DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 03/01/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 5, 7, 12-15, 17, and 19-20 are amended.
Claims 21-25 are cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claims 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19 does not show dependency to a particular claim. For the purpose of prosecution, Examiner is determining that claim 19 is dependent on claim 1.
Claim 20 shows dependency on any one of claims 1 to 24. Claims 21-24 have been cancelled. Additionally, claim 20 states “the a drying device” in the first line.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 refers to the drying device on a plane that is parallel to a rotating shaft to a drum. It is unclear what the configuration of the drying device is as some parts of the drying device would be parallel and some parts of the drying device would be perpendicular. For the purpose of examination, Examiner is determining that the duct is parallel to the rotating shaft of the drum.
Claim 3 rejected due to dependency on claim 2.
Claim 4 refers to the circulating module assembly and the dehumidifying module assembly are configured to be heteroplanar with the shaft of the drum. It is unclear what heteroplanar means. For the purpose of examination, Examiner is determining that heteroplanar means that the circulating module assembly and the dehumidifying module assembly are located on opposite sides of the shaft of the drum.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, 10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamoto JP2007306960 (henceforth referred to as Nakamoto-960).
As to claim 1, (Original) Nakamoto-960 teaches a drying device of an integrated washer-dryer (paragraph [0001] a clothes drying device used in a washing/drying machine), comprising:
a circulating module assembly (10), communicated with a drum of the integrated washer-dryer and configured to enable moist air from the drum to form a circulating airflow by rotating and output the circulating airflow to a dehumidifying module assembly (20) for dehumidification (FIG. 1 paragraph [0024] blower 16 blows circulating air A through circulating air passage 18 to absorbing section 13 of the moisture absorbing and releasing means 15);
the dehumidifying module assembly (20), communicated with the circulating module assembly (10) and the drum and configured to dehumidify and dry the circulating airflow from the circulating module assembly (10) by circulating movement and output the dried circulating airflow to the drum (FIG. 1 paragraph [0018] moisture absorbing and desorbing means 15, which reads on the claimed dehumidifying module assembly, has a moisture absorption section 13 that absorbs moisture from circulating air A using an adsorbent 12); and
a regenerating module assembly (30) (FIG. 1 within the regeneration air duct 51, there is a heat pump 11, which comprises of a compressor 6, radiator 7, and a heat absorber 9, as well as a moisture desorption section 14, a second blower 52, heat exhaust means 19, etc. The combination of the previously mentioned items would read on the claimed regenerating module assembly), communicated with the dehumidifying module assembly (20) and configured to output a dry regeneration airflow to the dehumidifying module assembly (20) to dehumidify and dry at least part of the dehumidifying module assembly (20) so as to restore a dehumidifying capacity of the dehumidifying module assembly (20) (FIG. 1 paragraph [0025] regeneration air C provides heat to evaporate the moisture in the adsorbent 12. By evaporating the moisture in adsorbent 12, the dehumidifying capacity would be restored),
wherein the circulating module assembly (10), the dehumidifying module assembly (20) and the regenerating module assembly (30) of the drying device are disposed substantially in one plane (FIG. 1 the blower 16, the moisture absorbing and desorbing means 15, and regeneration air duct 51 are disposed substantially in one plane).
As to claim 5, (Currently Amended) Nakamoto-960 further teaches an air inlet passage (102) which is communicated with the circulating module assembly (10) and the drum and serves as a passage allowing the moist air from the drum to enter the circulating module assembly (10) (FIG. 1 flexible hose 21 reads on the claimed air inlet passage and allows communication with the blower 16 and the rotary drum 17).
As to claim 7, (Currently Amended) Nakamoto-960 further teaches an air outlet passage (203) which is communicated with the dehumidifying module assembly (20) and the drum and serves as a passage allowing the dried circulating airflow as dehumidified to enter the drum (FIG. 1 paragraph [0024] after air A is dehumidified, it is sent back to the rotary drum 17 via flexible hose 22).
As to claim 10, (Original) Nakamoto-960 further teaches a plane where the drying device is located is disposed vertically behind the drum and is perpendicular to a rotating shaft of the drum (FIG. 1 the plane where the drying device is located is disposed vertically behind the drum and is perpendicular to a rotating shaft of the drum).
As to claim 12, (Currently Amended) Nakamoto-960 further teaches an air inlet passage (102) which is configured to extend in a direction perpendicular to the rotating shaft of the drum (FIG. 1 flexible hose 21 is perpendicular to the rotating shaft of the drum), communicate an air outlet of the drum with an air inlet of the circulating module assembly (10) and serve as a passage allowing the moist air from the drum to enter the circulating module assembly (10) (FIG. 1 paragraph [0021] flexible hose 21 communicates opening 26 to the circulating air passage 18 where blower 16 is located).
As to claim 13, (Currently Amended) Nakamoto-960 further teaches an air outlet passage (203) which is configured to extend in a direction parallel to the rotating shaft of the drum (FIG. 1 flexible hose 22 is parallel to the rotating shaft of the drum), communicate an air outlet of the dehumidifying module assembly (20) with an air inlet of the drum and serve as a passage allowing the dried circulating airflow as dehumidified to enter the drum (paragraph [0024] circulating air A is sent to rotary drum via flexible hose 22).
As to claim 14, (Currently Amended) Nakamoto-960 further teaches a regeneration air inlet (3011) (FIG. 1 the regeneration air C before the exhaust means 19 would read on the claimed regeneration air inlet) and a regeneration air outlet (3012) (FIG. 1 the air C after the exhaust means 19 would read on the claimed regeneration air outlet) of the regenerating module assembly (30) are both communicated with an atmosphere (FIG. 1 Regenerative air C is communicated with an atmosphere via exhaust means 19).
As to claim 15, (Currently Amended) Nakamoto-960 further teaches a condensing module assembly (40) (paragraph [0025] heat absorber 9 reads on the claimed condensing module), communicated with a regeneration air outlet of the regenerating module assembly (30) and configured to condense the regeneration airflow output from the regenerating module assembly (30) to form a low-temperature and dry airflow (paragraph [0025] regeneration air C is cooled and dehumidified in the heat absorber 9).
As to claim 16, (Original) Nakamoto-960 further teaches an air outlet of the condensing module assembly (40) is communicated with an atmosphere or a regeneration air inlet (3011) of the regenerating module assembly (30) (paragraph [0025] the regeneration air C is heated again in the radiator 7 and sent to the moisture release section 14 of the moisture absorption and release means 15).
[AltContent: textbox (The air outlet of the heat absorber 9 communicates with the Regenerative air inlet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Regenerative air outlet)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto JP2007306960 (henceforth referred to as Nakamoto-960) in view of Doh et al. U.S. Publication 2013/0263630 (henceforth referred to as Doh).
As to claim 2, (Original) Nakamoto-960 differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a plane where the drying device is located is disposed horizontally above or below the drum and is parallel to a rotating shaft of the drum.
Doh teaches a similar dryer device of an integrated washer-dryer (FIG. 1 paragraph [0019] condensation type washing machine 10 with a drying function). Doh teaches a plane where the drying device is located is disposed horizontally above or below the drum and is parallel to a rotating shaft of the drum (FIG. 1 the heating duct 15 which contains heater 16 and blowing fan 17 is in a plane above the drum 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Nakamoto-960 with a plane above the drum as taught by Doh. Having a drying device located above the drum is one of the ways for the drying device to be configured.
As to claim 3, (Original) Doh further teaches that the rotating shaft of the circulating module assembly (10) is perpendicular to the rotating shaft of the drum (FIG. 1 the rotating shaft of blower fan 17 is perpendicular to the rotating shaft of the drum 13).
Doh does not teach at least two of the shafts are parallel to each other and substantially perpendicular to the rotating shaft of the drum. Nakamoto-960 teaches that the shafts of the moisture absorbing and desorbing means 15, blower 16, and blower 52 of the regenerating duct are parallel to each other. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art that if the drying device of Nakamoto-960 is arranged to be above the drum as taught by Doh (essentially rotating the drying device of Nakamoto-960 by 90°), the shafts would be parallel to each other and substantially perpendicular to the rotating shaft of the drum.
As to claim 4, (Original) Nakamoto-960 and Doh do not teach the rotating shafts of the circulating module assembly (10) and the dehumidifying module assembly (20) are configured to be heteroplanar with and perpendicular to the rotating shaft of the drum, and distributed on two sides of the rotating shaft of the drum; and the regenerating module assembly (30) is provided on a side of the circulating module assembly (10), and the regenerating module assembly (30) and the dehumidifying module assembly (20) are disposed on two sides of the rotating shaft of the drum, respectively.
However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a rearrangement of parts. It is old and well known to rearrange parts, with no change in their respective functions, due to size/space design criteria, the manufacturing expense thereof or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, C. Rearrangement of Parts.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto JP2007306960 (henceforth referred to as Nakamoto-960) in view of Kwon et al. U.S. Publication 2012/0090189 (henceforth referred to as Kwon).
As to claim 6, (Original) Nakamoto-960 differs from the instant claim in failing to teach when a plane where the drying device is located is disposed horizontally above the drum, the air inlet passage (102) is disposed at a left rear side or right rear side of the drum, and the circulating module assembly (10) communicated with the air inlet passage (102) is accordingly disposed at an upper left rear side or upper right rear side of the drum.
Kwon teaches a similar dryer device of an integrated washer-dryer (paragraph [0056] a laundry machine having a drying function). Kwon teaches a plane where the drying device is located is disposed horizontally above the drum (FIG. 2 drying duct 40 is located horizontally above the drum), the air inlet passage (102) is disposed at a left rear side or right rear side of the drum (FIG. 2 the hot air outlet 121 is located on the right rear side of the drum (when looking from the front)), and the circulating module assembly (10) communicated with the air inlet passage (102) is accordingly disposed at an upper left rear side or upper right rear side of the drum (paragraph [0088] the fan 41 ventilates the hot air into the drying duct 40 by inhaling the hot air from the hot air outlet 121).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Nakamoto-960 with an air inlet passage disposed at a side of the rear side of the drum as taught by Kwon. It is known by one skilled in the art to have an air inlet passage be placed on the rear and to have an air outlet placed on the front of the drum as it forms a common circulation passage.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto JP2007306960 (henceforth referred to as Nakamoto-960) in view of Nakamoto JP2008055077 (henceforth referred to as Nakamoto-077).
As to claim 8, (Original) Nakamoto-960 differs from the instant claim in failing to teach when a plane where the drying device is located is disposed horizontally below the drum, the air inlet passage (102) is configured to extend sequentially along a bottom, a rear and a top of the integrated washer-dryer, so as to communicate an air outlet of the drum with an air inlet of a circulating fan (101).
Nakamoto-077 teaches a similar integrated washer-dryer (paragraph [0001] a washing/drying machine). Nakamoto-077 teaches a plane where the drying device is located is disposed horizontally below the drum (FIG. 3 the plane of the dehumidifier means 24 and blower 32 is on a plane disposed horizontally below the drum), the air inlet passage (102) is configured to extend sequentially along a bottom, a rear and a top of the integrated washer-dryer (FIG. 3 ducts 20 and 31 is shown at a top, rear, and bottom of the integrated washer-dryer), so as to communicate an air outlet of the drum with an air inlet of a circulating fan (101) (Figure 3 shows that opening 19 provided in the washing tub 14 connects the washing tub 14 to the blower 32 via ducts 20 and 31. Paragraph [0019] the blower 32 can be provided to the upstream side of the heat radiator 26 or the upstream side of the heat absorber 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Nakamoto-960 with an air inlet passage as taught by Nakamoto-077. Having a drying device located below the drum is one of the ways for the drying device to be configured. It would have been obvious to configure the air inlet as claimed in order for the moistened air to travel to the drying device.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto JP2007306960 (henceforth referred to as Nakamoto-960) in view of Hwang et al. KR20190000147 (henceforth referred to as Hwang).
As to claim 9, (Original) Nakamoto-960 differs from the instant claim in failing to teach when a plane where the drying device is located is disposed horizontally below the drum, the air outlet passage (203) is configured to extend along a bottom, a rear and a top of the integrated washer-dryer, so as to communicate an air outlet of the dehumidifying module assembly (20) with an air inlet of the drum.
Hwang teaches a dryer (paragraph [0001] a drying device and drying method). Hwang teaches when a plane where the drying device is located is disposed horizontally below the drum (FIG. 2 a dehumidifying region 151 and regeneration region 152 are on a plane disposed below the treatment area), the air outlet passage (203) is configured to extend along a bottom, a rear and a top of the dryer (FIG. 2 an air path 120a has an air outlet passage along a bottom, rear, and a top of a dryer), so as to communicate an air outlet of the dehumidifying module assembly (20) with an air inlet of the drum (paragraph [0048] the drying room is provided with an inlet 111 for introducing drying air into the internal space).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Nakamoto-960 with an air outlet passage as taught by Hwang. The drying device located below the drum is one of the ways for the drying device to be configured. Having the air outlet as claimed is a variation in which the dried air can be reintroduced into the drum (paragraph [0049]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art that the drying device and air outlet of Hwang can be used in an integrated washer-dryer of Nakamoto-960.
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto JP2007306960 (henceforth referred to as Nakamoto-960).
As to claim 11, (Original) Nakamoto-960 further teaches rotating shafts of the circulating module assembly (10) and the dehumidifying module assembly (20) are parallel to the rotating shaft of the drum (Figure 1 shows that the shafts of blower 16 and moisture absorbing and releasing means 15 are parallel to the rotating shaft of the drum).
Nakamoto-960 does not teach that the rotating shafts are distributed on two sides of the rotating shaft of the drum; and the regenerating module assembly (30) is provided on a side of the circulating module assembly (10), and the regenerating module assembly (30) and the dehumidifying module assembly (20) are disposed on two sides of the rotating shaft of the drum, respectively.
However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a rearrangement of parts. It is old and well known to rearrange parts, with no change in their respective functions, due to size/space design criteria, the manufacturing expense thereof or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, C. Rearrangement of Parts.
As to claim 20, (Currently Amended) Nukamoto-960 teaches an integrated washer-dryer, comprising: a drum for washing (FIG. 1 paragraph [0021] rotary drum 17 in which washing water and circulating air can flow in and out), and the a drying device (paragraph [0001] a clothes drying device used in a washing/drying machine), wherein the drying device comprises:
a circulating module assembly (10), communicated with a drum of the integrated washer-dryer and configured to enable moist air from the drum to form a circulating airflow by rotating and output the circulating airflow to a dehumidifying module assembly (20) for dehumidification (FIG. 1 paragraph [0024] blower 16 blows circulating air A through circulating air passage 18 to absorbing section 13 of the moisture absorbing and releasing means 15);
the dehumidifying module assembly (20), communicated with the circulating module assembly (10) and the drum and configured to dehumidify and dry the circulating airflow from the circulating module assembly (10) by circulating movement and output the dried circulating airflow to the drum (FIG. 1 paragraph [0018] moisture absorbing and desorbing means 15, which reads on the claimed dehumidifying module assembly, has a moisture absorption section 13 that absorbs moisture from circulating air A using an adsorbent 12); and
a regenerating module assembly (30) (FIG. 1 within the regeneration air duct 51, there is a heat pump 11, which comprises of a compressor 6, radiator 7, and a heat absorber 9, as well as a moisture desorption section 14, a second blower 52, heat exhaust means 19, etc. The combination of the previously mentioned items would read on the claimed regenerating module assembly), communicated with the dehumidifying module assembly (20) and configured to output a dry regeneration airflow to the dehumidifying module assembly (20) to dehumidify and dry at least part of the dehumidifying module assembly (20) so as to restore a dehumidifying capacity of the dehumidifying module assembly (20) (FIG. 1 paragraph [0025] regeneration air C provides heat to evaporate the moisture in the adsorbent 12. By evaporating the moisture in adsorbent 12, the dehumidifying capacity would be restored),
wherein the circulating module assembly (10), the dehumidifying module assembly (20) and the regenerating module assembly (30) of the drying device are disposed substantially in one plane according to any one of claims 1 to 24 (FIG. 1 the blower 16, the moisture absorbing and desorbing means 15, and regeneration air duct 51 are disposed substantially in one plane. However, the drying device can be arranged in one plane according to any one of claims 1-19),
wherein the drying device is communicated with the drum for dehumidifying and drying moist air inside the drum (paragraphs [0023]-[0025] circulating air A is dehumidified by absorbing moisture in the moisture absorbing section 13 of the moisture absorbing and releasing means 15. Figure 1 shows that the blower 16, the moisture absorbing and desorbing means 15, and regeneration air duct 51 are communicated with the drum).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto JP2007306960 (henceforth referred to as Nakamoto-960) in view of Bison et al. U.S. Publication 2014/0026433 (henceforth referred to as Bison).
As to claim 17, (Currently Amended) Nakamoto-960 differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a filtering assembly (60), provided in the air inlet passage (102) of the circulating module assembly (10) and configured to filter lint and/or impurities in the airflow from the drum.
Bison teaches a similar washer-dryer (paragraph [0075] washer/dryer). Bison teaches a filtering assembly (60), provided in the air inlet passage (102) of the circulating module assembly (10) and configured to filter lint and/or impurities in the airflow from the drum (FIG. 5A paragraph [0084] moisten-laden drying air, indicated by arrow 520, comes up from the drum 105 and the tub 303 and passes through an air defluff filter, which is accommodated within a respective filter seat 530).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Nakamoto-960 with a filter as taught by Bison. It is known in the art to use a filter to capture lint and other impurities as it prevents clogs within the ducts.
As to claim 18, (Original) Nakamoto-960 and Bison further teach the air inlet passage (102) is configured to pass through a front end of the integrated washer-dryer (Nakamoto-960 Figure 1 shows that the air inlet duct, indicated by flexible hose 21 is at the front end of the integrated washer-dryer), and the filtering assembly (60) provided in the air inlet passage (102) is detachably provided on a front-end panel of the integrated washer-dryer (Bison paragraph [0084] the defluff filter is removably accommodated in filter seat 530. Figure 5A shows that the filter seat 530 is on the front-end of the washer-dryer).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto JP2007306960 (henceforth referred to as Nakamoto-960) in view of Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0191211 (henceforth referred to as Kim).
As to claim 19, (Currently Amended) Nakamoto-960 differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a housing of the drying device is integrally provided with at least one mounting part (509) at corresponding positions on four sides of a frame of the integrated washer-dryer, respectively, and the drying device is rigidly fixed to a cabinet of the integrated washer-dryer via the mounting parts (509).
Kim teaches a similar washer-dryer (paragraph [0024] a washing and drying machine). Kim teaches a housing of the drying device is integrally provided with at least one mounting part (509) at corresponding positions on four sides of a frame of the integrated washer-dryer (FIGS. 2 and 4 paragraphs [0062]-[0063] there are at least two fastening parts 1216a in the front surface of the heat exchange duct part 121 and at least two fastening parts 1226a at the rear surface of the compressor base part 122), respectively, and the drying device is rigidly fixed to a cabinet of the integrated washer-dryer via the mounting parts (509) (FIG. 1B paragraphs [0062]-[0063] screws 16 are fastened to the fastening parts 1216a and 1226a by penetrating front frame 15 and back cover 12e, respectively).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Nakamoto-960 with mounting parts as taught by Kim. It is known in the art to use mounting portions to secure the drying device housing to a frame/cabinet as it can provide stability and prevent vibration.
Conclusion
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711