This office action is responsive to amendment filed on 12/19/2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Examiner has acknowledged the amended claims 55, 58, 61, 64 - 66, 69 - 70, and 73 – 74. The objection of claims 73 – 74 has been withdrawn. The double patenting rejection is still maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 55 - 73 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 55 – 59, 61 – 70, and 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilani et al (US 2018/0198641; hereinafter Gilani) in view of Arnott et al (US 2018/0010935; hereinafter Arnott).
Regarding claim 55, Gilani discloses an IOT network node system, comprising:
a plurality of IOT network nodes (paragraphs [0021 - 0024), each node including at least one CPU, memory, firmware, an operating system and I/O for communicating with other nodes (paragraph [0018]);
wherein a first Multimode Data Transmission Unit (MDTU) is one of the plurality of IOT network nodes (paragraphs [0015, [0019], [0021], [0023 – 0024, [0026]);
a plurality of sensors, wherein the plurality of sensors are configured to provide sensor data to the first MDTU (paragraphs [0015, [0019], [0021], [0023 – 0024, [0026]);
wherein the first MDTU is configured to transmit the sensor data from the plurality of sensors to at least one other node of the IOT network node system (paragraphs [0015, [0019], [0021], [0023 – 0024, [0026]);
wherein the first MDTU is further configured to split a data stream from the plurality of sensors into different data streams and transmit the different data streams along different communication paths (paragraph [0021]; Gilani discloses that It may define and combine multiple wired and wireless data pipes to create the bonded VPN communication, and data is split into multiple data packets and sent over these multiple data pipes simultaneously) in conjunction with one or more of:
application requirements; distance between IOT network nodes; power consumption; quality of service for a communication protocol or application; data flow rate; a bandwidth; a payload form; delay of the data path; failure information of the IOT network node; a connection failure or disconnection of data connections between IOT network nodes; decision processing related with improving spectral efficiency, resource utilization, and/or real-time capability (paragraphs [0014 - 0016]; Gilani discloses that there are multiple paths of data bandwidth available at many locations. However, conventional devices and applications can only actively utilize one data bandwidth at any point in time. There are existing solutions that offer primary and backup connectivity in the event of failure of the primary network);
wherein the first MDTU is further configured to modify one or more of the following: a sampling interval; sampling accuracy; a frequency for sending data from the sensor (paragraphs [0026], [0033]; Gilani discloses that a second intelligent multi-modal IoT gateway 10b, temporarily lacking a connection to the Internet, may send the IoT gateway 10a data it receives from sensors and devices 70b in monitoring an ATM machine 72b, for example. Instead of retaining and sending all of the data to the monitoring entity 76, the intelligent multi-modal IoT gateways 10a and 10b employ logic and artificial intelligence to prioritize the data streams according to the type of data and the content of the data, and create a reduced data stream with only the selected or highest priority data for transmission. For example, the intelligent multi-modal IoT gateway 10a may analyze the video data from a video camera to determine if the image content has changed from time T1 to time T2. The intelligent multi-modal IoT gateway 10 may employ a rule engine that includes a rule, if <Image Content of Video Camera 1 at T2>=<Image Content of Video Camera 1 at T1>, then assign low importance to video data from T1 to T2 from Video Camera 1).
Gilani discloses all the limitations, but fails to specifically disclose a sensor calibration system;
Wherein the sensor calibration system operatively associated with the first MTDU, the sensor calibration system comprising:
a processing circuitry configured to receive sensor data detected by a sensor and reference values under comparable environmental conditions, and the processing circuitry is further configured to perform data processing on the sensor data and the reference values to generate calibration information; and
a calibration unit configured to apply the calibration information to the sensor data detected by the sensor to perform calibration on the sensor data.
Arnott, in an analogous art, discloses the idea of having a sensor calibration system (abstract; paragraphs [0005], [0010]; Arnott discloses a method for calibration a sensor of a building using a computer system);
Wherein the sensor calibration system operatively associated with the first MTDU (paragraphs [0005], [0010]; Arnott discloses the process of calibrating an array of building sensors), the sensor calibration system comprising:
a processing circuitry configured to receive sensor data detected by a sensor and reference values under comparable environmental conditions (paragraphs [0010 - 0011], [0019 – 0020]; Arnott discloses receiving, at the computer system, sensor data associated with the identification data of the sensor, the sensor data representing a sensor measured physical phenomenon provided by the sensor; d) calculating, in the computer system, a difference value between the measured data and the sensor data so as to provide calibration data ), and the processing circuitry is further configured to perform data processing on the sensor data and the reference values to generate calibration information (paragraphs [0012], [0018 - 0020]; Arnott discloses a device authority associated with device authorization data by comparing the device authorization data with pre-determined device authorization data, the device authority enabling calibration of the sensor data.); and
a calibration unit configured to apply the calibration information to the sensor data detected by the sensor to perform calibration on the sensor data (paragraphs [0018 - 0020], [0055]; Arnott discloses that the sensor only has identification info in this regard; and b) apply the calibration information as it uses the input data from the calibration sensor device 174. There may be several grades of calibration sensors, some with temperature only, some with multiple sensors and would be modular for expansion or change-out of defective/damaged components. The configuration may include a range of different grades and types of components that could be attached to the base-sensing device, depending on user preferences.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Gilani by providing a sensor calibration system; wherein the sensor calibration system operatively associated with the first MTDU, the sensor calibration system comprising: a processing circuitry configured to receive sensor data detected by a sensor and reference values under comparable environmental conditions, and the processing circuitry is further configured to perform data processing on the sensor data and the reference values to generate calibration information; and a calibration unit configured to apply the calibration information to the sensor data detected by the sensor to perform calibration on the sensor data as evidenced by Arnott for the purpose of ensuring the correct calibration data is applied to building management system and the correct time and date of calibration is recorded for future reference.
Regarding claim 56, Gilani discloses the system of claim 55, wherein the sensor data is encrypted with one or more of: geographic location information of a gateway through which the sensor data passes; a location of a route point; intermediate node information; latitude and longitude of a coordinate data; communication serial number; transmission speed; and/or communication protocol information associated with transmission of the sensor data (paragraphs [0016], [0022]; Gilani discloses that depending on the nature of the application, the intelligent multi-modal IoT gateway may be configured to transmit non-critical data using best effort via only one connection, or in a delay-tolerant fashion, but with guaranteed delivery. A certain level of data security can be achieved, in addition to encryption because data are transmitted over multiple pathways, and listening on any one pathway would not yield all of the data packets).
Regarding claim 57, Gilani discloses the system of claim 55, wherein the sensor data is encrypted with time information associated with transmission of the sensor data (paragraphs [0016], [0022], [0026], [0033]).
Regarding claim 58, Gilani discloses the system of claim 55, wherein a decryption key for the sensor data is associated with network transmission path (paragraphs [0014], [0021 - 0022]); and wherein a receiving IOT node uses location information of a previous IOT node for decryption of received sensor data in sequence (paragraph [0021]; Gilani discloses that the cloud IoT gateway software component then assembles or oversees the assembly of the data packets and stores the reconstituted data into the cloud data storage device using the sequence numbers), thereby implementing layer by layer encryption and layer by layer decryption (paragraphs [0016], [0021 – 0022]; Gilani discloses multi-channel encrypted data delivery).
Regarding claim 59, Gilani discloses the system of claim 55, wherein the sensor data sampling is optimized based on network condition for transmission of the sensor data (paragraphs [0021 – 0022], [0029]; Gilani discloses that the most critical data is sent in duplicate through multiple data paths if they are available. Depending on the nature of the application, the intelligent multi-modal IoT gateway may be configured to transmit non-critical data using best effort via only one connection, or in a delay-tolerant fashion, but with guaranteed delivery).
Regarding claim 70, Gilani discloses the system of claim 65, wherein the sensor data sampling and the sensor data transmission linkage are both optimized based on network condition for transmission of the sensor data (paragraphs [0019], [0021 – 0022], [0029], [0026], [0033]; Gilani discloses that the intelligent multi-modal IoT gateway 10 has the capability to aggregate available bandwidth resources to boost the speed to transmit data from, e.g., video cameras and sensors, to the monitoring entity 76.).
Regarding claim 72, Gilani discloses the system of claim 65, wherein the first MDTU is configured to prioritize transmission of the sensor data based on network resources (paragraphs [0026], [0028 – 0029], [0032]; Gilani discloses that instead of retaining and sending all of the data to the monitoring entity 76, the intelligent multi-modal IoT gateways 10a and 10b employ logic and artificial intelligence to prioritize the data streams according to the type of data and the content of the data, and create a reduced data stream with only the selected or highest priority data for transmission.).
Claims 60 and 71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilani et al (US 2018/0198641; hereinafter Gilani) in view of Arnott et al (US 2018/0010935; hereinafter Arnott), and further in view of Coutinho et al (US 2017/0150299; hereinafter Coutinho).
Regarding claim 60, Gilani and Arnott disclose all the limitations in claim 55, but fail to specifically disclose that the first MDTU is configured to change encoding of the sensor data and transmit the sensor data in a newly encoded format.
Coutinho, in an analogous art, discloses the idea of changing encoding of the sensor data and transmit the sensor data in a newly encoded format (paragraph [0166]; Coutinho discloses that the network may, for example, use a feedback-based approach in which a receiving network node notifies the sending network node when decoding is completed on information that was previously sent, signaling that new encoded data can then be sent).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Gilani and Arnott by changing encoding of the sensor data and transmit the sensor data in a newly encoded format as evidenced by Coutinho for the purpose of highly increasing security in the transmission of data in a network environment; thereby improving the overall network throughput.
Claims 73 – 74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilani et al (US 2018/0198641; hereinafter Gilani) in view of Arnott et al (US 2018/0010935; hereinafter Arnott), and further in view Cella et al (US 2018/0284737; hereinafter Cella).
Regarding claim 73, Gilani discloses all the limitations in claim 65, but fail to specifically disclose that the system is configured to provide virtual reality based on the sensor data.
Cella, in an analogous art, discloses that the system is configured to provide virtual reality based on the sensor data (paragraphs [0368 – 0369]; Cella discloses that a virtual reality interface showing visualization of the components of the machine (such as an overlay of a camera view of the machine with 3D visualization elements) may show a vibrating component in a highlighted color, with motion).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Gilani and Arnott by showing that the system is configured to provide virtual reality based on the sensor data as evidenced by Cella for the purpose of ensuring the component stands out in a virtual reality environment being used to help a user monitor devices in an efficient and reliable manner.
Regarding claim 74, Gilani, Arnott, and Cella disclose the system of claim 74, wherein the system is configured to determine a temporal evolution of the virtual reality based on sensor data (Cella: paragraph [1251]; Cella discloses that the visual attributes may provide near real-time portrayal of trends of the sensed data and/or of derivatives thereof. In embodiments, the visual attributes may be the actual data being captured, or the derived data, such as a trend of the data and the like). Same motivation as in claim 73.
Claims 60 – 69, and 71 incorporate substantially all the limitations of claims 55 – 59 with minor modifications in the claimed language. The reasons for rejecting claims 55 – 59 apply in claims 60 – 69, and 71. Therefore, claims 60 – 69, and 71 are rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Millar et al (US 2015/0070207) discloses a method and apparatus for self calibration of a vehicle radar system.
Gordon L. Moake (US 2013/0061668) discloses an interchangeable measurement housings.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/YVES DALENCOURT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457