Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
A typographical error in claim 17 reading “a processing unit for object detection of the objected based the measurement data”, should read “a processing unit for object detection of the object based on the measurement data”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “processing unit” and “sensor” in claims 17 and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luo et al. of US 2019/0145765 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Luo).
Regarding claim 11, Luo discloses a method for object detection of an object based on measurement data from at least one point-based sensor capturing the object, the method comprising the following: (see Luo par. [0006] “An example aspect of the present disclosure is directed to a computer-implemented method of object detection”… “object detection can include receiving, … sensor data that can include information based at least in part on sensor output associated with one or more three-dimensional representations including one or more objects detected by one or more sensors. Each of the one or more three-dimensional representations can include a plurality of points”) processing the measurement data, which are based on a point cloud having a plurality of points and associated features, including: (see Luo par. [0027] “the sensor data can include LIDAR data associated with the three-dimensional positions or locations of objects detected by a LIDAR system (e.g., LIDAR point cloud data)”) in a point-based first processing step having at least one processing level, realizing input-side features of the point cloud as learned features and enriching the input-side features at least by information about relationships between the points; (see Luo par. [0052] “when the object detection computing system generates one or more segments, each of which includes a set of the plurality of points associated with one or more representations associated with the sensor output, the object detection computing system can use the position, shape, and orientation of each segment to determine or estimate the position, shape, and/or orientation of the associated object.” “Learned features” indicates features that have been classified, which this prior art indicates being done.) and in a grid-based second processing step having at least one processing level, transferring the learned features onto a model grid having a plurality of grid cells, and generating cell-related output data (see Luo par. [0148] “In some embodiments, a two-dimensional representation of a scene in bird's eye view (BEV) can be used. This two-dimensional representation can be suitable as it is memory efficient and objects such as vehicles do not overlap. This can simplify the detection process when compared to other representations such as range view which projects the points to be seen from the observer's perspective.”).
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under the same analysis as claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 15, Luo discloses wherein the first processing step applies a trained (see Luo par. [0151] “the machine-learned model can be trained to receive an input including data (e.g., the sensor data) and, responsive to receiving the input, generate an output including one or more detected object predictions.”) artificial neural network (see Luo par. [0152] “the machine-learned model can use one or more classification processes or classification techniques based at least in part on a neural network (e.g., deep neural network, convolutional neural network)”).
Regarding claim 18, Luo discloses wherein the point-based sensor is configured to output at least one point cloud as measurement data (see Luo par. [0124] “the sensor data received by the computing system 108 can include LIDAR point cloud data associated with a plurality of points (e.g., three-dimensional points) corresponding to the surfaces of objects detected within sensor data obtained by the one or more LIDAR sensors of the vehicle 104”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of R. Q. Charles, H. Su, M. Kaichun and L. J. Guibas, "PointNet: Deep Learning on Point Sets for 3D Classification and Segmentation," 2017 IEEE Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition (CVPR), Honolulu, HI, USA, 2017, pp. 77-85, doi: 10.1109/CVPR.2017.16 (hereinafter referred to as Qi).
Regarding claim 12, Luo fails to disclose wherein the input-side features are included in an input-side feature vector associated with an individual point and the learned features are included in a latent feature vector associated with the individual point.
However, Qi discloses wherein the input-side features are included in an input-side feature vector associated with an individual point and the learned features are included in a latent feature vector associated with the individual point (see Qi pg. 1 “The basic architecture of our network is surprisingly simple… each point is represented by just its three coordinates (x, y, z)” and pg. 4 “After computing the global point cloud feature vector, we feed it back to per point features by concatenating the global feature with each of the point features. Then we extract new per point features based on the combined point features - this time the per point feature is aware of both the local and global information” and Fig. 2 on pg. 3).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the object detection of Luo with the input feature vectors of Qi because it is predictable that doing so assigns values to the features that the points represent, which is common practice for point clouds.
Regarding claim 13, Luo fails to disclose wherein the input-side feature vector has a different dimension compared to the latent feature vector.
However, Qi discloses wherein the input-side feature vector has a different dimension compared to the latent feature vector (see Qi pg. 1 “Additional dimensions may be added by computing normal and other local or global features” Indicating dimensions are added when local and global features are computed, i.e. after the fact. Also see Figure 5 caption and Figure 2, indicating the “mlp” with more dimensional layers than the input vector.).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the object detection of Luo with the different dimensions of Qi because it is predictable that doing so allows the output feature vectors to contain more information than the input feature vectors, hence assigning them object information in line with a typical object detection or point cloud feature detection program.
Regarding claim 14, Luo fails to disclose wherein the input-side features of the individual point include information about a spatial position of the individual point and/or properties of the individual point and/or adjacent points of the individual point.
However, Qi discloses wherein the input-side features of the individual point include information about a spatial position of the individual point and/or properties of the individual point and/or adjacent points of the individual point (see Qi pg. 2 “A point cloud is represented as a set of 3D points {Pi|i=1, …, n}, where each point Pi is a vector of its (x, y, z) coordinate plus extra feature channels such as color, normal etc.”).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the object detection of Luo with the point cloud features of Qi because it is predictable that doing so would add the extra features such as position or color to the feature vector as is common in point cloud practice to aid the software in determining features and therefore objects from the point cloud data, therefore increasing accuracy and efficiency.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Ali, W., Abdelkarim, S., Zidan, M., Zahran, M., Sallab, A.E. “YOLO3D: End-to-End Real-Time 3D Oriented Object Bounding Box Detection from LiDAR Point Cloud.” 2018 Computer Vision – ECCV 2018 Workshops. Lecture Notes in Computer Science, pp. 716-728, vol 11131. Springer, Cham. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-11015-4_54 (hereinafter referred to as Ali).
Regarding claim 16, Luo fails to disclose wherein object-related output data for calculating an oriented bounding box of the object are formed from the cell- related output data via at least one further processing step.
However, Ali discloses wherein object-related output data (see Ali pg. 2 “The predictions include 8 regression outputs + classes (versus 5 regressors + classes in case of YOLOV2): the OBB center in 3D (x, y, z), the 3D dimensions (length, width and height)”) for calculating an oriented bounding box of the object (see Ali pg. 1 “to generate oriented 3D object bounding boxes from LiDAR point cloud”) are formed from the cell- related output data via at least one further processing step (see Ali pg. 2 “In the input phase, we feed the bird-view of the 3D PCL to the input convolution channels.”).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the object detection of Luo with the bounding box of Ali because it is predictable that doing so would allow the object detection to separate the object from the background and improve object detection accuracy, therefore improving system performance and efficiency.
Conclusion
/MARIO ANTHONY RODIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2675
/ANDREW M MOYER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2675