Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 5 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5 and 11 of copending Application No. 18/686,490. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because current claims 1 and 5 correspond to claim 1 of ‘490 where a glass body comprising a first glass plate and a radio wave transmission region having radio wave passage sections and a conductive film section. Current claim 2 corresponds to claim 5 of ‘490 where a maximum length of a line segment passing through a center of the radio wave transmission region is 0.5 mm or more and 30 mm or less. Current claim 9 corresponds to claim 9 of ‘490 where the glass body further comprising a second glass plate, and a spacer forming a void layer between the first glass plate and the second glass plate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of copending Application No. 17/776,694. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because current claim 1 corresponds to claim 1 of ‘694 where a glass body comprising a first glass plate and a radio wave transmission region having radio wave passage sections/radio wave transmittance and a conductive film section/first low-E film. Current claim 4 corresponds to claim 1 of ‘694 where the conductive film section/first low-E film includes plurality of islands. Current claim 5 corresponds to claim 6 of ‘694 where the fine wire width/gap width is 1-100µm. Current claim 8 corresponds to claim 1 of ‘694 where glass body comprises conductive film section/first low-E film. Current claim 9 corresponds to claim 1 of ‘694 where the glass body further comprising a second glass plate, and a spacer forming a void layer between the first glass plate and the second glass plate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rousselet et al. (US 2015/0343884 A1).
Claim 1: Rousselet teaches a pane 10 [0099] comprising a first pane 1.1 made of glass [0099] having an inner face IV [0100] and an outer face III [0100], and a transparent, electrically conductive coating 3 formed on the outer face III, wherein the transparent, electrically conductive coating 3 having de-coated structures 4.1 in regions 9, and wherein the regions 9 are arranged in a section 11 (Fig. 3A, Fig. 3B, [0013] and [0107]). The pane 10 meets the claimed glass body, the first pane 1.1 meets the claimed first glass plate, the inner face IV meets the claimed first surface, the outer face III meets the claimed second surface, the transparent, electrically conductive coating 3 meets the claimed conductive film section, the de-coated structures 4.1 meets the claimed radio wave passage sections, and the section 11 meets the claimed radio wave transmission region. Rousselet teaches silver, tin oxide and zinc oxide as suitable examples material for forming the transparent, electrically conductive coating 3 (claim 11).
Claim 2: Rousselet teaches the length of region 9 can be 10-150mm ([0031] and [0111]).
Claim 3: Rousselet teaches the horizontal and vertical distance h between 2 regions 9 can be 1-100mm ([0030] and [0108]).
Claim 4: Rousselet teaches the regions 9 comprise subregions formed by de-coated structures 4.2, 4.3, 4.4 (Fig. 11, 12B and 14). The subregions meet the claimed island.
Claim 5: The de-coated structures 4.2, 4.3, 4.4 meets the claimed fine wires. Rousselet teaches the line width of de-coated structures 4.2, 4.3, 4.4 can be 0.025-.3mm ([0025] and [0097]), wherein this range overlaps with the claimed 1-100µm. Rousselet teaches the distance b between the de-coated structures can be 0.5-30 mm ([0020], [0111] and [0121]), wherein this range overlaps with the claimed 200 µm-10mm.
Claim 6: Rousselet teaches the shape of the de-coated structures includes a rectangle [0015].
Claim 8: Rousselet teaches the transparent, electrically conductive coating 3 can be a low-E layer [0115].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rousselet et al. (US 2015/0343884 A1).
Rousselet teaches the claimed invention as set forth above.
Claim 7: Rousselet teaches the transparent, electrically conductive coating 3 is permeable for electromagnetic radiation of wavelength from 300 to 1,300 nm, in particular for visible light [0043]. It is well established that a visible light transmissive material transmits radio waves because radio waves have lower energy than light and pass-through atoms without getting absorbed.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rousselet et al. (US 2015/0343884 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsuno et al. (US 2001/0005184 A1).
Rousselet teaches the claimed invention as set forth above.
Claim 9: Rousselet teaches the pane 10 further comprises a second pane 1.2 made of glass and an intermediate layer 2 between the second pane 1.2 and the transparent, electrically conductive coating 3 (Fig. 3B and [0099]). Rousselet does not teach a void layer between the first pane 1.1 and second pane 1.2 instead of the intermediate layer 2. However, Tsuno teaches a radio wave absorbing panel 1 having air layers 8 that are sealed with in the radio wave absorbing panel 1 (Fig. 1, [0034] and [0047]). Rousselet and Tsuno are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is the glass panel art. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art to combine the teaching of Tsuno, (i.e., use of air layer instead of intermediate layer) with the invention of Rousselet, and the motivation for combining would be to provide a lighter weight glass body.
Pertinent Prior Arts
Takamatsu et al. (US 2009/0237782 A1).
Correspondence
BS
July 7, 2026
/BETELHEM SHEWAREGED/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1785