DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-18 and 20 pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statements dated 03/01/2024 are acknowledged by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 3-4 and 7-8 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 3-4 and 7-8 recite “and/or” which should read “and” or “or”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-10, 13-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al, US 2016/0112944 hereafter Zhou.
As for claim 1, Zhou discloses:
An association system for a wireless communication network comprising:
at least one association initiator device, and at least one association target device, wherein the at least one association initiator device and the at least one association target device belong to a plurality of communication devices (FIG. 3A, [0137], the mobile device 115-b may attempt to initiate association with at least one of or a plurality of its neighbor APs. [0141], The mobile device 115-c transmits a message 302 (e.g., probe request), which may include one or association delay limits (e.g., thresholds) to AP),
wherein each communication device of the plurality of the communication devices is a radio node device configured to provide a bi-directional radio communication with at least one of the plurality of the communication devices; ([0004], A wireless device may communicate with a network device bi-directionally with an AP upon establishing a connection and associating with the AP. A mobile device selects an AP for association, and the selected AP may require more time to associate the selected AP than other APs with which the mobile device could communicate.),
wherein each association target device is configured to transmit beacon the beacon messages ([0141] The AP transmits the association delay metrics using the access network query protocol (ANQP) element carried in beacon and/or probe response message.) comprising load data of said association target device comprising at least data indicative of number of currently associated router devices ([0105], Channel load metrics may include, for example, total channel load, channel load due to basic service set (BSS) and/or the number of associated or active mobile devices on a channel between the AP and the mobile device.)
wherein, after receiving the beacon message from at least one association target device (104c), each association initiator device is configured to decide whether to attempt to associate with the at least one association target device from which the [beacon message is received on a basis of the load data ([0005]-[0006], [0103], [0141], [0144], Select/decide on whether to attempt to associate with a target device from which the association messages is received based on the load metrics received in the beacon message from the target device) comprised at least partly in the received beacon message] from said at least one association target device ([0141] The AP transmits the association delay metrics using the access network query protocol (ANQP) element carried in beacon and/or probe response message.)
send an association request message to each of the at least one association target device with which said association initiator device decides to attempt to associate. (FIG 3A, [0142] The mobile device 115-c, upon receiving message 306, may select AP 105-e for association. [0143], The mobile device 115-c may then transmit an association request 318 to AP. Upon successful completion of the authentication and association procedure, mobile device 115-c may establish data communication 328 with the AP 105-e.)
As for claim 3, Zhou discloses the load data further comprises data indicative of maximum number of allowed associated devices, and/or data indicative of number of currently associated non-router devices. ([0105], Channel load metrics may include, for example, total channel load, channel load due to basic service set (BSS) and/or the number of associated or active mobile devices on a channel between the AP and the mobile device.)
As for claim 4, Zhou discloses the load data further comprises one or more performance parameters comprising Random Access Channel (RACH) load data, channel load data, traffic load data, and/or a route cost data. ([0105], Channel load metrics may include, for example, total channel load, channel load due to basic service set (BSS) and/or the number of associated or active mobile devices on a channel between the AP and the mobile device.)
As for claim 5, Zhou discloses if the beacon message is received from at least two association target devices, each association initiator device is configured to: select at least one most suitable association target device on a basis of at least one selection criterion. ([0012], selecting the AP of the plurality of APs comprises determining that the association delay metric satisfies at least one QoS requirement of a mobile device. [0103] APs may provide association delay performance metrics to wireless devices within the APs' coverage areas, which may be used by the mobile devices to select one of the APs for association, and thus communication with a network)
As for claim 6, Zhou discloses the at least one selection criterion comprises the load data of the at least two one association target devices comprised at least partly in the received beacon message from the at least two association target devices. ([0005]-[0006], [0103], [0141], [0144], a mobile device may receive an association delay metric or a channel load metric, or both, for a plurality of APs, and it may select an AP for association based in part on the received metrics. Select/decide on whether to attempt to associate with a target device from which the association messages is received based on the load metrics received in the beacon message from the plurality of target devices)
As for claim 7, Zhou discloses at least one selection criterion further comprises link quality data, ability to use a higher order modulation, offered minimum bitrate for one associated device, guaranteed end-to-end latency characteristics, and/or availability of a route to a sink device. ([0012], selecting the AP of the plurality of APs comprises determining that the association delay metric satisfies at least one QoS requirement of a mobile device. selecting the AP of the plurality of APs is based on a response time for a measurement message between a mobile device and a network server)
As for claim 9, Zhou discloses the association request message further comprises data indicative of an energy saving mode of the association initiator device, data indicative of number of currently associated devices of the association initiator device, and/or data indicative of a traffic load of the association initiator device. ([0105], Channel load metrics may include, for example, total channel load, channel load due to basic service set (BSS) and/or the number of associated or active mobile devices on a channel between the AP and the mobile device.)
As for claim 10, Zhou discloses in response to receiving the association request message from at least one association initiator device, each association target device is configured to decide whether to approve the association request from the at least one association initiator device on a basis of data indicative ([0005]-[0006], [0103], [0141], [0144], a mobile device may receive an association delay metric or a channel load metric, or both, for a plurality of APs, and it may select an AP for association based in part on the received metrics. Select/decide on whether to attempt to associate with a target device from which the association messages is received based on the load metrics received in the beacon message from the plurality of target devices)of a maximum number of associated devices of said association target device, wherein if the maximum number of allowed associated devices is reached each association target device is further configured to use data comprised in the association request message received from the at least one association initiator device to decide whether to approve the association request from the at least one association initiator device. ([0030], [0105], [0137]-[0138], mobile device may identify a maximum value or values for a channel load. Channel load metrics may include, for example, total channel load, channel load due to basic service set (BSS) and/or the number of associated or active mobile devices on a channel between the AP and the mobile device. Thus, in some instances, the AP may determine channel load associated with the AP and reply to the mobile if, for instance, the measured channel load is less than the load limits identified by the mobile device.)
As for claim 13, Zhou discloses:
An association method for a wireless communication network, wherein the method comprises following steps of:
presenting at least one association initiator device and at least one association target device belonging to a plurality of communication devices operating as radio node devices (FIG. 3A, [0137], the mobile device 115-b may attempt to initiate association with at least one of or a plurality of its neighbor APs. [0141], The mobile device 115-c transmits a message 302 (e.g., probe request), which may include one or association delay limits (e.g., thresholds) to AP),
providing, by each communication device of the plurality of the communication devices, a bi-directional radio communication with at least one of the plurality of the communication devices; ([0004], A wireless device may communicate with a network device bi-directionally with an AP upon establishing a connection and associating with the AP. A mobile device selects an AP for association, and the selected AP may require more time to associate the selected AP than other APs with which the mobile device could communicate.),
transmitting, by each association target device, beacon messages comprising ([0141] The AP transmits the association delay metrics using the access network query protocol (ANQP) element carried in beacon and/or probe response message.) load data of said association target device comprising at least data indicative of number of currently associated router devices; ([0105], Channel load metrics may include, for example, total channel load, channel load due to basic service set (BSS) and/or the number of associated or active mobile devices on a channel between the AP and the mobile device.)
after receiving the beacon message from at least one association target device, deciding, by each association initiator device, whether to attempt to associate with the at least one association target device from which the beacon message is received on a basis of the load data ([0005]-[0006], [0103], [0141], [0144], Select/decide on whether to attempt to associate with a target device from which the association messages is received based on the load metrics received in the beacon message from the target device) comprised at least partly in the received beacon message] from said at least one association target device ([0141] The AP transmits the association delay metrics using the access network query protocol (ANQP) element carried in beacon and/or probe response message.)
sending, by each association initiator device, an association request message to each of the at least one association target device with which said association initiator device decides to attempt to associate. (FIG 3A, [0142] The mobile device 115-c, upon receiving message 306, may select AP 105-e for association. [0143], The mobile device 115-c may then transmit an association request 318 to AP. Upon successful completion of the authentication and association procedure, mobile device 115-c may establish data communication 328 with the AP 105-e.)
As for claim 14, Zhou discloses:
An association initiator device ([0217] The mobile device 115-h may also include a processor component 905, memory 915 (including software (SW) 920), a transceiver component 935, and one or more antenna(s) 940, each of which may communicate, directly or indirectly) for participating in an association process in a wireless communication network, wherein the association initiator device comprises:
a controller, and a radio communicator for operating as a radio node device, wherein the association initiator device is configured to provide, by the radio communicator, a bi-directional radio communication with at least one of plurality of communication devices; ([0004], A wireless device may communicate with a network device bi-directionally with an AP upon establishing a connection and associating with the AP. A mobile device selects an AP for association, and the selected AP may require more time to associate the selected AP than other APs with which the mobile device could communicate.),
after receiving, by the radio communicator, a beacon message from at least one association target device, the association initiator device is configured to: decide, by the controller, whether to attempt to associate with the at least one association target device from which the beacon message is received on a basis of load data comprised at least partly in the received beacon message from said at least one association target device, ([0005]-[0006], [0103], [0141], [0144], After receiving the load metrics received in the beacon message from the target device, select/decide on whether to attempt to associate with a target device from which the association messages)
wherein the beacon message ([0141] The AP transmits the association delay metrics using the access network query protocol (ANQP) element carried in beacon and/or probe response message.) comprises the load data of said association target device comprising at least data indicative of number of currently associated router devices, ([0005]-[0006], [0103], [0141], [0144], Select/decide on whether to attempt to associate with a target device from which the association messages is received based on the load metrics received in the beacon message from the target device) and
send, by the radio communicator, an association request message to each of the at least one association target device with which said association initiator device decides to attempt to associate. (FIG 3A, [0142] The mobile device 115-c, upon receiving message 306, may select AP 105-e for association. [0143], The mobile device 115-c may then transmit an association request 318 to AP. Upon successful completion of the authentication and association procedure, mobile device 115-c may establish data communication 328 with the AP 105-e.)
As for claim 15, Zhou discloses:
An association method for an association process in a wireless communication network, wherein the method comprises following steps of:
providing, by a radio communicator of an association initiator device operating as a radio node device, a bi-directional radio communication with at least one of plurality of communication devices; ([0004], A wireless device may communicate with a network device bi-directionally with an AP upon establishing a connection and associating with the AP. A mobile device selects an AP for association, and the selected AP may require more time to associate the selected AP than other APs with which the mobile device could communicate.),
after receiving a beacon message from at least one association target device, deciding, by a controller of the association initiator device, whether to attempt to associate with the at least one association target device on a basis of load data ([0005]-[0006], [0103], [0141], [0144], After receiving in the beacon message from the target device , select/decide on whether to attempt to associate with a target device from which the association messages is received based on the load metrics) comprised at least partly in the received beacon message from said at least one association target device, ([0141] The AP transmits the association delay metrics using the access network query protocol (ANQP) element carried in beacon and/or probe response message.)
wherein the beacon message ([0141] The AP transmits the association delay metrics using the access network query protocol (ANQP) element carried in beacon and/or probe response message.) comprises the load data of said association target device comprising at least data indicative of number of currently associated router devices; ([0105], Channel load metrics may include, for example, total channel load, channel load due to basic service set (BSS) and/or the number of associated or active mobile devices on a channel between the AP and the mobile device.) and
sending, by the radio communicator of the association initiator device, an association request message to each of the at least one association target device with which said association initiator device decides to attempt to associate. (FIG 3A, [0142] The mobile device 115-c, upon receiving message 306, may select AP 105-e for association. [0143], The mobile device 115-c may then transmit an association request 318 to AP. Upon successful completion of the authentication and association procedure, mobile device 115-c may establish data communication 328 with the AP 105-e.)
As for claim 16, Zhou discloses:
An association target device for participating in an association process in a wireless communication network ([0016], [0236], A further apparatus for wireless communication at a AP is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to calculate a first association delay metric for a first AP, and transmit a message comprising the first association delay metric to a mobile device.), wherein the association target device comprises:
a controller, and a radio communicator for operating as a radio node device, wherein the association target device, is configured to provide, by the radio communicator, a bi-directional radio communication with at least one of plurality of communication devices, ([0004], A wireless device may communicate with a network device bi-directionally with an AP upon establishing a connection and associating with the AP. A mobile device selects an AP for association, and the selected AP may require more time to associate the selected AP than other APs with which the mobile device could communicate.), and
wherein the association target device, is configured to transmit, by the radio communicator, beacon messages ([0141] The AP transmits the association delay metrics using the access network query protocol (ANQP) element carried in beacon and/or probe response message.) comprising load data of the association target device comprising at least data indicative of number of currently associated router devices. ([0105], Channel load metrics may include, for example, total channel load, channel load due to basic service set (BSS) and/or the number of associated or active mobile devices on a channel between the AP and the mobile device.)
As for claim 17, Zhou discloses:
An association method for an association process in a wireless communication network, wherein the method comprises following steps of:
providing, by a radio communicator of an association target device operating as a radio node device, a bi-directional radio communication with at least one of plurality of communication devices, ([0004], A wireless device may communicate with a network device bi-directionally with an AP upon establishing a connection and associating with the AP. A mobile device selects an AP for association, and the selected AP may require more time to associate the selected AP than other APs with which the mobile device could communicate.), and
transmitting, by the radio communicator of the association target device, beacon messages ([0141] The AP transmits the association delay metrics using the access network query protocol (ANQP) element carried in beacon and/or probe response message.) comprising load data of the association target device comprising at least data indicative of number of currently associated router devices. ([0105], Channel load metrics may include, for example, total channel load, channel load due to basic service set (BSS) and/or the number of associated or active mobile devices on a channel between the AP and the mobile device.)
As for claim 18, Zhou discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium on which is stored a computer program comprising instructions, which, when the computer program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out at least the steps of the method according to claim 15.([0025], a tangible, non-volatile computer readable medium is provided, wherein the computer readable medium comprises the computer program)
As for claim 20, Zhou discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium on which is stored a computer program comprising instructions, which, when the computer program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out at least the steps of the method according to claim 17. ([0025], a tangible, non-volatile computer readable medium is provided, wherein the computer readable medium comprises the computer program)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al, US 2016/0112944 in view of WO 2017/115397 hereafter ‘5397.
As for claim 2, Zhou does not explicitly disclose the decision depends on an operation role of the association initiator device, the operation role of the association initiator device is a router role or a non-router role.
However, ‘5397 discloses the decision depends on an operation role of the association initiator device, the operation role of the association initiator device is a router role or a non-router role. (‘5397, [0040], [0042], Fig 3, S301-S305, The decision to associate is based on the whether to operate as an AP or STA. The Examiner interprets AP or STA to correspond to the operation role)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with ‘the decision depends on an operation role of the association initiator device, the operation role of the association initiator device is a router role or a non-router role as taught by ‘5397 to provide faster and more efficient connection time (‘5397, [0028])
As for claim 8, Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the association request message comprises data indicative of an operation role of the association initiator device.
However, ‘5397 discloses wherein the association request message comprises data indicative of an operation role of the association initiator device. (‘5397, [0016], The information parameter that indicates operating as an AP or STA. may be a numerical value, a MAC address of the first or second wireless P2P device, a flag bit etc.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with ‘wherein the association request message comprises data indicative of an operation role of the association initiator device as taught by ‘5397 to provide faster and more efficient connection time (‘5397, [0028])
6. Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al, US 2016/0112944 in view of Ding et al, US 2018/0316748 hereafter Ding.
As for claim 11, Zhou does not explicitly disclose each association target device is configured to disassociate at least one currently associated non-router device, if the maximum number of allowed associated devices is reached and said association target device decides to approve the association request from at least one association initiator device operating in a router role.
However, Ding discloses each association target device is configured to disassociate at least one currently associated non-router device, if the maximum number of allowed associated devices is reached ([0300] At 2614, Peer A 2602 and Peer B 2604 may perform a context-aware disassociation. [0299] After the association update procedure is complete, one or more of the peers (e.g., Peer A 2602 and/or Peer B 2604) may perform one or more actions such as triggering peer discovery to find other peers, optimizing the peer discovery scheme/behavior (e.g., changing the discovery channel sequence and/or period), performing channel switching for data transmission, performing context-aware peer selection triggering association with other peers, triggering an association update to existing association relationship(s) with other peers, triggering disassociation for existing association relationship with other peers) and said association target device decides to approve the association request from at least one association initiator device operating in a router role. ([0309] One or more peers may perform context-aware peer selection. A peer may be configured to select other peers for association based on a list of discovered peers. Different criteria may be used to select appropriate peers, for example the selection may be based on one or more metrics in various combinations. Examples of metrics that may be used to select one or more peers may include link quality (e.g., select peer(s) with better link quality), residual energy (e.g., select peer(s) with maximum residual energy), number of associated peers for a service (e.g., select peer(s) with the maximum number of associated peers for a service), traffic load (e.g., select peer(s) with the least traffic load),)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with each association target device is configured to disassociate at least one currently associated non-router device, if the maximum number of allowed associated devices is reached and said association target device decides to approve the association request from at least one association initiator device operating in a router role as taught by Ding to reduce signaling overhead and/or to improve energy-efficiency and time-efficiency. (Ding, [0268])
As for claim 12, Zhou does not explicitly disclose the wireless communication network is a wireless mesh network.
However, Ding discloses the wireless communication network is a wireless mesh network. (Ding, [0105], a wireless sensor)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with the wireless communication network is a wireless mesh network as taught by Ding to reduce signaling overhead and/or to improve energy-efficiency and time-efficiency. (Ding, [0268])
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Li, US 2011/0075556 discloses Fig. 3 [0036] In an exemplary embodiment, the load balancing process 300 is configured to wait until receiving an association request from a mobile device at an access device (task 306). In accordance with one embodiment, the access device may simply route the association request to the wireless switch for further processing. In an exemplary embodiment, the load balancing process 300 is configured to determine if the access device that received the association request is the least-loaded access device (task 308). In an exemplary embodiment, the wireless switch is configured to determine if the access device is the least-loaded access device among one or more access devices grouped with the access device. The wireless switch may determine a respective load.
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469