DETAILED ACTION
Election Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and species (SEQ ID NO: 1; SEQ ID NO: 54; RSV N/M2-1 fusion protein; CEF cells; PrLE1 promoter) in the reply filed on 7/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-12, 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/20/2026.
Claims 1-9, 13 are under consideration.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 3/2/2024; 7/20/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 5/17/2024. The drawings are objected to because the labels should read “FIG.” instead of “FIGURE” (See MPEP 1825).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 1-9, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
See claims 1-9, 13 as submitted 7/20/2026.
As to claims 1-3, it is not clear what the metes and bounds of “miRblock” are, or what distinguishes a block from a sequence of nucleotides. Claims 4-9, 13 depend on these claims.
Further as to claims 4, 7, 8, 9, the claims recite “preferably”. It is not clear if the subsequent language is a limitation or not.
Further as to claim 4, it is not clear what “the miRNA” refers to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
6. Claims 1-4, 8, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Robinson et al. (US20130280215)(cited in applicant's IDS submitted 3/2/2024).
See claims 1-4, 8, 13 as submitted 7/20/2026.
See also the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above.
Robinson et al. teaches: vectors capable of expressing polypeptides in cells (abstract); compositions containing them (abstract); including: recombinant MVA vector [0004](as recited in claims 1, 13); sequence that encodes foreign polypeptide (transgene) [0040](as recited in claims 1, 2, 3); vaccine inserts [0002]; poxvirus promoter (claim 13 of Robinson et al.)(as recited in claim 1, 2); one or more miRNA target sequences [0005](as recited in claims 1, 2, 3); including miRNA target sequences that suppress expression in a cell type [0004](as recited in claims 1, 2, 3, 4); wherein miRNA target sequences are selected to repress expression at the translational levels in the cell line used for production of the MVA while not doing so in certain human cells [0005]; CEF cell [0008](as recited in claim 8).
Thus, in view of the foregoing, all the claimed limitations are found in one reference and are taught to be optional variations to a ‘base’ product they exemplify. As such, the claimed sequences are within the scope of Robinson et al., and thus Robinson et al. renders the product comprising sequences prima facie obvious. The rationale to support this conclusion of obviousness is that Robinson et al. provides a teaching, suggestion, and motivation to substitute different variables disclosed within the reference. Furthermore, there is no evidence on the record that indicates that the claimed supplement exhibits any unexpected results compared to the prior art.
Thus, Robinson et al. anticipates or renders obvious the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson et al. as applied to claims 1-4, 8, 13 above, and further in view of Lutz et al. (US20210170017A1)(See PTO-892: Notice of References Cited)
See claim 7 as submitted 7/20/2026.
See the teachings of Robinson et al. above.
Robinson et al. does not teach: RSV N/M2-1 fusion protein.
Lutz et al. teaches: vaccine compositions (abstract); nucleic acids such as DNA, RNA or hybrid [0034]; coding sequences encoding at least one antigenic peptide [0085]; constructs to induce immune response, including for N and M2-1 [0968]; sequence comprising at least one sequence derived from N, M2-1 [0443; claim 30 of Robinson et al.](interpreted to read upon fusion constructs)..
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use sequence as taught by Lutz et al. with the composition as taught by Robinson et al. Robinson et al. teaches use of vaccine inserts and transgene or sequence that encodes foreign polypeptide, and Lutz et al., which also teaches vaccine compositions, teaches such a sequence (See MPEP 2144.06: Substituting equivalents known for the same purpose).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success for using sequence as taught by Lutz et al. with the composition as taught by Robinson et al. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials (expression constructs as taught by Robinson et al. and Lutz et al.) and methods are known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the applied prior art.
Therefore the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
8. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson et al. as applied to claims 1-4, 8, 13 above, and further in view of Kalla et al. (US20200061174A1)(See PTO-892: Notice of References Cited)
See claim 9 as submitted 7/20/2026.
See the teachings of Robinson et al. above.
Robinson et al. does not teach: PrLE1 promoter.
Kalla et al. teaches: recombinant poxvirus (abstract); use of PrLE1 promoter [0113].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use promoter as taught by Kalla et al. with the composition as taught by Robinson et al. Robinson et al. teaches use of poxvirus promoter, and Kalla et al., which also teaches poxvirus promoter, teaches such a known promoter (See MPEP 2144.06: Substituting equivalents known for the same purpose).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success for using promoter as taught by Kalla et al. with the composition as taught by Robinson et al. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the underlying materials (poxvirus promoter as taught by Kalla et al. and Robinson et al.) and methods are known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the applied prior art.
Therefore the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
9. SEQ ID NO: 1, 54 are free of the prior art of record
10. No claims are allowed.
/M FRANCO G SALVOZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1672