DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites the limitation of “the structural element” in line 6 which should be changed to “the microelectromechanical structural element” to match the language previously used in the claim.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites the limitation that the stiffening element “brings about” an electrical and/or magnetic shielding, which is not clearly worded and should be changed to “provides” or similar for clarity.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites the limitation of “the spring element” which lacks antecedent basis as no such spring element has been previously disclosed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites the limitation that the stiffening element is provided in a second region located “on an opposite second side of the flexible carrier element.” It is not clear as to how “opposite” is to be interpreted as it could mean opposing ends, or a flip side of carrier element. Since the carrier element has not been disclosed as a plane or a beam or any other shape, it is not clear as to what would be “opposite.”
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites the limitation that a passivation medium is “introduced around the sensor element” however it is not clear if this represents a step of introducing the medium, or if it is a structural limitation which is equivalent to “surrounding” or similar.
Regarding claim 23, the claim comprises similar limitations to those of claim 15 and is rejected for the same reasons.
All claims which depend from those above are rejected for the same reasons due to their dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15, 16, 18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tepass .US 2019/0313532.
Regarding claim 15, Tepass teaches as seen in fig. 1 and fig. 4, a mounting device for a microelectromechanical structure element and ASIC for integration into a higher-level system, wherein the mounting device comprises a flexible carrier element 3, the micromechanical structure (sensor module 2) and a stiffening element 8, wherein the structural element is applied to a first side of the flexible carrier (bottom of fig. 1) and the stiffening element is provided at last in a second region (top of fig. 1) on an opposite second side of the flexible carrier element.
Regarding claim 16, Tepass further teaches a structural component 8 which is applied to the first side of the carrier element 3 in the first region and at least partially encloses the structural element as claimed (fig 3).
Regarding claim 18, Tepass discloses a passivation medium 8 that is introduced around and at least partially covers the sensor element (paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 21, the stiffening element of Tepass is arranged such that the stiffening element 8 covers at least a surface of the first region when viewed vertically as seen in fig. 1.
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Celik-Butler US 2010/0245114.
Regarding claim 15, Celik-Butler teaches a mounting device for a microelectromechanical structural element and ASIC for integration into a higher-level system, wherein the mounting device comprises a flexible carrier element 406, a micromechanical structural element 410 and a stiffening element 408, wherein the structural element 410 is applied to a first side of the flexible carrier (top side) in a first region and the stiffening element 408 is provided at least in a second region located on an opposite second side (bottom side) of the flexible carrier element.
Regarding claim 16, Celik-Butler teaches a structural component 402 which is applied to the first side of the carrier element in the first region and at least partially encloses the structural element 410 as claimed.
Regarding claim 17, the structural element of Celik-Butler has a micromechanical sensor element (paragraph 0035) and the structural component has an opening 424 as an access for surroundings to the sensor element such as the output interface 418.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tepass and Mayer EP 2273261.
Regarding claim 17, Tepass teaches the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the structural component having an opening as an access for surroundings to the sensor element. Mayer teaches a mounting for a sensor element 9 which includes a flexible carrier element 1 and a structural component 6 with an opening 7 as an access for surroundings to the structural element. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Tepass and Mayer to provide a similar opening for use with a sensor such as a pressure sensor which may require access to a surrounding environment.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tepass and Braman US 2007/0113702.
Regarding claim 19, Tepass discloses the claimed invention with the exception of the receptacle for a sealing element. Braman teaches a mounting device for a microelectromechanical structural element which includes a structural element 40 with a receptacle 54 for a sealing member 44. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Braman with those of Tepass in order to provide a seal and isolation between a cover and the sensor electronics for better protection.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tepass and Zhe et al. US 2007/0013052.
Regarding claim 20, Tepass discloses the claimed invention with the exception of the stiffing element being at least partially metal and bringing about an electrical and/or magnetic shielding. Zhe teaches a MEMS sensor packaging system which includes a flexible substrate on which a MEMS sensor is mounted and a meshed metal layer which provides EMI shielding of the MEMS device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings Zhe with those of Tepass in order to provide a metallic layer for shielding the sensor from EMI interference to increase the accuracy of the sensor.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tepass and Maegawa et al. US 2017/0336436.
Regarding claim 22, Tepass discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly teach the spring element in or on the second region wherein the spring is part of the stiffening element. Maegawa teaches a housing for a sensor 12 as seen in fig. 2 in which a stiffening element 11 is provided with a spring portion (11b) thereon. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Maegawa with those of Tepass in order to provide a similar spring portion for providing a spring force in the system on housing elements such as a cover similar to that of Tepass to ensure a tight contact between the elements.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tepass and Braman.
Regarding claim 23, Tepass teaches as seen in fig. 1 and fig. 4, a mounting device for a microelectromechanical structure element and ASIC for integration into a higher-level system, wherein the mounting device comprises a flexible carrier element 3, the micromechanical structure (sensor module 2) and a stiffening element 8, wherein the structural element is applied to a first side of the flexible carrier (bottom of fig. 1) and the stiffening element is provided at last in a second region (top of fig. 1) on an opposite second side of the flexible carrier element. Tepass does not explicitly disclose the structural component as having a receptable arranged or the specifics of the housing as claimed. Braman teaches a housing for a sensor system which includes a structural component 40 comprising a receptacle for a sealing element, a cover 14 which partially presses against a structural element 24 and/or the sealing component and/or the sealing element (fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Braman with those of Tepass in order to provide a housing and cover for the sensing electronics which would allow for a sealed removable covering allowing access to the sensing elements inside for assembly or replacement.
Regarding claim 24, in combination, the arrangement of the elements of Braman are in the claimed configuration (see fig. 1A).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tepass, Braman and Maegawa.
Regarding claim 25, Tepass discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly teach the spring element in or on the second region wherein the spring is part of the stiffening element. Maegawa teaches a housing for a sensor 12 as seen in fig. 2 in which a stiffening element 11 is provided with a spring portion (11b) thereon. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Maegawa with those of Tepass in order to provide a similar spring portion for providing a spring force in the system on housing elements such as a cover similar to that of Tepass to ensure a tight contact between the elements.
Conclusion
/MARK A SHABMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855