsorbers during the regeneration phase of the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers and, after flowing through the respective adsorber of the at least two adsorbers, to direct the regeneration gas flow to a residual gas outlet. This is strong evidence that modifying Bracque as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. in order to increase the efficiency of continuous operation of the air separation device, the purification process and the regeneration process are alternately switched using two or more adsorption columns (Hirose, Pg. 3, paragraph 3)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bracque as modified by Hirose and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of in order to increase the efficiency of continuous operation of the air separation device, the purification process and the regeneration process are alternately switched using two or more adsorption columns (Hirose, Pg. 3, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 12, Bracque as modified discloses the distributor module according to claim 1 (see the modification of the reference used in the rejection of claim 1 above), further comprising a control unit which is configured to control the valve and flap assembly (Fig. 1, assemblies 21, 2, work station 35; Col. 3-4, line 67 and 1-5, Moreover, in the installation of FIG. 1, there can be provided assemblies 21 and 28 in the compartments that are open and facing each other, and there can be provided between them, between the modules 3 and 4, a work station 35 having direct access to all the monitoring, control and instrumentation members of the installation).
However, Bracque as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the connection pair is operated according to the first state in order to operate one of the adsorbers of the at least two adsorbers connected thereto in the adsorption phase, and is operated according to the second state in order to operate the other adsorber of the at least two adsorbers connected to the connection pair in the regeneration phase.
Hirose teaches the control unit which is configured to control the valve and flap assembly wherein the connection pair is operated according to the first state in order to operate one of the adsorbers of the at least two adsorbers connected thereto in the adsorption phase, and is operated according to the second state in order to operate the other adsorber of the at least two adsorbers connected to the connection pair in the regeneration phase (Pg. 9, paragraph 37, The valve switching device 30 switches between the introduction and the derivation of the raw air and the regeneration gas to the first adsorption tower 10 and the second adsorption tower 20, that is, alternately performs the purification processing of the raw air and the regeneration processing of the adsorbent. It is a device to make it. The valve switching device 30 includes a raw air supply line L1 for supplying raw air supplied from the raw air production equipment, and a purified air for supplying purified raw air purified by the adsorption tower to the rectification tower equipment 40. A raw air supply line L2, a regeneration gas supply line L3 for supplying a regeneration gas sent from the rectification tower equipment 40, and a waste gas for discharging a waste gas that is a regeneration gas used for the regeneration treatment of the adsorbent. It has a gas line L4 and a valve control unit 35 for controlling the opening and closing of a gate valve (or control valve) installed in each line).
Bracque as modified fails to teach the control unit which is configured to control the valve and flap assembly wherein the connection pair is operated according to the first state in order to operate one of the adsorbers of the at least two adsorbers connected thereto in the adsorption phase, and is operated according to the second state in order to operate the other adsorber of the at least two adsorbers connected to the connection pair in the regeneration phase, however Hirose teaches that it is a known method in the art of low temperature air separation plants to configured the control unit to control the valve and flap assembly wherein the connection pair is operated according to the first state in order to operate one of the adsorbers of the at least two adsorbers connected thereto in the adsorption phase, and is operated according to the second state in order to operate the other adsorber of the at least two adsorbers connected to the connection pair in the regeneration phase. This is strong evidence that modifying Bracque as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. in order to increase the efficiency of continuous operation of the air separation device, the purification process and the regeneration process are alternately switched using two or more adsorption columns (Hirose, Pg. 3, paragraph 3)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bracque as modified by Hirose and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of in order to increase the efficiency of continuous operation of the air separation device, the purification process and the regeneration process are alternately switched using two or more adsorption columns (Hirose, Pg. 3, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 19, Bracque as modified discloses the distributor module according to claim 12 (see the modification of the reference used in the rejection of claim 12 above), wherein the control unit is configured to control the valve and flap assembly so that at least one connection pair of the connection pairs for each adsorber of the at least two adsorbers is operated alternately according to the first state (Hirose, Pg. 9, paragraph 37, The valve switching device 30 switches between the introduction and the derivation of the raw air and the regeneration gas to the first adsorption tower 10 and the second adsorption tower 20, that is, alternately performs the purification processing of the raw air and the regeneration processing of the adsorbent. It is a device to make it. The valve switching device 30 includes a raw air supply line L1 for supplying raw air supplied from the raw air production equipment, and a purified air for supplying purified raw air purified by the adsorption tower to the rectification tower equipment 40. A raw air supply line L2, a regeneration gas supply line L3 for supplying a regeneration gas sent from the rectification tower equipment 40, and a waste gas for discharging a waste gas that is a regeneration gas used for the regeneration treatment of the adsorbent. It has a gas line L4 and a valve control unit 35 for controlling the opening and closing of a gate valve (or control valve) installed in each line). Further, the limitations of claim 19 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bracque as modified by Rampp as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Finke et al. (US Patent No. 3,870,079), hereinafter Finke.
Regarding claim 16, Bracque as modified discloses the distributor module according to claim 6 (see the modification of the reference used in the rejection of claim 6 above).
However, Bracque as modified does not disclose wherein the first flap and/or second flap are three lever flaps.
Finke teaches the use of three lever valves in high pressure gaseous applications (Fig. 1, three lever valve 10; Col. 1, lines 6-8, Our invention is directed to valves and, more particularly, to three lever valves for gaseous media under high pressures).
Bracque as modified fails to teach wherein the first flap and/or second flap are three lever flaps, however Finke teaches that it is a known method in the art of flow control valves to include the use of three lever valves in high pressure gaseous applications. This is strong evidence that modifying Bracque as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing sufficient flow control within the system to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bracque as modified by Finke and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing sufficient flow control within the system to improve overall system efficiencies.
Conclusion
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 September 11th, 2026