Applicant’s filing of claims 1-9 on 3/4/24 is acknowledged. Claims 1-9 are pending and are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/4/24 was acknowledged. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The Office asserts that terms and phrases like “configured to” and “wherein” constitute recitations of intended use language for purposes of examination. The Office asserts that in the examined claims reciting such “configured to” language, the claim language that follows such recitations does not necessarily denote structure MPEP 2173.05(g). The functional limitation was evaluated and considered, for what it fairly conveys to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Similarly, a “wherein” clause may have a limiting effect on a claim if the language limits the claim to a particular structure. MPEP 2111.04. The determination of whether a “wherein” clause is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. While all words in each claim are considered in judging the patentability of the claim language, including functional claim limitations, not all limitations provide a patentable distinction.
During patent examination, the examined claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, unless a term has been given a special definition in the specification (“BRI”). See MPEP 2111.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-5 are rejected because it is unclear how the claimed functions of the processing device structurally further define the claimed dispensing apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibahara et al. (“Shibahara,” WO 2019/150757 A1) in view of Yoshino et al. (“Yoshino,” JP 2003-225601 A).
As to claims 1 and 9, Shibahara discloses a dispensing apparatus configured to dispense a liquid, the apparatus comprising: a piston (108); a first drive device (motor 102) that drives the piston; a pipette that has a tip mounting unit (piston receiving portion 109) to which a dispensing tip (disposable tip 110) is attached and receives the piston; a block (tip detaching part 111 has a through hole) that has a hole to which the tip mounting unit is able to be fitted; and a second drive device (motor 112) that varies a relative position between the syringe and the block, wherein a processing device (control PC 901) drives the second drive device to fit the tip mounting unit and the hole to each other and seal up an interior of the syringe, applies positive pressure or negative pressure into the syringe, and calculates a correction value for a dispensing command value associated with a drive amount of the first drive device based on the pressure in the syringe after the positive pressure or the negative pressure is applied. See claim interpretation above. The control PC is capable of performing the claimed functions, e.g., calculates a correction value.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Shibahara does not specifically disclose a syringe and a pressure sensor, and a processing device that processes a detection signal of the pressure measured by the pressure sensor. Yoshino discloses a syringe in the abstract, a pressure gauge 45 in fig. 4, and a pressure circuit in fig. 4. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the syringe, pressure sensor and processing device associated with pressure sensor because it would help improve the dispensing accuracy of the apparatus. See also MPEP 2112.02 for claim 9.
As to claim 2, Shibahara in combination with Yoshino disclose the processing device calculates the correction value by using a dispensing command value map indicating a relationship between the pressure and the dispensing command value for obtaining a desired dispensing amount. Shibahara’s control PC and Yoshino’s control circuit are capable of performing the claimed functions, e.g., calculates a correction value. See claim interpretation above.
As to claim 3, Shibahara in combination with Yoshino disclose the processing device determines whether the dispensing apparatus is usable based on the pressure after the positive pressure or the negative pressure is applied, calculates the correction value when the dispensing apparatus is usable, and outputs an error to an output device when the dispensing apparatus is not usable. Shibahara’s control PC and Yoshino’s control circuit are capable of performing the claimed functions, e.g., calculates a correction value. See claim interpretation above.
As to claim 4, Shibahara in combination with Yoshino disclose the processing device determines that the dispensing apparatus is not usable, when pressure after a predetermined time has elapsed from the application of the positive pressure or the negative pressure has a value closer to atmospheric pressure than a predetermined threshold value. Shibahara’s control PC and Yoshino’s control circuit are capable of performing the claimed functions. See claim interpretation above.
As to claim 5, Shibahara in combination with Yoshino disclose the processing device applies the positive pressure or the negative pressure into the syringe by driving the first drive device to drive the piston. Shibahara’s control PC and Yoshino’s control circuit are capable of performing the claimed functions. See claim interpretation above.
As to claim 6, Shibahara in combination with Yoshino disclose one end portion of the hole is opened, and another end portion is closed. See figs. 1-5 of Shibahara.
As to claim 7, Shibahara in combination with Yoshino disclose the block is a piercing tip holding portion that holds a piercing tip with a closed bottom portion, and the hole is the piercing tip. See figs. 1-5 et seq. of Shibahara.
As to claim 8, Shibahara in combination with Yoshino disclose a pump that is connected to the hole, wherein the processing device applies the positive pressure or the negative pressure into the syringe by driving the pump. See piston 108 and piston receiving portion 109 of Shibahara.
/LORE R JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797
8/22/2026