Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Armacanqui (WO2016115016).
Regarding Claims 1-4 Armacanqui discloses an alkaline battery comprising: a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (See [0058]; positive current collector with cathode (positive electrode), negative current collector with anode (negative electrode), and separator (separator)).
In this embodiment of the alkaline battery, Armacanqui does not disclose the remainder of Claim 1, that the negative electrode contains zinc alloy powder, gelling agent, surface active agent, and electrolyte, the zinc alloy powder includes zinc alloy particles, a proportion of the zinc alloy particles with respect to the zinc alloy powder that pass through a mesh having an aperture width of 75 pm ranging from 9 mass % to 28 mass %, the zinc alloy powder has a bulk density ranging from 2.7 g/cm3 to 3.2 g/cm3, and a content of the zinc alloy powder in the negative electrode ranges from 60 mass % to 64 mass %.,
In this embodiment of the alkaline battery, Armacanqui does not disclose wherein the gelling agent contains crosslinked polyacrylic acid only, or contains crosslinked polyacrylic acid and crosslinked polyacrylic acid partial sodium salt.
In this embodiment, , Armacanqui does not disclose wherein the surface active agent contains anionic surface active agent including an ethylene oxide group.
In this embodiment of the alkaline battery, Armacanqui does not disclose wherein the anionic surface active agent includes 3 to 6 linearly bonded ethylene oxide groups and a hydrophobic group having a carbon number ranging from 5 to 15.26.
Armacanqui does however disclose that negative electrodes may contain zinc alloy powder, gelling agent, surface active agent, and electrolyte, the zinc alloy powder includes zinc alloy particles, a proportion of the zinc alloy particles with respect to the zinc alloy powder that pass through a mesh having an aperture width of 75 pm ranging from 9 mass % to 28 mass %, the zinc alloy powder has a bulk density ranging from 2.7 g/cm3 to 3.2 g/cm3, and a content of the zinc alloy powder in the negative electrode ranges from 60 mass % to 64 mass %. (See [0037], [0038], [0039], [0044], [0045], or [0046]),
Armacanqui further discloses that the gelling agent contains crosslinked polyacrylic acid only, or contains crosslinked polyacrylic acid and crosslinked polyacrylic acid partial sodium salt (See [0045] & [0046]).
Armacanqui further discloses wherein the surface active agent contains anionic surface active agent including an ethylene oxide group (See [0051]-[0052] ethylene oxide).
Armacanqui further discloses wherein the anionic surface active agent includes 3 to 6 linearly bonded ethylene oxide groups and a hydrophobic group having a carbon number ranging from 5 to 15.26 (See [0051]-[0052]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above limitations from the other embodiments into the alkaline battery of the embodiment in paragraph 58, because according to Armacanqui these additional features/limitations have been envisioned for the sundry of embodiments disclosed for the alkaline batteries.
Conclusion
/Bobby Ramdhanie/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779