DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Pending
1, 3, 6, 9, 13, 15, 18-19, 21-32
Cancelled
2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14, 16-17, 20
35 U.S.C. 102
1, 3, 6, 9, 13, 15, 18-19, 21-32
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 01/30/2026, which are in response to USPTO Office Action mailed 07/30/2025. Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been considered with the results that follow: THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a communication system in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 9, 13, 15, 18-19, 21-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laws et al. (US 20200057453 A1, “Laws”).
Regarding claim 1: Laws teaches: A method comprising: ([0033] methods and systems for automated following for following vehicles. system in which control of lead vehicle is also partially or fully automated)
detecting a follow request corresponding to a first device and a second device, ([0035] V2V communication between V1 and V2 is established. second, following vehicle (V2) is equipped with Follow-the-Leader system (FTL System) comprising computerized controller and software to implement automated following. more than one vehicle may be equipped with some or all of FTL system. FTL system may refer to system included in one or multiple vehicles. [0061] V2V communication link is established between V1 and V2. can be initiated by first vehicle, second vehicle, some remote presence, or some combination. where third vehicle is included, third vehicle may initiate protocol in same manner as V2)
the second device disposed in a vicinity of the first device; ([0067] lead vehicle V1 and following vehicle V2 designated, are in close enough proximity that V2V link between them has been established)
in accordance with the follow request, operating a follow mode at the first device, ([0067] Once V1 and V2 have been designated, are in close enough proximity, V2 has identified sensor inputs that correspond to V1, has received authorization to follow V1, automated following can begin. [0072] accumulation of V1 path in database, FTL system on V2 directs V2 to move to point occupied by V1 as V1 initiated motion. sequence of commands that control acceleration/deceleration, braking, torque, and steering of V2 based on database of stored V1 path info)
the follow mode comprising the first device and the second device disposed in a follow relationship and the second device directing a movement of the first device along a movement path, the follow relationship including a relative position between the first device and the second device; ([0067] Once lead vehicle V1 and following vehicle V2 have been designated, are in close enough proximity that V2V link between them has been established, and following vehicle has identified sensor inputs that correspond to lead vehicle, and has also received authorization to follow designated lead vehicle V1, automated following can begin. [0068] lead vehicle begins to move. While lead vehicle moves, it detects its own changing coordinates and other info and transmits them over V2V link. [0071] lead vehicle V1 also transmit other path info, acceleration, internal commands, environment. include data related to sensor systems on V1 as measured at corresponding coordinates. FTL system on V2 may detect changing V1 coordinates and path info through V2V system, and lead vehicle motion using its own sensor system or systems. [0072] FTL system on V2 executes sequence of vehicle commands to direct V2 to move to point occupied by V1 as V1 initiated motion. V2 FTL executes control acceleration/deceleration, braking, torque, and steering of V2 based on database of stored V1 path info. [0079] motion control of following vehicle V2. [0081] as lead vehicle moves, it continues to transmit its identification, coordinates, other data in both space and time over V2V link. As following vehicle follows, it continues to receive V1 path info in step and store that info in database.[0034] automated following with a gap (FIGS. 1B-1D) or automated following at a later time (FIGS. 2A-2D))
receiving, at the first device, motion data from the second device in connection with the follow mode, the motion data communicated from the second device in accordance with the second device moving along the movement path; and ([0067] Once lead vehicle V1 and following vehicle V2 have been designated, are in close enough proximity that V2V link between them has been established, and following vehicle has identified sensor inputs that correspond to lead vehicle, and has also received authorization to follow designated lead vehicle V1, automated following can begin. [0068] lead vehicle begins to move. While lead vehicle moves, it detects its own changing coordinates and other info and transmits them over V2V link. [0071] lead vehicle V1 also transmit other path info, acceleration, internal commands, environment. include data related to sensor systems on V1 as measured at corresponding coordinates. FTL system on V2 may detect changing V1 coordinates and path info through V2V system, and lead vehicle motion using its own sensor system or systems. [0072] FTL system on V2 executes sequence of vehicle commands to direct V2 to move to point occupied by V1 as V1 initiated motion. V2 FTL executes control acceleration/deceleration, braking, torque, and steering of V2 based on database of stored V1 path info. [0079] motion control of following vehicle V2. [0081] as lead vehicle moves, it continues to transmit its identification, coordinates, other data in both space and time over V2V link. As following vehicle follows, it continues to receive V1 path info in step and store that info in database)
moving the first device along the movement path by generating a motion plan for the first device based on one or more decisions generated by the first device, the one or more decisions generated based on sensor data captured by the first device and the motion data captured by the second device in connection with the follow mode as the second device moves along the movement path ([0067] - [0081] describes FTL process of the lead and following vehicles. [0121] With regard to platooning, plurality of vehicles share info collected from their sensors to determine their location. following vehicle may not be able to determine what is in front of leading vehicle using its radar/LIDAR/camera. leading vehicle may not be able to determine what is behind following vehicle with its sensors (let alone what is behind vehicle that is following the following vehicle). beneficial for two or more vehicles in platoon to communicate data with each other, FTL system, or NOC. [0122] vehicles in platoon share info (raw sensor data, processed data, fused sensor data, planned paths, routes, decision making info, vehicle attributes) with one another. vehicles share info wirelessly. share this info with NOC or data processing center remote from vehicles. [0137] following vehicle take other actions based on communicated info from lead vehicle. include braking, acceleration, steering, change of system mode that affect operation of following vehicle. based on transmitted info from various types of sensors on lead vehicle. [0106]-[01114] describes envelope matching, where the lead vehicle sends its info and the following vehicle computes an “envelope” of info from the lead vehicle which the following vehicle modifies for itself based on its own sensor data, environment).
Regarding claim 3: Laws further teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting input from a user requesting operation of the first device in the follow mode, wherein requesting the operation of the first device in the follow mode causes the second device to communicate with the first device ([0161]-[0169] providing information to user via display. formation must be selected and display convey that to driver. various displays appearing in vehicles, selections made by driver, cause displays in other vehicles to change. display that driver should press start button to begin following, while screen in paired vehicle show that it is waiting for lead truck to start. In response to FTL system operating displays show that vehicle is following another. FIGS. 11B-11D example user interface systems. Displays: 1350: (no formation selected); 1352 (vehicle assigned follow position); 1353 (system check occurring); 1354-1358 (steps must be completed for FTL to start); 1370, 1372 (vehicles in FTL system and traveling); 1374 (end button is pressed); 1376 (FTL session in process of ending); 1378 (vehicle ready for manual takeover); 1380 (systems being checked).
Regarding claim 6: Laws further teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the first device is one of a plurality of devices in the follow mode with the second device ([0060] more than two vehicles may be included in FTL system. third vehicle may be behind V2. additional vehicle may be directly behind, or can be in some other formation such as side-by-side, at particular angle or angles, or other. [0140]-[0144] describes multiple vehicles in follow mode following the lead vehicle).
Regarding claim 9: Laws teaches: A system comprising: ([0033] systems for automated following for following vehicles.)
a sensor system having at least one sensor configured to capture sensor data corresponding to a field of view of a first device; ([0121] With regard to platooning, plurality of vehicles share info collected from their sensors to determine their location. following vehicle may not be able to determine what is in front of leading vehicle using its radar/LIDAR/camera. leading vehicle may not be able to determine what is behind following vehicle with its sensors (let alone what is behind vehicle that is following the following vehicle). beneficial for two or more vehicles in platoon to communicate data with each other, FTL system, or NOC. [0122] vehicles in platoon share info (raw sensor data, processed data, fused sensor data, planned paths, routes, decision making info, vehicle attributes) with one another. vehicles share info wirelessly. share this info with NOC or data processing center remote from vehicles)
a communication system configured to receive a communication from a second device disposed in a vicinity of a current location of the first device, ([0035] V2V communication between V1 and V2 is established. second, following vehicle (V2) is equipped with Follow-the-Leader system (FTL System) comprising computerized controller and software to implement automated following. more than one vehicle may be equipped with some or all of FTL system. FTL system may refer to system included in one or multiple vehicles. [0061] V2V communication link is established between V1 and V2. can be initiated by first vehicle, second vehicle, some remote presence, or some combination. where third vehicle is included, third vehicle may initiate protocol in same manner as V2. [0067] Once V1 and V2 have been designated, are in close enough proximity, V2 has identified sensor inputs that correspond to V1, has received authorization to follow V1, automated following can begin)
the communication initiating a follow mode between the first device and the second device, the follow mode comprising the second device directing movement of the first device; and ([0067] Once lead vehicle V1 and following vehicle V2 have been designated, are in close enough proximity that V2V link between them has been established, and following vehicle has identified sensor inputs that correspond to lead vehicle, and has also received authorization to follow designated lead vehicle V1, automated following can begin. [0068] lead vehicle begins to move. While lead vehicle moves, it detects its own changing coordinates and other info and transmits them over V2V link. [0071] lead vehicle V1 also transmit other path info, acceleration, internal commands, environment. include data related to sensor systems on V1 as measured at corresponding coordinates. FTL system on V2 may detect changing V1 coordinates and path info through V2V system, and lead vehicle motion using its own sensor system or systems. [0072] FTL system on V2 executes sequence of vehicle commands to direct V2 to move to point occupied by V1 as V1 initiated motion. V2 FTL executes control acceleration/deceleration, braking, torque, and steering of V2 based on database of stored V1 path info. [0079] motion control of following vehicle V2. [0081] as lead vehicle moves, it continues to transmit its identification, coordinates, other data in both space and time over V2V link. As following vehicle follows, it continues to receive V1 path info in step and store that info in database.[0034] automated following with a gap (FIGS. 1B-1D) or automated following at a later time (FIGS. 2A-2D))
one or more actuators configured to move the first mobile device in based on a motion plan generated based on one or more decisions generated by the first device, ([0067] Once lead vehicle V1 and following vehicle V2 have been designated, are in close enough proximity that V2V link between them has been established, and following vehicle has identified sensor inputs that correspond to lead vehicle, and has also received authorization to follow designated lead vehicle V1, automated following can begin. [0068] lead vehicle begins to move. While lead vehicle moves, it detects its own changing coordinates and other info and transmits them over V2V link. [0071] lead vehicle V1 also transmit other path info, acceleration, internal commands, environment. include data related to sensor systems on V1 as measured at corresponding coordinates. FTL system on V2 may detect changing V1 coordinates and path info through V2V system, and lead vehicle motion using its own sensor system or systems. [0072] FTL system on V2 executes sequence of vehicle commands to direct V2 to move to point occupied by V1 as V1 initiated motion. V2 FTL executes control acceleration/deceleration, braking, torque, and steering of V2 based on database of stored V1 path info. [0079] motion control of following vehicle V2. [0081] as lead vehicle moves, it continues to transmit its identification, coordinates, other data in both space and time over V2V link. As following vehicle follows, it continues to receive V1 path info in step and store that info in database.[0034] automated following with a gap (FIGS. 1B-1D) or automated following at a later time (FIGS. 2A-2D). [0079] motion control of following vehicle V2 managed through actuators)
the one or more decisions generated using motion data of the second device captured by the second device in connection with the follow mode and the sensor data captured by the sensor system corresponding to the field of view of the first device ([0067] - [0081] describes FTL process of the lead and following vehicles. [0121] With regard to platooning, plurality of vehicles share info collected from their sensors to determine their location. following vehicle may not be able to determine what is in front of leading vehicle using its radar/LIDAR/camera. leading vehicle may not be able to determine what is behind following vehicle with its sensors (let alone what is behind vehicle that is following the following vehicle). beneficial for two or more vehicles in platoon to communicate data with each other, FTL system, or NOC. [0122] vehicles in platoon share info (raw sensor data, processed data, fused sensor data, planned paths, routes, decision making info, vehicle attributes) with one another. vehicles share info wirelessly. share this info with NOC or data processing center remote from vehicles. [0137] following vehicle take other actions based on communicated info from lead vehicle. include braking, acceleration, steering, change of system mode that affect operation of following vehicle. based on transmitted info from various types of sensors on lead vehicle. [0106]-[01114] describes envelope matching, where the lead vehicle sends its info and the following vehicle computes an “envelope” of info from the lead vehicle which the following vehicle modifies for itself based on its own sensor data, environment).
Regarding claim 13: Laws further teaches: The system of claim 9, wherein the communication is sent in response to a follow request ([0161]-[0169] providing info to user via display. formation must be selected and display convey that to driver. various displays appearing in vehicles, selections made by driver, cause displays in other vehicles to change. display that driver should press start button to begin following. In response to FTL system operating displays show that vehicle is following another. FIGS. 11B-11D user interface systems).
Regarding claim 15: Laws teaches: One or more tangible non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions for performing a computer process on a first device, the computer process comprising: ([0229] non-transitory computer readable storage medium having computer readable program code. [0232] processors. [0233] memory)
exchanging a communication with the second device when the second device is disposed in a vicinity of the first device; ([0035] V2V communication between V1 and V2 is established. second, following vehicle (V2) is equipped with Follow-the-Leader system (FTL System) comprising computerized controller and software to implement automated following. more than one vehicle may be equipped with some or all of FTL system. FTL system may refer to system included in one or multiple vehicles. [0061] V2V communication link is established between V1 and V2. can be initiated by first vehicle, second vehicle, some remote presence, or some combination. where third vehicle is included, third vehicle may initiate protocol in same manner as V2. [0067] Once V1 and V2 have been designated, are in close enough proximity, V2 has identified sensor inputs that correspond to V1, has received authorization to follow V1, automated following can begin)
initiating a follow mode based on the communication with the first device; ([0161]-[0169] providing information to user via display. formation must be selected and display convey that to driver. various displays appearing in vehicles, selections made by driver, cause displays in other vehicles to change. display that driver should press start button to begin following, while screen in paired vehicle show that it is waiting for lead truck to start. In response to FTL system operating displays show that vehicle is following another. FIGS. 11B-11D example user interface systems. Displays: 1350: (no formation selected); 1352 (vehicle assigned follow position); 1353 (system check occurring); 1354-1358 (steps must be completed for FTL to start); 1370, 1372 (vehicles in FTL system and traveling); 1374 (end button is pressed); 1376 (FTL session in process of ending); 1378 (vehicle ready for manual takeover); 1380 (systems being checked))
receiving sensor data captured by at least one sensor of the first device; and ([0121] With regard to platooning, plurality of vehicles share info collected from their sensors to determine their location. following vehicle may not be able to determine what is in front of leading vehicle using its radar/LIDAR/camera. leading vehicle may not be able to determine what is behind following vehicle with its sensors (let alone what is behind vehicle that is following the following vehicle). beneficial for two or more vehicles in platoon to communicate data with each other, FTL system, or NOC. [0122] vehicles in platoon share info (raw sensor data, processed data, fused sensor data, planned paths, routes, decision making info, vehicle attributes) with one another. vehicles share info wirelessly. share this info with NOC or data processing center remote from vehicles)
following a movement of the second device based on one or more decisions generated by the first device, ([0067] Once lead vehicle V1 and following vehicle V2 have been designated, are in close enough proximity that V2V link between them has been established, and following vehicle has identified sensor inputs that correspond to lead vehicle, and has also received authorization to follow designated lead vehicle V1, automated following can begin. [0068] lead vehicle begins to move. While lead vehicle moves, it detects its own changing coordinates and other info and transmits them over V2V link. [0071] lead vehicle V1 also transmit other path info, acceleration, internal commands, environment. include data related to sensor systems on V1 as measured at corresponding coordinates. FTL system on V2 may detect changing V1 coordinates and path info through V2V system, and lead vehicle motion using its own sensor system or systems. [0072] FTL system on V2 executes sequence of vehicle commands to direct V2 to move to point occupied by V1 as V1 initiated motion. V2 FTL executes control acceleration/deceleration, braking, torque, and steering of V2 based on database of stored V1 path info. [0079] motion control of following vehicle V2. [0081] as lead vehicle moves, it continues to transmit its identification, coordinates, other data in both space and time over V2V link. As following vehicle follows, it continues to receive V1 path info in step and store that info in database.[0034] automated following with a gap (FIGS. 1B-1D) or automated following at a later time (FIGS. 2A-2D). [0079] motion control of following vehicle V2 managed through actuators)
the one or more decisions generated based on motion data received from the second device in connection with the follow mode and the sensor data captured by the at least one sensor of the first device, ([0067] - [0081] describes FTL process of the lead and following vehicles. [0121] With regard to platooning, plurality of vehicles share info collected from their sensors to determine their location. following vehicle may not be able to determine what is in front of leading vehicle using its radar/LIDAR/camera. leading vehicle may not be able to determine what is behind following vehicle with its sensors (let alone what is behind vehicle that is following the following vehicle). beneficial for two or more vehicles in platoon to communicate data with each other, FTL system, or NOC. [0122] vehicles in platoon share info (raw sensor data, processed data, fused sensor data, planned paths, routes, decision making info, vehicle attributes) with one another. vehicles share info wirelessly. share this info with NOC or data processing center remote from vehicles. [0137] following vehicle take other actions based on communicated info from lead vehicle. include braking, acceleration, steering, change of system mode that affect operation of following vehicle. based on transmitted info from various types of sensors on lead vehicle. [0106]-[01114] describes envelope matching, where the lead vehicle sends its info and the following vehicle computes an “envelope” of info from the lead vehicle which the following vehicle modifies for itself based on its own sensor data, environment)
the first device following the movement of the second device by generating a motion plan according to the one or more decisions generated by the first device ([0067] - [0081] describes FTL process of the lead and following vehicles. [0121] With regard to platooning, plurality of vehicles share info collected from their sensors to determine their location. following vehicle may not be able to determine what is in front of leading vehicle using its radar/LIDAR/camera. leading vehicle may not be able to determine what is behind following vehicle with its sensors (let alone what is behind vehicle that is following the following vehicle). beneficial for two or more vehicles in platoon to communicate data with each other, FTL system, or NOC. [0122] vehicles in platoon share info (raw sensor data, processed data, fused sensor data, planned paths, routes, decision making info, vehicle attributes) with one another. vehicles share info wirelessly. share this info with NOC or data processing center remote from vehicles. [0137] following vehicle take other actions based on communicated info from lead vehicle. include braking, acceleration, steering, change of system mode that affect operation of following vehicle. based on transmitted info from various types of sensors on lead vehicle. [0106]-[01114] describes envelope matching, where the lead vehicle sends its info and the following vehicle computes an “envelope” of info from the lead vehicle which the following vehicle modifies for itself based on its own sensor data, environment).
Regarding claim 18: Laws further teaches: The one or more tangible non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 15, wherein the first device is one of a plurality of devices in the follow mode with the second device ([0060]. [0140]-[0144]).
Regarding claim 19: Laws further teaches: The one or more tangible non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 15, wherein the communication corresponds to a follow request ([0161]-[0169]).
Regarding claim 21: Laws further teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the motion plan is adjusted based on the follow relationship between the first device and the second device ([0067]-[0072]. [0079]. [0081]. [0034]).
Regarding claim 22: Laws further teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the follow request includes a follow window for operating the follow mode at the first device ([0067]-[0072]. [0081]. [0034]. [0161]-[0169]).
Regarding claim 23: Laws further teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the follow request is generated based on user input ([0161]-[0169]).
Regarding claim 24: Laws further teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the motion plan is adjusted based on one or more objects located in the vicinity of the first device ([0125] detect moving objects on road. [0133] following vehicle equipped with ACC equipment, sensors, to detect distance to objects and other vehicles. When ACC system predicts that collision with object is likely if vehicle continues at current speed, actuate braking to avoid collision. [0134] ACC system allow following vehicle to operate more safely by slowing or stopping following vehicle when unexpected objects are detected as it follows the path transmitted by lead vehicle. ACC may override the instructions to follow, so following vehicle will not blindly continue to follow lead vehicle's path if it entails crashing into another vehicle or person. Once danger has passed, following vehicle pass control again to FTL system. [0198] Vehicles aware of traffic around them (vehicles around them, vehicles' speed, size, other characteristics, static objects, weather conditions).
Regarding claim 25: Laws further teaches: The system of claim 9, wherein the motion plan is adjusted based on one or more objects located in the vicinity of the first device ([0125]. [0133]-[0134]. [0198]).
Regarding claim 26: Laws further teaches: The system of claim 9, wherein the motion plan includes the first device moving towards a location ([0067]-[0072] FTL system on V2 executes sequence of vehicle commands to direct V2 to move to point occupied by V1 as V1 initiated motion. [0079]. [0081]. [0034]).
Regarding claim 27: Laws further teaches: The system of claim 9, wherein the second device performs a handoff of the follow mode for the first device to a third device, the third device directing the movement of the first device in connection with the follow mode following the handoff ([0140]-[0144] lead and following vehicles. same approach to automated following used for convoys of three or more vehicles. third vehicle having FTL equipment positioned in coordinated formation with first and second vehicles, and link established using V2V communication between vehicles (either by having two two-vehicle links, single three-vehicle link, or combinations). once lead vehicle moves, second following vehicle executes automated following similarly as to how first following vehicle executes automated following of lead vehicle. first or second vehicle would also transmit set of coordinates and environmental info so that third vehicle could safely and effectively follow in platoon. second vehicle could relay coordinates and any associated environmental info from first vehicle on to third vehicle. Both second vehicle and third vehicle would then be following in path defined by first vehicle, but at different, subsequent points in time. third vehicle could establish V2V communication link directly to first vehicle, receiving coordinate info and any transmitted environmental info from first vehicle at same time that second vehicle receives it. FTL system on third vehicle would need to manage third vehicle's speed and position with awareness of position of second vehicle, and follow at appropriate distance, to maintain effective convoy. third vehicle communicate with both second and first vehicle. any one of vehicles may communicate with NOC to receive info indicative of what vehicles in its platoon are doing (or vehicles in another platoon, which vehicle may wish to join). [0213] receiving information from vehicles that were not included in FTL platoon (from vehicle traveling next to FTL platoon, such info may assist vehicle travel such that it may rejoin FTL platoon/draft)).
Regarding claim 28: Laws further teaches: The system of claim 9, wherein the second device directs the movement of the first device in the follow mode for a follow window ([0067]-[0072]. [0079]. [0081]. [0034] automated following with a gap (FIGS. 1B-1D) or automated following at a later time (FIGS. 2A-2D)).
Regarding claim 29: Laws further teaches: The one or more tangible non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 15, wherein the one or more decisions include adjusting the motion plan based on one or more objects located in the vicinity of the first device ([0125]. [0133]-[0134]. [0198]).
Regarding claim 30: Laws further teaches: The one or more tangible non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 15, wherein the second device directs the movement of the first device in the follow mode for a follow window ([0067]-[0072]. [0079]. [0081]. [0034]).
Regarding claim 31: Laws further teaches: The one or more tangible non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 15, wherein the motion plan includes the first device moving towards a location ([0071]-[0072]. [0079]. [0081]).
Regarding claim 32: Laws further teaches: The one or more tangible non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 15, the computer process further comprising: transitioning the follow mode from the second device to a third device in a handoff; and following a movement of the third device following the handoff ([0140]-[0144]. [0213]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 9, 13, 15, 18-19, 21-32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MADISON B EMMETT/Examiner, Art Unit 3658