DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holoubek et al. (2021/0153421) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Anderson (6,178,901).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Holoubek et al. discloses a method and apparatus for planting with a row unit comprising:
A frame configured to be coupled to a toolbar (Figure 2, 3A)
A seed trench opening assembly (22) carried by the frame and configured to form a seed trench (104) (Figure 3A,3B)
A seed delivery mechanism (28) carried by the frame and configured to deliver seeds to the seed trench (106) (Figure 3A)
A covering device (30,34,44) carried by the frame and configured to penetrate a wall of the seed trench and cover the seeds with soil (108) (pgph 0053)
A seed trench closing assembly (24) carried by the frame and configured to close the seed trench (110) (pgph 0054);
wherein the method of planting comprises
Seed is dispensed from an outlet of the seed delivery mechanism (106)
A wall of the seed trench is penetrated to aid in covering the seed with soil (108) (pgph 0053)
The seed trench is closed with the seed trench closing assembly (110)(pgph 0054)
Holoubek discloses the invention as described above, but fails to disclose that the seed delivery mechanism extends into the trench such that the outlet is covered by the covering device. Like Holoubek, Anderson also discloses a seed delivery mechanism for a seeder. Unlike Holoubek, Anderson discloses an extension on the seed tube (27) (seed delivery mechanism) such that the seed delivery mechanism (seed tube plus extension) extends into the trench such that the outlet (at the end of the extension) is covered by soil (Figure 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a seed tube extension on the seed delivery mechanism that allows for the outlet to be covered by soil and therefore ensures that the seeds are covered by soil immediately as they are deposited to ensure that their desired position is maintained as it would be combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, the combination discloses that the covering device (30) that penetrates the seed trench is a knife (44) (Figure 6A, 9A; pgph 0057).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, the combination discloses that the covering device that penetrates the wall of the seed disc can be a disc (34) (Figure 7A) (pgph 0061).
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses that penetrating a wall of the see trench with a covering device comprises transferring soil from the wall of the seed trench to a bottom of the seed trench (pgph 0053).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Holoubek and Anderson discloses the invention as described above including contacting the wall of the seed trench with the covering device in close proximity of a point at which the seed first contacts the bottom of the seed trench (Figure 9A shows the wings (44) of covering device (30) in close proximity to the initial placement of the seed at the bottom of the trench), but fails to specifically disclose the claimed range. While it appears that the combination discloses the claimed range due to the size of the seed in relation to the location of the covering device (30,44), it is not specifically disclosed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the location limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 11, the combination discloses that the seed delivery mechanism comprises an extension configured to extend into the seed trench formed by the seed trench opening assembly (Figure 9A shows the outlet located in the trench).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holoubek et al. (2021/0153421) in view of Anderson (6,178,901) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Fernandez (EP3777505).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Holoubek and Anderson discloses the invention as described above, but fails to disclose depositing the seed in the trench in a specific orientation. Like the combination, Fernandez also discloses a seed delivery mechanism for a seeder. Unlike the combination, Fernandez discloses that it is desirable to control the orientation of the seed when depositing from the seed delivery mechanism to allow for more homogenous growth (pgph 0021). It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a seed delivery mechanism in the combination as taught by Fernandez to control the orientation of the seed when planting for homogenous growth as the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument that the extension on the seed tube would not be considered a part of the outlet is not persuasive. The examiner maintains that the seed tube plus the extension of the combination make up the seed delivery mechanism and the “outlet” of the mechanism is the exit from the tube and the protection of the extension. There is insufficient structure claimed to prevent the tube plus extension of the combination from reading on the term “outlet”. Further, applicant points out that Holoubek discloses that it is important to not displace the seed when it is covered (pgph 0058). This teaching of Holoubek provides further evidence that one would be motivated to combine Holoubek with Anderson because the extension would ensure that the seed is protected from disturbance during positioning while soil is moved from the trench sidewalls and would then drop easily thereon from above as the extension moves forwardly. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, applicant argues that Anderson’s positioner does not penetrate the side walls, but instead gathers soil from opposite sides of the furrow. Holoubek, however, does penetrate the side walls during the closing action. The combination would therefore disclose that the closing mechanism of Holoubek that penetrates the sidewalls could direct soil over the outlet/extension to cover the seeds as they exit the outlet/extension. It is further noted that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, the combination would disclose that the extension could be used with the seed delivery mechanism to protect the placement of the seed while the trench sidewall penetrating closing mechanism moves soil on top of the extension for the soil to drop onto the seeds as the extension moves forwardly through the trench.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMIE L MCGOWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671