DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response to application number 18/688,839 filed on March 4th 2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statements
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS), submitted on September 5th, 2025, and March 4th, 2024, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,6,7,11,15,18,24,29,35,38,39,44,48,52,55,61,66,80 and 81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayesteh et al. (US 20210076367) further in view of Wu et al. (CN 113115341 A Translation).
Regarding claims 1, 38,80 and 81, Bayesteh et al. disclose a method for negotiation of sensing signals, applied to a negotiation information receiver (Paragraph 0060 discloses “Any or all of the EDs 110a-110c and base stations 170a-170b could be sensing nodes in the system 100. Sensing nodes are network entities that perform sensing by transmitting and/or receiving sensing signals.”) , comprising: obtaining negotiation information sent by a negotiation information sender (Paragraph 0121 discloses “In some embodiments, a sensing node determines a sensing signal configuration or sensing signal configuration information, and then transmits a sensing signal according to the sensing signal configuration.”), wherein the negotiation information comprises at least one of: a sensing request message, a sensing method supported by a sensing signal receiver, a transceiving mode of the sensing signal between a sensing signal sender and the sensing signal receiver, information of the sensing signal sender, information of the sensing signal receiver, type information of the sensing signal (Paragraph 0129 discloses “Orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveforms could be used for sensing signals, and can achieve suitable sensing performance in some implementations.”), resource configuration information of the sensing signal, and service information corresponding to the sensing signal.
Bayesteh et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises; sending indication information to the negotiation information sender, wherein the indication information is configured for indicating whether the negotiation information sender is allowed to send the negotiation information to the negotiation information receiver.
However, in an analogous art Wu et al. teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending indication information to the negotiation information sender, wherein the indication information is configured for indicating whether the negotiation information sender is allowed to send the negotiation information to the negotiation information receiver (CN 113115341 A Page 7 Paragraphs 9-12 teaches “Further, if the Sensing broadcast/support value is 1, and the STA Sensing in theSensing RX capable value is 1, comprising the steps of: AP sends beacon message; the STA receives and measures the wireless sensing signal sent by the AP according to the Sensing TX parameters in the beacon message. Further, before sending the wireless sensing request message step further comprises: obtaining the operation parameter, the operation parameter comprises a parameter dot11SensingOption; if dot11SensingOption; the value is true, representing the STA enabling wireless sensing service; if dot11SensingOption-value is false, representing STA closes wireless sensing service, STA is terminal device.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Bayesteh et al. to incorporate the teachings of Wu et al., to send indication information to the negotiation information sender, wherein the indication information is configured for indicating whether the negotiation information sender is allowed to send the negotiation information to the negotiation information receiver., in order to ensure resource and time efficiency by sending sensing request messages only to participants actively participating and supporting sensing.
Regarding claim 2, Bayesteh et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the negotiation information receiver comprises any one of: a base station; or a wireless access point. (Paragraph 0060 discloses “Any or all of the Eds 110a-110c and base stations 170a-170b could be sensing nodes in the system 100. Sensing nodes are network entities that perform sensing by transmitting and/or receiving sensing signals.”). Wherein the negotiation information sender comprises any one of: a base station; a wireless access point; a user equipment (UE); or a core network entity (Paragraph 0060 discloses “Any or all of the Eds 110a-110c and base stations 170a-170b could be sensing nodes in the system 100. Sensing nodes are network entities that perform sensing by transmitting and/or receiving sensing signals.”), wherein the core network entity comprises any one of: an access and mobility management function (AMF);a user plane function (UPF);a mobility management entity (MME) ; or a service gateway (Paragraph 0057 discloses “[0057] In this example, the communication system 100 includes electronic devices (ED) 110a-110c, radio access networks (RANs) 120a-120b, a sensing agent 122, a core network 130, a public switched telephone network (PSTN) 140, the Internet 150, and other networks 160. While certain numbers of these components or elements are shown in FIG. 1, any reasonable number of these components or elements may be included in the system 100.”), wherein the sensing method comprises at least one of: a time of flight (TOF) sensing method; or a phase and amplitude change (PAC) sensing method (Paragraph 0187 discloses “The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal received at step 710 could include the properties of the object. The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal could also or instead include the time-of-flight of the sensing signal and/or the Doppler shift of the reflection of the sensing signal and/or the angle of arrival of the reflection of the sensing signal, in order to allow the network entity to determine the properties.”).
Regarding claim 6 Bayesteh et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the transceiving mode of the sensing signal comprises at least one of: the sensing signal sender being a base station, the sensing signal receiver being a base station, and the sensing signal sender and the sensing signal receiver being different base stations; the sensing signal sender being a base station, the sensing signal receiver being a base station, and the sensing signal sender and the sensing signal receiver being the same base station; the sensing signal sender being a wireless access point, the sensing signal receiver being a wireless access point, and the sensing signal sender and the sensing signal receiver being different wireless access points; the sensing signal sender being a wireless access point, the sensing signal receiver being a wireless access point, and the sensing signal sender and the sensing signal receiver being the same wireless access point; the sensing signal sender being a user equipment (UE), the sensing signal receiver being a UE, and the sensing signal sender and the sensing signal receiver being different UEs; the sensing signal sender being a UE, the sensing signal receiver being a UE, and the sensing signal sender and the sensing signal receiver being the same UE; the sensing signal sender being a base station, and the sensing signal receiver being a UE (Paragraph 0060 discloses “[0060] Any or all of the Eds 110a-110c and base stations 170a-170b could be sensing nodes in the system 100. Sensing nodes are network entities that perform sensing by transmitting and/or receiving sensing signals.”); the sensing signal sender being a UE, and the sensing signal receiver being a base station; the sensing signal sender being a wireless access point, and the sensing signal receiver being a UE; or the sensing signal sender being a UE, and the sensing signal receiver being a wireless access point.
Regarding claims 7 and 44, Bayesteh et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the information of the sensing signal sender comprises at least one of: a type of the sensing signal sender; or an identity of the sensing signal sender(Paragraph 0125 discloses “[0125] Some sensing node-specific sensing signal configurations are based on, and possibly include, unique identifiers that are specific to the transmitter of the sensing signal. The unique identifiers could allow the transmitter of a sensing signal to be determined by other network entities that receive the sensing signal. For example, in some embodiments, any or all sensing nodes in a network are assigned a respective sensing node identifier (ID). The sensing node ID is an example of a unique identifier that is specific to the transmitter of a sensing signal. Sensing node IDs could be the same as, or at least be associated with, other network IDs such as cell IDs and UE IDs. Alternatively, sensing node IDs could be configured independently.), wherein the type of the sensing signal sender comprises at least one of: a base station; a wireless access point; or a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 0060 discloses “Any or all of the Eds 110a-110c and base stations 170a-170b could be sensing nodes in the system 100. Sensing nodes are network entities that perform sensing by transmitting and/or receiving sensing signals.”),wherein the identity of the sensing signal sender comprises at least one of: in response to the type of the sensing signal sender being a base station, an identity of the base station; in response to the type of the sensing signal sender being a wireless access point, an identity of the wireless access point; in response to the type of the sensing signal sender being a UE, an identity of the UE; or a cell identity corresponding to the sensing signal sender (Paragraph 0125 discloses “ Some sensing node-specific sensing signal configurations are based on, and possibly include, unique identifiers that are specific to the transmitter of the sensing signal. The unique identifiers could allow the transmitter of a sensing signal to be determined by other network entities that receive the sensing signal. For example, in some embodiments, any or all sensing nodes in a network are assigned a respective sensing node identifier (ID). The sensing node ID is an example of a unique identifier that is specific to the transmitter of a sensing signal. Sensing node IDs could be the same as, or at least be associated with, other network IDs such as cell IDs and UE IDs. Alternatively, sensing node IDs could be configured independently.”),wherein the cell identity corresponding to the sensing signal sender comprises at least one of: a frequency identity corresponding to the sensing signal sender; a physical cell identity corresponding to the sensing signal sender; or a global cell identity corresponding to the sensing signal sender (Paragraph 0125 discloses “Some sensing node-specific sensing signal configurations are based on, and possibly include, unique identifiers that are specific to the transmitter of the sensing signal. The unique identifiers could allow the transmitter of a sensing signal to be determined by other network entities that receive the sensing signal. For example, in some embodiments, any or all sensing nodes in a network are assigned a respective sensing node identifier (ID). The sensing node ID is an example of a unique identifier that is specific to the transmitter of a sensing signal. Sensing node IDs could be the same as, or at least be associated with, other network IDs such as cell IDs and UE IDs. Alternatively, sensing node IDs could be configured independently.”).
Regarding claims 11 and 48, Bayesteh et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the information of the sensing signal receiver comprises at least one of: a type of the sensing signal receiver; or an identity of the sensing signal receiver (Paragraph 0125 discloses “In some implementations, a sensing node determines its sensing node ID based on another network ID assigned to the sensing node. The sensing node could also, or instead, determine the sensing node IDs of other sensing nodes in the network based on their assigned network IDs. Sensing signal configurations for a particular sensing node can be based on, or mapped to, the sensing node ID that is associated with that sensing node.)”, wherein the type of the sensing signal receiver comprises at least one of: a base station; a wireless access point; or a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 0060 disclose “Any or all of the Eds 110a-110 and base stations 170a-170b could be sensing nodes in the system 100. Sensing nodes are network entities that perform sensing by transmitting and/or receiving sensing signals.”),wherein the identity of the sensing signal receiver comprises at least one of: in response to the type of the sensing signal receiver being a base station, an identity of the base station; in response to the type of the sensing signal receiver being a wireless access point, an identity of the wireless access point; in response to the type of the sensing signal receiver being a UE, an identity of the UE; or a cell identity corresponding to the sensing signal receiver (Paragraph 0125 discloses “Some sensing node-specific sensing signal configurations are based on, and possibly include, unique identifiers that are specific to the transmitter of the sensing signal. The unique identifiers could allow the transmitter of a sensing signal to be determined by other network entities that receive the sensing signal. For example, in some embodiments, any or all sensing nodes in a network are assigned a respective sensing node identifier (ID). The sensing node ID is an example of a unique identifier that is specific to the transmitter of a sensing signal. Sensing node IDs could be the same as, or at least be associated with, other network IDs such as cell IDs and UE IDs. Alternatively, sensing node IDs could be configured independently. )., wherein the cell identity corresponding to the sensing signal receiver comprises at least one of: a frequency identity corresponding to the sensing signal receiver; a physical cell identity corresponding to the sensing signal receiver; or a global cell identity corresponding to the sensing signal receiver (Paragraph 0125 discloses “The sensing node ID is an example of a unique identifier that is specific to the transmitter of a sensing signal. Sensing node IDs could be the same as, or at least be associated with, other network IDs such as cellIDs and UE IDs. Alternatively, sensing node IDs could be configured independently.”).
Regarding claims 15 and 52, Bayesteh et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the type information of the sensing signal comprises at least one of: a waveform of the sensing signal; or a signal type of the sensing signal (Paragraph 0127 discloses “In some embodiments, a sensing signal configuration includes a waveform configuration. Depending on the type of waveform used for a sensing signal, several possible parameters may be set in order to improve the performance of the sensing signal in a communication network. For example, a numerology for the sensing signal configuration may be set based on the type of waveform that is configured. Improving the performance of a sensing signal could include, but is not limited to, improving the range resolution and velocity resolution of the sensing signal, and reducing interference with communication signals and/or other sensing signals.”), wherein the waveform of the sensing signal comprises at least one of: an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol waveform; a pulse waveform; or a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) (Paragraph 0129 discloses “Orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) waveforms could be used for sensing signals, and can achieve suitable sensing performance in some implementations.”),wherein the signal type of the sensing signal comprises at least one of: a synchronization signal block (SSB);a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS);a sounding reference signal (SRS); or a physical random access channel (PRACH) (Paragraph 0129 discloses “In some embodiments, the configuration of sensing signal symbol sequences is based on techniques used for configuring other types of reference signals including channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs), DMRSs, and positioning reference signals (PRSs), for example.”).
Regarding claims 18 and 55, Bayesteh et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the resource configuration information of the sensing signal comprises at least one of: time-domain resource configuration corresponding to the sensing signal; frequency-domain resource configuration corresponding to the sensing signal; coding resource configuration corresponding to the sensing signal; or space resource configuration corresponding to the sensing signal (Paragraph 0146 discloses “Physical resources for sensing signals can be configured in a sparse way. For example, a resource configuration could include a sparsity pattern in at least one of the frequency domain and the time domain”), wherein the time-domain resource configuration corresponding to the sensing signal comprises at least one of: a starting resource position of a time-domain resource corresponding to the sensing signal; a resource allocation period of the time-domain resource corresponding to the sensing signal; or an available resource position in each resource allocation period of the time- domain resource corresponding to the sensing signal (Paragraph 0147 discloses “FIG. 5 includes block diagrams illustrating multiple example resource configurations 502,504,506 with different sparsity patterns. In the illustrated embodiment, the horizontal axis of each of the resource configurations 502,504,506 represents the time domain, and the vertical axis of each of the resource configurations 502, 504, 506 represents the frequency domain. Each of the resource configurations 502, 504, 506 includes respective time-frequency resources 508, 510,512 that are selected from a set of physical resources. The resources 512 include a pattern of discontinuous resources, but only three of the resources in the pattern are labeled to avoid congestion of the figure.”),wherein the frequency-domain resource configuration corresponding to the sensing signal comprises at least one of: frequency point information corresponding to the sensing signal; bandwidth part (BWP) information corresponding to the sensing signal; physical resource block (PRB) information corresponding to the sensing signal; or bandwidth information corresponding to the sensing signal (Paragraph 0067 discloses “In some embodiments, sensing signals occupy the millimeter band (also referred to as the extremely high frequency band). Possible advantages of millimeter band include a relatively large amount of band width available for sensing and a stronger reflection of the sensing signals from objects, as some materials reflect millimeter waves more strongly than other radio band .”),wherein the PRB information corresponding to the sensing signal comprises at least one of: a starting PRB identity corresponding to the sensing signal; an ending PRB identity corresponding to the sensing signal; or a number of PRBs corresponding to the sensing signal (Paragraph 0148 discloses “The resources 508 could be considered to include more resources in the frequency domain (for example, physical resource blocks and/or subcarriers) than resources in the time domain (for example, subframes, slots and/or symbols). Therefore, the resource configuration 502 is sparse in the time domain. The resources 510 could be considered to include more resources in the time domain than resources in the frequency domain, and therefore the resource configuration 502 is sparse in the frequency domain. The resource configuration 506 is sparse in the time domain and the frequency domain, as the resources 512 include an equal-distance pattern in the time domain and the frequency domain.”).,wherein the space resource configuration corresponding to the sensing signal comprises at least one of: a space resource identity corresponding to the sensing signal; or a corresponding relationship between the space resource identity and a signal type of the sensing signal (Paragraph 0175 discloses “The sensing signal configuration can also or instead be signaled to other UEs through L1 signaling and/or higher layer signaling, for example. The signaling to the UEs may be implicit in the sense that the full sensing signal configuration might not be communicated, but could include some indications about which resources (in time, frequency, space or code, for example) the UEs should avoid for transmission in order to mitigate interference.”), wherein the space resource identity corresponding to the sensing signal comprises at least one of: a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) identity corresponding to the sensing signal; a synchronization signal block (SSB) identity corresponding to the sensing signal; a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) identity corresponding to the sensing signal; or a sounding reference signal (SRS) identity corresponding to the sensing signal (Paragraph 0144 discloses “A symbol sequence for a sensing signal configuration could depend on whether the sensing signal is in-band or out-of-band. There may be more flexibly in the configuration of symbol sequences in out-of-band, whereas in in-band the sensing signals are multiplexed with data, and the configuration of symbol sequences may be more limited. In some embodiments, the configuration of sensing signal symbol sequences is based on techniques used for configuring other types of reference signals including channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs), DMRSs, and positioning reference signals (PRSs), for example.”).
Regarding claims 24 and 61, Bayesteh et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the service information corresponding to the sensing signal comprises at least one of: information of a sensed target (Paragraph 0123 discloses “Sensing signal configurations can be target-specific and/or sensing node-specific. Target-specific means that the sensing signal is configured for a particular Target. These Targets could include UEs and scattering objects, for example. In some implementations, Target -specific sensing signals improve the sensing performance for particular Targets. Target -specific parameters could be obtained by a sensing node through measurement, training, and/or based on some desired performance indicator. This desired performance indicator could include, but is not limited to, Target classification results (for example, whether the Target is low-mobility or high-mobility); service identity information of a service corresponding to the sensing signal; bearer information corresponding to the sensing signal, the bearer information being bearer information corresponding to a service corresponding to the sensing signal; service type information of a service corresponding to the sensing signal; or a sensing requirement of a service corresponding to the sensing signal. wherein the information of the sensed target comprises at least one of: an area position of the sensed target; a type of the sensed target; or an identity of the sensed target (Paragraph 0048 discloses “After a radar signal is transmitted, a reflection of that radar signal off of an object can be received and measured. These reflections can indicate certain properties of the object, non-limiting examples of which include the range, location, shape, speed and velocity of the object. The range of the object (for example, the distance from the receiver of the radar signal to the object) can be determined based on the time-of-flight for the radar signal, and/or using frequency modulation. The location of the object can be determined based on the range of the object and the direction that the radar signal was transmitted and/or received. For example, beamforming can be used to transmit radar signals in particular directions. The velocity and/or speed of an object can be determined based on a change in the objects position over time, and/or based on the Doppler shift of the received radar signal.”)., wherein the bearer information corresponding to the sensing signal comprises at least one of: a session identity corresponding to the sensing signal; a service flow identity corresponding to the sensing signal; a radio bearer identity corresponding to the sensing signal; or a logical channel identity corresponding to the sensing signal (Paragraph 0178 discloses “Step 702 includes determining a sensing node ID that is associated with the network entity, and step 704 includes determining a sensing signal configuration or sensing signal configuration information. The sensing signal configuration includes a resource configuration that is selected from a set of physical resources associated with the wireless communication network, and a symbol sequence that is based on the sensing node ID and is specific to the network entity in the wireless communication network. As such, the sensing node ID could be used to determine the sensing signal configuration.”). , wherein the service type information of the service corresponding to the sensing signal comprises at least one of: weather forecast sensing; traffic congestion sensing; pulse sensing;3 Dimensions (3D) imaging sensing; or augmented reality (AR) game sensing (Paragraph 0053 discloses “For example, wireless communication networks could configure and implement both sensing signals and communication signals. Sensing signals, which could also be referred to as sensing reference signals, are used to determine properties of the environment, and do not carry any information or data for the purpose of communications.”) ,wherein the sensing requirement of the service corresponding to the sensing signal comprises at least one of: sensing a distance between the sensing signal receiver and the sensed target; sensing accuracy of the distance; sensing a range of an angle between the sensing signal receiver and the sensed target; sensing accuracy of the angle; sensing a maximum speed of the sensed target; or sensing accuracy of the speed (Paragraph 0048 discloses “After a radar signal is transmitted, a reflection of that radar signal off of an object can be received and measured. These reflections can indicate certain properties of the object, non-limiting examples of which include the range, location, shape, speed and velocity of the object. The range of the object (for example, the distance from the receiver of the radar signal to the object) can be determined based on the time-of-flight for the radar signal, and/or using frequency modulation. The location of the object can be determined based on the range of the object and the direction that the radar signal was transmitted and/or received. For example, beamforming can be used to transmit radar signals in particular directions. The velocity and/or speed of an object can be determined based on a change in the objects position over time, and/or based on the Doppler shift of the received radar signal.”).
Regarding claim 29, Bayesteh et al. disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising in response to the sensing signal sender, the sensing signal receiver and the negotiation information receiver being different devices, respectively (Paragraph 0060 discloses “Any or all of the Eds 110a-110c and base stations 170a-170b could be sensing nodes in the system 100. Sensing nodes are network entities that perform sensing by transmitting and/or receiving sensing signals.”), determining sensing signal configuration information based on the negotiation information; and sending the sensing signal configuration information to the sensing signal sender and the sensing signal receiver, respectively (Paragraph 0194 discloses “Step 804 includes determining, based on the sensing signal configuration, a signal configuration that at least partially avoids interference with a sensing signal transmitted according to the sensing signal configuration by the second network entity. Step 806 then includes transmitting a signal according to the signal configuration. The signal could be a communication signal or another sensing signal.”); in response to the sensing signal sender and the negotiation information receiver are the same device which is different from the sensing signal receiver (Paragraph 0060 discloses “Any or all of the Eds 110a-110c and base stations 170a-170b could be sensing nodes in the system 100. Sensing nodes are network entities that perform sensing by transmitting and/or receiving sensing signals… The sensing agent 122 is an example of a sensing node that is dedicated to sensing. Unlike the Eds 110a-110cand base stations 170a-170b, the sensing agent 122 does not transmit or receive communication signals. However, this does not exclude the sensing agent 122 from communicating configuration information, sensing information, or other information within the communication system 100.”), determining sensing signal configuration information based on the negotiation information; and sending the sensing signal configuration information to the sensing signal receiver; or in response to the sensing signal receiver and the negotiation information receiver are the same device which is different from the sensing signal sender (Paragraph 0052 discloses “Sensing agents are nodes in a network that can assist in the sensing operation. These nodes can be stand-alone nodes dedicated to just sensing operations or other nodes (for example transmit and receive points (TRPs) or user equipment’s (UEs)) doing the sensing operations in parallel with communication transmissions.”), determining sensing signal configuration information based on the negotiation information; and sending the sensing signal configuration information to the sensing signal sender (Paragraph 0028. discloses “According to yet another aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a method for a first network entity in a wireless communication network. The method includes: determining a sensing signal configuration for a second network entity in the wireless communication network, the sensing signal configuration including a resource configuration that is selected from a set of physical resources associated with the wireless communication network; determining, based on the sensing signal configuration, a signal configuration that at least partially avoids interference with a sensing signal transmitted according to the sensing signal configuration by the second network entity; and transmitting a signal according to the signal configuration.”).
Regarding claim 35, Bayesteh et al. disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: sending indication information to the negotiation information sender, wherein the indication information is configured for indicating whether the negotiation information sender is allowed to send the negotiation information to the negotiation information receiver, or wherein the sensing signal sender and the sensing signal receiver are the same device or different devices. (Paragraph 0175 discloses “In some embodiments, a sensing node is a UE, and a sensing node ID and/or a sensing signal configuration for the UE is transmitted from the UE to other network entities, or is received by the UE from other network entities. For example, a sensing node ID for the UE could be signaled to the UE from a network node through L1 signaling or through higher layer signaling, such as RRC and MAC CE signaling. In some implementations, the sensing node ID is assigned and/or pre-configured to the UE (for example, through higher layer signaling), and an indication that the UE should act as a sensing node is signaled by the network through L1 signaling. An example of such an indication could be referred to as SeN_enable.”).
Regarding claims 39, Bayesteh et al. disclose the method of claim 38, wherein the negotiation information receiver comprises any one of: a base station; or a wireless access point (Paragraph 0060 discloses “Any or all of the Eds 110a-110c and base stations 170a-170b could be sensing nodes in the system 100. Sensing nodes are network entities that perform sensing by transmitting and/or receiving sensing signals.”),wherein the negotiation information sender comprises any one of: a base station; a wireless access point; a user equipment (UE); or a core network entity (Paragraph 0060 discloses “Any or all of the Eds 110a-110c and base stations 170a-170b could be sensing nodes in the system 100. Sensing nodes are network entities that perform sensing by transmitting and/or receiving sensing signals.”) ,wherein the core network entity comprises any one of: an access and mobility management function (AMF);a user plane function (UPF);a mobility management entity (MME); or a service gateway, or wherein the sensing method comprises at least one of: a time of flight (TOF) sensing method; or a phase and amplitude change (PAC) sensing method (Paragraph 0187 discloses “The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal received at step 710 could include the properties of the object. The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal could also or instead include the time-of-flight of the sensing signal and/or the Doppler shift of the reflection of the sensing signal and/or the angle of arrival of the reflection of the sensing signal, in order to allow the network entity to determine the properties.”).; or wherein the transceiving mode of the sensing signal comprises at least one of: the sensing signal sender being a base station, the sensing signal receiver being a base station, and the sensing signal sender and the sensing signal receiver being different base stations ;the sensing signal sender being a base station, the sensing signal receiver being a base station, and the sensing signal sender and the sensing signal receiver being the same base station; the sensing signal sender being a wireless access point, the sensing signal receiver being a wireless access point, and the sensing signal sender and the sensing signal receiver being different wireless access points; the sensing signal sender being a wireless access point, the sensing signal receiver being a wireless access point, and the sensing signal sender and the sensing signal receiver being the same wireless access point ;the sensing signal sender being a user equipment (UE), the sensing signal receiver being a UE, and the sensing signal sender and the sensing signal receiver being different UEs; the sensing signal sender being a UE, the sensing signal receiver being a UE, and the sensing signal sender and the sensing signal receiver being the same UE; the sensing signal sender being a base station, and the sensing signal receiver being a UE: the sensing signal sender being a UE, and the sensing signal receiver being a base station (Paragraph 0060 discloses “[0060] Any or all of the Eds 110a-110c and base stations 170a-170b could be sensing nodes in the system 100. Sensing nodes are network entities that perform sensing by transmitting and/or receiving sensing signals.”); the sensing signal sender being a wireless access point, and the sensing signal receiver being a UE; or the sensing signal sender being a UE, and the sensing signal receiver being a wireless access point.
Regarding claim 66, Bayesteh et al. disclose the method of claim 38, wherein the sensing signal sender, the sensing signal receiver and the negotiation information sender are different devices respectively, wherein the sensing signal sender and the negotiation information sender are the same device which is different from the sensing signal receiver; wherein the sensing signal receiver and the negotiation information sender are the same device which is different from the sensing signal sender; or wherein the sensing signal sender and the sensing signal receiver are the same device or different devices. (Paragraph 0060 discloses “Any or all of the Eds 110a-110c and base stations 170a-170b could be sensing nodes in the system 100. Sensing nodes are network entities that perform sensing by transmitting and/or receiving sensing signals. Some sensing nodes are communication equipment that perform both communications and sensing.”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Samuel Dilan Rutnam/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471