DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on April 19, 2024 is acknowledged. The application will be examined accordingly.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 19, 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains the legal terminology “means”.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
Consequently, the “means” recited in claims 1, 13, 16 and 18 are subject to interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the “means” in claims 9 and 17 is not subject to 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation because the means is further modified by sufficient material/acts for performing the claimed function.
In addition, this application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use generic placeholders that are coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholders are not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are: “input unit”, “analytical measurement unit”, “data processing unit” and “output unit” in claim 18.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If Applicant does not intend to have these limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), Applicant may:
(1) amend the claim limitations to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or
(2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Objections
Claims 12-16 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 12-16 recite verbs in passive voice (e.g. “are provided”; “is treated”) instead of active voice (e.g. “providing”; “treating”). Because the claimed invention is directed to a method, steps that are intended to be part of the method should be recited in active voice. Otherwise, the steps may be construed as conveying intent. For examination purposes, the passive voice limitations will be subject to their broadest reasonable interpretations.
In claim 12, the limitation “are provided” should be changed to “is provided”.
In claim 18, the limitation “an determination value” should be changed to “a determination value”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because the scope of the claim cannot be ascertained. According to the preamble of claim 1, the claimed invention is directed to a “method for providing information”. A method is defined by its step(s). However, the claim does not recite any limitation that can be construed as a method step (i.e. an act), let alone an act that is directed to “providing information”. While claim 1 recites a step of “using an indicator”, the limitation “using” is considered indefinite due to its abstract nature. See MPEP 2173.05(q). Consequently, the metes and bounds of the claimed invention is unclear. The rejected dependent claims fail to remedy the indefinite nature of claim 1. While claims 12-17 recite discernible acts (e.g. comparing, adjusting the amount of D-amino acid), said acts are not deemed to be directed to “providing information”. Consequently, the scope of the limitation “providing information” remains unclear in claims 12-17.
In claim 17, it is unclear how treating a biological sample taken from a cancerous subject constitutes a cancer treatment. According to the claim, it’s not the subject that is treated, but rather a sample taken from the subject. Further clarification regarding the scope of the claim is requested.
Claims not explicitly rejected are rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea and/or laws of nature without significantly more.
Regarding claims 1-15, as discussed above, the scope of the limitation “providing information” is unclear. That said, assuming that the limitations refers to steps of “converting” the claimed indicator into the claimed information and “conveying” the information to the subject, the claims recite a judicial exception in the form of a mental process (e.g. converting a value to a cancer diagnosis/classification/prognosis/treatment) that is dictated by laws of nature (there is a natural correlation between amount of D-amino acid in a subject and presence of cancer and stage/prognosis of cancer). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims consist of the judicial exception (i.e. the entire subject matter of the claims is directed to the judicial exception). Naturally, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 16, because it is a dependent claim, it encompasses the judicial exception identified above. While the claim also recites a step of treating cancer, the treatment step does not constitute a practical application of the judicial exception because it is not “particular”. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(2). Consequently, claim 16 fails to remedy the deficiency of claim 1.
Claim 17, on the other hand, is not rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because it recites performance of a particular cancer treatment, which constitutes a practical application of the judicial exception identified above.
Regarding claim 18, recitation of a computer that performs the judicial exception fails to obviate a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(I). Consequently, claim 18, which recites the judicial exception identified above, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of co-pending Application 18/598,428 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 2 of the reference application anticipates claim 1 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamase et al. (“Hamase”) (US 2019/0339281 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Hamase discloses a method for providing information associated with cancer in a subject using an indicator (numerical value) representative of the amount of a D-amino acid in a biological sample (e.g. urine, blood) of the subject (see abstract and [0154]), wherein the information is cancer diagnosis (see [0154] and [0167]).
With respect to claim 2 and 3, the indicator is a value obtained by correcting the amount of the D-amino acid with an in vivo L-amino acid in the subject (see [0383]).
With respect to claims 4 and 5, the indicator is a value obtained by correcting the amount of the D-amino acid with a kidney function marker (see [0383]), specifically protein (L-alanine containing proteins) in urine of the subject (see abstract disclosing that the sample is urine, meaning the L-alanine by which the concentration of D-amino acid is corrected is found in urine).
With respect to claim 6, the D-amino acid is D-serine, D- alanine or D-asparagine (see [0154]).
With respect to claims 7 and 8, the cancer is gastrointestinal cancer, specifically cancer in the large intestine (see [0383]), which includes colon and rectum.
With respect to claims 9-11 and 13-15, the subject matter of the claims is directed to alternative embodiments (e.g. classification of cancer progression for the subject) that is not addressed by the rejection of claim 1. Consequently, prior art need not teach the subject matter of the claims to reject them.
With respect to claim 12, the diagnosis is determined by comparing the indicator with the amount of D-amino acids in biological samples from subjects having cancer (see [0383]).
For claims 12-15, it should also be noted that the claims recite verbs in passive voice, as discussed above (see objections to the claims), meaning it is unclear whether the claims intend the verbs to convey method steps. Moreover, the claimed invention is directed to a method of “providing information”, not a method of determining/deriving information. Consequently, claims 12-15, which are directed to manners in which the various claimed information is determined/derived, does not further limit the claimed invention. The claims are rejected if the claimed information (e.g. cancer diagnosis based on D-amino acid concentration) is provided, regardless of how the information is derived.
With respect to claim 18, Hamase discloses a data processing unit for conducting the method disclosed above (see [0001]), the data processing unit comprising a memory unit, an input unit, an analytical measurement unit, a data processing unit and an output unit (see [0029] and [0169]).
The memory unit stores therein concentrations of various D-amino acids associated with cancer diagnosis (see [0029]), the analytical measurement unit separates and quantifies the D-amino acids in a biological sample of the subject (see [0029]), the data processing unit compares the quantified D-amino acids with the concentration values stored in the memory unit (see [0029]), and the output unit outputs the information (see [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamase.
Hamase does not explicitly disclose a step of treating a cancer patient once the patient is diagnosed with cancer. However, it is well-known in the art to treat a cancer patient (e.g. via chemotherapy, radiation therapy, gene therapy) after cancer diagnosis. That said, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have treated the subject based on the information provided by the method of claim 1 (i.e. treat the subject after cancer diagnosis).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamase as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Livant (US 2012/0077755 A1).
With respect to claim 17, while it would have been obvious to treat the subject (see rejection of claim 16 above), Hamase does not disclose treating cancer using by adjusting the amount of the D-amino acid in the subject.
Livant discloses a method of treating a cancerous patient by administering D-amino acids (e.g. D-histidine, see claim 1, which is the same D-amino acid used as a biomarker for cancer in Hamase, see [0158]) to the patient so that the amount of the D-amino acid in the patient is within or near a prescribed range (see abstract). According to Livant, the treatment inhibits the ability of cancer cells to invade tissues and cause metastases (see [0001]). In light of the disclosure of Livant, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have administered D-histidine to the subject after diagnosing the subject with cancer.
Conclusion
/PAUL S HYUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796