DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed 5/21/2026.
Claims 2-3, 6, 15, 19-20, and 23-24 have been cancelled.
Claim 26 has been added.
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-14, 16-18, 21-22, and 25-26 are now pending.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 5 have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 2/23/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 9-12 of the remarks, in regard to the independent claims, the Applicant disagrees with the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shin et al. US 20250048291 (hereinafter “Shin”).
Specifically, the Applicant remarks:
Shin does not involve the technical feature that the reported TA value is calculated at a specified time and does not disclose the technical feature of reporting a TA value calculated at a specified time
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding (1), first, Shin clearly teaches "information of time when a TA value determined by the terminal is applied" since Shin teaches reporting an updated "UE-specific TA value" and defining the time at which the update is applied as mentioned in [0173]. Second, the claim says that "a second type of TA value" is sent and this value indicates "TA value calculated at a specified time". It does not say that the calculation time needs to be reported. It simply says to report a TA value calculated at a specified time. Therefore, the Examiner interpreted this limitation as sending TA information representing a TA that was calculated at a particular update/reporting time. This limitation is clearly taught by Shin because Shin clearly teaches reporting an updated "UE-specific TA value" and defining the time at which the update is applied. In addition, in [0233], Shin mentions that “a terminal may acquire/calculate/update a UE-specific TA at a time of performing new uplink transmission” which means a TA value is calculated at a “specified time” or “at a time of performing new uplink transmission”. Also, it's not clear how defining "a time when an updated UE-specific TA value is applied" does not teach TA value information that indicates a TA value calculated at a specified time since Shin mentions that the time is applied when a terminal performs TA update. In other words, the time is defined when the terminal performs a TA update which is analogous to specifying a time when a TA value is calculated.
On page 13 of the remarks, in regard to the dependent claims, the Applicant states that the claims are allowable at least due to the deficiencies of the ground of rejection applied to the independent claims.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner kindly refer the Applicant to the reasoning pertaining to the independent claims, detailed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-14, 16-18, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shin et al. US 20250048291 (hereinafter “Shin”).
As to claim 1 and 21 (claim 1 is the method claim for the terminal in claim 21):
Shin discloses:
A terminal, comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor; (“For example, the above-described operation in S105 that a terminal (100 or 200 in FIG. 12) receives the configuration information from a base station (200 or 100 in FIG. 12) may be implemented by a device of FIG. 12 to be described below. For example, in reference to FIG. 12, at least one processor 102 may control at least one transceiver 106 and/or at least one memory 104, etc. to receive the configuration information, and at least one transceiver 106 may receive the configuration information from a network side.”, Shin [0296])
A method for reporting a time advance (TA) value, performed by a terminal, comprising: sending TA value information to a network device, wherein the TA value information at least comprises information of time when a TA value determined by the terminal is applied. (“In the above-described examples, when a terminal is configured to update a UE-specific TA value based on a predetermined event, a terminal may report to a base station that TA update was performed (or information related to a UE-specific TA). Alternatively, whether TA update is triggered may be determined by a terminal and a terminal may be configured to update a UE-specific TA under permission of a base station. For example, when a predetermined event occurs (or when a predefined specific matric is satisfied), a terminal may report to a base station that a UE-specific TA will be updated (or needs to be updated) and when a base station permits it (e.g., gives an indication to a terminal through a predetermined field, etc. in DCI), a terminal may be configured to update a UE-specific TA. As an additional example, when a terminal performs TA update based on event-trigger, a time when an updated UE-specific TA value is applied may be defined. If a terminal reports an updated UE-specific TA value to a base station, a base station may indicate a new K-offset value based on a corresponding updated UE-specific TA value. Alternatively, when a terminal does not report an updated UE-specific TA value, a time when a new K-offset value is applied should be determined. In an example, after a terminal updates a UE-specific TA value (when it does not report anything to a base station), a terminal may be configured to perform a RACH procedure. A base station may newly indicate a proper TA command (TAC) through a RAR by receiving a PRACH preamble transmitted by a corresponding terminal and a terminal may be configured to transmit or receive control information/data by applying a new K-offset value which is implicitly acquired from an updated TA value after performing such a step.”, Shin [0172-0173]) (“In reporting a value of a UE-specific TA and/or the total TA (i.e., a common TA and a UE-specific TA) value to a base station, a terminal may reduce a signaling overhead by reporting only part of an updated UE-specific TA. For example, a terminal may report to a base station only a difference value from a recently reported value (e.g., whether to increase or decrease and/or an increase or decrease value). A difference value from a recently reported TA value may be also referred to as a TA variance, a TA increase or decrease amount, or a TA offset value. For example, in reporting a TA first, a terminal in a connection mode may report to a base station only a difference value from a TA reporting value in an idle or inactive mode or may report the total TA value in first reporting and report only a difference value from a previous reporting value in subsequent reporting. For example, a difference value between a previously applied K-offset value and a K-offset value predicted from an updated TA may be reported. For example, a base station may preconfigure candidates (or states) of a reporting value of a terminal and a terminal may select and report a specific candidate. For example, a base station may configure a default UE-specific TA value and a terminal may report only a difference value from a default value.”, Shin [0196])
wherein sending the TA value information to the network device comprises: sending a second type of TA value information to the network device; wherein the second type of TA value information is configured to indicate a TA value calculated at a specified time. (“In reporting a value of a UE-specific TA and/or the total TA (i.e., a common TA and a UE-specific TA) value to a base station, a terminal may reduce a signaling overhead by reporting only part of an updated UE-specific TA. For example, a terminal may report to a base station only a difference value from a recently reported value (e.g., whether to increase or decrease and/or an increase or decrease value). A difference value from a recently reported TA value may be also referred to as a TA variance, a TA increase or decrease amount, or a TA offset value. For example, in reporting a TA first, a terminal in a connection mode may report to a base station only a difference value from a TA reporting value in an idle or inactive mode or may report the total TA value in first reporting and report only a difference value from a previous reporting value in subsequent reporting. For example, a difference value between a previously applied K-offset value and a K-offset value predicted from an updated TA may be reported. For example, a base station may preconfigure candidates (or states) of a reporting value of a terminal and a terminal may select and report a specific candidate. For example, a base station may configure a default UE-specific TA value and a terminal may report only a difference value from a default value.”, Shin [0196]) (“Here, a specific matric may be a UE-specific TA value or a specific threshold therefor. Additionally or alternatively, a specific matric may be an offset of a UE-specific TA (e.g., a TA variance for an initial TA or a most recent TA) or a specific threshold therefor. Additionally or alternatively, a specific matric may be a variance for RSRP or a variance for SINR or a specific threshold therefor. Additionally or alternatively, a specific matric may be a difference between a predetermined or desired K-offset value and an offset (e.g., K-offset) value implicitly acquired through an initial TA (i.e., a sum of a common TA and a UE-specific TA), etc. or a threshold therefor.”, Shin [0169]) (“In the above-described examples, when a terminal is configured to update a UE-specific TA value based on a predetermined event, a terminal may report to a base station that TA update was performed (or information related to a UE-specific TA). Alternatively, whether TA update is triggered may be determined by a terminal and a terminal may be configured to update a UE-specific TA under permission of a base station. For example, when a predetermined event occurs (or when a predefined specific matric is satisfied), a terminal may report to a base station that a UE-specific TA will be updated (or needs to be updated) and when a base station permits it (e.g., gives an indication to a terminal through a predetermined field, etc. in DCI), a terminal may be configured to update a UE-specific TA. As an additional example, when a terminal performs TA update based on event-trigger, a time when an updated UE-specific TA value is applied may be defined. If a terminal reports an updated UE-specific TA value to a base station, a base station may indicate a new K-offset value based on a corresponding updated UE-specific TA value. Alternatively, when a terminal does not report an updated UE-specific TA value, a time when a new K-offset value is applied should be determined. In an example, after a terminal updates a UE-specific TA value (when it does not report anything to a base station), a terminal may be configured to perform a RACH procedure. A base station may newly indicate a proper TA command (TAC) through a RAR by receiving a PRACH preamble transmitted by a corresponding terminal and a terminal may be configured to transmit or receive control information/data by applying a new K-offset value which is implicitly acquired from an updated TA value after performing such a step.”, Shin [0172-0173]) (“For example, a terminal may acquire/calculate/update a UE-specific TA at a time of performing new uplink transmission (or immediately before uplink transmission). A terminal may update and report a UE-specific TA only when a difference from a recent UE-specific TA is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold and if a difference is less than the threshold, a non-updated (i.e., a recent UE-specific TA) may be applied and accordingly, TA-related information may not be reported.”, Shin [0233])
wherein the specified time is determined in at least one of following ways:
based on a time unit when the terminal receives an uplink scheduling signaling and a processing time for the uplink scheduling signaling;
based on a start time unit when the terminal sends a first one of uplink signals;
based on a time unit when a first one of uplink signals sent by the terminal is expected to arrive at the network device for the first time;
based on an end time unit for the terminal to send a single uplink signal;
or based on a time unit when a single uplink signal sent by the terminal is expected to arrive at the network device at last. (“When a NTN terminal configures a time reference for uplink transmission, a terminal itself may calculate (or adjust, acquire, or update) a time reference based on information provided from a base station and apply it to uplink transmission. In order for a base station to successfully receive uplink transmission from a terminal, a base station may be required to receive a report from a terminal about a time reference calculated by a terminal itself. A NTN terminal may adjust or update a time reference applied to uplink transmission. For example, a time reference may correspond to a TA offset or may correspond to a TA value that a TA offset is applied to an initial or most recent TA. Updating a time reference may include calculating or acquiring a current TA or may include applying a calculated/acquired TA. In addition, a NTN terminal may report to a base station information on a time reference applied to uplink transmission. Reported information on a time reference may include a current TA value calculated/acquired by a terminal or may include a TA offset for deriving a current TA value.”, Shin [0153-0155]) (“For example, a terminal may acquire/calculate/update a UE-specific TA at a time of performing new uplink transmission (or immediately before uplink transmission). A terminal may update and report a UE-specific TA only when a difference from a recent UE-specific TA is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold and if a difference is less than the threshold, a non-updated (i.e., a recent UE-specific TA) may be applied and accordingly, TA-related information may not be reported.”, Shin [0233])
wherein the way to determine the specified time is a predefined terminal behavior (“when a predetermined event occurs (or when a predefined specific matric is satisfied), a terminal may report to a base station that a UE-specific TA will be updated (or needs to be updated) and when a base station permits it (e.g., gives an indication to a terminal through a predetermined field, etc. in DCI), a terminal may be configured to update a UE-specific TA. As an additional example, when a terminal performs TA update based on event-trigger, a time when an updated UE-specific TA value is applied may be defined.”, Shin [0172-0173]) (Examiner’s Note: a time when an UE-specific TA value is applied is based on a predetermined event) (“For example, a terminal may acquire/calculate/update a UE-specific TA at a time of performing new uplink transmission (or immediately before uplink transmission). A terminal may update and report a UE-specific TA only when a difference from a recent UE-specific TA is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold and if a difference is less than the threshold, a non-updated (i.e., a recent UE-specific TA) may be applied and accordingly, TA-related information may not be reported.”, Shin [0233])
As to claim 4:
Shin discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein sending the TA value information to the network device comprises: determining a type of TA value information to be sent to the network device, wherein the type of TA value information comprises a first type of TA value information or a second type of TA value information; and sending the TA value information matching the type; (“In reporting a value of a UE-specific TA and/or the total TA (i.e., a common TA and a UE-specific TA) value to a base station, a terminal may reduce a signaling overhead by reporting only part of an updated UE-specific TA. For example, a terminal may report to a base station only a difference value from a recently reported value (e.g., whether to increase or decrease and/or an increase or decrease value). A difference value from a recently reported TA value may be also referred to as a TA variance, a TA increase or decrease amount, or a TA offset value. For example, in reporting a TA first, a terminal in a connection mode may report to a base station only a difference value from a TA reporting value in an idle or inactive mode or may report the total TA value in first reporting and report only a difference value from a previous reporting value in subsequent reporting. For example, a difference value between a previously applied K-offset value and a K-offset value predicted from an updated TA may be reported. For example, a base station may preconfigure candidates (or states) of a reporting value of a terminal and a terminal may select and report a specific candidate. For example, a base station may configure a default UE-specific TA value and a terminal may report only a difference value from a default value.”, Shin [0196])
wherein the first type of TA value information is configured to indicate a plurality of TA values, and TA value time information corresponding respectively to the plurality of TA values; the second type of TA value information is configured to indicate a TA value calculated at a specified time. (“In reporting a value of a UE-specific TA and/or the total TA (i.e., a common TA and a UE-specific TA) value to a base station, a terminal may reduce a signaling overhead by reporting only part of an updated UE-specific TA. For example, a terminal may report to a base station only a difference value from a recently reported value (e.g., whether to increase or decrease and/or an increase or decrease value). A difference value from a recently reported TA value may be also referred to as a TA variance, a TA increase or decrease amount, or a TA offset value. For example, in reporting a TA first, a terminal in a connection mode may report to a base station only a difference value from a TA reporting value in an idle or inactive mode or may report the total TA value in first reporting and report only a difference value from a previous reporting value in subsequent reporting. For example, a difference value between a previously applied K-offset value and a K-offset value predicted from an updated TA may be reported. For example, a base station may preconfigure candidates (or states) of a reporting value of a terminal and a terminal may select and report a specific candidate. For example, a base station may configure a default UE-specific TA value and a terminal may report only a difference value from a default value.”, Shin [0196]) (“When a terminal reports to a base station a UE-specific TA (or the total TA (i.e., a sum of a UE-specific TA and a common TA)), all updated UE-specific TAs (or the total TA) may be reported as in the above-described examples or only part of newly updated UE-specific TAs (or the total TA) may be reported to reduce a signaling overhead of a terminal.”, Shin [0200])
As to claim 5:
Shin discloses:
The method of claim 4, wherein the TA value time information comprises at least one of: a valid time of a TA value; a calculation time of a TA value; a time drift of a TA value; or a time interval between adjacent TA values. (“In reporting a value of a UE-specific TA and/or the total TA (i.e., a common TA and a UE-specific TA) value to a base station, a terminal may reduce a signaling overhead by reporting only part of an updated UE-specific TA. For example, a terminal may report to a base station only a difference value from a recently reported value (e.g., whether to increase or decrease and/or an increase or decrease value). A difference value from a recently reported TA value may be also referred to as a TA variance, a TA increase or decrease amount, or a TA offset value. For example, in reporting a TA first, a terminal in a connection mode may report to a base station only a difference value from a TA reporting value in an idle or inactive mode or may report the total TA value in first reporting and report only a difference value from a previous reporting value in subsequent reporting. For example, a difference value between a previously applied K-offset value and a K-offset value predicted from an updated TA may be reported. For example, a base station may preconfigure candidates (or states) of a reporting value of a terminal and a terminal may select and report a specific candidate. For example, a base station may configure a default UE-specific TA value and a terminal may report only a difference value from a default value.”, Shin [0196]) (“In the above-described examples, when a terminal is configured to update a UE-specific TA value based on a predetermined event, a terminal may report to a base station that TA update was performed (or information related to a UE-specific TA). Alternatively, whether TA update is triggered may be determined by a terminal and a terminal may be configured to update a UE-specific TA under permission of a base station. For example, when a predetermined event occurs (or when a predefined specific matric is satisfied), a terminal may report to a base station that a UE-specific TA will be updated (or needs to be updated) and when a base station permits it (e.g., gives an indication to a terminal through a predetermined field, etc. in DCI), a terminal may be configured to update a UE-specific TA. ”, Shin [0172-0173])
As to claim 7:
Shin discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the way to determine the specified time is determined based on at least one of: explicit indication information sent by the network device; implicit indication information sent by the network device; or a predefined rule. (“Additionally or alternatively, occurrence of a predetermined event may correspond to a case in which an uplink transmission timing of a terminal determined based on a configuration/an indication of a base station is not actually valid from a viewpoint of a terminal. For example, for an uplink transmission timing of a terminal, a base station may configure/indicate the above-described K-offset to a terminal. Together or separately, for an uplink transmission timing of a terminal, a base station may configure/indicate to a terminal a timing offset which is additionally applied to the minimum gap applied based on an end time of downlink slot n that a PDCCH order is received. For example, the minimum gap, for a RACH procedure triggered by a PDCCH order, may correspond to a sum of a time corresponding to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) preparation time, a bandwidth part (BWP) switching delay time, a delay time predefined according to a frequency range (FR), and a switching gap time. The additionally applied timing offset may have a value for timing alignment between a base station and a terminal for a purpose similar to a K-offset. In this way, when a terminal determines a transmission time of an uplink signal/channel by reflecting timing-related information provided by a base station (e.g., a timing offset which is additionally applied to the K-offset and/or the minimum gap), but transmission of an uplink signal/channel is not valid at a corresponding time from a viewpoint of a terminal, it may be determined that the predetermined event occurred. For example, a case in which it is not valid may include a case in which a time determined based on timing-related information provided by a base station corresponds to the past than a current time, a case in which a K-offset and/or TA value calculated/updated in a terminal is greater than a K-offset and/or TA value provided by a base station, a case in which a K-offset value provided by a base station is smaller than an initial TA (i.e., a sum of a common TA and a UE-specific TA) value of a terminal and others. Since examples of such a predetermined event may occur because a timing-related value configured/indicated by a base station is proper, but it is a value that a UE-specific TA possessed by a terminal is based on a past situation/position of a terminal, i.e., an outdated value, they may correspond to a case in which a terminal needs to update a UE-specific TA value. As such, when a predetermined event occurs, a terminal may be configured to be triggered to update a UE-specific TA value.”, Shin [0171])
As to claim 8:
Shin discloses:
The method of claim 4, wherein determining the type of TA value information to be sent to the network device comprises: receiving instruction information, wherein the instruction information is configured to instruct the terminal to send the first type of TA value information or to send the second type of TA value information. (“For example, a base station may indicate an update period of a UE-specific TA (e.g., a SIB or dedicated RRC signaling, etc.) and may indicate a TA update period with satellite orbit information (e.g., a bitmap method, etc.). For example, for a specific terminal or a specific terminal group, whether a UE-specific TA is updated or whether a common TA and a UE-specific TA are updated may be indicated (e.g., through RRC, a MAC CE and/or DCI). According to an indication of a base station, a terminal may update a UE-specific TA and transmit a PRACH preamble based on an initial TA (i.e., a sum of a common TA and a UE-specific TA) reflecting an updated UE-specific TA. For it, a time duration for calculating a UE-specific TA and GNSS monitoring may be preconfigured or predefined/pre-promised between a base station and a terminal, and if a terminal does not perform UE-specific TA update, the time duration is not required, so it may be ignored.”, Shin [0178])
As to claim 9:
Shin discloses:
The method of claim 4, wherein determining the type of TA value information to be sent to the network device comprises:
determining the type of TA value information to be sent to the network device based on a TA value transmission duration and a transmission duration threshold;
wherein, in a case that the TA value transmission duration is greater than or equal to the transmission duration threshold, the first type of TA value information is sent;
in a case that the TA value transmission duration is less than the transmission duration threshold, the second type of TA value information is sent. (“For example, when one uplink transmission is performed for a long period of time, TA update/reporting may not be performed during corresponding uplink transmission. If a TA change may be predicted, TA update may be allowed during uplink transmission only under a shared condition between a base station and a terminal.”, Shin [0236]) (“It is required to define an application time of updated TAs (e.g., UE-specific TAs, common TAs, etc.) according to a configuration/an indication of a terminal and/or a base station. An application time of an updated TA may include a time of updating a TA or a time of reporting an updated TA. First, TA (specifically, UE-specific TA) update/application/reporting may be determined based on a time threshold. For example, as a UE-specific TA is a TA value which is autonomously acquired by a terminal, it may be updated before uplink signal/channel transmission of a terminal. An updated TA may be configured to be applied immediately from a first slot (or a first subframe, or a first OFDM symbol) of corresponding uplink signal/channel transmission. But, when a terminal performs uplink signal/channel transmission frequently (e.g., per each uplink slot), new calculation of a UE-specific TA for every transmission may be a burden to a terminal. In addition, since a UE-specific TA value may not be changed significantly at a current time (i.e., a time of performing TA update right before uplink transmission) compared to a nearby previous time, a UE-specific TA value may be updated/reported when a time that a terminal intends to transmit a new uplink signal/channel (e.g., a first slot, a first subframe, a first OFDM symbol, etc. of new uplink transmission) is more than a specific time (e.g., a time threshold) away from a time of recent (or last) uplink signal/channel transmission (e.g., a first slot, a first subframe, a first OFDM symbol, etc. of recent uplink transmission), and it may be configured not to update/report a UE-specific TA value if it is less than a specific time away.” Shin [0239-0241]) (“In the above-described examples, when a terminal is configured to update a UE-specific TA value based on a predetermined event, a terminal may report to a base station that TA update was performed (or information related to a UE-specific TA). Alternatively, whether TA update is triggered may be determined by a terminal and a terminal may be configured to update a UE-specific TA under permission of a base station. For example, when a predetermined event occurs (or when a predefined specific matric is satisfied), a terminal may report to a base station that a UE-specific TA will be updated (or needs to be updated) and when a base station permits it (e.g., gives an indication to a terminal through a predetermined field, etc. in DCI), a terminal may be configured to update a UE-specific TA. As an additional example, when a terminal performs TA update based on event-trigger, a time when an updated UE-specific TA value is applied may be defined. If a terminal reports an updated UE-specific TA value to a base station, a base station may indicate a new K-offset value based on a corresponding updated UE-specific TA value. Alternatively, when a terminal does not report an updated UE-specific TA value, a time when a new K-offset value is applied should be determined. In an example, after a terminal updates a UE-specific TA value (when it does not report anything to a base station), a terminal may be configured to perform a RACH procedure. A base station may newly indicate a proper TA command (TAC) through a RAR by receiving a PRACH preamble transmitted by a corresponding terminal and a terminal may be configured to transmit or receive control information/data by applying a new K-offset value which is implicitly acquired from an updated TA value after performing such a step.”, Shin [0172-0173]) (“When a terminal reports to a base station a UE-specific TA (or the total TA (i.e., a sum of a UE-specific TA and a common TA)), all updated UE-specific TAs (or the total TA) may be reported as in the above-described examples or only part of newly updated UE-specific TAs (or the total TA) may be reported to reduce a signaling overhead of a terminal.”, Shin [0200])(Examiner’s Note: when uplink transmission is performed for a long time or when the time the terminal intends to transmit exceeds a time threshold, the TA value may need to be updated. Whenever the TA value is updated, the time when this update occurs is defined and additional TA values are reported)
As to claim 10:
Shin discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the TA value information is carried in a media access control (MAC) control element (CE). (“In the above-described examples, an absolute value and/or a difference value may be reported to a base station through a dynamic/configured grant-based PUSCH (or a MAC CE), etc.” Shin [0227])
As to claim 11:
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1 from the perspective of the network device.
As to claim 12:
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4 from the perspective of the network device.
As to claim 13:
Shin discloses:
The method of claim 11, wherein the method further comprises: determining, based on the second type of TA value information, another TA value different from the TA value indicated by the second type of TA value information. (“Additionally or alternatively, a terminal may be configured to report a difference between a K-offset value transmitted from a base station (i.e., a K-offset value which is applied until recently) and a K-offset value predicted from a UE-specific TA (or the total TA) value updated by a terminal. One purpose of a terminal reporting an updated TA is for a base station to adjust or update a K-offset value based on an updated TA. Accordingly, a terminal may be configured to report a difference value between a K-offset value previously configured/indicated by a base station and a new K-offset value predicted based on a newly updated TA value in a terminal.”, Shin [0203])
As to claim 14:
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5 from the perspective of the network device.
As to claim 16:
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7 from the perspective of the network device.
As to claim 17:
Shin discloses:
The method of claim 11, further comprising: sending instruction information, wherein the instruction information is configured to instruct the terminal to send a first type of TA value information or to send a second type of TA value information; wherein obtaining the TA value information sent by the terminal comprises one of: obtaining the first type of TA value information, wherein the instruction information is configured to instruct the terminal to send the first type of TA value information, the first type of TA value information is configured to indicate a plurality of TA values, and TA value time information corresponding respectively to the plurality of TA values; or obtaining the second type of TA value information, wherein the instruction information is configured to instruct the terminal to send the second type of TA value information, the second type of TA value information is configured to indicate a TA value calculated at a specified time. (“For example, a base station may indicate an update period of a UE-specific TA (e.g., a SIB or dedicated RRC signaling, etc.) and may indicate a TA update period with satellite orbit information (e.g., a bitmap method, etc.). For example, for a specific terminal or a specific terminal group, whether a UE-specific TA is updated or whether a common TA and a UE-specific TA are updated may be indicated (e.g., through RRC, a MAC CE and/or DCI). According to an indication of a base station, a terminal may update a UE-specific TA and transmit a PRACH preamble based on an initial TA (i.e., a sum of a common TA and a UE-specific TA) reflecting an updated UE-specific TA. For it, a time duration for calculating a UE-specific TA and GNSS monitoring may be preconfigured or predefined/pre-promised between a base station and a terminal, and if a terminal does not perform UE-specific TA update, the time duration is not required, so it may be ignored.”, Shin [0178])
As to claim 18:
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 10 from the perspective of the network device.
As to claim 22:
Shin discloses:
A network device, comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein, the processor is configured to perform the method for reporting a TA value of claim 11. (“For example, the above-described operation in S105 that a terminal (100 or 200 in FIG. 12) receives the configuration information from a base station (200 or 100 in FIG. 12) may be implemented by a device of FIG. 12 to be described below. For example, in reference to FIG. 12, at least one processor 102 may control at least one transceiver 106 and/or at least one memory 104, etc. to receive the configuration information, and at least one transceiver 106 may receive the configuration information from a network side.”, Shin [0296])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. US 20250048291 (hereinafter “Shin”) in view of Li et al. US 20230269686 (hereinafter “Li”)
As to claim 25:
Shin as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 10, wherein the TA value information is carried in one of message 3, message 5 or message A through a UE-specific TA MAC CE.
However, Li further teaches sending TA information though message 3 which includes:
The method of claim 10, wherein the TA value information is carried in one of message 3, message 5 or message A through a UE-specific TA MAC CE. (“For example, the network device transmits a RRC dedicated signaling to the terminal, where the RRC dedicated signaling carries indication information, and the indication information indicates that the terminal can report the UL TA information in the message 3. The terminal reports the UL TA information in the UL message, i.e., in the message 3, in the random access procedure according to the indication information, where the UL TA information is the second RTD.” Li [0098])
Shin and Li are analogous because they pertain to TA information reporting.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include sending TA information though message 3 as described in Li into Shin. By modifying the method to include sending TA information though message 3 as taught by Li, the benefits of improved reporting (Li [0098] and Shin [0227]).
As to claim 26:
Claim 26 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 25 from the perspective of the network device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471