DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10 and 11 recites the limitation "the feature" in line 8 of claim 1, line 9 of Claim 10 and line 8 of Claim 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant’s amendment has deleted the initial establishment of the feature and replaced it with geological data. Based on the amendment it is not clear if the geological data and the feature are one in the same or if the items are two distinct features in the claim. The specification is also not clear on this as [0028] appears to teach the feature is geological data. The issue of new matter also comes into question in the case that the Applicant is claiming the feature and geological data are different elements, this interpretation does not seem to be supported by the specification. Correction/clarification is required.
Claims 2-9 and 13-20 are dependent on Claims 1, 10 and 11 and are a rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9, 10, 11, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seko et al. (Seko, JP2021174013) in view of Zenichi et al. (Zenichi, JP2018205006) and Seong et al. (Seong, KR20160114871).
Referring to Claim 1, Seko teaches a memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform ([0090]): acquiring measurement data of a displacement amount of an earth's surface ([0012]), and acquire geological data ([0078] teaches the type of land surface and precipitation amounts, which are equivalent to Applicant’s definition of composition of the earth’s surface and amount of groundwater) of the earth's surface at a point where the displacement amount of the earth's surface is measured; classifying ([0079]) the feature of the earth's surface at the point where the displacement amount of the earth's surface is measured based on the measurement data of the displacement amount of the earth’s surface and the geological data of the earth’s surface; and displaying (Fig. 1 #7 and associated text) the displacement amount of the earth's surface together with map data; see [0011-0088], but does not explicitly disclose nor limit measured based on synthetic aperture radar (SAR) observation data or displaying at least one symbol representing a classification of the feature of the earth's surface linked to the measurement data, wherein the at least one symbol comprises a symbol that indicates a classification of the geological data.
However, Seko teaches the use of a Radar Distance Measurement Device but is silent to the type or the use of an SAR. Zenichi teaches the use of SAR measurements for ground movement observations; [0019].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Seko with the SAR as taught by Zenichi as SAR has been shown to predictably reduce noise errors from the measurements.
Further, Seong teaches displaying at least one symbol representing a classification of the feature of the earth's surface linked to the measurement data; (see S170 and “…the disaster information map standard model generation system further checks other disaster information in the evacuation area determined from the plurality of disaster information maps, and matches other disaster information symbols to the location corresponding to the other disaster information in the disaster area (S170).”), wherein the at least one symbol comprises a symbol that indicates a classification of the geological data (“…the disaster information map providing system displays the disaster information symbols such as the color of the flooded area, the symbol of the disaster prevention agency, the shelter symbol, the evacuation area symbol, the evacuation route symbol and the risk type symbol, (S420)… when the disaster information map providing system receives the user's request for at least one of the disaster information symbols other than the essential symbols, for example, the shelter information, the evacuation area symbol, the evacuation time information and the disaster analysis result, Information symbols can be displayed…”)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Seko as modified by Zenichi with the display symbols as taught by Seong so as a way to predictably enhance the visibility, usability, and information accessibility of disaster information by unifying the range, layout, and symbols of the disaster information.
Referring to Claims 5, 16 and 20, Seko as modified by Zenichi and Seong teach the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to perform: displaying a symbol representing the feature of the earth's surface together with the map data; See citation of Seong above.
Referring to Claim 9, Seko as modified by Zenichi and Seong teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to perform: measuring the displacement amount of the earth's surface based on the SAR observation data, acquiring the measurement data of the displacement amount of the earth's surface from the measurement means; see citations of Zenichi.
Referring to Claim 10, Seko as modified by Zenichi and Seong teach acquiring measurement data of a displacement amount of an earth's surface measured based on SAR observation data, and acquiring geological data of the earth's surface at a point where the displacement amount of the earth's surface is measured; classifying the geological data at the point where the displacement amount of the earth's surface is measured based on the measurement data of the displacement amount of the earth's surface and the geological data of the earth's surface; and displaying at least one symbol representing a classification of the feature of the earth's surface linked to the measurement data of the displacement amount of the earth's surface together with map data, wherein the at least one symbol comprises a symbol that indicates a classification of the geological data; see the citations and rationale of Claim 1 as this claim is the method equivalent.
Referring to Claim 11, Seko as modified by Zenichi and Seong teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs that when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to: acquire measurement data of a displacement amount of an earth's surface measured based on SAR observation data, and acquire geological data of the earth's surface at a point where the displacement amount of the earth's surface is measured; classify the feature of the earth's surface at the point where the displacement amount of the earth's surface is measured based on the measurement data of the displacement amount of the earth's surface and the geological data of the earth's surface; and display at least one symbol representing a classification of the feature of the earth's surface linked to the measurement data of the displacement amount of the earth's surface together with map data, wherein the at least one symbol comprises a symbol that indicates a classification of the geological data; see the citations and rationale of Claim 1 as this claim is the method equivalent.
Claim(s) 2, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seko as modified by Zenichi and Seong as applied to claims 1, 10 and 11 above, and further in view of Tian et al. (Tian, CN110208879).
Referring to Claims 2, 13 and 17, Seko as modified by Zenichi and Seong teach the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions, but does not explicitly disclose nor limit it from being able to perform: acquiring information indicating a magnitude of relevance between time-series data of the displacement amount of the earth's surface and time-series data of a temperature at the point where the displacement amount of the earth's surface is measured.
However, Tian teaches acquiring information indicating a magnitude of relevance between time-series data of the displacement amount of the earth's surface and time-series data of a temperature at the point where the displacement amount of the earth's surface is measured; [0037-0062].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Seko as modified by Zenichi and Seong with the time-series data as taught by Tian so as to accurately predict ground displacement in areas with temperature swings.
Claim(s) 3, 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seko as modified by Zenichi and Seong as applied to claims 1, 10 and 11 above, and further in view of Gao et al. (Gao, CN113281742).
Referring to Claims 3, 14, and 18, Seko as modified by Zenichi and Seong teach the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions, but does not explicitly disclose nor limit it from being able to perform: acquiring information indicating a magnitude of relevance between time-series observation data of the displacement amount of the earth's surface and time-series data of a precipitation amount at the point where the displacement amount of the earth's surface is measured.
However, Gao teaches acquiring information indicating a magnitude of relevance between time-series observation data of the displacement amount of the earth's surface and time-series data of a precipitation amount at the point where the displacement amount of the earth's surface is measured; [0047-0057].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Seko as modified by Zenichi and Seong with the precipitation observation as taught by Gao so as to predictably monitor the rainfall threshold that would trigger a landslide.
Claim(s) 4, 15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seko as modified by Zenichi and Seong as applied to claims 1, 10 and 11 above, and further in view of He et al. (He, CN113251914).
Referring to Claims 4, 15 and 19, Seko as modified by Zenichi and Seong teach the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions, but does not explicitly disclose nor limit it from being able to perform: acquiring information indicating a difference between the measurement data of the displacement amount of the earth's surface and prediction data of the displacement amount of the earth's surface.
However, He teaches acquiring information indicating a difference between the measurement data of the displacement amount of the earth's surface and prediction data of the displacement amount of the earth's surface; [0024-0033] note that the paragraphs in the machine translation are slightly jumbled.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Seko as modified by Zenichi and Seong as taught by He so as to predictably determine the timing of a future ground deformation using SAR technology.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seko as modified by Zenichi and Seong as applied to claims 1, 10 and 11 above, and further in view of Hiroshi et al. (Hiroshi, JP2015108888).
Referring to Claim 6, Seko as modified by Zenichi and Seong teach the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions, but does not explicitly disclose nor limit it from being able to perform: causing a user to select one or more conditions associated to the feature of the earth's surface, displaying a symbol representing the feature of the earth's surface associated to the selected condition together with the map data.
However, Hiroshi teaches causing a user to select one or more conditions associated to the feature of the earth's surface, displaying a symbol representing the feature of the earth's surface associated to the selected condition together with the map data; [0022-0072].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Seko as modified by Zenichi and Seong with the slope monitoring and color designations as taught by Hiroshi so as to predictably monitor and provide collapse risk information based on the change of slope measurement and display highlight risk areas.
Referring to Claim 7, Seko as modified by Zenichi and Seong and Hiroshi teach displaying multicolored map data indicating a magnitude of the difference between the measurement data of the displacement amount of the earth's surface and the prediction data of the displacement amount of the earth's surface; see citations of Hiroshi.
Referring to Claim 8, Seko as modified by Zenichi and Seong and Hiroshi teach displaying option buttons for switching between a first screen on which the symbol and the map data are displayed and a second screen on which the multicolored map is displayed, and the information providing device further comprises screen switching means configured to perform switching between the first screen and the second screen based on an input operation on the option buttons; this is considered and obvious design choice as it is well known in the art to switch between displays using a button to check information.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are directed to single limitation of Claim 1 that is taught by primary reference Seko. Applicant states that Seko does not disclose “…classifying the feature of the earth's surface at the point where the displacement amount of the earth's surface is measured based on the measurement data of the displacement amount of the earth’s surface and the geological data of the earth’s surface…”. Applicant states that Seko merely discloses classifying a risk level using a trained model. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assessment of the prior art. While the prior art does classify risk levels, the risk levels are directed to the feature of the earth’s surface. Applicant does not provide a limited definition of what “the feature” is and creates a bit of ambiguity in the claim language as noted by the 112 rejection above. Applicant defines the feature as weather data, geological data or land use data. Seko takes input data based on multiple factors including measurement data (precipitation amounts) and classifies a risk level. Classifying a risk level and “classifying” are interpreted as being one in the same. It is not clear how the two would be different and Applicant’s arguments do not clearly articulate how the two would be different. Applicant’s attempt to distinguish the type of classification performed by Seko and what is claimed by Applicant is insufficient and the rejection is maintained. As the only arguments were directed to Claim 1, all arguments have been fully responded to and the rejection of all other claims is maintained as well.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WHITNEY MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646