DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 03/01/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 11-30 are currently pending. Claims 1-10 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-20, 21, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 15 and 16 appear to be contradictory with each other. Claim 15 indicates that an outer-periphery housing member is connected to a peripheral region of the wheel disc in a relative non-rotatable manner. Claim 16 indicates that the outer-periphery housing member is clamped to an end surface in a peripheral region of the wheel disc. It is unclear how the outer-periphery housing member can be clamped to an end surface of a wheel disc (an item that is rotating) and be non-rotatable.
Claims 17-20 rejected due to dependency on claim 15.
Claim 21 states “the circumferential roller is arranged in a dimensional range in a direction of the axis of rotation” which is unclear. Examiner is interpreting this to mean a distance along the axis of rotation (i.e. in the middle of a shaft/axis, at the end of a shaft/axis).
Claim 22 states “the bottom roller is arranged in a dimensional range in the direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation” which is unclear. Examiner is interpreting this to mean a radial distance between the bottom roller and the axis of rotation of the moisture-absorbing rotary wheel assembly.
Claim 24 defines an axis of rotation of the moisture-absorbing rotary wheel assembly and an axis of rotation of the fan for the moisture-absorbing passage are both heteroplanar with the axis of rotation of the drum. It is unclear what heteroplanar means. For the purpose of examination, Examiner is determining that heteroplanar means that the axis of rotation is on a different plane than the axis of the drum.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamoto JP2007306960 (henceforth referred to as Nakamoto).
As to claim 11, (new): Nakamoto teaches an integrated washer-dryer, comprising a drum (FIG. 1 paragraph [0018] rotating drum 17) and a drying module assembly (FIG. 1 paragraph [0016] washer/dryer machine using a clothes drying device), wherein the drying module assembly comprises a moisture-absorbing and dehumidifying component (paragraph [0018] moisture absorption and desorption means 15), a moisture- absorbing passage (FIG. 1 paragraph [0018] circulation air duct 18 reads on the claimed moisture-absorbing passage), and a dehumidifying passage (paragraph [0018] a regeneration air duct 51);
the moisture-absorbing passage comprises an air inlet of the moisture-absorbing passage and an air outlet of the moisture-absorbing passage (FIG. 1 paragraph [0020] flexible hoses 21 and 22 read on the claimed air inlet and air outlet, respectively);
the drum is communicated with the air inlet of the moisture-absorbing passage and the air outlet of the moisture- absorbing passage, respectively (FIG. 1 paragraph [0020] washing tub 2 is connected to the circulating air passage 18 via the flexible hoses 21 and 22. The rotary drum is attached inside the washing tub 2);
a fan for the moisture-absorbing passage is arranged in the moisture- absorbing passage so as to form a moisture-absorbing airflow in the drum and in the moisture-absorbing passage (FIG. 1 paragraph [0024] the circulating air A sent by the first blower 16 on the circulating air passage 18 side removes moisture from the clothes and becomes humid air);
a fan for the dehumidifying passage is arranged in the dehumidifying passage so as to form a dehumidifying airflow in the dehumidifying passage (FIG. 1 paragraph [0018] blower 52 sends regenerated air C);
the moisture-absorbing and dehumidifying component is disposed in a path of the moisture-absorbing passage (paragraph [0018] the moisture absorption section 13 of the moisture absorption and desorption means 15 is in circulation air duct 18) and the dehumidifying passage (paragraph [0018] the desorption section 14 of the moisture absorption and desorption means 15 is in regeneration air duct 51), such that the moisture-absorbing airflow and the dehumidifying airflow both flow through the moisture- absorbing and dehumidifying component (FIG. 1 circulating air A and regenerated air C flow through the moisture absorption and desorption means 15), thereby allowing the moisture-absorbing and dehumidifying component to absorb moisture from the moisture-absorbing airflow during rotation and to discharge the absorbed moisture by means of the dehumidifying airflow (paragraphs [0024]-[0025] the circulating air A is dehumidified by absorbing moisture in the moisture absorbing section 13 of the moisture absorbing and releasing means 15. The regeneration air C heats the adsorbent 12 in the moisture release section 14 of the moisture absorption and release means 15, thereby desorbing moisture from the adsorbent 12).
As to claim 29, (new): Nakamoto further teaches the drying module assembly is arranged above, behind, or below the drum (FIG. 1 moisture absorption and desorption means 15, circulation air duct 18, and a regeneration air duct 51 are arranged behind the drum).
As to claim 30, (new): Nakamoto teaches a drying module assembly in an integrated washer-dryer (FIG. 1 paragraph [0016] washer/dryer machine using a clothes drying device), wherein the integrated washer- dryer further comprises a drum (FIG. 1 paragraph [0018] rotating drum 17), and wherein the drying module assembly comprises a moisture- absorbing and dehumidifying component (paragraph [0018] moisture absorption and desorption means 15), a moisture-absorbing passage (FIG. 1 paragraph [0018] circulation air duct 18 reads on the claimed moisture-absorbing passage), and a dehumidifying passage (paragraph [0018] a regeneration air duct 51);
the moisture-absorbing passage comprises an air inlet of the moisture-absorbing passage and an air outlet of the moisture-absorbing passage (FIG. 1 paragraph [0020] flexible hoses 21 and 22 read on the claimed air inlet and air outlet, respectively);
the drum is communicated with the air inlet of the moisture-absorbing passage and the air outlet of the moisture-absorbing passage, respectively (FIG. 1 paragraph [0020] washing tub 2 is connected to the circulating air passage 18 via the flexible hoses 21 and 22. The rotary drum is attached inside the washing tub 2);
a fan for the moisture- absorbing passage is arranged in the moisture-absorbing passage so as to form a moisture-absorbing airflow in the drum and in the moisture-absorbing passage (FIG. 1 paragraph [0024] the circulating air A sent by the first blower 16 on the circulating air passage 18 side removes moisture from the clothes and becomes humid air);
a fan for the dehumidifying passage is arranged in the dehumidifying passage so as to form a dehumidifying airflow in the dehumidifying passage (FIG. 1 paragraph [0018] blower 52 sends regenerated air C); and
the moisture-absorbing and dehumidifying component is disposed in a path of the moisture- absorbing passage (paragraph [0018] the moisture absorption section 13 of the moisture absorption and desorption means 15 is in circulation air duct 18) and the dehumidifying passage (paragraph [0018] the desorption section 14 of the moisture absorption and desorption means 15 is in regeneration air duct 51) such that the moisture-absorbing airflow and the dehumidifying airflow both flow through the moisture-absorbing and dehumidifying component (FIG. 1 circulating air A and regenerated air C flow through the moisture absorption and desorption means 15), thereby allowing the moisture-absorbing and dehumidifying component to absorb moisture from the moisture- absorbing airflow during rotation and to discharge the absorbed moisture by means of the dehumidifying airflow (paragraphs [0024]-[0025] the circulating air A is dehumidified by absorbing moisture in the moisture absorbing section 13 of the moisture absorbing and releasing means 15. The regeneration air C heats the adsorbent 12 in the moisture release section 14 of the moisture absorption and release means 15, thereby desorbing moisture from the adsorbent 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto JP2007306960 (henceforth referred to as Nakamoto) in view of Hilbig et al. EP3696313 (henceforth referred to as Hilbig).
As to claim 12, (new): Nakamoto further teaches the moisture-absorbing and dehumidifying component comprises a moisture-absorbing rotary wheel assembly (paragraph [0019] the moisture absorbing and desorbing means 15 has a rotatable rotor), and a rotary wheel driving mechanism for driving the moisture-absorbing rotary wheel assembly to rotate (paragraph [0019] driving means 20).
Nakamoto differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the rotary wheel housing.
Hilbig teaches a similar washer-dryer (paragraph [0002] washer-dryers). Hilbig teaches a rotary wheel housing (FIG. 1 paragraph [0045] air duct housing 15).
The combination of Nakamoto and Hilbig would result in the moisture-absorbing rotary wheel assembly to be rotatably supported in the rotary wheel housing along an axis of rotation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the washer-dryer as taught by Nakamoto with a rotary wheel housing as taught by Hilbig. It is known in the art to use a housing in order to provide structure to the rotary wheel.
As to claim 13, (new): Nakamoto further teaches the moisture-absorbing rotary wheel assembly is driven at an outer periphery thereof by the rotary wheel driving mechanism (FIG. 1 paragraph [0019] the driving means 20 for rotating the moisture absorbing and desorbing means can switch between the moisture absorbing section 13 and the moisture desorbing section 14. Based on the location of driving means 20, it would drive the moisture-absorbing wheel at an outer periphery).
[AltContent: textbox (Nakamoto FIG. 1)]
[AltContent: textbox (Driving means 20 is located at the outer periphery of either moisture absorbing section 13 and moisture desorbing section 14)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval]
As to claim 14, (new): Nakamoto further teaches the rotary wheel driving mechanism is entirely or partially arranged beyond a radial dimensional range of the moisture-absorbing rotary wheel assembly (FIG. 1 the driving means 20 is arranged beyond a radial dimensional range of the moisture-absorbing wheel assembly).
Claims 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto JP2007306960 (henceforth referred to as Nakamoto) and Hilbig et al. EP3696313 (henceforth referred to as Hilbig) as applied to claim 12 above, in further view of Hahm et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0299892 (henceforth referred to as Hahm) and Kawamoto et al. CN107869034 (henceforth referred to as Kawamoto).
As to claim 15, (new): Nakamoto further teaches the moisture-absorbing rotary wheel assembly comprises a wheel disc (paragraph [0019] adsorbent 12 reads on the claimed wheel disc).
Nakamoto and Hilbig differ from the instant claim in failing to teach an outer-periphery housing member connected to a peripheral region of the wheel disc in a relative non-rotatable manner, and a center housing member connected to a center region of the wheel disc in a relative non-rotatable manner.
Hahm teaches a similar integrated washer-dryer (paragraph [0007] a washing machine that can shorten the drying time by improving the drying efficiency of the washing machine). Hahm teaches a peripheral region of the wheel disc in a relative non-rotatable manner (see following annotated figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the washer-dryer as taught by Nakamoto and Hilbig with an outer periphery housing as taught by Hahm. It is known in the art to have an outer periphery housing in order [AltContent: textbox (Hahm FIG. 3)]to support a wheel disk.
[AltContent: textbox (Outer periphery housing (upper clamp housing))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Outer periphery housing (lower clamp housing))][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
Kawamoto teaches a drying module assembly (paragraph [0016] an invention to improve the drying speed of washed clothes). Kawamoto teaches a center housing member connected to a center region of the wheel disc in a relative non-rotatable manner (See following figure 29).
[AltContent: textbox (Kawamoto FIG. 29)][AltContent: textbox (Center housing member (lower clamp member))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Center housing member (upper clamp member))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the washer-dryer as taught by Nakamoto and Hilbig with a center housing member as taught by Kawamoto. It is known in the art to use a center housing member, which includes a shaft, to hold a center region of the wheel disc.
As to claim 16, (new): Hahm further teaches the outer-periphery housing member comprises an outer-periphery upper clamp housing and an outer-periphery lower clamp housing (See annotated Figure 3 above), and the outer-periphery upper clamp housing and the outer-periphery lower clamp housing are configured to be fixed with each other while surrounding an outer peripheral surface of the wheel disc (paragraph [0074] heating duct 210 includes duct upper plate 211 and a duct lower plate 212. Figure 2 shows the duct upper plate and the duct lower plate are fixed with each other while surrounding an outer peripheral surface of the wheel disc ), and to clamp an end surface in a peripheral region of the wheel disc (FIGS. 2 and 3 The duct upper plate 211 and the duct lower plate 212 clamps in a peripheral region of the wheel disc).
As to claim 17, (new): Nakamoto further teaches the center housing member comprises a center upper clamp member and a center lower clamp member (see above annotated figure 29), and the center upper clamp member and the center lower clamp member are configured to be fixed with each other, and clamp an end surface in a center region of the wheel disc (FIG. 27 the clamping members are configured to be fixed with each other and clamps an end surface in a center region of the wheel disc).
As to claim 18, (new): Kawamoto further teaches the moisture-absorbing rotary wheel assembly further comprises an end surface damping member that is arranged between the end surface in the center region of the wheel disc and an end surface of an end segment of the center housing member to form a buffer (See following figure 29. The lip on the shaft or the lip on the dehumidification rotor 511 read on the claimed damping member as it can form a buffer. A buffer would prevent dehumidification rotor 511 from scraping the sides of the housing.).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Damping member can form a buffer)][AltContent: textbox (Kawamoto FIG. 29)]
As to claim 20, (new): Nakamoto further teaches the drying module assembly comprises a dehumidifying and heating assembly arranged in the path of the dehumidifying passage, and the dehumidifying and heating assembly is configured to heat the dehumidifying airflow for increasing a temperature of the dehumidifying airflow (paragraph [0025] In the regeneration air duct 51, the regeneration air C is heated by the radiator 7 of the heat pump unit 11 to increase the temperature and decrease the relative humidity).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto JP2007306960 (henceforth referred to as Nakamoto), Hilbig et al. EP3696313 (henceforth referred to as Hilbig), Hahm et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0299892 (henceforth referred to as Hahm), and Kawamoto et al. CN107869034 (henceforth referred to as Kawamoto) as applied to claim 15 above, and in further view of Marioni U.S. Publication 2011/0225839 (henceforth referred to as Marioni).
As to claim 19, (new): Hilbig further teaches the moisture-absorbing rotary wheel assembly further comprises an auxiliary rotating ring (FIG. 1 paragraph [0043] blower wheel 11 reads on the claimed auxiliary rotating ring), and the auxiliary rotating ring is integrally formed on or connected to an outer peripheral surface of the outer-periphery housing member (paragraph [0043] the blower wheel 11 is formed on the blower 10).
Nakamoto, Hilbig, Hahm, and Kawamoto differ from the instant claim in failing to teach a circumferential roller mechanism.
Marioni teaches a laundry dryer (paragraph [0041] laundry dryer machine 102 of the condenser type). Marioni teaches a circumferential roller mechanism (FIGS. 3-4 paragraph [0057] ball bearings 21, reads on the claimed circumferential roller mechanism) that is arranged on an inner periphery of the rotary wheel housing (FIG. 3 ball bearings 21 are arranged on an inner periphery of sleeve 11).
The combination of Hilbig and Marioni teach that the auxiliary rotating ring of Hilbig can match a position of the circumferential roller mechanism of Marioni.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the washer-dryer as taught by Nakamoto, Hilbig, Hahm, and Kawamoto with a circumferential roller mechanism as taught by Marioni. It is known in the art to use ball bearings to reduce friction on rotating parts.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto JP2007306960 (henceforth referred to as Nakamoto) and Hilbig et al. EP3696313 (henceforth referred to as Hilbig) as applied to claim 12, in view of Doh et al. U.S. Publication 2013/0263630 (henceforth referred to as Doh).
As to claim 24, (new): Nakamoto further teaches an axis of rotation of the moisture-absorbing rotary wheel assembly and an axis of rotation of the fan for the moisture-absorbing passage are both heteroplanar with the axis of rotation of the drum (FIG. 1 the axis of rotation for the moisture absorbing and desorbing means 15 and blower 16 are on different planes than the axis of rotation of the drum).
Nakamoto and Hilbig differ from the instant claim in failing to teach an axis of rotation of the moisture-absorbing rotary wheel assembly and an axis of rotation of the fan for the moisture-absorbing passage are perpendicular to the axis of rotation of the drum and are distributed on two sides of the axis of rotation of the drum.
Doh teaches a similar dryer device of an integrated washer-dryer (FIG. 1 paragraph [0019] condensation type washing machine 10 with a drying function). Doh teaches an axis of rotation of the fan for the moisture-absorbing passage are perpendicular to the axis of rotation of the drum (FIG. 1 the rotating shaft of blower fan 17 is perpendicular to the rotating shaft of the drum 13).
Doh does not teach an axis of rotation of the moisture-absorbing rotary wheel assembly is perpendicular to the rotating shaft of the drum. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art that if the drying device of Nakamoto is arranged to be above the drum as taught by Doh (essentially rotating the drying device of Nakamoto by 90°), the shafts would be perpendicular to the rotating shaft of the drum.
Nakamoto, Hilbig, and Doh do not teach that the axis of rotation of the an axis of rotation of the moisture-absorbing rotary wheel assembly and an axis of rotation of the fan for the moisture-absorbing passage are distributed on two sides of the axis of rotation of the drum. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a rearrangement of parts. It is old and well known to rearrange parts, with no change in their respective functions, due to size/space design criteria, the manufacturing expense thereof or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, C. Rearrangement of Parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the washer-dryer as taught by Nakamoto and Hilbig with an axis of rotation of the moisture-absorbing rotary wheel assembly and an axis of rotation of the fan as taught by Doh. Having the axis of rotation as claimed is one of the ways for the drying module assembly to be configured.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto JP2007306960 (henceforth referred to as Nakamoto) and Hilbig et al. EP3696313 (henceforth referred to as Hilbig) as applied to claim 12 above, and in further view of Kawamoto et al. CN107869034 (henceforth referred to as Kawamoto).
As to claim 27, (new): Nakamoto and Hilbig differ from the instant claim in failing to teach at least one airflow guide sheet is further disposed in the rotary wheel housing and is configured to divide a moisture-absorbing airflow entering the rotary wheel housing into at least two streams of airflows, and to allow the at least two streams of airflows to flow through a wheel disc of the moisture-absorbing rotary wheel assembly from different regions, respectively.
Kawamoto teaches a drying module assembly (paragraph [0016] an invention to improve the drying speed of washed clothes). Kawamoto teaches at least one airflow guide sheet (FIG. 27 paragraph [0350] heating section 512 reads on the claimed airflow guide sheet) is further disposed in the rotary wheel housing and is configured to divide a moisture-absorbing airflow entering the rotary wheel housing into at least two streams of airflows (FIG. 27 paragraph [0350] there are at least two streams of airflow, 501A and 501B), and to allow the at least two streams of airflows to flow through a wheel disc of the moisture-absorbing rotary wheel assembly from different regions, respectively (paragraph [0350] first air supply path 501A goes through moisture absorption section 509 and second air supply path 501 enters through heating unit 512, which is a different region).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the washer-dryer as taught by Nakamoto and Hilbig with an airflow guide sheet as taught by Kawamoto to ensure that airflow gets directed to the appropriate treatment areas.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto JP2007306960 (henceforth referred to as Nakamoto) in view of Steffens U.S. Publication 2010/0146811 (henceforth referred to as Steffens) and Jeong et al. U.S. Publication 2006/0075577 (henceforth referred to as Jeong).
As to claim 28, (new): Nakamoto differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the integrated washer-dryer further comprises an air outlet pipeline disposed between the air outlet of the drum and the air inlet of the drying module assembly; and
a filtering module assembly is disposed in the air outlet pipeline and comprises a filter screen for filtering an airflow flowing through the air outlet pipeline, and a filter screen self-cleaning device.
Steffens teaches a drying machine (paragraph [0051] dryer 1). Steffens teaches an air outlet pipeline disposed between the air outlet of the drum and the air inlet of the drying module assembly (FIG. 2 paragraph [0051] exhaust air duct 13, which reads on the claimed air outlet pipeline is disposed between the air outlet of the drum and the air inlet of the drying module assembly).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the washer-dryer as taught by Nakamoto with an air outlet pipeline as taught by Steffens. It is known in the art to have an air outlet pipeline as it would allow warm/moist air to be exhausted (paragraph [0053]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art that the air outlet pipeline of Steffens can be used in a washer-dryer of Nakamoto.
Jeong teaches a washing machine with a dry cycle (paragraphs [0050]-[0052] a dry cycle is performed after washing cycle). Jeong teaches a filtering module assembly is disposed in the air outlet pipeline and comprises a filter screen for filtering an airflow flowing through the air outlet pipeline (FIG. 3 paragraph [0041] a filter 300 is installed in the exhaust duct 155), and a filter screen self-cleaning device (paragraphs [0055] air pump 210 sprays air on the backside of the filter 300 to clean the lint off of the filter 300).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the washer-dryer as taught by Nakamoto with a filtering module and a filter screen self-cleaning device as taught by Jeong. It is known in the art to use a filter to prevent ducts from being clogged and to use a filter cleaner to restore the effectiveness of a filter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23, 25-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 21-22 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: there is no motivation to combine Nakamoto with a reference regarding a circumferential roller mechanism, a bottom roller mechanism, a sealing member of the rotary wheel and the sealing member of the rotary wheel housing to be in contact with each other in a relative rotatable manner to form a seal, or partition ribs to partition an inner cavity of the rotary wheel housing.
Conclusion
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711